State Sides

Adelaide Hawk said:
I'm not surprised. Not sure what Cassin would have said that would have helped, he was in the changerooms when it was all taking place. Although I have total admiration for Doug Thomas' dedication of service to the West Adelaide Football Club, he has a propensity to think that for something to be good, it must be of some benefit to the West Adelaide Football Club, so I'm not sure if anything he said about the incident would be 100% accurate :)
You're right about Cassin.

John Cassin: "Bloody hell, that was 25 years ago mate! How can I remember? I had no idea what was going on. All I remember is breaking my ankle in the forward pocket. I yhink I was inside the line but I couldn't have cared less. I was stretchered off."

You're also right about Doug Thomas. His version gilds the lily.

Doug Thomas: "You've got the story all wrong, I tell you! Torrens' runner called Cassin to come off, but he refused. He stayed out there. Fred Bills hadn't had a run, and his enthusuasm got the better of him and he just ran on the ground, so they had nineteen on. The coach gave the order to Robert Loveday to call a count, and then Fred jumped the fence and sat in the crowd. I'm sure I've got a newspaper cutting at home with a shot of him sitting in the crowd."

Noel Teasdale's version seems one of the most rational. Bob Loveday says he was spat on going down the race and needed a police escort to his car after the match!

How about this SA Team from 1973, it looks pretty good on paper.

South Australia v Victoria, Adelaide Oval, 12th May 1973.

SOUTH AUSTRALIA
Coach: Mike Patterson
F: Rick Davies, Max James, Terry Von Bertouch
HF: Peter Marker (c), Barrie Robran, Phil Carman
C: Bruce Light, Bob Keddie, Michael Graham
HB: Russell Ebert, Neil Sachse, Darrell Cahill
B: Sony Morey, Ian Kroehn, Neil Button
Ruck: Dean Farnham, Graham Cornes, Ray Huppatz (vc)
Res: Malcolm Blight, John Wynne

VICTORIA
Coach: John Kennedy
F: Alan Martello, Alex Jesaulenko, Leigh Matthews
HF: Allan Davis, Royce Hart (c), David Clarke
C: Keith Fletcher, Neville Fields, Keith Greig
HB: John Pitura, Gary Hardeman, Francis Bourke
B: John Rantall, Geoff Southby. Gary Dempsey
Ruck: Len Thompson, Laurie Richards, Wayne Richardson (vc)
Res: Greg Wells, Barry Lawrence

VICTORIA 8-1 12-9 17-11 21-13 (139)
STH AUST 5-2 9-4 14-11 20-15 (135)

Best
Vic: Jesaulenko W.Richardson Hardeman Greig Thompson Rantall Clarke Martello
SA: Huppatz Keddie Farnham Carman Cornes Marker Robran Morey
Goals
Vic: Jesaulenko 10 Hart 3 Clarke 2 Martello 2 Fletcher 2 Fields Davis
SA: Carman 4 Marker 4 Button 2 Huppatz 2 Cornes 2 Farnham 2 James Blight Davies Light

IMHO the best Interstate game I ever saw. What a galaxy of stars, and the match was a beauty. If only Alex Jesaulenko hadn't been unstoppable, SA would have won the game. Poor old Ian Kroehn, he had been in superb touch for the Bulldogs and then ran into a rampaging Jesaulenko, and he was never the same player after that.

How good was the HF line?: Marker, Robran, Carman. Makes the mouth water. And the team was so strong it had the luxury of the 1972 Magarey Medallist starting on the bench, and Russell Ebert at half back!!

I would love to see a full replay of this game, footy was fantastic in that era.

Adelaide Hawk said:
Ruck: Len Thompson, Laurie Richards, Wayne Richardson (vc)
That would be the same Laurie Richards who ended up at Woodville a couple of years later.

Notice once again - Ray Huppatz best for SA.

I can't really recall Max James as a gun full forward. CHB/CHF moreso ??? Poor bugger came across who I consider the FB of the century in Geoff Southby.

Them 2 wings for SA had pace to burn - mind you the Vic wingers were no plodders either.

How many "centreman" in the team??

Who would have been the "form" specialist back flankers in '73 ?

