RIP
Jan 13, 2001
SportsTAB, Memory Lane
Brisbane Lions
Woodville,Roys,NT Thunder
Here is the '71 side (courtesy of Adel Hawk).

Anyone care to comment (& hopefully AH will post other years we can pick them to pieces)

South Australia 12-12 (84), l. to Victoria 16-18 (114) Melbourne 12 June
F: I.Verrier, M.Greenslade, M.Nunan
HF: P.Woite, J.Wynne, P.Marker (c)
C: B.Light, R.Ebert, A.Burgan
HB: P.Nelson, R.Schoff, R.Pope
B: B.Adcock, R.Kingston, G.Cornes
Ruck: D.Farnham, P.Bagshaw (vc), R.Huppatz
Res: W.Phillis, J.Cahill

Best: Huppatz, Adcock, Greenslade, Wynne, Burgan, Light
Goals: Greenslade 6, Huppatz 3, Wynne, Verrier, Marker.

South Australia 17-14 (116), d. Tasmania 12-12 (84) Hobart 14 June
F: P.Marker (c), M.Greenslade, R.Huppatz
HF: N.Sachse, J.Wynne, G.Cornes
C: A.Burgan, R.Ebert, B.Light
HB: P.Woite, R.Schoff, R.Pope
B: B.Adcock, P.Nelson, W.Phillis
Ruck: P.Darley, P.Bagshaw (vc), T.Von Bertouch
Res: J.Cahill, I.Verrier

Best: Wynne, Ebert, Von Bertouch, Huppatz, Burgan, Woite, Bagshaw
Goals: Huppatz 5, Greenslade 4, Von Bertouch 4, Wynne 2, Burgan, Woite

South Australia 15-19 (109), d. Western Australia 12-10 (82) Adelaide 3 July
F: P.Darley, M.Greenslade, T.Von Bertouch
HF: N.Sachse, B.Robran, P.Marker (c)
W: P.Woite, R.Ebert, A.Burgan
HB: B.Colbey, P.Nelson, R.Pope
B: B.Adcock, R.Kingston, M.Blight
Ruck: D.Farnham, P.Bagshaw (vc), R.Huppatz
Res: I.Verrier, R.Voigt

Best: Huppatz, Ebert, Kingston, Bagshaw, Darley, Colbey
Goals: Huppatz 6, Darley 4, Greenslade, Von Bertouch, Sachse, Verrier, Robran

Cheers

Fatty

For mine, 1971 was a big year in SANFL history. We saw the end of Sturt's dominance of premierships and the introduction of the "Victorian" style of football with Mike Patterson at North Adelaide getting more players into the middle of the field and opening up spaces up-field, a more ruthless approach with a greater emphasis on the more physical aspects of the game.

We saw Barrie Robran at his peak, the emergence of Russell Ebert as a genuine star of the game, and players such as Malcolm Blight and Ray Huppatz making their mark on the game.

From a personal point of view, Robert Oatey's youth policy at Norwood was beginning to take shape and promises of things to come. Oatey became Full-Time Director of the Norwood club, the first appointment of its type in SA Football.

We saw plans from the SANFL to develop a multi-million dollar sporting complex at West Lakes and an announcement that the SANFL would not renew its lease on Adelaide Oval beyond 1973.

Those were exciting times. Boy, I really loved my footy back then :)

Other players in those 1971 state teams worth a mention are:

Brenton Adcock who revolutionised the role of the back pocket player. He would back himself in, running up field and creating scoring opportunities. We had never seen that before from a back pocket player.

Peter Darley, even on one leg was as good, if not better, than any ruckman in SANFL history. A crippling knee injury early in 1965 took the spring out of his game and we probably never saw the best of what Darley could have been.

Paul Bagshaw, a mercurial player, agruably the most skilled and complete player to play the game. How he never won a Magarey Medal is a mystery. He could mark in the clouds, was beautifully balanced on both sides of the body, could kick 60 metre drop kicks to position, brilliant exponent of the handball, always seemed to have as much time as he wanted, and yet he was a very physical player, often laying crushing tackles to turn a game.

Jack Oatey is reported to have said that Bagshaw could stab pass a pea up a fowl's bum and not ruffle a feather.

Tony Burgan, probably the pioneer of the 6 foot-plus wingmen in the SANFL.

John "two-eight" Wynne. Tough and rugged exponent of the application of physical force in football, and yet possessed sublime skills. Shocking ankles slowed him down a little but his 100% winning attitude made him a great player.

And how about Sandy Nelson, 7 premierships, incredible perfomance.

not much else you can say except those sides had champions on every line. surprised they didnt trouble the big v a bit more to be honest.

really was the beginning of a golden era of sa footy.

PerthCrow said:
Good to see the 2 sides from 71.

Yes there were stars on each line. The only one I dont recall was Verrier. Can someone supply some history /background.

