Strategy STAND rule

ump and gimmicky rule assisted goals are my favourite thing in footy. i hope one day to see games that are entirely scripted by the rules and umps, the more 50s and 100s the better. probably only a few years off that
Love your post, I’m one of the few that hate the “easy goal Rule changes” , just to appease the masses.
AFL is becoming a farce and just wait how close they’ll get it to AFLX style over the next decade.

I’m one of the few that likes defence and well as offence and the battle in between.
the worlds most popular sport has very few goals but has loads of tension.
AFL is becoming the fast food of sports thanks to our no class rules committee.
yay another goal has just been kicked bore fest. Balance is your friend.

Whately not on Radio today with a severe case of lock jaw
what's happened to him. again not on his show. always makes it to aful360. tho. must have pictures of the fat man judging by the time he takes off. sam edmonds is better anyway. in edmonds. out whateley.

Oh lovely, let's now get into feigning to milk free kicks to get goals....

AFL Goal of the Year
AFL Mark of the Year
AFL Feign of the Year

I'm less interested, less invested in this game now sadly.

Hocking has ruined the game. Next year you won't be able to tackle so it will become touch football.
fu**odff back into your hole Hocking you maggot ridden flog.

Outside of tigers games, its hard to watch footy.

The rugby style wasn't much good on the eye either. But the netball ping pong now is very strange

Yep, you know it's going to hell in a hand basket when you start to feel really sorry for the umpires!

1618717910005.png

Hocking has ruined the game. Next year you won't be able to tackle so it will become touch football.
fu**odff back into your hole Hocking you maggot ridden flog.

Sanfl style last touched - out of bounce rule too.

It's already almost like that. The Hardwick laughing example

I don’t really mind the rule and knew from the get go that it would benefit sides with gun forward so didn’t quite understand the hoo ha around here. I reckon we have watched closely how sides are closing down the quick ball movement and have improvised our setup accordingly , you still gotta be good , and I mean very good if you wanna over possess the ball against the tigers

as i've said, don't mind it so long as the umps call play-on the instant a player makes a move off-line. and i mean instant. it put some pressure back on the player with the ball. they aren't doing that at present.

I don't have a problem with this one based on the rules as they are today, he moved off the mark before the umpire called play on. He read the player rather than waiting for the call.

I think you are a generous person then - it was line ball and didn't deserve a 50m penalty - I would have called play-on again. The whole rule is not worth 50 metres of penalty, if it must be a penalty - 15m at most. I hate goals for any side resulting from it - it simply isn't a footballing effort and not deserving of a goal.

Oh lovely, let's now get into feigning to milk free kicks to get goals....

AFL Goal of the Year
AFL Mark of the Year
AFL Feign of the Year

I'm less interested, less invested in this game now sadly.

Player took a big step left, play on was the right call. Ump second guessed himself and changed his decision.
Not the rule's fault, umpire error.

p.s. I hate the stand rule btw.

I think you are a generous person then - it was line ball and didn't deserve a 50m penalty - I would have called play-on again. The whole rule is not worth 50 metres of penalty, if it must be a penalty - 15m at most. I hate goals for any side resulting from it - it simply isn't a footballing effort and not deserving of a goal.
Is your issue with the rule or with the umpires decision in this event?
It doesn't matter if the player took a big step left, you need to wait for the umpires call of play on.
Even if you remove the stand rule, had the player ran over the mark before the umpire called play on then it would have been the same 50 meter penalty, the same logic applies here.

Player took a big step left, play on was the right call. Ump second guessed himself and changed his decision.
Not the rule's fault, umpire error.

p.s. I hate the stand rule btw.
The ump has the ability to say hang on chaps made a bit of a blunder what. Let's start again, but no I'll just give you 50m instead.

They're bringing it in because they want higher scores and more free flowing football, which on the surface looks like a good aim, but the way its being done is diminishing the product. It will lead to more goals off the back of terrible 50m penalties, and the scores will increase but the spectacle will be poor.

Gerard Whateley reckons they didn't want higher scoring and will cut you off if you say otherwise

Love your post, I’m one of the few that hate the “easy goal Rule changes” , just to appease the masses.
AFL is becoming a farce and just wait how close they’ll get it to AFLX style over the next decade.

I’m one of the few that likes defence and well as offence and the battle in between.
the worlds most popular sport has very few goals but has loads of tension.
AFL is becoming the fast food of sports thanks to our no class rules committee.
yay another goal has just been kicked bore fest. Balance is your friend.
Great post

What about Montagna on First Crack last night saying the Prestia 50 should've been called play on because he faked the handball :drunk:
There was a 50 paid for that last round, I can't remember if he was our game or not.

Biggest problem is a player can fake a play on or actually play on and before the ump can call play on, the man on the mark reacts and gets 50 against, happened twice in the Rich v Dogs game once for each team, why do the AFL feel the need to change the rules every year without any testing

Gills legacy will be the ruination of our great game.

There was a 50 paid for that last round, I can't remember if he was our game or not.
Was our game, player feigned a handball our player moved off the mark and the oppo got a 50metre penalty and subsequent goal. Its a bullshit rule needs to be abolished.