Finally - who rucked for SA?? All 3 - Farnham, Davies & Button. 5 goals out of 'em was a pretty good return.

FattyLumpkin said:
I can't really recall Max James as a gun full forward. CHB/CHF moreso ??? Poor bugger came across who I consider the FB of the century in Geoff Southby.

Max James started as a Full Forward. He kicked 62 goals in 1972 and another 54 goals in 1973 before finding his way to Full Back, then later at CHF. His best effort was 10 goals against West Adelaide at Alberton in 1972.

Your point about Southby was a good one. He was a far better Full Back than the imposter who was selected in that position in the Team of the Century.

Max was shifted from FB to on-ball/ruck rover during the 1977 season. He'd been trying to convince Jack Cahill for a while to move him. Kerley played him on ball in a State game v WA during the year, we lost but Max won the medal for best player. Not long after that Jack moved him - during a game against Norwood at Norwood IIRC - Greg Phillips went to FB. The legs were well on top at half time, Max went on the ball, turned the game around and Port went on to win. Max stayed on the ball and went on to finish runner up in the MM that year and play in a premiership side.

Max also played FB on Jezza in a state game a year or two after he kicked 10 on Kroehn. Jezza had 3 before qtr time and Max smacked him as I recall. Jezza went off injured and never came back on. Port players have a fine tradition of cracking Vic stars in state games. Ask Dermie ... ;)

Adelaide Hawk said:
That reminds me of when I went to Melbourne with some mates in the late 80s, we bumped into a guy in a nightclub. When he found out we were from SA he told us his name was Andrew Matheson and he played footy in Adelaide. You should have seen the look on his face when I said, "Yes, I saw you play, number 22 for Woodville". He seemed amazed that anyone would remember him. I guess he thought it was the last thing he expected to hear in a Melbourne nightclub. :)

Adel. Hawk, what a classic story! Back in the early '80s there was a group of us staying at Victor Harbor for the January Long Weekend!! Having a game of beach cricket who should ask me if he could join in was the one and only Andrew " Metho" Matheson and a mate of his from Melbourne!! When I said " Sure Thing Metho" he seemed surprised I knew him, but assured him I wasn't a stalker but just a fanatical Woodville Supporter!! Introduced him to everyone most of who didn't know him from a bar of soap!! He was a top bloke, very unassuming and casual!!

Racked up 66 League Games and 34 Goals for Woodville from 1980-83 Inclusive and sadly ( for us!) was cleared to Torrens in 1984 and that year played 14 Games and kicked 8 Goals for them!! I believe Malcolm Blight supposedly " didn't rate him" and that's why he was sent to Thebarton!! From memory he returned to Melbourne after the '84 Season to play VFA again?! His move may have been for employment/ family reasons! Have a feeling he married a local netballer from here I reckon she played for Garville or Contax or whoever!! It sounds like enough material to write a short story on this high possession gathering wingman, of the eighties!!...

Here's the team that defeated Victoria for the first time in 18 years.

16th May 1983
SOUTH AUSTRALIA v VICTORIA at Football Park

SOUTH AUSTRALIA
Coach: Bob Hammond
F: B.Lindner, S.Kernahan, M.Naley
HF: K.Thomas, J.Schneebichler, S.Copping
C: N.Craog, G.McIntosh, C.Bradley
HB: A.Giles, G.Phillips, J.Riley (vc)
B: G.Whittlesea, C.Williams, R.Ebert (c)
Ruck: M.Rendell, M.Aish, J.Platten
Int: P.Motley, G.McAdam, D.Schimmelbusch

Sth Aust 6-5 13-8 17-11 26-16 (172)
Victoria 2-3 8-8 13-12 17-14 (116)
Best
SA: Aish Bradley Craig Motley Giles Thomas Lindner
Vic: Flower Daniher Cunningham Wilson
Goals
SA: Lindner 5 Kernahan 3 Motley 3 Bradley 3 Platten 2 Aish 2 Naley 2 Schneebichler 2 Thomas McIntosh Copping McAdam
Vic: Flower 4 Daniher 3 Wilson 3 Madden 2 Marcou Hawker Cunningham Ashman Smith

