Review St Kilda win vs Carlton

This video highlights just how consistent Newnes was\is, gets a bit underrated by us because of that imo, isn't usually mercurial like Gresh can be but I can see him becoming an A grader.

http://www.saints.com.au/video/2016-08-09/sainter-of-the-day-newnes-rd20

20tmj9s.jpg

Weird eh?

Yeah, I always think it's just due to his all round game. He's so even in everything he does and often has important but subtle possessions. He gets it out of congestion and into space often almost flicking it out but hardly ever misses a target and seems to find the right option most of the time. He doesn't hold the ball for long often using it quickly and accurately. He's just a really even and clever footy player IMO. He also doesn't stand out physically in any way so can get over looked. I think Joey is probably in a similar boat to be honest. Most people don't give him as much credit for his career as he deserves. Again due to the way he almost makes the game look too easy and no real party tricks to make him stand out from the crowd. There aren't many stats Newnes isn't in the top 5 for at the Saints but because he's not at the top of any he gets looked past a bit.

Apparently that was Carlton's biggest loss for the season. You bewdy.

At this stage of the season last year the message was to see out the year and stay competitive. This year it's to keep winning, and if the universe aligns, dip our toe into the finals pool. The improvement is glaring, and there would be many clubs that would be wary and a little envious of the traction that the Saints are starting to find on the improvement curve.

upload_2016-8-11_9-18-7.jpeg

Grescious is on track to be an ornament for the Saints recruiting department. He is going to become that player that others look to, to provide spark and crack a game open. He can find it. He carries the ball as well as anybody in the competition. His instinct for the right option is top notch. If he can get his disposal by foot to elite standards then the sky is the limit for our man. Essendon fans can be proud of Parish, but next to the Gresh he just seems so one dimensional. We are one more successful trade period away from finding our finals form.

Luke Dunstan's injury is devastating. He has done a lot of the heavy lifting for the side and is in great touch, and will be sorely missed against Sydney. No doubt the pressure is on Armitage, Acres and Billings to find another gear this week.

Apparently that was Carlton's biggest loss for the season. You bewdy.

At this stage of the season last year the message was to see out the year and stay competitive. This year it's to keep winning, and if the universe aligns, dip our toe into the finals pool. The improvement is glaring, and there would be many clubs that would be wary and a little envious of the traction that the Saints are starting to find on the improvement curve.

View attachment 275477

Grescious is on track to be an oranment for the Saints recruiting department. He is going to become that player that others look to, to provide spark and crack a game open. He can find it. He carries the ball as well as anybody in the competition. His instinct for the right option is top notch. If he can get his disposal by foot to elite standards then the sky is the limit for our man. Essendon fans can be proud of Parish, but next to the Gresh he is just seems so one dimensional. We are one more successful trade period away from finding our finals form.

Luke Dunstan's injury is devastating. He has done a lot of the heavy lifting for the side and is in great touch, and will be sorely missed against Sydney. No doubt the pressure is on Armitage, Acres and Billings to find another gear this week.
Great post. Hey mate you must be stoked that the first Fijian born to ever win a Gold medal for Australia.( the young lass in the Rugby)
Knew we let you lot in for a reason;)

Great post. Hey mate you must be stoked that the first Fijian born to ever win a Gold medal for Australia.( the young lass in the Rugby)
Knew we let you lot in for a reason;)
Stoked in like a quiet fist pump while returning to the service line.

But if Fiji win the rugby sevens tomorrow for a gold medal I'll be a different kind of stoked.

5e572ee533c6c19699fd29db141e858a.jpg

#opentheborders

This win is underrated IMO, yes they weren't great, but we were bloody excellent, was talking to a carlton supporting mate who's a very close watcher of the game and he was saying how we looked better than any other side they've played, make no mistake they've played some good football recently, and we just had an answer for them at every corner. Add in a more ready Paddy, a more developed Blake and JB as well as adding a 200cm beast in Carlisle which frees up Dempster, as well as improving 15% when interstate and we'll be a very solid side next year and beyond.

i read on the Carlton Trade Thread that there's a chance the Jaksch & Whiley could be delisted/traded (a couple of posters opinions, i might add!). Considering Boekhorst is a very average footballer, what a bust that Trade has turned out to be.

That's unfortunate, and quite sad :(

foca-riendo-en-la-playa.jpg

If you didn't get excited by Gresh on the day, you're a weirdo.

If you didn't get excited watching Gresh on the replay, check your pulse. You're dead! [emoji15]

Newnes is a big part of the reason (along with Billings coming though) that I wasn't particularly disappointed that we missed out on Gaff.

Gaff was one that I couldn't work out why I didn't rate as much as I should. He just has something that doesn't quite do it for me. It might have been anti WC bias but I wasn't upset either despite him probably being the best left at one point.

I rate Gaff, but he is very one dimensional in that he really only plays wing and we have Newnes playing to a standard that doesn't make me think "we need to replace this guy" and will hopefully continue to improve and then we're hopefully going to have Roo mostly playing on the other wing for the next year or two and then we'd be planning on guys like Billings and Acres playing wing at times going forward, so I'm just pretty comfortable with what we've got there and would be happy to go after a Gaff type in a couple of years time if we feel we need one. Maybe once Nick has retired and freed up a spot. Not to mention that we could play others there like Savage, Roberton and Webster.

yep, I reckon Webster would be a beauty as a pure wing man. Newnes pretty handy there too but it would be great to see Webster loping out into space and setting up the forwards on the lead. He's been really unaccountable in the backline this year which he never used to do. Giving him a role where he could run forward of the play and not be a liability would be a good thing. He reminds me of the under 11s the way he gets bored and goes and does his own thing this year, it's good to be assertive but not loose. Making it a positive would be a good thing.

Gaff I think had really bad tackle numbers from memory so Richo probably would have had a breakdown trying to get him on his man.