speeding fines

• Thread starter Thread starter evade28

evade28

the other day i got pinged for going 4km over in a 60 zone.

they were in a fixed spot and they named two streets on either side of where they caught me. are these streets meant to be directly off the original road?

bcos one of them isnt directly off it, u have to go down another road to get to it.

so im thinking there might be some kind of tiny chance i can challenge it.

if anyone knows the technicalities of this can you please post on here!!

What if your speedo is out? I know mine was fine until the crook mechanic tampered with it and now i'm worried about getting a fine. He tells me it has to go back to the manufacturer though and is not worth fixing it's that costly :mad:

How much is the fine?

Got a frikken parking one the other day probably because i was too dimn to read the sign properly. Could only park there between 11 and 3:30 or something and i thought i read that u could after 3:30 :mad: Funny that i pulled up at 4:13 and the tickets marked 4:14. Council crooks makes me wanna piff a rock through their lovely big windows!

My mate got a whopper of a fine for going nearly 140km p/h over the speed limit once. Not sure on the dollar amount but I remember it was much more then I could afford at the time.

Originally posted by Blues4Life
My mate got a whopper of a fine for going nearly 140km p/h over the speed limit once. Not sure on the dollar amount but I remember it was much more then I could afford at the time.

Where the hell was he driving, he had to be doing at least 200kmh, also think he might have got more than just a fine, I would think doing 140kmh over the speed limit, you would also be charged with reckless driving. :confused:

Originally posted by Blues4Life

Your mate is lying to you.

Originally posted by Santos L Helper
Your mate is lying to you.
F'noath. As if they'd stop at a fine even if in the unlikely event he was going at that speed.

Everyone knows that the speed cameras are revenue raisers, just drive at the speed limit. It isn't that difficult.

Having said that, 4km/h over sounds a bit dodgy, I always thought it was at least a 5km/h allowance.

yea camera's are gay. if i ran australia, id get rid of half the camera's. Getting pingged for 4km over is BS. If we were serious, the camera's are there for the people who go frickn 20+KM's over. Spend so much money on camera's when we could be fixing pot holes or putting up barriers and signs, then maybe it would be safer. If the road isnt resealed then in some cases it is not because of the speed, but because of old crappy, cracking, poorly designed roads. Soon we will be driving at 20km/h i reckon :) No need to fix camera's in place, its just bs arguement to make money. everything comes to... $$$ :) one more time... $$$ :) ok ill stop $ :)

Originally posted by Saint4Life
yea camera's are gay. if i ran australia, id get rid of half the camera's. Getting pingged for 4km over is BS. If we were serious, the camera's are there for the people who go frickn 20+KM's over. Spend so much money on camera's when we could be fixing pot holes or putting up barriers and signs, then maybe it would be safer. If the road isnt resealed then in some cases it is not because of the speed, but because of old crappy, cracking, poorly designed roads. Soon we will be driving at 20km/h i reckon :) No need to fix camera's in place, its just bs arguement to make money. everything comes to... $$$ :) one more time... $$$ :) ok ill stop $ :)

Camera's are gay? If you ran Australia, I'd hope you would improve the education system that failed you so badly.

err i looked up the street in the melways and it seems it IS off the road :o ahem!

neway i still reckon its a rip, OH and btw it was down a hill!

its 125 bucks.

Originally posted by Docker_Brat
Everyone knows that the speed cameras are revenue raisers, just drive at the speed limit. It isn't that difficult.

Having said that, 4km/h over sounds a bit dodgy, I always thought it was at least a 5km/h allowance.

well the thing is it IS hard to not go over the speed limit. i usually dont speed, bcos i know what happens if u do, and i also know that i cant afford a speeding fine!
but that day i was thinking about something and if you take ur eyes off the friggin speedo for like 5 seconds and ur over! (like i said it was down a hill).

i think they can get you for 3 over.

its totally ridiculous. i wonder what they actually spend the money on... seeing as the government apparently have no money to make any more roads without putting TOLLS on them. i bet they spend the revenue on more cameras!!

I've often busted the speed limit, but only ever once got done for it. At 6:30pm on Christmas Eve for doing 106 on the Western Ring Rd - after spending all day driving down from Sydney it was a bugger. But totally my fault - I blew the speed limit, so had to cop the fine.
Simple solution - don't speed.

Yeah it is expensive for speeding fines in the Eastern states. Over here 4km over would only cost you $50.

Camera's are gay? If you ran Australia, I'd hope you would improve the education system that failed you so badly.

MMM ur a smart one arnt you. Hmm lets see, when did you last go to school? Hmmm whos in yr12 now? hmmm. Whos more up to date? hmm. Ok nah i wana go with your idea, lets say, we go place a camera at ever intersection and every 5km on every road. SAFETY has nothing to do with CAMERA"s. Camera's is not the SOLUTION to safety, its an ALTERNATIVE. SAFETY is in the design of cars, roads, tyres, barriers, etc. Not camera's. Although cameras try to lower speed, they do NOT need to be put all over the place permantly! Maybe we should spend the money elsewhere on things like roads. I have never failed my education and will not. I am actually quiet pee'd off right now, as you are accusing my education, therefore implying that i am dumb and know nothing, which is not true and has nothing to do with the topic. And in matter of fact, i have not failed one subject.

Looky looky. Santos, my hero. You're an official **** with ears. How do you feel? High and mighty? Holier than thou?

How about actually put forth relevant information to the topic. The arguments are based on speed cameras.