Adelaide Hawk said:

16th May 1983

SOUTH AUSTRALIA

Sth Aust 6-5 13-8 17-11 26-16 (172)
Victoria 2-3 8-8 13-12 17-14 (116)
Best
SA: Aish Bradley Craig Motley Giles Thomas Lindner
Vic: Flower Daniher Cunningham Wilson
Goals
SA: Lindner 5 Kernahan 3 Motley 3 Bradley 3 Platten 2 Aish 2 Naley 2 Schneebichler 2 Thomas McIntosh Copping McAdam
Vic: Flower 4 Daniher 3 Wilson 3 Madden 2 Marcou Hawker Cunningham Ashman Smith

remember that game well. they were still wearing those purtid panelled SA jerseys that day. even tho the margin was only 23 points at 3Q time, the Vics never looked like winning at any stage that day. a 9 goal to 4 last Q certainly put the icing on the cake. my recollection, as shown by the Sa best, was that michael aish totally dominated. had a ridiculous amount of possession that day. being a geelong fan, i had heard we were after bruce lindner. i was pretty darn keen to get him over after his effort in this match.

Tony McGuinness, the reigning Magarey Medallist MUST have been injured, especially in view of the selection of Daryl Schimmelbusch. :eek:

To be fair, I do remember Schimma having a purple patch at Torrens.

Blighty's transfer wrangle must have robbed him of his place due to lack of match practice. ;)

If anyone had asked me if Sneezer had played CHF at SOO level I would have said no. Likewise if asked if Riley had ever VC'd a SOO side. Or if someone told me Ebert was once picked in the back pocket for SA - I would have laughed in his face.

Hmmmmm....!!

Great to see this old sides and dust a few memories. Who won the Magarey in '83? It was Westies flag from memory?? Whittlesea??

I would have loved to have seen McIntosh try his hand in the VFL too.

FattyLumpkin said:
If anyone had asked me if Sneezer had played CHF at SOO level I would have said no. Likewise if asked if Riley had ever VC'd a SOO side. Or if someone told me Ebert was once picked in the back pocket for SA - I would have laughed in his face.

Hmmmmm....!!

Great to see this old sides and dust a few memories. Who won the Magarey in '83? It was Westies flag from memory?? Whittlesea??

I would have loved to have seen McIntosh try his hand in the VFL too.

There were 12 VFL clubs who also wanted to see McIntiosh try VFL football :)

1983 flag was won by West Adelaide, they had a terrific year and defeated Sturt in the GF. Magarey Medal was won by Tony Antrobus of North Adelaide. Whittlesea won it in 1988.

Stephen Kernahan polled most votes but was ineliglble. For memory I think he polled 9 more votes (something like that) than the eventual winner.

Top 3:
35 Tony Antrobus (North Adelaide)
33 Bernie Conlen (West Adelaide)
32 Michael Aish (Norwood)

Not taking anything away from the deserving winner, Antrobus, the 1983 medal will always be slightly controversial in my mind. Michael Aish was having his best ever season, even better than when he won in 1981. I saw a Norwood v Sturt game at the Parade where Aish had one of his "ball on a string" days, over 40 touches. He was head and shoulders above anyone on the ground that day. The media all agreed the next few days.

After the match I was walking out of the (now gone) Redlegs Club and bumped into the umpires for the match, Neville Thorpe and Bob Schofield. I walked with them to where our cars were parked. I said to them, "You didn't have much of a problem selecting the 3 votes today". They looked a little puzzled and asked who I would have picked. I said, "Isn't it obvious, Michael Aish". One of them said, "Michael Aish?", and they looked at each other as if to say, "Hell, we hadn't even considered him". I said, "Don't tell me you didn't give Aish the votes". They looked very uncomfortable and refused to discuss it any more.

These were the days when they didn't read the votes out in game order so we have no way of knowing if Aish got votes for this game or not, but I will always wager that he didn't. Three more votes would have seen Aish tie with Antrobus for the medal.