This is from full points footy PerthCrow.

Ian Verrier (West Adelaide & Port Adelaide)

At 191cm and 83.5kg Ian Verrier was the perfect build for the role of run-on ruckman that he occupied for most of his 200 game league career with West Adelaide (135 games) and Port Adelaide (65). He also represented South Australia half a dozen times. Strong overhead, and extremely quick, he saw plenty of the ball, but his sometimes suspect kicking made him less than the full package. Touted as 'the next big thing' when he began with West in 1968 it would probably be fair to suggest that, when he finally retired eleven seasons later, he had not done full justice to his potential.

I recall him being a pretty "handy" player while he was at Westies and then not being much chop while at Port. I had a mate who is a supporter and I remember Verrier was the one player he loved to hate. Interestingly he never played in a premeirship side at Port.

Just from a Port Adelaide pov I was going to ask how Verrier made any state side, let alone more than one. Funny how his was the name to crop up ... gee Doug sold us some pups ... Verrier, Graeme Robertson, Craig Vozzo (only swapped him for Shaun Rehn, sight unseen) ...

Couple of pretty handy CHBs popping up on wings and HFFs ... Sachse and Woite (Cornesy too ... played a bit back there late in the career).

He was a firey I reckon - had that short regulation haircut and a mo - but not a 70s porno special - just another regulation job.

Greenslade???

Must admit to not rating him anywhere near the other FF's that played in his era. Where was DK in '71?? Didn't centrals have a goal kicking machine around this period, and D Sachse must have been peaking too.

Kicking goals for Sturt during their golden era from FF wouldn't have been too difficult. Reckon most Sturt FF's must have missed a few games with "bruising to the chest" courtesy of Bagshaw et al. So I'm mildly suprised he actually made a SA side, and more suprised he actually bagged 6 against Victoria - was Southby custodian back then??

Adcock - almost first picked for SA for yonks. Bruce Light - my fave all time Port player - pace to burn, with a bit of aggro tossed in for good measure.

A few good rovers running around in SA at the time too. Where was Nunan at this stage? Looks like Huppatz may have pioneered the "short key forward" role well before Leigh Matthews.....either that or he spent most of his time in the pocket to keep away from Lethal!!!

As for Verrier - I knew he left Westies for Port, but never knew he'd played state until this side was posted.

FattyLumpkin said:
Greenslade???

Must admit to not rating him anywhere near the other FF's that played in his era. Where was DK in '71?? Didn't centrals have a goal kicking machine around this period, and D Sachse must have been peaking too.

Kicking goals for Sturt during their golden era from FF wouldn't have been too difficult. Reckon most Sturt FF's must have missed a few games with "bruising to the chest" courtesy of Bagshaw et al. So I'm mildly suprised he actually made a SA side, and more suprised he actually bagged 6 against Victoria - was Southby custodian back then??

Adcock - almost first picked for SA for yonks. Bruce Light - my fave all time Port player - pace to burn, with a bit of aggro tossed in for good measure.

A few good rovers running around in SA at the time too. Where was Nunan at this stage? Looks like Huppatz may have pioneered the "short key forward" role well before Leigh Matthews.....either that or he spent most of his time in the pocket to keep away from Lethal!!!

As for Verrier - I knew he left Westies for Port, but never knew he'd played state until this side was posted.

I never thought about that. It is curious as to why Phillis missed as I would have thought he was the most consistent full forward of that era. I know Sachse was injured (knee - missed nearly all of 1971) and Garry Jones (he was the Central guy you were trying to think of) was only just starting to make his mark.
Huppatz and Von Bertouch I would have thought were the stand out SA rovers at that stage although you'll notice that Nunan got the gig in the first game (when IIRC Von Bertouch was injured). VB was a very underrated player and if he'd played at North in any other era he'd had walked away with 2 or 3 best and fairests.

FattyLumpkin said:
Greenslade???

Greenslade played the four games prior to the 1st state game and kicked bags of 6,4,6,6 for a total of 22 goals. Fred Phillis was definitely available, he kicked 5,8,3,4 (20). I am thinking that SA were going through an unsuccesful time against the Vics and maybe opted for a fast leading FF rather than the stronger Phillis. Gary Johns booted 5,6,4,2 (17) but I think big Gary would have been considerd too slow for interstate footy.

When Greenslade booted 6 against the Vics his opponent was Geelong's John Scarlett (father of Matthew). Ian Verrier was a few years ahead of me at school. I remember he used to play footy in boots that looked like army boots. Make no mistake though, for the period in the late 60s - early 70s Verrier was a very good player.

From a Norwood point of view, I was always annoyed that Roger Woodcock never got a state jumper. He kicked 602 goals in 267 games. I guess the state selectors considered he wouldn't be able to match the physical pressure of interstate footy.

