kleos

Hey guys, my girlfriend and i drove over to Adelaide for the crows pies game, was a great place, wonderful people had a fantastic time.

The one thing which stuck out for us was, there was no supporting by crows fans during passages of play, the only time the crowd would cheer was when you guys went forward or kicked a goal.

In Melbourne, you would hear people yelling out "Go Pies" or "Go the Blues", but last night there did not seem to be any amostsphere, now im not bagging anyone here, but to my girlfriend and i, it felt really really odd.

It was almost like a social night out, rather then going to a football match.

Can anyone shed any light on this?

Kleos

Heaps mate, i could hear them from were we were sitting, you would have been to games in Melbourne, don't you see any difference?

I go regularly to Melbourne and generally the Crows crowd is pretty quite, though someting seemed odd about last night's crowd. The Crows fans that travel to Melbourne or already in Melbourne are more vocal. I don't know what we're like compared to Vic crowds as I don't take much notice listening to them.

I wouldn't say no one cheers between passages of play, because there is noise. I'm pretty vocal when it comes to cheering, I don't hold back but a lot of people do unfortunately.

Hey guys, my girlfriend and i drove over to Adelaide for the crows pies game, was a great place, wonderful people had a fantastic time.

The one thing which stuck out for us was, there was no supporting by crows fans during passages of play, the only time the crowd would cheer was when you guys went forward or kicked a goal.

In Melbourne, you would hear people yelling out "Go Pies" or "Go the Blues", but last night there did not seem to be any amostsphere, now im not bagging anyone here, but to my girlfriend and i, it felt really really odd.

It was almost like a social night out, rather then going to a football match.

Can anyone shed any light on this?

Kleos

Unfortunately we have the social set coming to our games. They don't know how to barrack for a side, they only support it.

It bugs me real bad. But thats what we're stuck with.

PS I can understand how you didn't hear them though, you was listening to your radio that you don't take to games. :D

Unfortunately we have the social set coming to our games. They don't know how to barrack for a side, they only support it.

It bugs me real bad. But thats what we're stuck with.

Well if you don't want em :) :)

Channel ten must of added its own crowd noise special effects.

:confused:

From TV there was alot of involvement by the crowd.

I was halfway across the ground from the Collingwood cheer squad, and on many occasions during general play they were far louder than everyone else.
You've hit the nail on the head with the "social night out" comment. The people who sit directly behind me are often discussing their mundane lives whilst the game is on. They've seemingly never missed a game yet I've never ever heard them yell support for our team.
My bay seems to be a black hole for noise. There's probably 15 tops of us in the entire bay who yell out anything at all. Most other posters on here have reported similar experiences.
I agree that we were probably worse than usual this round, apart from the noise directed at the umpires - that was pretty ****ing loud on several occassions :)

I was halfway across the ground from the Collingwood cheer squad, and on many occasions during general play they were far louder than everyone else.
You've hit the nail on the head with the "social night out" comment. The people who sit directly behind me are often discussing their mundane lives whilst the game is on. They've seemingly never missed a game yet I've never ever heard them yell support for our team.
My bay seems to be a black hole for noise. There's probably 15 tops of us in the entire bay who yell out anything at all. Most other posters on here have reported similar experiences.
I agree that we were probably worse than usual this round, apart from the noise directed at the umpires - that was pretty ****ing loud on several occasions :)

Great reply, the collingwood cheer squad was very loud, over all the Adelaide supporters are very nice, it's a really nice stadium, traffic seems to be an issue with only one road in and out, but i really enjoyed the whole city, some of the places we drove through were spectacular, Rundell mall (sic) was a bit of a let down, but over all it's a bloody nice city with nice people.

Kleos

Channel ten must of added its own crowd noise special effects.

From TV there was alot of involvement by the crowd.

Kleos is right - I was in the southern stand and the crowd involvement when theyve got the ball is lame at best. The most vocal was the booing when a decision went begging (and rightly so) like when PEZ was pushed in the back, rode upon and stepped on all in the one movement in the last quarter I think it was.:rolleyes:

Im sure channel ten add crowd noise.

