Rumour Speculation, Rumours, Lies Thread 2026 - Part 2

What it tells me is that Sanders is 100% off the Tassie in 2 years and he doesn’t see the point in moving to a new city for 2 years. Without Tassie looming, I could’ve seen this trade happening as it clearly benefits all parties.

I don't think we would be even pursuing the trade unless Sanders was interested in a long term contract

Strange that dogs don’t want to trade into med treats draft for butters or/and take butts. Losing a mid when you have 10 isn’t really a big deal!

I don't think we would be even pursuing the trade unless Sanders was interested in a long term contract
I’m sure we floated that to him, but seems like he knows that big Tassie pay day is coming in 2 years anyway and there’s no point moving states before then. I reckon he ends up their first signing.

Strange that dogs don’t want to trade into med treats draft for butters or/and take butts. Losing a mid when you have 10 isn’t really a big deal!
Their supporters seem to be critical of recent list management decisions where they don’t take good deals like this with players nearly out of contract and surplus to needs, only to lose them for unders when they are out of contract.

If he continues to play more as a half forward next year (which seems likely), then his trade value will plummet when you combine it with being OOC too.

Avery Thomas a Tassie lad that looks likely to get drafted 2nd round onwards has already come out and said who ever drafts him he'll guarantee he will be fully committed long term to so he must be getting this question from all the recruiters

His kids go there , sounds like a love job actually.

On private schools v public .

Although I was 10 + years behind, the phys Ed teachers still spoke of our starting ruck at Findon High School
of Craig McKellar, Malcolm Blight and Ray Huppatz in one year.

Probably only Mutineer, WheresGroomgone and cleanhands would be old enough to remember
how good they were.
Glengowrie High School - Alumni included Paul Weston, Kym Hodgeman, Tony Hall and Tony McGuiness

This is all well and good but history suggests Nicks can't be trusted to develop midfielders.

You think he can keep all these promises? Rachele played zero midfield this year despite training there.
Makes you wonder how much is Nicks and how much is AVB for our lack of midfield strength and capability.

Do I come across as that old?

Before my time although I remember watching Paul Bagshaw, Michael Graham, Sandy Nelson as a kid.
Do you remember Wally May and Bill Wedding playing? :) Have to admit I got Ron Kneebone's autograph at the bay at the first footy game I went to with my parents.

Glengowrie High School - Alumni included Paul Weston, Kym Hodgeman, Tony Hall and Tony McGuiness
Yep played against Tony Hall at Glengowrie when I was at Marion High he was a gun. Brighton had the younger Kernahan from memory we both got sent off for fighting one game.

Do you remember Wally May and Bill Wedding playing? :) Have to admit I got Ron Kneebone's autograph at the bay at the first footy game I went to with my parents.

Geez I’m getting older!

I wasn’t born when he played for Sturt.

Yep played against Tony Hall at Glengowrie when I was at Marion High he was a gun. Brighton had the younger Kernahan from memory we both got sent off for fighting one game.
I actually played the one year for Brighton High XV111 when we shifted to Adelaide, the highlight was playing against Coburg High at the Bay Oval.The captain of Coburg High was none other than Robert Walls.

Oakleigh High has exchanged footy teams every year with Findon for 50 years.
Mate billeted David Rhys- Jones , said was a decent kid .
Come the game he clipped our Captain. Some things never change.

Yes Kernahan brothers, McDermott, Phillis brothers and Gary Sweet at Brighton.

I actually played the one year for Brighton High XV111 when we shifted to Adelaide, the highlight was playing against Coburg High at the Bay Oval.The captain of Coburg High was none other than Robert Walls.
Must have been after I left!

So no Sanders?

Okay. So we're going in to 2026 with an unchanged midfield.

Excellent.
Yeah, I think Sanders is over unless he requests a trade in the next couple days (which I don't see happening).

My next guess is a rumour comes out over the weekend about either Matt Roberts or Tom Powell. I.e. The Tier 3 targets.

Crom 90% of the time

Gold Star Nice Try GIF

Could the AFL be anymore amateur?

Like seriously.

AFL: Hey here are some rules that you need to plan for over the next 5 years. Make sure you keep this mind when considering list management. Really important rules

Also AFL: lol just kidding do what you want we don’t care

Attachments

• IMG_2899.jpeg
    IMG_2899.jpeg
    72 KB · Views: 9