Is this the greatest SA side ever? The 1963 side which beat the Vics on the MCG:

F R.Oatey (Nwd) N.Hawke (WT) H.Kernahan (Gl)
HF B.Sawley (Nwd) I.Hannaford (PA) L.Head (WT)
C B.Barbary (NA) J.Halbert (St) J.Cahill (PA)
HB K.Eustice (WA) J.Bray (WA) G.Motley (PA)
B F.Bills (WT) R.Hammond (NA) R.Shearman (WT)
1R K.A.Wedding (Nwd) D.N.Kerley (WA) J.Potter (PA)
Res D.Lindner (NA) R.Day (WA)
Emg R.Benton (WA)

Virtually every player is a champion - not just a player who was in form at the time.

63State2.jpg

Or is it the 1983 side which beat the Vics by 56 points?

Goalkickers' list: B. Lindner 5, P. Motley 3, S. Kernahan 3, C. Bradley 3, M. Naley 2, M. Aish 2, J. Platten 2, J. Schneebichler 2, K. Thomas, S. Copping, G. McAdam, G. McIntosh.

The Who's Who of SA football in the 80's, bar McDermott, McGuinness and Jarman.

McAlmanac said:
The Who's Who of SA football in the 80's, bar McDermott, McGuinness and Jarman.
Mac Thank you for that..personally I believe the 63 side is better.
Can I ask a favour mac.. McDermott,McGuiness and co played Teal Cup football and went to Darwin in 81 or 82? 81 I would suggest. WA have their super 7 who played Teal Cup and went onto play for the Eagles.. can you find the 81 side and list them for me. I knew Daryle Rigney who played in that side , but I want to see how many of that side went on to play vfl/AFL football. Cheers

I've said before - this '63 side should be manadatory teaching throughout all primary schools in SA. You simply don't graduate to High School until you can recount the side and scores!

Just realised West Adelaide had 5 names in the 21 - where did they finish in '62 & '63.

How close would have Darley been to making this side (I can't recall his debut year).

LL - Was Fred Bloch ever close to making state selection?? Didn't he win a B&F or 2 with North around then????

FattyLumpkin said:
Just how many years did Bob Hammond play??? State in '63 & I know he played in the 73 GF. Guess he must have debuted in '60???

His first year was in 1960. In the Grand Final he was in the best three on the ground. Tom Warhurst in his summary on radio states "Hammond is the best first year full back that I have ever seen". Fair observation.

His last game for North was in the 1973 Grand Final. His game that day was legendary.

He did have a few games for Norwood as a playing coach in 1974

FattyLumpkin said:
I've said before - this '63 side should be manadatory teaching throughout all primary schools in SA. You simply don't graduate to High School until you can recount the side and scores!

Just realised West Adelaide had 5 names in the 21 - where did they finish in '62 & '63.

How close would have Darley been to making this side (I can't recall his debut year).

LL - Was Fred Bloch ever close to making state selection?? Didn't he win a B&F or 2 with North around then????

West Adelaide finished runner-up under Kerley in 1962 then finished 4th under Doug Thomas in 1963. After that it was pretty much downhill for a number of years as many top players left the club.

Peter Darley came straight from Prince Alfred College in 1962 to play 2 games late in the season. In 1963 he played all 20 games and won South B&F in his 1st full season. South named him Vice Captain in 1964. Great player was Darley, possibly a little green for the 1963 state team.

Fred Bloch wouldn't have been all that close to state selection I wouldn't think. He had problems cementing a regular spot for several seasons but in 1964 he finished runner-up B&F to Barrie Barbary. The following year he was North's B&F and named V/Captain in 1966.

His career with North: (1961 to 1967) 77 games, 17 goals
1961 8 games, 1 goal
1962 13 games, 4 goals
1963 17 games, 6 goals
1964 9 games, 3 goals
1965 16 games, 3 goals
1966 12 games, 0 goals
1967 2 games, 0 goals

Very serviceable player was Freddie, no real marking skills but very good on the ground. I would think his lack of genuine leg speed would have found him a little out of his depth at state level.

FattyLumpkin said:
Just how many years did Bob Hammond play??? State in '63 & I know he played in the 73 GF. Guess he must have debuted in '60???

Bob Hammond played 238 games, 69 goals for North Adelaide from 1960 to 1973, then played another 14 games for Norwood 1974 to 1975.

To give you an idea of where Bob Hammond may rate as a full-back, in my opinion Peter Hudson is the greatest FF I've seen play the game, and he has stated two of the toughest full backs he ever played on were Ron Kneebone and Bob Hammond.I think that is very high testimony indeed.

Hammond's record would have been even better because he didn't play at all for North in 1966, and only 1 game in 1967 due to working (and coaching) in the country. Port Pirie, I think it was. When he returned to North in 1968 he kicked a few goals as a ruck-rover while Adrian Sutter held down the full-back position.

