Frodo

With Glass undergoing shoulder surgery (Hanson too) he will only get back into training in March. So I doubt if he will be fit enough for season start. Certainly not fast enough because he can;t start running until March.

So where does that leave us? Trent Carroll at FB????

Id rather try Travis Gaspar, or if he's still struggling give Quinten Lynch a go. Possibly even Brent Staker.

Much rather see someone new given a go than Carroll.

Originally posted by noodle
gaspar will play CHF.
Yes, he's the obvious first choice when fit. We were heaps better when he played in that possie early in the last season. Fingers crossed that he comes up - assuming that we have a fully fit midfield and ruck, hopefully we can cover for a weaker backline by a stronger attack, sort of like the early 90's Geelong before O'Reilly came along. Not exactly flag stuff, though.

Of course, with Gas as CHF, where do we put the big Croat?

It's fascinating, actually. The first choice fit spine would be Doogs - Gaspar - Gardiner - ? - Glass. Prolly Jakovich at CHB, but geez.

Possible R1 spine: Doogs - Gardiner - Cox - Jakovich - Carroll. And may God have mercy on our souls.

Assuming full fitness, CHB is still the big worry. I think whether we like it or not, Gaspar is going to spend a great deal of time at CHB- he might have shown more at CHF at this point, but he has to go where our need is greatest. There are a few scenarios-

With Seaby and Cox with another year of development in them, Gardiner will probably spend more time forward. I can see us starting a lot of games with a McDougall/Cox/Gardiner/Glass/Gaspar/Jakovich, big man rotation- that allows a number of possible combinations depending on the matchups, but McDougall/Gardiner/Gaspar/Glass is actually a bloody good spine on paper.

Outside those names, I think the people who are probably figuring heavily in Worsfold's mind when he's thinking about the spine in the event of one or more of the above being injured are:
- Adam Hunter- came on massively when played in a key defender role towards the end of last year. At 190-191, he's probably more often than not be the third tall rather than key option, but imo he has a far better mindset than any of our key defence options, and idd some very good jobs on some very big names last year.

-Mark Seaby- Would probably make his debut at FF, which frees up Doogs to CHF, Gaspar to CHB, etc. I'm actually very excited about Seaby making his debut, liked what I saw of him at WAFL level a lot.

-Quentin Lynch- Possibly. Maybe, I don't know. I'd like Worsfold to be thinking about him, but who knows.

I really hope that by the end of this season we have a regular

FF
CHF
CHB
FB

once that is sorted out we will win the 2005/2007 premierships.

Originally posted by bluey17
I really hope that by the end of this season we have a regular

FF
CHF
CHB
FB

once that is sorted out we will win the 2005/2007 premierships.

Agreed, That was really the only thing that disappointed me about the coaching staff in 2003, that they failed to really resolve the spine issues. Going into season 2003, we had a few vacant positions along the spine and a few ldecent looking young kids with a lot of potential but no runs on the board, and now...we have exactly the same thing.

I think part of the problem was that Milli and Jako were overused somewhat this year. We knew (or should have known) that the time when they can hold down the key defense positions was coming to an end, and there were a lot of games, particularly towards the end of the year, where I was pretty frustrated with the selections. We have to sort out these positions, and simply can't afford to use people like Carroll, (or Jako, for that matter) to pinch hit in defence.

Case in point was the final, where we went with McIntosh and Sierakowksi. Neither had been much truck in their outings in the previous few weeks, but both seemed to get selected on the basis of sentiment rather than any real value to the side. Looking back, I would have been a lot happier with someone like Lynch or Hansen or anybody who had a future at the club getting a game of final's experience rather than two guys on their way out.

Even if it causes a bit of pain at the beginning of the year, we have to bite the bullet and start giving the young'uns serious, solid minutes- What I most want to be able to say with certainty by the end of this year, is on the basis of the 22 games they played, whether Glass, Gaspar and McDougall are actually any good, or whether we need to start to recruit again in earnest for those positions.

Originally posted by Mead

Even if it causes a bit of pain at the beginning of the year, we have to bite the bullet and start giving the young'uns serious, solid minutes- What I most want to be able to say with certainty by the end of this year, is on the basis of the 22 games they played, whether Glass, Gaspar and McDougall are actually any good, or whether we need to start to recruit again in earnest for those positions.

Probably self evident I guess Mead given that we don't really have any other alternatives to speak of

Ladies.
You have no spine period.
I believe glass is something like Gaspar (richmonds), skilled player that couldnt hit a target if his life rested one it.

Lynch in my opinion should be given a go, he is a moutain of a man and I would just sit him at FF.
Gardiner is desperately required at half forward, but for that to happen Cox will have to lift his game.
Carroll still in your starting team is laughable, surely you can pull someone from the list of a higher talent.
Hows Gaspar going? I liked the look of that kid, if he gets on the park you might do ok.
But lets face it, of your spine the only player to get a game in almost any other side is Gardiner.
But credit where credit is due, I rate him the best player in the comp, and if fully fit will carry your side again to the finals.
Good luck to you all

Looking from afar, though purple coloured glasses, I just wonder how much your team improved in 2003. Ladder position didn't change much.

There didn't seem to be any young players being brought through. McDougall, Staker? I would have thought if WCE was dinkum about a premiership they might have sacrificed a finals berth to give a a wider range of younger players 5-10 games. It just didn't seem wothwhile to keep playing the same players over and over, only to get belted by Adelaide in an elimination final.

