Something 'big' coming ??

Are you suggesting that people like myself who have followed the PAFC for decades will suddenly stop following the club if the history of the club is not constantly reinforced to us? If so I strongly disagree.
In some circumstances, yes, I am suggesting that.

I am aware of a few very long term supporters who no longer attend games or consider themselves Port fans as they feel disenfranchised with the way the club is moving. There was a thread made a while ago by Port Adelaide 1870 which discussed a similar scenario >

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=266583

I also meant it that marketing our tradition and heritage would be very alluring to newbies. Who wouldn't want to follow the most successful club in Australia? One that has been around since 1870, one that has won 35 SANFL / AFL premierships? This stuff was part of what attracted me to the club when I was a kid. Not floats or stickers or websites or gimmicky marketing schemes.

Someone once asked me what the English translation of "Pokémon" was and I told them that it is best translated as "if parents are pressured enough they will buy any rubbish to keep their kids quiet" (that's correct, isn't it Pred-san )

To me it appears that the club has decided that the best way to grow the supporter base is to target kids. The majority of the kids been targeted probably weren't even born when we played in the SANFL. These may or may not be the kids of existing Power supporters. If they are the kids of existing Power supporters the idea is to get them to want to go to games and to keep wanting to go to games. This will put pressure on their parents to keep taking them. If they are not the kids of Power supporters then it is most likely that their parents are not aligned with any AFL club so these parents may also be dragged into coming to games and even supporting the Power themselves.

If the parents are already taking their kids to the footy they are not going to stop because the pre-game entertainment is aimed at their kids and not them. On the contrary they are more likely to appreciate the fact that it keeps little Johnny's limited concentration span engage a bit longer so he is not whinging about wanting to go home at half time.
See above post.

I also think it's kind of condescending towards children to suggest that some big lights and flashy gimmickry will sway them to become supporters, or want them to go to games. I reckon that would only work for very young children. Anyone over 8 or so is going to think it is pretty lame.

I will happily admit I am no marketing expert but kids are generally suckers for winners. Personally, I would be trying to get the message across to kids that Port are the best no matter what, we have the best history, the most successful heritage ....

My nieces and nephews want to go to Port games because, well, I want to. They look up to me. If I said tomorrow, "Port suck!" they would almost instantly agree. I would suggest this would be the case for the vast majority of children that go to the football with their parents/uncles/aunties....

It doesn't look any better -> pic
That is up their with the "make a guernsey and we'll wear it" for embarrassing disgraces on the great club of Port Adelaide.

It doesn't look any better -> pic

That is the dumbest thing I have seen in a long while.

WTF were they thinking!? This is up there with the State Govt's, "Going all the way" campaign as the most ill-considered "marketing" effort ever to be unleashed. Does anybody know who is responsible?

Are kids that different than we were in the 60s, 70s & 80s? Most people I know got into supporting their club by going too watch footy with their dad's/uncles/brothers/friends etc.

As for the "Something 'big' coming" post title... you have got to ****ing kidding me. The only thing "big" about this is the embarrassment.

Are kids that different than we were in the 60s, 70s & 80s? Most people I know got into supporting their club by going too watch footy with their dad's/uncles/brothers/friends etc.

As for the "Something 'big' coming" post title... you have got to ****ing kidding me. The only thing "big" about this is the embarrassment.

the kids aren't really much different but the marketing gurus and marketing theory sure is a long way away from reality these days..........

Yes. You know, kids are going to be just as embarrassed by this thing as we are. Especially when the inevitable (and well deserved, in this case) jokes get going around the schoolyard.

What were they thinking? This seems so ... desperate. I thought that the people running the club were a lot calmer and cooler than this seems to demonstrate.

In some circumstances, yes, I am suggesting that.

I am aware of a few very long term supporters who no longer attend games or consider themselves Port fans as they feel disenfranchised with the way the club is moving. .

Pathetic! The club is better off without them... you either support your club in good times and bad or you don't.

I'm unsure about the whole fist thing... yes, I think it's embarrassing. But I bet my 7 y.o. sister would be impressed or at least curious to know what it's all about.

You'll never see the club hammering in the history thing because they're afraid of alienating all of those anti-Magpies people.

Pathetic! The club is better off without them... you either support your club in good times and bad or you don't.
Whilst I agree, like it or lump it, band wagoners constitute a large portion of every football clubs supporter base.

I'm unsure about the whole fist thing... yes, I think it's embarrassing. But I bet my 7 y.o. sister would be impressed or at least curious to know what it's all about.
Is she a Port fan? Why is she a Port fan? I bet its because you are ;)

You'll never see the club hammering in the history thing because they're afraid of alienating all of those anti-Magpies people.
But those people are never going to become Port people anyway.

