Opinion Speculation over - Eade Coach

Who will be our next Coach?

So as a Developmental Assistant Coach, yet not as a Senior Coach of a young group of men?
Great with young players and got the best out of the doggies young list. He's not a great gameday coach though which is the reason why they didnt win as many games as they should have. If for instance we recruit a coach on L plates then Macca would be a good fit as a senior assistant.

Absolutely. Macca is a hot commodity IMO.

That is an interesting topic, and needs its own thread, not in the GCS area, but on the main board. It may be possible this equilibrium has been coming for some time for he good of the game. Time will tell.

The players are treated like slave gladiators. flogged, traded, pitted against each other, all with a use by date. Perhaps there has been too much slavery, too much of being told where to live, how to live, what to eat, where to go, who your friends are, etc. Control at every point. Is that not slavery of a kind? Very interesting topic.

Has the draft done this? Was this inevitable? The Lions got a taste of player displeasure. Perhaps its beginning on a wider scale, and if its not addressed, unrest will get worse? These are kids with a dream being slowly squeezed to be robots of little pleasure, no fun, no, freedom. I can see a revolt from all this in a few years. Historically it has been kids who revolt. And usually get rewarded for it, like Ian Chapell, Tony Greig, Richie Benaud, etc. Shit happens, money sees opportunity. It happened to Cricket, the NRL, Boxing. You think it cant happen to AFL? Kids will not be slaves. Are they revolting? Are the ships low because of the tide?

No. No it is not.

Warrick Capper
I met him at Broadbeach a little while ago. I was leaving my apartment and he was sitting by himself in the lobby at midnight while it was pissing down outside. It was raining so heavily that I just kinda stood there looking outside, then looked at him. He obviously knew that I knew who he was, and he grinned at me and told me to join him.

Note: He wasn't even staying there, so **** knows how he got in.

I shit you not, I asked him how he was going, and he said "I'm feeling... CAPPAAAAAAAAAH", with a cheesy smirk on his face the whole time. I was like wtf, and power-walked across the street to Woolies.

When I got back, his wet socks were on the ground of the lobby, but he was nowhere to be seen.

That bloke's a nut.

I met him at Broadbeach a little while ago. I was leaving my apartment and he was sitting by himself in the lobby at midnight while it was pissing down outside. It was raining so heavily that I just kinda stood there looking outside, then looked at him. He obviously knew that I knew who he was, and he grinned at me and told me to join him.

Note: He wasn't even staying there, so **** knows how he got in.

I shit you not, I asked him how he was going, and he said "I'm feeling... CAPPAAAAAAAAAH", with a cheesy smirk on his face the whole time. I was like wtf, and power-walked across the street to Woolies.

When I got back, his wet socks were on the ground of the lobby, but he was nowhere to be seen.

That bloke's a nut.

Still more sangas in the picnic hamper than Thompson :p

That is an interesting topic, and needs its own thread, not in the GCS area, but on the main board. It may be possible this equilibrium has been coming for some time for he good of the game. Time will tell.

The players are treated like slave gladiators. flogged, traded, pitted against each other, all with a use by date. Perhaps there has been too much slavery, too much of being told where to live, how to live, what to eat, where to go, who your friends are, etc. Control at every point. Is that not slavery of a kind? Very interesting topic.

Has the draft done this? Was this inevitable? The Lions got a taste of player displeasure. Perhaps its beginning on a wider scale, and if its not addressed, unrest will get worse? These are kids with a dream being slowly squeezed to be robots of little pleasure, no fun, no, freedom. I can see a revolt from all this in a few years. Historically it has been kids who revolt. And usually get rewarded for it, like Ian Chapell, Tony Greig, Richie Benaud, etc. Shit happens, money sees opportunity. It happened to Cricket, the NRL, Boxing. You think it cant happen to AFL? Kids will not be slaves. Are they revolting? Are the ships low because of the tide?
Tiger, very good post here mate. I agree. This is why players are standing up and saying, I want out of this club and the way the comp is going, this player rebellion will only increase. The demands on players and the way they are treated ( especially if the player is a fringe player, ordinary player ,getting to old, or has had a injury prone past) will see what is occurring now.... player power is now becoming a huge issue with influence.And we are seeing that as of today... player power is so strong, it has resulted in the sacking of the senior coach.
Must admit, from my contacts, the Bulldogs crap has been mounting for 2 years. Coach Mcarthey has been very disliked by many of the playing list and the issue has been heading for the climax that resulted in todays decision.Most pundits are bagging the crap out of captain, Ryan Griffin, but hey, this guy has put his balls on the line representing his playing group. At last resort, to get rid of Mcarthey, he sacrificed himself.
Coaches these days need to possess so many skills its not funny.Coaches like Clarkson, Malthouse, Lyons, Longmire, Hinkley, the Scott brothers and Roos, possess these qualities and one does not see issues like this. Whereas inexperienced coaches such as Voss, Sanderson, Mcarthey, Walters, McKenna, etc have battled because they don't have the skills.Tough gig this senior coaching game hey.

