Recommitted Stephen Coniglio [re-signs with GWS for 7 more years]

Such a terrible take. Buddy has been well worth it for Sydney.

It's as weak a take as saying 'Trading in Mitchell has been a bust because he can't get on the park'.
Very low on highlighting referencing player injuries/welfare it now all makes sense. But nah the Brownlow medalist has been training strongly for months. What a new recruit for next year better than Cogs and cheaper.

Such a terrible take. Buddy has been well worth it for Sydney.

It's as weak a take as saying 'Trading in Mitchell has been a bust because he can't get on the park'.

Still no Premiership....Currently bottom 4....and 3 years left @1.5Mill per season minimum, on a heavily weighted back-ended deal.

And Buddy is increasingly injury prone & will be 33 prior to the 2020 season commencing.....No, it hasn't hurt them a bit.

I reckon just about every club would have someone on the books of the AFL as an ambassador. It's not a big deal.

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

Im sure they do. But it should be an equal, fixed amount that the clubs can decide how to distribute. But they actually have to involve those players working in the community.

Otherwise, just increase the salary cap a little and get rid of them.

So Coniglio has 7 year job security (can't think of too many jobs with that sort of job security in Australia), can spend the whole time playing in the NEAFL if he was so inclined and at any point in time can pull out the go home factor and break his contract. Yet GWS can't trade him away or terminate his contract for not performing.

Yeah AFL, you've done a great job with FA.

It's good to see posters working their Hawk envy & issues out in here.....It's a community service.

Congrats to the Giants in taking the necessary gamble, by going the extra yards in order to keep him.

Hope it doesn't come back to bite them on the bum, quite so much as the Buddy one has Sydney.

Shiel signed with the hawks yet mate?

So Coniglio has 7 year job security (can't think of too many jobs with that sort of job security in Australia), can spend the whole time playing in the NEAFL if he was so inclined and at any point in time can pull out the go home factor and break his contract. Yet GWS can't trade him away or terminate his contract for not performing.

Yeah AFL, you've done a great job with FA.

Possibly the best post with the greatest perspective & take on it, that I've read in here.

The AFL should not interfere in Free Agency. If possible, and ideally, a Court should injunct it from doing so. These two b***y expansion clubs are a blight on the competition. They are constantly being supported and propped up by the AFL in overt and covert ways.

Related image

Just popping in to say well done, GWS!

I really thought it was all but done to Hawthorn, but you've managed to keep your man. It must have been a compelling offer and no doubt he'll be worth the price.

Now we get to go through this all again for Whitfield haha

Alright so now that most of the sooking is out of the way from Carlton and Hawthorn posters, I have a genuine question here: why is it ok for other clubs to raid Gold Coast and GWS for all of their talent at will, but when one stays due to loyalty, it's not ok?

You all keep harping on about 'the AFL being corrupt' and 'GWS have no cap' amongst other ridiculous theories, but it's all well and good for Hawthorn to pick up Tom Scully for a fourth round pick and Jack Scrimshaw for a swap of third and fourth round picks. One was the number 1 pick and the best two way runner in the game, the other, a top 10 pick who netted very little return for Gold Coast. Carlton, you guys ended up with Matt Kennedy, Marchbank, Setterfield and Plowman, all top 15 picks, for far less than they were drafted at.

Could I not make the same argument for example, that Clarkson's connections with former assistant coaches in Cameron and Dew, is part of the reason you guys (Hawthorn) picked up your respective players so cheaply? Could I not say that Silvagni's former association with GWS as part of their department, is why you guys (Carlton) picked up your respective players at a bargain?

It seems disingenuous to behave like the AFL is against you, while simultaneously raiding the aforementioned clubs for their talent, purely with the enticement of being a Victorian club, being in a better position, having connections with the former club, and/or salary.

These are all the players that both GWS and Gold Coast have lost since inception 7 years ago, in no particular order (of note/in best 22):

Lynch
Shiel
Hoskin-Elliot
Treloar
Adams
Marchbank
Scully
Prestia
Caddy
O'Meara
Dev Smith
Ablett
Dixon
Hall
Lobb
C. McCarthy
Wilson
K. Kolodjashnij
May
Saad
Scrimshaw
Setterfield
M. Kennedy
Plowman
Matera
Hickey
Boyd
Steele
Hombsch
Bruce
Martin (this trade period)
Patton (this trade period)

And y'all have the gall to cry poor when ONE player actually chooses to stay, for whatever reason. Cry me a river.

I actually thought you were joking until I got to three quarters of the way through your post. Surely you aren't serious.

Getting a fourth rounder in a week draft actually seems like a steal for Scully

It WAS a steal, again, thank you very much.

who was awful this year, and showed nothing to suggest he will be any different in 2020 or beyond.

Player who relies on insane fitness as a major part of his arsenal hadn't been able to run for a year leading into the season, but you see nothing to suggest he'll be better after a full year of running in 2020? I really don't know why I bothered replying.

We got overs and the Hawks should have bargained harder for a 6th or 7th founder instead.

Ok, it was a troll. I see now. Well done, you got me there.

Now we get to go through this all again for Whitfield haha

Yep.

Hawks fans will tell us all year:

- How he is a lock.
- That GWS will not match and so will come for free.
- Is joining as wants to play under Clarko,
- and wants to play with one particular ex-team mate rather that the club full that he is already playing for.

An ITK will troll the Hawks board again telling all the faithful what they want to hear and they will lap it up.

Yep just rinse and repeat and change Cogs to Whitters.

It WAS a steal, again, thank you very much.

Player who relies on insane fitness as a major part of his arsenal hadn't been able to run for a year leading into the season, but you see nothing to suggest he'll be better after a full year of running in 2020? I really don't know why I bothered replying.

Ok, it was a troll. I see now. Well done, you got me there.

Scully still has a dodgey ankle and will never get back to what he was. That is not to say that he cannot be a useful player at the Hawks, but he is a downgraded model of the Scully he once was.