This is the Top 20 from the Magarey Medal in 1983:
Year Player Team Total 3's 2's 1's
1983 S.Kernahan Glenelg 44 10 6 2
1983 A.Antrobus North 35 6 7 3
1983 B.Conlen West 33 7 5 2
1983 M.Aish Norwood 32 6 6 2
1983 C.Bradley Port 31 9 1 2
1983 D.Hart Central 29 7 3 2
1983 D.Schimmelbusch Torrens 25 5 4 2
1983 S.Hay North 24 3 5 5
1983 J.Schneebichler South 22 6 1 2
1983 P.Martin South 22 2 5 6
1983 R.Davies Sturt 21 3 5 2
1983 M.Dreher West 20 3 5 1
1983 P.Bubner Central 19 1 7 2
1983 M.Redden North 18 4 3 0
1983 R.Hawkins South 17 2 4 3
1983 D.Marshall Glenelg 16 4 1 2
1983 D.Bolton Woodville 16 4 1 2
1983 G.McIntosh Norwood 16 2 4 2
1983 F.Spiel Sturt 16 2 4 2
1983 P.Motley Sturt 16 2 3 4
1983 T.McGuinness Glenelg 16 1 4 5

(I posted this on the Woodville thread as well, by mistake)

It does show that Kernahan finished 9 ahead of Antrobus (4.5 adjusted) which is quite a margin between 1st and 2nd. Schimmelbusch had a fine year - 7th placing - including the State selection.

Just re-read what you said about Aish and the 1983 Magarey Medal, Adelaide Hawk and if they both selected Aish as BOG, he would have won it by 3 votes over Antrobus. (The double 3-2-1 system). If one had Aish down for 2 votes and the other 1 vote, this would have been the requirement for Aish to tie for the medal. Btw, the SANFL still had the countback system in operation - they scrapped it in 1990, so for Aish to have the medal that year, he would have needed 4 votes.

FattyLumpkin said:
Obviously Fred could play a bit, particularly in his younger days. I must admit to not realising he made state in '61, and I need constant reminding of his inclusion in that '63 SA team. Making that '61 team at such tender years is a HUGE achievement, particularly given the talent in SA Footy at that time.

Like Robranisgod, I only recall Fred from the latter part of his career when Torrens were not all that flash. In fact to stir the pot a tad, I would suggest he would have been asked to retire 2 - 5 seasons earlier had he been playing in a stronger outfit. Maybe his Magarey votes will prove otherwise - but thats my perception.

Just looking throught this thread, and I must have missed that Fatty, about his Magarey Medal votes, so here they are:

Code:
1960	9	3	0	0
1961	8	1	1	3
1963	9	2	1	1
1964	5	0	2	1
1965	2	0	0	2
1966	6	2	0	0
1967	6	1	1	1
1968	6	1	1	1
1969	3	1	0	0
1970	9	1	2	2
1971	6	1	1	1
1972	15	2	3	3
1973	5	0	1	3
1974	4	0	1	2
Total	93	15	14	20

Adelaide Hawk said:
Match 1, Adelaide Oval 7th June 1969
South Aust 2-4 10-9 12-11 15-17 (107)
Western Aust 6-1 7-3 12-6 14-11 (95)
Best
SA: Molloy Darley Adcock Colbey McKellar Schoff
WA: Cable Turnbull McIntosh Smith Brehaut Eakins
Goals
SA: Molloy 4 Phillis 2 Oatey 2 Chessell 2 Nygaard Marker Robran Birt Day
WA: Robertson 4 Cable 3 Walker 2 Chadwick Astone Wynne Brehaut Casserly

Nygaard would have played in this after the Kerley incident of that year. I thought that Nygaard retired after that match, but he must have played out the rest of the season. I can recall reading that he had got a BOG from the Advertiser the game before Round 5, 1969, so he would have been in fine form to be selected for the State. He got 3 votes that year - first preference, so it must have been in that match.

spell_check said:
Nygaard would have played in this after the Kerley incident of that year. I thought that Nygaard retired after that match, but he must have played out the rest of the season. I can recall reading that he had got a BOG from the Advertiser the game before Round 5, 1969, so he would have been in fine form to be selected for the State. He got 3 votes that year - first preference, so it must have been in that match.

