Prediction Starting Best 22 2017

• Thread starter Thread starter St Pauls

All I know is Steele and Brown have earned a starting 22 spot, Koby is right on the fringe and could have been in if he had played last night.

Ross, Gresh and Dunstan (pains me to say) have not been consistent this JLT series, all of these 3 are talents and at their best are in our 22, but they would all want to have a decent game in Round 1 if they are each selected.

I think your view is perfectly understandable. When the ball hits the deck it feels like we are 1 down and his man plays off him at ease

But I keep thinking of Hawkins at geelong. He was carried and I do mean literally carried for seasons. He only came good in the 2011 GF when jpod was stretchered off. It was basically him or nothing and he stood up.

I think we have to do the same with paddy even if it is just for structure. I think we have to carry him for a bit keeping an eye on him standing up in September in 2018.

I think he needs a full season injury free and another uninterrupted pre season.

In the meantime I think he will frustrate the absolute shite out of us at times and other times he'll clunk a few and make us go WOW!
Just think if you want the best 22 then Roo plays forward and you play an extra mid. But I also see why he needs to play.

I feel that if Acres and Koby are in competition for a spot then Acres should get it. Unfortunate timing regarding his illness. But Acres has shown a fair effort at sandy and he should go in on form.

I hope Blake is feeling pressured for his spot, because he is. And if Koby Stevens is going to make it at AFL level you would imagine it would be right about now at 25, a decent amount of AFL pre-seasons under his belt and just watched all his mates at the club he left to chase a best 22 spot win a premiership. He should pretty bloody driven, so Acres is going to have to do a lot.

Based on jlt preseason form

B Geary Brown Dempster
HB Savage Carlisle Roberton
C Webster Armo Riewoldt
HF Billings McCartin Wright
F Weller Bruce Members
R Hickey Steven Steele

Dunstan Ross Gilbert Newnes

Next cabs off the rank: Gresh Acres Stevens

My starting line up for round 1:

B: GEARY, BROWN, DEMPSTER
HB: SAVAGE, CARLISLE, ROBERTON
C: BILLINGS, ARMITAGE, RIEWOLDT
HF: WRIGHT, McCARTIN, WELLER
F: GRESHAM, BRUCE, MEMBREY
R: HICKEY, STEVEN, STEELE

INT: ROSS, DUNSTAN, NEWNES, ACRES

That's one really solid line up on paper. I personally think they'll go with Gilbert over Acres but would like to see Acres take the spot. Interesting to see how Joey pulls up.

Bring on round 1.

Sam Reid also did well last night, not just Buddy. Took 9 marks, many of them strong clunks. Was the best I've seen him look in a fair while.

Just wasn't Paddy, Bruce and Skunk's night, unfortunately. Augurs well for when it is though, since we almost beat them with those 3 contributing just one sausage.

Paddy's kicking for goal a concern though. I was looking back through a 2014 draft write-up on Paddy by Daddy's mate KM, a couple of days ago, and he spoke about Paddy having the exact same issues kicking for goal that we've been horrified by this year and really lacking confidence, so this is not a new thing.
Yeah, I've mentioned his kicking for goal here before, and others disagreed. I look at his set shot action and it just seems like a "there abouts" action rather than an accurate one to me. I know he's young, but unless he really changes something, he'll miss most of the tough ones and some sitters I fear. He'll need to pluck lots of them right in front. Maybe he just needs to kick the crap out of it to get it right, hopefully something simple like that, maybe stop getting hit on the noggin. Maybe just get fitter?

Fox footy showed a splitscreen graphic last year vs Essendon showing Paddy kick a goal beyond 50m and one from 30-35m. When he's inside 40 he seems to poke at the ball and the follow through is practically non-existent.

You'd think with the way they work on goal kicking routines at the highest level they'll be working with him to make sure he always kicks through the ball- definitely seems like a mental thing being that when he's closer in he takes the power out of his leg.

Kicked 14.6 last year so still nails most of his opportunities. His JLT kicking hasn't been as good as his accuracy last year but I reckon he'll be fine. Doesn't seem like something that will be too difficult to fix.

So assuming Montagna is fit for round 1 here's our backline:

FB: Geary Brown Gilbert
HB: Montagna Carlisle Roberton

No Savage, Webster or any other up and comer.

Now before someone says "oh one can play on the wing" well which one of Newnes or Riewoldt is making way? Clearly neither are getting in the midfield either. Webster I'm not that fussed about but Savage has to find a way in.

We will have a 7 man backline when we set up surely...