We need to realise that there isn't some mythical plethora of supporters out there willing to join Port but aren't because we are too like the Magpies (whatever that means). Indeed I would be surprised if the opposite wasn't true i.e. A large group of supporters who are waiting for us to re-embrace our history in a public way.

The group of people warfie mentioned won't care either way. If they arent SANFL people, they won't mind if we re-embrace our history, in fact I think that would attract non-SANFL people.

What were they thinking? This seems so ... desperate. I thought that the people running the club were a lot calmer and cooler than this seems to demonstrate.

This is what embarrasses me the most. I am a branding/marketing professional with 15 years experience, and this is the lamest attempt at targeting the 'yoof' that I have ever seen. It's a little like a Nanna trying to speak hip-hop lingo with her grandkids. Way off the mark.

Did anyone consider the down side of something like this? The Footy Show/Before the Game will make sure this is elevated to national humiliation and rightly so.

In my professional opinion, it WILL hurt the brand. I have no doubt on that.

I cant agree with any of that and I hope to hell that the club arent making excuses like that to justify the declining membership/attendances.

Freo went from basket case to one of the most impressive off field outfits in the land. We should be looking at their example at how they managed to turn a 60% full stadium into sell outs.

This is the most important thing for the club. We need more members and we need higher attendances. No ifs, no buts, no excuses.

I think a lot of it comes down to the venue.
Our membership is slightly higher than Freo's, our problem is that we get heaps of no shows.
I hate Football Park with a passion, even with 45k it is only equivalent to 20k at Telstra,the Gabba and even Subiaco. Fans want atmosphere and Footy Park doesn't have it.
Games I remember where I enjoyed it immensely are all Showdowns, the PF Final against the Saints, Rd 22 Clash against the Lions and also the 01 Ansett Cup final where a quarter of the ground was cut off making the 36k feel like a 50k Footy Park crowd.
I think the Club should look in the future at cutting off GA to certain areas and work on building up atmosphere in certain bays as the atmosphere is what brings the kids in. I remember when Dad used to take me to Port Magpies games and we used to stand behind the goals, it used to be loud and put a shiver down my spine.

That is a great idea! Tesltra Dome do something similar for estimated low-attendance games; they block off all of Level 3 to make Level 1 more crowded.

I think SA also suffers from the location of Footy Park; it really is a nightmare. While it's too late now, they really should have looked seriously at doing up Adelaide Oval - a central location could have done wonders for crowd numbers.

I WILL be voting for him again.

1) You don't vote in the club CEO.

Just to those that are worried about the cost, it is a once off, taken out of the allocation of pre match entertainment. What would you prefer, jazz bands like the crows have?
Sure it is aimed at the kids, but it's the whole package, not just the float. I'm not going to comment until I see the whole show. But then again, I go to watch Port, not the pre match stuff. And who could complain about a supporter getting $500 a home game.(Also from a sponsor, not costing Port a penny).

As for the Magpie days on the video scoreboard all that stuff was talked about, and the club does want to do it but as you have guessed it are having real problems with the AFL.

Bit rich having a go at J James about the hertiage guernsey, he is pulling up all stops, even Bucky could only manage it once.

That is a great idea! Tesltra Dome do something similar for estimated low-attendance games; they block off all of Level 3 to make Level 1 more crowded.

I think SA also suffers from the location of Footy Park; it really is a nightmare. While it's too late now, they really should have looked seriously at doing up Adelaide Oval - a central location could have done wonders for crowd numbers.

I hate the fact our government won't build a central sporting hub in the City Parklands. Instead they keep spending millions on footy park. The $6 million there spending next year will go to some corporate overseas company who will do a $2 million dollar job, whack a xmas bonus of $4 million on top and another wasted opportunity.
All that land at West Lakes would be worth millions, sell it off and build a massive 80k stadium called Power Park. If anyone remembers that World Cup stadium in Munich where it lights up Pink/orange/blue, they use that stadium for everything. It could be used for concerts/Skyshow/international sports you name it. In a city that is falling behind the other states, we need some new ideas like this to rejuvenate it. Our City is like Football Park, it lacks atmosphere and all we have been doing for the last 10 years is touching it up, we need to start afresh before wasting millions more on stupid things like Adelaide Oval lights, screens at Football Park, express bus terminals etc
We have a beautiful city, yet most travellers never see it as nothing ever happens in the city except for a few months of the year.
All this crap about heritage and that and all of our dollars go to restoring it, it disappoints me, Melbourne and Sydney dropped this attitude two decades ago and now they are revelling in being World Cities.