The 1963 team was no doubt a great team, but it was just slightly before my time. The team I have the fondest recollection of is the team which defeated Victoria by 64 points at Adelaide in 1965. As it turned out, it was the last SA team to beat Victoria for 18 years. Here are the teams:

Adelaide Oval, 10 July 1965

SOUTH AUSTRALIA Coach: Foster Williams
F: Tony Clarkson (S), Geoff Kingston (WT), Jeff Potter (PA)
HF: Alf Skuse (SA), Tom Grljusich (CD), Bob Simunsen (W)
C: Ken Eustice (CD), Robert Day (WA), John Cahill (PA)
HB: Geof Motley (PA) v-capt, Rick Schoff (S), Bob Schmidt (SA)
B: Brenton Adcock (S), Bruce Jarrett (S), Barry Pascoe (NA)
Ruck: Bill Wedding (N), Neil Kerley (SA) capt, Colin Rice (G)
Res: Eric Freeman (PA), Alan White (SA)

VICTORIA Coach: John Coleman
F: Graham Farmer (G) v-capt, Ralph Rogerson (Fitz), Billy Goggin (G)
HF: Des Tuddenham (Coll), Graeme John (SM), Bob Skilton (SM) capt.
C: Colin Youren (H), Bill Barrot (R), Bill Brown (R)
HB: John Jillard (Foots), David Darcy (Foots), Don Williams (M)
B: David Parkin (H), Bob "Tas" Johnson (M), Carl Ditterich (SK)
Ruck: John Nicholls (Carl), John Schultz (Foots), John Birt (E)
Res: Noel Teasdale (NM), Tom Allison (NM)

South Aust 1-5 8-7 8-7 12-11 (83)
Victoria 2-1 2-1 3-1 3-1 (19)
Best Players:
SA: Motley Adcock Wedding Cahill Rice Schoff
Vic: Jillard Schultz Darcy Williams Youren Allison
Goals:
SA: Kingston 4 Rice 2 Potter 2 Grljusich Simunsen White Kerley
Vic: Rogerson 2 Nicholls

Umpire: F.Woods (WA)
Attendance: 33,735

You would get great anecdotes out of State games too. I remember the Sturt runner ... now I'm not sure of his name, was it Graham "Daffy" Edwards? Reminded me of John Michael Howson ... anyway, he told this story on the Sunday Footy Show once of how he was runner in a State game where Fos Williams was coach. After a particularly inspiring piece of play, Fos told him to go to every player on the field and tell them how great that was and how they should follow that example (not in so many words of course). So Daffy dutifully ran to every player on the field, passing on the message. He went back to the coaches box, absolutely shagged, and Fos said "Did you tell them all?" Daffy wheezed back "Every one". Fos replied "Good. Now go out and tell them again!".

PerthCrow said:
I am old enough to remember 19 out of the 20 that played and Verrier was the only one whose name didnt ring a bell. Even after LLs bio he still is a blank in my mind.

He was an OK ruckman .He was a bit soft though and Westies had Dexter Kennedy and I think David Gurney at the time as well. Certainly had potential but never really played consistant footy.

Adelaide Hawk said:
West Adelaide finished runner-up under Kerley in 1962 then finished 4th under Doug Thomas in 1963. After that it was pretty much downhill for a number of years as many top players left the club.

Peter Darley came straight from Prince Alfred College in 1962 to play 2 games late in the season. In 1963 he played all 20 games and won South B&F in his 1st full season. South named him Vice Captain in 1964. Great player was Darley, possibly a little green for the 1963 state team.

Fred Bloch wouldn't have been all that close to state selection I wouldn't think. He had problems cementing a regular spot for several seasons but in 1964 he finished runner-up B&F to Barrie Barbary. The following year he was North's B&F and named V/Captain in 1966.

His career with North: (1961 to 1967) 77 games, 17 goals
1961 8 games, 1 goal
1962 13 games, 4 goals
1963 17 games, 6 goals
1964 9 games, 3 goals
1965 16 games, 3 goals
1966 12 games, 0 goals
1967 2 games, 0 goals

Very serviceable player was Freddie, no real marking skills but very good on the ground. I would think his lack of genuine leg speed would have found him a little out of his depth at state level.

Westies had an awesome center line in Eustice, Day, Benton. They had also thrashed Norwood in the '61 Grand Final. But sadly upheaval off the field was a common occurrence at Milner st.

rooboy said:
Westies had an awesome center line in Eustice, Day, Benton. They had also thrashed Norwood in the '61 Grand Final. But sadly upheaval off the field was a common occurrence at Milner st.
I don't think Robert Day played in that premiership side. That centre line could only have played for one or two seasons, but it is a beauty - two Magarey Medallists and an All Australian.

State Sides