SS comments

I take it back. Kudos to the man.

http://www.saintsational.net/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=78902&p=1288401#p1288401

Apologies to those without a login. I'm not going to quote or re-post it. Oh, and I think K's question gets answered as well as it's likely to.

Never go on, or to Saintsational, hard enough making time to keep up with my BF addiction, without complicating it further, but the thread you mentioned was very well done. Always good to hear someone with background knowledge and insight, talk or discuss issues.

This only serves to reinforce something that came up earlier this season, that most other AFL clubs have representation on BF. Saints, possibly from the Lyin "Bubble" Secret Squirrel days, have no involvement on here. Like it or not, it is imperative that Saints engage in as many ways as possible, with existing and potential supporters, members and sponsors.

With a new year upon us, I would suggest, that this is the ideal time for the club to provide, a variety of different people to engage with supporters / members on here.

Never go on, or to Saintsational, hard enough making time to keep up with my BF addiction, without complicating it further, but the thread you mentioned was very well done. Always good to hear someone with background knowledge and insight, talk or discuss issues.

This only serves to reinforce something that came up earlier this season, that most other AFL clubs have representation on BF. Saints, possibly from the Lyin "Bubble" Secret Squirrel days, have no involvement on here. Like it or not, it is imperative that Saints engage in as many ways as possible, with existing and potential supporters, members and sponsors.

With a new year upon us, I would suggest, that this is the ideal time for the club to provide, a variety of different people to engage with supporters / members on here.

It will never happen, I had meeting at club last night about range of things and trust me it just won't happen.

Well that's just silly. The club has talked about wanting to open up to the fans yet flat out denies having any involvement with arguably the most dedicated ones?

It's a delicate situation as if they come on here (or anywhere) it will be seen As they are endorsing the site and people will then look at comments from people and think club endorses them. Even if 99% people don't think that it only takes 1 person to cause shit storm.

When they explained it to me it makes hell lot sense. (Too hard to try explain it in a post)

It might happen eventually but at this stage highly unlikely.

It's a delicate situation as if they come on here (or anywhere) it will be seen As they are endorsing the site and people will then look at comments from people and think club endorses them. Even if 99% people don't think that it only takes 1 person to cause shit storm.

When they explained it to me it makes hell lot sense. (Too hard to try explain it in a post)

Has that happened to any other club's Bigfooty representative? Wouldn't have thought so

No idea but prime example would be if that Saints Footy bloke got a representative on his page, can you imagine how he'd talk it up and then say he's officially part of the club? Just think with all off field issues we've gone through in recent times they want to ensure its behind them before taking what is essentially big step. They are just worried about the image of the club I guess.

As I've said I'd love for it to happen as it is essential moving forward but just saying it doesn't look like it will any time soon.

No idea but prime example would be if that Saints Footy bloke got a representative on his page, can you imagine how he'd talk it up and then say he's officially part of the club? Just think with all off field issues we've gone through in recent times they want to ensure its behind them before taking what is essentially big step. They are just worried about the image of the club I guess.

As I've said I'd love for it to happen as it is essential moving forward but just saying it doesn't look like it will any time soon.
Well the representative just has to know what he's doing, take a look at Richmond's one to see a great example
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/questions-suggestions-for-rfc_official-part-2.968928/

The unlikely "what ifs" are what created the bubble.

AT appreciate your feedback. But maybe not happen now, rather than never.

Other things that would never happen: ie Berlin Wall, Fall of Soviet Communism, Julia Gillard surviving as Prime Minister, Makybe Diva winning 3 Melbourne Cups, man landing on the moon, Carton and Adelaide cheating the salary cap etc

And the problem with endorsing a site where Saints supporters, members and sponsors chat about all things St Kilda is??????

Are they endorsing the Age, Herald Sun, Fox Footy etc etc etc as they do talk and manage feedback with them?????

And is the world ending for all other clubs that have different people on BF, who are able to take comments, feedback and give a different perspective to situations?????

Doesn't take Einstein to realise that in this day and age, with social media and the ability with people to quickly engage on any topic, that St Kilda, can either be a part of the process and have some sort of input and control, or they can watch it all pass around them.

This sort of discussion used to be an issue in business as well, but most companies now actively engage with customers, seek feedback, answers questions and do everything possible to build brand loyalty. Interesting that St Kilda sees us as less important than soap and confectionery manufacturers do!

If they were talking about endorsing you, AT, or somebody else, that would be one thing. But what about just getting Luke or somebody like that on here? I can't see the big deal. I CAN see the potential in that. If he plays a straight bat to most questions, what's the harm.

The good posters from there (all 3 or so of them) should come over here and leave the shit fights to SS :thumbsu:

Big call. You do know there are probably more than 3 people that post on both boards for a start - BF & SS - including yourself. There are some good folk on SS as well. Better leave it at that..........