Maybe we need to get Russell Crowe on board.
He has been giving away 1000's of tickets for South Sydney Rabbitohs games. :)

When I ask people why they don't go to a game, most say because the price of a ticket and food etc
Rarely do people say because of the scheduling.

I think it is a great JJ is trying to get the feedback of the Cheersquad and fans and is pushing the youth factor.
But the Youth aren't the ones buying the tickets, it's their parents and the parents usually aren't too fazed about the money but the fact they have worked 40 hours already for the week and couldn't be ****ed spending their whole day off getting in and out of the footy.
The die hards go every week, the people the club need to target are the fairweather's. We really need to make it for them to feel obligated and also want to come to the footy week in week out. The number one thing is producing on the field and the players can only do so much, maybe a loyalty system should be put in place. Your card is recorded how many times you use it a year going to games etc, if you attend a certain amount of matches we can use that data with a sponsor and draw back a rebate from the sponsor. I know it sounds silly but the amount of people that are obsessed with loyalty systems nowadays is unbelievable. Companaies love giving out rebates for loyalty systems as it gives them exclusivity on their product.
Most gameday supporters drive, all this money spent on the express bus system, supporters should be using it more. If you asked 80% of people at a Port game what time the Buses come and go, most would'nt have a clue. People are very disorganized and don't think but if people knew they could have a beer, save $10 petrol and car park people would utilize this more. Port Adelaide should be pushing this to the extreme as the Crows have done.
Back on the Youth, we should be setting up a mini company a bit like a childcare for 5-12 year olds. Parents drop their kids off for the day for $15 per kid so they can relax without the kids for a day. A couple of childcare workers take a busload of kids to the footy, watch all the pregame stuff, stay for the game, have a kick and catch, drop them back off at the centre, give the profits to the Childcare centre, happy days.
Set up a few of these groups, a kid will tell another kid and he'll want to go, next thing you have a 1000 more kids barracking for Port.

The only other option that would be kick ass and blow away anyone elses idea would be - To drink at your seat.
Unfortunately the SANFL being as corrupt as it is and everyone else wanting to look after there own pockets this will never happen.
Fosters is the main sponsor of the AFL, although this doesn't really have an effect on what the SANFL putting beer in the outer, Lion Nathan has stitched up Footy Park for a long time yet. It is coincidentental how Footy Park is one of the only AFL stadiums in Australia that is not with Fosters and you can't drink beer at your seat. If I worked for a big company and I could stop my opposition gaining litreage on me I'd be looking after the right blokes. I just can't work out how the Crows Tavern can have an agreement with Fosters when it is part of Footy Park and Lion Nathan is the exclusive beer company, can't wait until someone blows up that ****hole of a stadium.

As for the Magpie days on the video scoreboard all that stuff was talked about, and the club does want to do it but as you have guessed it are having real problems with the AFL.

I struggle to see the AFL's problem with this other than them trying to be a problem for us.

I think it would be fantastic and its good to hear that it has been discussed .... is it being pursued ?

The only other option that would be kick ass and blow away anyone elses idea would be - To drink at your seat.
Unfortunately the SANFL being as corrupt as it is and everyone else wanting to look after there own pockets this will never happen.
Fosters is the main sponsor of the AFL, although this doesn't really have an effect on what the SANFL putting beer in the outer, Lion Nathan has stitched up Footy Park for a long time yet. It is coincidentental how Footy Park is one of the only AFL stadiums in Australia that is not with Fosters and you can't drink beer at your seat. If I worked for a big company and I could stop my opposition gaining litreage on me I'd be looking after the right blokes. I just can't work out how the Crows Tavern can have an agreement with Fosters when it is part of Footy Park and Lion Nathan is the exclusive beer company, can't wait until someone blows up that ****hole of a stadium.

YES......... I am so surprised that this is outlawed. I work at one of the corporate bars at Telstra Dome at almost every game and we are so so busy with people buying 4 beers to take back to their seats. The prices are ridiculous ($5.50 for heavy, $5.10 for light) but we still sell craploads of beer and the same is for the retail bars. Even the canned spirits sell well at $7.80 a pop.

I understand the not wanting to fuel drunkenness etc... but that's why we only sell light/mids at night games. You could always have some alcohol-free zones if families are concerned.

I thought from the thread title that this was going to be about CBA. Wish I was correct now........

It just seems a little OTT. I'd prefer we spent the money on getting players visiting schools, sporting clubs etc than on "match day" entertainment. The Burgoyne brothers and Pearcy should be enough match-day entertainment for anyone that loves footy enough to pay for a ticket.

After thinking about it more, there is a place for this sort of wigglesesque behaviour (in relation to the children-focused pre-match entertainment), but i don't think it's on the field. As well as this, if it were just outside of the field, perhaps in the parks and around the food/drinks stalls you could much more easily actually involve the crowd.