It's a load of ****, pure and simple. The crowd involvement at Crows games is disgraceful and it needs to change. What good is it cheering only after the team has finished the job? Why not cheer them on as they're doing it? I do, my mum does, a handful of people in our bay do. The vast majority sits like a band of stunned mullets. WTF?

People near me either sit there and be quiet or talk about crap which doesn't have anything to do with the footy, yet when i scream about 'rude' words to cheer the Crows on they give me daggers. This is why i spend a lot of my time either standing on the terrace type bit or at the bar, the bar gets pretty loud and noisy which is far more enjoyable.

Crap.

Why do people come here with this crap when they win. Ive been to Collingwood and Essendon games in Melbourne, Brisbane at the GABBA and WCE games in Perth, and there is very little difference. If your team is playing poorly and are loosing the crowd goes off the boil, its nothing new and its certaily not isolated to us.

Where I sit there is plently of cheering and encouragement all through the game. The only thing missing when we're losing is the huge roar after goals, because there arent any.

The only real difference in crowd involvement through out the league is when its two teams from the same state and their respective supporters are in approximately equal numbers. Then there is cheering through the full game because there is reaction to every goal, not just the home teams.

The only thing differentiating Collingwoods crowd from the rest is the lack of teeth.

People near me either sit there and be quiet or talk about crap which doesn't have anything to do with the footy, yet when i scream about 'rude' words to cheer the Crows on they give me daggers. This is why i spend a lot of my time either standing on the terrace type bit or at the bar, the bar gets pretty loud and noisy which is far more enjoyable.

As the old crones thin out things should get better. Operation Harden the **** up would work wonders if there was a spread of said operation across the ground.

Crap.

Why do people come here with this crap when they win. Ive been to Collingwood and Essendon games in Melbourne, Brisbane at the GABBA and WCE games in Perth, and there is very little difference. If your team is playing poorly and are loosing the crowd goes off the boil, its nothing new and its certaily not isolated to us.

Where I sit there is plently of cheering and encouragement all through the game. The only thing missing when we're losing is the huge roar after goals, because there arent any.

The only real difference in crowd involvement through out the league is when its two teams from the same state and their respective supporters are in approximately equal numbers. Then there is cheering through the full game because there is reaction to every goal, not just the home teams.

The only thing differentiating Collingwood's crowd from the rest is the lack of teeth.

I am not sure what games you have been to in Melbourne or were you sat, but it is a damn site different in Victoria to the way it was on Saturday night.

It's far from crap, take a look at what your fellow supporters have said.

Also why did you feel the need to mention the lack of teeth comment?

A little childish, but thank you to everyone who has answered my questions.

Kleos

Crap.

Why do people come here with this crap when they win. Ive been to Collingwood and Essendon games in Melbourne, Brisbane at the GABBA and WCE games in Perth, and there is very little difference. If your team is playing poorly and are losing the crowd goes off the boil, its nothing new and its certaily not isolated to us.

Agreed. I've been to many games here in Melbourne with the crowds being lopsided towards the Victorian team - naturally enough. And ALL clubs supporters are quieter and go off the boil when their team starts losing.

northern Terrace, behind the collingwood cheer squad, row 19 i think it was.
Theres your problem, you were in the city when you should have been at the match ;) and it sounds like we were missing a cheer squad at the game too!

Crap.

Have to agree. We've been to matches in Melbourne between Essendon and Hawthorn, Collingwood and Richmond, Sydney and Richmond, Kangas and Bullies, Kangas and Melbourne when we have wanted to watch a neutral match when journeying over for a Crows game.

Crowds are all the same-cheering when winning and quiet when losing. It's just more pronounced when 95% of the crowd follows one team. And at those matches mentioned above, losing supporters were even leaving the ground halfway through the last quarter:eek:

Scott

The big difference is theres no competition or banter between the supporters groups because of the lopsided crowds. Simple as that.