Basically, they're revenue raisers for the police. Have a look at where the ****s position them. Down a hill, where you're bound to pick up a couple of k's. In bins, anywhere they can catch you for profit, and not for the safety of people.

Believe me, I want what's best for everyone, but the positioning of speed cameras, and the sense in which it is done is specifically for raising revenue. It's ridiculous. If the cops wanted better safety, they'd actually be driving on the roads, looking for the maniacs going insanely over the limit, and not only that, but driving recklessly. Instead, they put all their efforts into pinging some poor old bastard going 3-4 km's over the limit, in a tight as a nuns-**** situation.

My dad got fined for overtaking on a bit of a slope, and going 5 k's over the limit - i'm not defending what he did, but that's ****ing tight - of course you have to speed up a little to overtake, and without a shadow of a doubt, camera's are revenue raisers in disguise.

Originally posted by Samos
Looky looky. Santos, my hero. You're an official **** with ears. How do you feel? High and mighty? Holier than thou?

How about actually put forth relevant information to the topic. The arguments are based on speed cameras.

Basically, they're revenue raisers for the police. Have a look at where the ****s position them. Down a hill, where you're bound to pick up a couple of k's. In bins, anywhere they can catch you for profit, and not for the safety of people.

Believe me, I want what's best for everyone, but the positioning of speed cameras, and the sense in which it is done is specifically for raising revenue. It's ridiculous. If the cops wanted better safety, they'd actually be driving on the roads, looking for the maniacs going insanely over the limit, and not only that, but driving recklessly. Instead, they put all their efforts into pinging some poor old bastard going 3-4 km's over the limit, in a tight as a nuns-**** situation.

My dad got fined for overtaking on a bit of a slope, and going 5 k's over the limit - i'm not defending what he did, but that's ****ing tight - of course you have to speed up a little to overtake, and without a shadow of a doubt, camera's are revenue raisers in disguise.

Ouch, that hurts. Listen champ, you can go on with your excuses for an eternity, but if you speed and get caught you get fined. Is that simple, and on topic, enough for you?
Oh, and your dad's an idiot for not realising that you have go faster to overtake on a hill and therefore are breaking the limit. It's called a limit for one simple reason, I might not like that limit, but it's there.
Look for my next post, that'll please you too.........champ.

Speed cameras are a good concept which has been abused 100 times over.

To ping drivers who are 2-3 k's over is a dubious practice which doesn't really give anyone much confidence in the stated reason for their existence. Like some have said; some speedometers are just a little off and the cameras themselves surely can't be entirely 100% accurate. All it might take is a slight error for someone to be caught.

And the placement is questionable. We drive down Keilor Road every single day. There is a spot where they lower it to 50 and there is a very steep valley. The only way you can stay under 50 is to shift into a low gear and coast. I'm pretty sure there is a camera somewhere along this point.

I think cameras take your eyes off the road. I've become so paranoid as a driver that I find myself looking more at the speedo than I do the road. My wife is on her L's; I'm trying to teach her to drive and she's probably worse than I am in that regard.

I don't speed, because I can't afford to, but I also don't want to give bureaucracy the satisfaction of taking money out of my pocket because I happen to go down a hill without riding my brake.

I have a problem with cameras because I believe many people speed accidentally. All you have to do is be over the limit for 5 seconds at the wrong time, and ****** $125 fine.

I don't have time for people who knowingly break the road rules and flaunt them, but I suspect those people (the very ones who need policing) actually make up a small percentage of speeding fines by way of cameras.

Originally posted by Saint4Life
MMM ur a smart one arnt you. Hmm lets see, when did you last go to school? Hmmm whos in yr12 now? hmmm. Whos more up to date? hmm. Ok nah i wana go with your idea, lets say, we go place a camera at ever intersection and every 5km on every road. SAFETY has nothing to do with CAMERA"s. Camera's is not the SOLUTION to safety, its an ALTERNATIVE. SAFETY is in the design of cars, roads, tyres, barriers, etc. Not camera's. Although cameras try to lower speed, they do NOT need to be put all over the place permantly! Maybe we should spend the money elsewhere on things like roads. I have never failed my education and will not. I am actually quiet pee'd off right now, as you are accusing my education, therefore implying that i am dumb and know nothing, which is not true and has nothing to do with the topic. And in matter of fact, i have not failed one subject.

Not that it really matters what my education is, but your reply simply makes my argument stronger than ever. If you can pass English then your teacher needs to be fired.

ey who gives a **** if im not that strong in english, always the bs arguement that i cant spell. Who gives a rat's arse. You could read and understand what i said. Now your bringing my english into it. Its like you dont have anything as a come back. Grr that annoys me more, and ill tell you my score for english when i get my results. Plus im rushing this stuff as i have plenty of things to do rather than argue about nothing. Fact is, speed camera's are good, only if they are placed fairly, i.e. - straight road. But most of the time, they arnt, therefore its all MONEY. What will a speed camera do if its placed at the bottom of the hill? OMG ill suddenly stop to safety? Yes, thats right, the camera saved me from my death. It slowed my car magically, and it seems without any physical commitement. Well, thats what must go through your mind, not mine. All you will get is a big fine. And also these new camera's that check speed and if you go through a yellow light, i think that is also wrong, as sometimes, such as emergency or whatever the situation, (ie - ambulance), you do need to speed up or move out of the way, but then you cop it twice as hard and you get a speeding fine and another for going through an orange. Although i guess at least the yellow/red light camera's allow a little bit of time gap i guess.