And i'll continue to peddle the idea of having footy skills competition involving the crowd before the game and at half time :) It's honestly the only event that i've ever seen that's been successful at engaging the crowd (and it's actually at least vaguely relevant to the event that will follow it.) I've seen kids actually wait and watch this sort of stuff instead of going in and getting icecream, if that's not a ringing endorsement i don't know what is.

I cant agree with any of that and I hope to hell that the club arent making excuses like that to justify the declining membership/attendances.

Freo went from basket case to one of the most impressive off field outfits in the land. We should be looking at their example at how they managed to turn a 60% full stadium into sell outs.

This is the most important thing for the club. We need more members and we need higher attendances. No ifs, no buts, no excuses.

Freo's figures are amazing. Up 15,000 in average home match attendances in the last 5 years. At the same time even West Coast's have increased 8,000. It would be useful to know what has generated that change and see if it can be replicated here. Playing an attractive style of game and winning matches will help, but not to the extent seen in the West.

It'll be interesting to see if the implementation of the government's proposed redevelopment of the Port Adelaide area will have an impact. Bring new people to the area, create a broader community identification with a new exciting Port Adelaide which is matched by the footy team.

I don't know that the doomsaying about declining attendances is really accurate, after all we went from average home attendances of 35,000 (1997) to 26,000 (2000) under Bucky if people want to start blaming CEO's for attendances (before levelling out around the 30Ks). Even in our premiership year we averaged just under 30,000. We fluctuate on performance, we just can't seem to break through to new people.

1) As for the Magpie days on the video scoreboard all that stuff was talked about, and the club does want to do it but as you have guessed it are having real problems with the AFL.

Are you telling me that if we celebrate the 30th anniversary of our 1977 flag that we can't use footage of the game because we are wearing a black and white guernsey. If that's the case then the club should pas on 2 words to the AFL - GET STUFFED!!!!!!!!!!

I hope the club is not going to wimp out on this. If it does and we get another piss weak pr spin statement from the club then I think we should hit the management of our club with a verbal thermo nuclear weapon. For christ sakes get the SANFL commision to pass a motion that between 1.30pm and 2.00pm of the day the club celebrates our past, it has full control of it's TV screens and it will show what ever Port want's to show. There is nothing in the licence and sub licence agreement that says you can't use the TV screens the way you want to. Challenge the bloody ruling!! Go to bloody war over it. I thought our slogan this year was WHAT EVER IT TAKES. Well the club should practice what it preaches!

Remember when we had the old Power-meter and the announcer revving up the crowd on the scoreboard? Then Eddie complained about it to the AFL and it was banned. Don't know if the crows had something similar - they had a crow-o-meter at least.

I think that Eddie should just stick to running his club and leave the rest of us alone.. what the hell is he so scared off??

Eddie..... its 1 v the mob and we the mob demand that you leave our team alone NOW!!!

I reckon this whole event can be summed up very easily;

The Club, Something big is coming, - It's just not that big. Just a lot of PR spin that allows the marketing department to justify their budget.

The Supporters, I'm embarrassed, - It's just not that embarrassing. I wonder if some of you spend 3/4 of your day walking around with red faces if this has got you all embarrassed?

It's just a non event as far as I'm concerned.

What I do like about the announcement is that one of the AFL's premier partners, NAB, has jumped on board. This is good work by the club. What I don't like about this lastest announcement is that it will do nothing to get more kids to the game. It will make it fun for those who are already going, and good on the club for trying something different, but I see nothing here that will get more kids to the game.

I would like to see the club target the filling up of the northern stand with kids. Call it Kids Corner, let them make as much noise as they want, give them the run of the stand, within reasonable limits of behaviour.

Six years ago we had the 6th or 7th largest junior membership in the league. Last year we had the 14th. Our figures have stagnated between 4,500 and 4,900. Nothing in this announcement says that the number of junior memberships and kids attending games are going to improve dramatically.

Eddie complained because the stuff on the scoreboard was done during a final, and finals are meant to be neutral games, not home games (according to Eddie anyway).

Not sure about this season but we have the Crow-O-Meter and also a Member's Call To Arms which flash up on the video screen. Not sure if this gets activated by Craig from the coaching box at times of need... :rolleyes:

Pathetic! The club is better off without them... you either support your club in good times and bad or you don't...
Agree. I fail to see how people feel disenfranchised because the club doesn't cater to their particular tastes in the pre-match entertainment.

...You'll never see the club hammering in the history thing because they're afraid of alienating all of those anti-Magpies people.
Exactly.

Something 'big' coming ??