Some random guy called SEN1116 last week, just after bluey has been arsed and Bomber was being linked to suns.. He said that Brendan mcartney will be gone from dogs within a couple weeks and Bomber made coach.
The after noon drive team laughed at him....
I still have a feeling that Bomber already has a coaching job somewhere.Be it the Suns, Bulldogs, Essendon.Could be very wrong as well, but just got a feeling.

Tiger, very good post here mate. I agree. This is why players are standing up and saying, I want out of this club and the way the comp is going, this player rebellion will only increase. The demands on players and the way they are treated ( especially if the player is a fringe player, ordinary player ,getting to old, or has had a injury prone past) will see what is occurring now.... player power is now becoming a huge issue with influence.And we are seeing that as of today... player power is so strong, it has resulted in the sacking of the senior coach.
Must admit, from my contacts, the Bulldogs crap has been mounting for 2 years. Coach Mcarthey has been very disliked by many of the playing list and the issue has been heading for the climax that resulted in todays decision.Most pundits are bagging the crap out of captain, Ryan Griffin, but hey, this guy has put his balls on the line representing his playing group. At last resort, to get rid of Mcarthey, he sacrificed himself.
Coaches these days need to possess so many skills its not funny.Coaches like Clarkson, Malthouse, Lyons, Longmire, Hinkley, the Scott brothers and Roos, possess these qualities and one does not see issues like this. Whereas inexperienced coaches such as Voss, Sanderson, Mcarthey, Walters, McKenna, etc have battled because they don't have the skills.Tough gig this senior coaching game hey.

You just mentioned all of the coaches whose teams made the finals. All coaches are awesome if they are winning.

Well doesn't that show why they are good coaches, regardless of their playing list.And its been over a more then a few seasons, ie they haven't let the playing group or committies and supporters go against them, thus these guys know what the job involves and how to implement it, whilst the others I mentioned do not have these credentials and when the club is not winning games the pressure overcomes them. That's the real difference between a very good coach and a ordinary coach

Another good example is Rishmonds Damien Hardwick... after getting the Tigers to the finals in 2013, come half way thru the 2014 season and they were like near the bottom of the ladder. It took Jack Reiwoldt to speak up and say that Hardwick has lost the plot, their game plan is wrong and players are not happy., To Hardwicks credit, he took notice of this, changed things around and look what happened. Now that's a coach that has survived because he worked and acknowledged where he was going wrong. The Bulldogs coach, ( Mcarthey) admitted his faults, but it was all to late.Same as Sanderson, McKenna, even same as Vossy. These guys were dictators and their coaching ideal was , you do it my way and if you don't like it, see the highway. This philosply just doesn't work these days and players will rebell.

Watching the Open Mike ep with Vossy at the moment. **** he'd be a great acquisition for the Suns. Not as senior coach (yet, anyway), but as assistant. Listening to what happened at Brisbane from his perspective really goes to show what kind of person he is.

Vossy said the only way he'd rejoin a club in an official position would be if the whole club - the fans, players, coaches, and board - are all on the same page and all want the same things. As far as I can tell, we've got that.

I've said it numerous time already, but here it is again: Bomber for 3 years, Vossy to take over plz.

Could do worse than Vossy I reckon. He would of learnt a great deal from his time at the Lions, much more than any of the assistant coaches on offer I feel as no one knows the pressure on a senior coach better than one who has been there.

I am confident that the club has its head screwed on, while we have been speculating and appointing willy nilly they
  • took their time in the review and have some clear actions as outlined by Andrew Travis earlier in the week
  • are following a process of identifying what the new coach needs to look like and will interview and assess applicants against that criteria
One can only hope that being a raving loon such as our friend Mr Thompson is not one of the criteria

Another good example is Rishmonds Damien Hardwick... after getting the Tigers to the finals in 2013, come half way thru the 2014 season and they were like near the bottom of the ladder. It took Jack Reiwoldt to speak up and say that Hardwick has lost the plot, their game plan is wrong and players are not happy., To Hardwicks credit, he took notice of this, changed things around and look what happened. Now that's a coach that has survived because he worked and acknowledged where he was going wrong. The Bulldogs coach, ( Mcarthey) admitted his faults, but it was all to late.Same as Sanderson, McKenna, even same as Vossy. These guys were dictators and their coaching ideal was , you do it my way and if you don't like it, see the highway. This philosply just doesn't work these days and players will rebell.
They also enlisted a sports psychologist right at the same time