Geary Brown Gilbert
Roberton
Montagna Carlisle Savage

Webster could jag a spot on the bench too.

We will have a 7 man backline when we set up surely...

Geary Brown Gilbert
Roberton
Montagna Carlisle Savage

Webster could jag a spot on the bench too.
I'd play Webster on the bench.

When Roo goes to the bench or rotates foward, Roberton will push up to the wing like he has for the last 2 years & Webster will play off half back

I'd play Webster on the bench.

When Roo goes to the bench or rotates foward, Roberton will push up to the wing like he has for the last 2 years & Webster will play off half back

Only problem with that is:

B: Geary - Brown - Gilbert
HB: Montagna - Carlisle - Roberton
C: Newnes - Armitage - Riewoldt
HF: Billings - McCartin - Weller
F: Wright - Bruce - Membrey

Foll: Hickey - Steven - Ross

Int: Gresham, Steele, Dunstan, Stevens

Which two are missing out to get both Savage and Webster in? Maybe Stevens but they seem pretty happy with what he'll bring.

Going by the post match press conference with Richo, Dempster will still be playing

At 3.38 Richo explains that Dempster was suppose to have the week off but he wanted to play. Richo then says "he played really well so that's more headaches for the coach". Reading between the lines I suspect Dempster is far from guaranteed to be selected round 1. Id go as far as to say he's more likely not to get selected.

Only problem with that is:

B: Geary - Brown - Gilbert
HB: Montagna - Carlisle - Roberton
C: Newnes - Armitage - Riewoldt
HF: Billings - McCartin - Weller
F: Wright - Bruce - Membrey

Foll: Hickey - Steven - Ross

Int: Gresham, Steele, Dunstan, Stevens

Which two are missing out to get both Savage and Webster in? Maybe Stevens but they seem pretty happy with what he'll bring.
I'm hoping that it turns out Montagna is going to end up replacing Gilbert for week 3 when he's got some playing time with sandy.

Dunstan or Stevens the other to go.

Wouldn't mind seeing long week 3 as well

I'm hoping that it turns out Montagna is going to end up replacing Gilbert for week 3 when he's got some playing time with sandy.

Dunstan or Stevens the other to go.

Wouldn't mind seeing long week 3 as well

A bit harsh dropping or picking guys when they haven't even played. Doubt Long is any hope without games under his belt.

At 3.38 Richo explains that Dempster was suppose to have the week off but he wanted to play. Richo then says "he played really well so that's more headaches for the coach". Reading between the lines I suspect Dempster is far from guaranteed to be selected round 1. Id go as far as to say he's more likely not to get selected.
When you combine that with Richo saying in the pre-game interview that the team we had out on the park that night was our best line-up (ie best available), I think it's pretty clear that there was only one spot avail between Sean and Gilbo and that Gilbo got it. Paul Roos also mentioned once or twice during the night that they were hearing that there was only one spot between the two of them.

Savage is best 22 until he has a run of poor form. End of story. No chance Koby plays ahead of Savage.
Yeah I think it's pretty safe to say that we won't be dropping the guy who had the most disposals for us for the game- at 80% efficiency- and who gained us a game-high 700m and more than 200m more than our next best. Especially if Joey doesn't get up.

I think Koby might think twice about eating seafood next time, as he might have killed his chances of getting a game with that meal!

Yeah I think it's pretty safe to say that we won't be dropping the guy who had the most disposals for us for the game- at 80% efficiency- and who gained us a game-high 700m and more than 200m more than our next best. Especially if Joey doesn't get up.

I think Koby might think twice about eating seafood next time, as he might have killed his chances of getting a game with that meal!

Surely those 2 aren't playing for the same spots though. Savage is up against Webster if they play him loose and Joey when he is fit. If Webster plays as a lockdown then Savage is up against even less players. He and Joey do have the easiest role in a very tough game so they need to continue to play consistent footy.

Yes it may well have been a sliding doors moment for him.
  • Plays and gets in the 22 and potentially stays there.
  • Does not play and has to wait for a chance that may not come.
Having said that I thought he looked excellent in the intraclub, but only ok after that. Whereas Steele has just gotten better and better and looks to be the better skilled and more complete package.

Armo too was largely un-sighted as Richo gave the new boys more time actually on the ball than Armo. But then bang come the Swans game Armo is on the ball and bang back in town form wise.

However having depth like Stevens means that if injury does strike that we have excellent back up.

We also have the headache of how can Acres be squeezed back into the 22?