And the problem with endorsing a site where Saints supporters, members and sponsors chat about all things St Kilda is??????

Are they endorsing the Age, Herald Sun, Fox Footy etc etc etc as they do talk and manage feedback with them?????

And is the world ending for all other clubs that have different people on BF, who are able to take comments, feedback and give a different perspective to situations?????

Doesn't take Einstein to realise that in this day and age, with social media and the ability with people to quickly engage on any topic, that St Kilda, can either be a part of the process and have some sort of input and control, or they can watch it all pass around them.

This sort of discussion used to be an issue in business as well, but most companies now actively engage with customers, seek feedback, answers questions and do everything possible to build brand loyalty. Interesting that St Kilda sees us as less important than soap and confectionery manufacturers do!

Don't aim your anger at their view at me, if you feel so strongly about it why don't you contact them yourself. It's all well and good to talk the talk on here that it makes no sense but once in while you need take the extra step and actually ask them yourself.

If they were talking about endorsing you, AT, or somebody else, that would be one thing. But what about just getting Luke or somebody like that on here? I can't see the big deal. I CAN see the potential in that. If he plays a straight bat to most questions, what's the harm.

Yes there's no way they'd endorse a single person, but we are talking about websites in general. As I've said numerous times I see the potential in it and agree it would be good to have. But as I've said before, they jump onto one and then they'd need to jump on others and then they'd be spending all their time looking through threads.

Why would they need to jump onto others you ask, well basically if they agree to go on one they can't be then seen to be showing favoritism if other ones ask for same thing.

Don't aim your anger at their view at me, if you feel so strongly about it why don't you contact them yourself. It's all well and good to talk the talk on here that it makes no sense but once in while you need take the extra step and actually ask them yourself.

AT you misunderstand a comment about something on here, as an angry attack on you. Not what I wrote. Not what I intended.

In the life I have off BF, I have no problem running a national business, or corresponding with suppliers, manufacturers, franchisees, staff, advisors etc.

This was a comment, about how Saints may move forward and better engage with their supporters, members and sponsors. PM a contact email for the Saints and I will gladly email them the same.

But before you take offence at posts on here, reread the comment and ask yourself, if this is a personal attack on you, or a comment about something, that someone sees as another means of improving the St Kilda Football Club.

Sorry, AT, I don't buy that. Show favoritism - pick a portal into fandom, and let that be that. SS, TS, BF, fine. Don't get caught up in the petty rivalries we have between each of them. Pick the one that is most likely to constructively engage with Saints fans - that rules out SS. That leaves TS or BF. Either way, I don't care. If SS were to then moan and grown about favoritism, they'd be told they weren't picked because they cannot fulfil the necessary requirements for effective community engagement with a wide array of fans.

SS cannot fulfil that requirement, because they have an isolating policy for registering posters, poor moderation, unrestricted trolls and thread-derailers, and poor forum functions compared to either here or TS. It's not the school yard, picking little Tommy last - it's choosing the best option for the goal.

(oh, and this isn't aimed at you, AT, this is discussing the club, like we discuss everything else to do with the club)

Sorry, AT, I don't buy that. Show favoritism - pick a portal into fandom, and let that be that. SS, TS, BF, fine. Don't get caught up in the petty rivalries we have between each of them. Pick the one that is most likely to constructively engage with Saints fans - that rules out SS. That leaves TS or BF. Either way, I don't care. If SS were to then moan and grown about favoritism, they'd be told they weren't picked because they cannot fulfil the necessary requirements for effective community engagement with a wide array of fans.

SS cannot fulfil that requirement, because they have an isolating policy for registering posters, poor moderation, unrestricted trolls and thread-derailers, and poor forum functions compared to either here or TS. It's not the school yard, picking little Tommy last - it's choosing the best option for the goal.
imo BF is an easy choice. We have what, 3 moderators on here? The board is very well run and I can't see any problems occurring.

AT you misunderstand a comment about something on here, as an angry attack on you. Not what I wrote. Not what I intended.

In the life I have off BF, I have no problem running a national business, or corresponding with suppliers, manufacturers, franchisees, staff, advisors etc.

This was a comment, about how Saints may move forward and better engage with their supporters, members and sponsors. PM a contact email for the Saints and I will gladly email them the same.

But before you take offence at posts on here, reread the comment and ask yourself, if this is a personal attack on you, or a comment about something, that someone sees as another means of improving the St Kilda Football Club.

Sorry mate must have read post wrong. Ill send you PM later today if you want.

Some who have been on there for years reckon he was previously doing it while he was coaching us! He's certainly one of a kind and doesn't just follow the herd! It's funny seeing all the arse kissing that's going on on that thread though. :D

thats true he was on saintsational when he was coach.