The Kerley/Nygaard incident took place in Round 4 1969. That 3 vote performance would have been for his match winning 6 goal performace v West Torrens at Adelaide Oval the week before.

Nygaard was outed for 3 matches with a broken jaw and re-started with Norwood in Round 8. The following week he booted another bag of 6 goals, this time against Woodville, also at Adelaide Oval. This got him selected for the SA team for the AFC Championships. Perhaps his 12 goals in 2 matches at Adelaide Oval was the clincher.

After the Carnival he finished the season kicking 1s, 2s, and 3s, but nothing higher and he never really recaptured the scintilating form he showed prior to contact with Kerley's elbow.

At the end of 1969 he was traded to West Perth plus $3000 as part of the John Wynne deal (I think Norwood got the better of that deal). I don't think he played much for West Perth and I hear he found himself briefly in the USA as a Gridiron kicker.

Last I heard I believe he may have joined the brotherhood, or something similar in a religious field. Good player was Nygaard but maybe state football was a little beyond his capabilities.

Adelaide Hawk said:
Last I heard I believe he may have joined the brotherhood, or something similar in a religious field. Good player was Nygaard but maybe state football was a little beyond his capabilities.
He came round to give me a roofing quote about 10 years ago. Despite the fact that I only needed minor work and his company did total roof restorations (thus wasting his time!), he was really nice and seemed very much a gentleman.

spell_check said:
This is the Top 20 from the Magarey Medal in 1983:
Year Player Team Total 3's 2's 1's
1983 S.Kernahan Glenelg 44 10 6 2
1983 A.Antrobus North 35 6 7 3
1983 B.Conlen West 33 7 5 2
1983 M.Aish Norwood 32 6 6 2
1983 C.Bradley Port 31 9 1 2
1983 D.Hart Central 29 7 3 2
1983 D.Schimmelbusch Torrens 25 5 4 2
1983 S.Hay North 24 3 5 5
1983 J.Schneebichler South 22 6 1 2
1983 P.Martin South 22 2 5 6
1983 R.Davies Sturt 21 3 5 2
1983 M.Dreher West 20 3 5 1
1983 P.Bubner Central 19 1 7 2
1983 M.Redden North 18 4 3 0
1983 R.Hawkins South 17 2 4 3
1983 D.Marshall Glenelg 16 4 1 2
1983 D.Bolton Woodville 16 4 1 2
1983 G.McIntosh Norwood 16 2 4 2
1983 F.Spiel Sturt 16 2 4 2
1983 P.Motley Sturt 16 2 3 4
1983 T.McGuinness Glenelg 16 1 4 5

(I posted this on the Woodville thread as well, by mistake)

It does show that Kernahan finished 9 ahead of Antrobus (4.5 adjusted) which is quite a margin between 1st and 2nd. Schimmelbusch had a fine year - 7th placing - including the State selection.

Is that David Bolton who played for Geelong and Sydney?? Cos his two boys, Matt and Jackson, have moved from Geelong to play for Woodville along with his nephew, Josh Bell.

Whispers said:
Is that David Bolton who played for Geelong and Sydney?? Cos his two boys, Matt and Jackson, have moved from Geelong to play for Woodville along with his nephew, Josh Bell.
Certainly is.

16th May 1983

SOUTH AUSTRALIA
Being named in the centre for the state team at the ripe old age of... what? 19? And he didn't half justify that faith. I was too young for most of the guys discussed in this thread, but I was very lucky to have been around to witness the vast bulk of Macca's career.

The word 'best' is kind of slippery: does it mean 'most skilled', 'best at their peak (regardless of how often that was reached)', 'most consistently good', etcetera? So perhaps the simplest way of summing up Macca without reaching for the word 'best' is to say that if I was composing my dream team of players I've seen play live, Macca would be the first guy I'd want on that team. I say that without hesitation, having seen Lockett, Paul Roos, Paul Kelly and most other contemporary AFL legends play.

Although in a purely technical sense, he was the best handballer I've ever seen, bearing in mind a combination of vision (he knew that there was a guy free 25 metres away from him, seemingly without looking) and technical prowess (he could unerringly put the ball in that guy's hands).

State Sides