You wonder if 2003 was a wasted season for WCE a' la Ken Judge.

I knew as soon as I saw the title of this thread that it would be like waving a red rag in front of a fremantle bull. I can see them salivating like the rabid filth they are. Yes our tall players are suspect but we'll stick kick freo butt because docker players wouldn't know what a hard ball get looks like if it hit them square in the face...

Bring it on!

Originally posted by Ralph_Dagg
Looking from afar, though purple coloured glasses, I just wonder how much your team improved in 2003. Ladder position didn't change much.

There didn't seem to be any young players being brought through. McDougall, Staker? I would have thought if WCE was dinkum about a premiership they might have sacrificed a finals berth to give a a wider range of younger players 5-10 games. It just didn't seem wothwhile to keep playing the same players over and over, only to get belted by Adelaide in an elimination final.

Well, to be fair eh, at round 16 we were 2nd, so perhaps it just got to the point of "if it ain't broke, don't fix it". Might be one of the reasons why the likes of Staker, McDougall etc didn't really crack it till the second half of the year. It's a bit rough to expect a team to make sweeping changes to what, at the time, was a winning mix.

It was more of an up and down year than a "waste", we were going strong at one point but when injuries to key players hit, the ass fell out the season, which would happen to pretty much every team that is a "lower half of the 8" contender, like we were in '03.

So yeah, I think being in a strong position till a later stage of the season probably hurt the chances for numerous young players to be blooded.

Originally posted by Ralph_Dagg

Nah. Blokes like McDougall and Sampi showed their potential, Gaspar as well before the injuries set in. Staker and Johnson were blooded. Players like Seaby were brought along in the WAFL, and should be primed for a go in the new season. And lets not forget the (relatively) older blokes - Fletcher found consistency, and Embley finally arrived.

Maybe they would have benefited more from playing a wider range of youngsters at the arse end - throw 'em in and see who floats. Or maybe they'd already established who was ready in 2003 and who wasn't, and after the Port game were really looking to get the team into another final basically to give the core group another taste of what it's about - after all, the original Eagles only won a final on the fourth attempt. And today's Eagles are still a bloody young group.

On the main board, Locks rated our Forward line as 9th best and our defense 12th. Probably a fair indication of where we are at with our young tall players...

Hi All, and Happy New Year!
The injury to Glass and the likelihood he will miss one or more of the early games this year highlights how unsettled the team really is.
Elsewhere on these boards, Locks has ranked the midfield, forwards and backs of each team. The Eagles midfield is ranked 2nd, and we would all agree that is about right (except for the Freo supporters). Our forwards were ranked 9th, and that is probably only because of the very good efforts in 2003 of Matera, Embley and Sampi.
The backs were rated 12th (with Glass!) and that would be about right. Of the back six, only three would appear to have a certain position if fit.....Wirrpunda, Hunter and Glass.
The past two years have been transitional, and both years, the footy experts predicted we would finish lower than we did. It is a credit to the coaching staff that the team made the 8 in both of those years. That effort was based on the development of a gun midfield.
This year we can expect the midfield will continue to fire.
However, some of the younger talls are going to have to step up.
Lynch must be given a few games early on at CHB.
IMO Staker is probably the long term answer at fullback.....but last year the guy looked as thin as a matchstick (probably why he wears a long sleeved guernsey) and needs to bulk up a bit. But I see him as a Dustin Fletcher type.
MacDougall can play, and if he can stay fit will cement a place this year and take some great marks and kick some long goals.
Gaspar, who knows? Based on the last few years I would not expect him to play more than a handful of games because of injury. However, the types of injuries he has had are typically associated with growth, and presumably he has finished growing upwards?
Gardiner should play forward, and Cox ruck with Seaby coming off the bench.
Jako? His stats for the year showed he was good at Subi and bad on the road. I would use him as only as a backup this year.

My predicted back six by the middle of the year is:
Morrison Staker Glass
Hunter Lynch Chick

My predicted forward six is:

Matera MacDougall Sampi
Munro Gaspar Embley

Originally posted by Hamburger
The Eagles midfield is ranked 2nd, and we would all agree that is about right (except for the Freo supporters).

no - credit where credit is due... that's about right.

We will of course continue to harrass and harangue you about your defensive half.

;)

Originally posted by Sera
I knew as soon as I saw the title of this thread that it would be like waving a red rag in front of a fremantle bull. I can see them salivating like the rabid filth they are. Yes our tall players are suspect but we'll stick kick freo butt because docker players wouldn't know what a hard ball get looks like if it hit them square in the face...

Bring it on!
They certainly know what a Shepparton football looks like though don't they :p

Still think defense is our biggest problem and would like to see some of the younger guys thrown in the deep end to learn how to swim.

Staker and Johnson will be interesting

Originally posted by dasler
They certainly know what a Shepparton football looks like though don't they :p

Still think defense is our biggest problem and would like to see some of the younger guys thrown in the deep end to learn how to swim.

Staker and Johnson will be interesting

Good to see you back Dasler, have a happy 2004.

Originally posted by Hamburger
Jako? His stats for the year showed he was good at Subi and bad on the road. I would use him as only as a backup this year.

Interesting. Maybe we should only play him in home games like Brisbane does with Lynch? Seems to work for them. Keeps him fresh and may extend his career. Worth looking into IMO.