Steven Dodd

• Thread starter Thread starter Geoff

No one was quick to praise doddy after his performance against Essendon. A brilliant effort on Monfries

Agree he had a great game, but that is the problem with a lot of our mid range players, the gap between their best and worst is poles apart.

This has been the case for most of our existence, and we will not be successful until this gap closes.

But with the type of players being recruited and their consistent endeavour and intensity, I can see light at the end of the tunnel.:thumbsu:

I have said this earlier but when Dodd is matched on medium/small best forward he does a good job. It is when they match him up on bigger stronger players that he struggles.

He will be in our top 10 Band F this year........easily

I have said this earlier but when Dodd is matched on medium/small best forward he does a good job. It is when they match him up on bigger stronger players that he struggles.

Big call.

i for one fell dodd has been harshly treated on big footy
fair enough he had a couple of games this year where he has made some absolute clangers.but who hasn't.
a lot of his good work goes unnoticed,and he is rarely beaten in a one on one contest,i've kept a close eye on his disposal recently to see if the critics are correct,and i dont know if the stats back me up or not but he seems to hit targets regularly.
to top it off he's fairly quick and big enough to compete effectively with most key forwards.is always fit and ready for selction

unfortunatley like my mate d. mundy i think he is one who bears the brunt of criticism for the team after a bad perfomrmance.
i dont really want to name a source but i do know that sydney have been sniffing around and i reckon if traded he will go on to play well.
personally i dont think the club is thinking about a trade anyway,he seems to be an automatic selction every week.

I'm one that's been critical recently. Prior to that I defended him tooth and nail and went to the extent of counting Doig votes from 2006 to make the point that he is highly valued by the people that matter i.e. The people who pick the team. In a questionnaire in 2007 I named him as my favourite player such did I rate his value to the team.
I gradually lost faith this year, every clanger, bad decision just chipped away at my esteem for him. I'm a great believer in momentum and confidence and quite simply players who continually turn the ball over have no place in top level AFL as it's played right now. It just destroys momentum.
When he is song he's an outstanding negating defensive player whose disposal is adequate. When he's bad he's terrible.
If he can carry the standard he's played to over the last few weeks into next year he is still a solid defender and fully deserves to be counted in our first 22.

I actually think he's quite consistent. Its just that he does something unsightly and people find it harder to forgive him compared to others.

Absolutley dominated his opponent on the weekend, just like he has done on a number times this season.

Dodd, McPharlin and Grover to a lesser extent, are always blamed when we have losses. Because of the rolls they play, when the team is not performing, they look poor. They're fair weather sailors, but not because of a lack of mongrel - it's because they're doing the jobs that are affected most, by poor defensive efforts in the midfield and forward line. Someone like Broughton can do quite well in a backline under siege, as he's nippy and can crumb packs for his possessions over and over. Someone like McPharlin has to contend with his direct opponent having the ball put on his chest or kicked to his advantage over and over. Nobody notices the spoils and negating work they do, as much as the opponent kicking goals.

Dodd is criticised because when he is terrible it often costs the team a lot of goals. Because when the ball is in his hands he is either going to turn it over directly, or put his team mate under pressure with a loopy handball/kick.

In fairness to him though, often it's because it's still the best option, due to nothing else being available. You'll notice he doesn't get caught for holding the ball too much. It's also up to the rest of the team to create options. That's anothe reason why when the team plays well, he plays brilliant.

Certainly more value with us than not with us.

His game was good, but a large part of this was because he hardly touched the ball. With the ball movement and delivery by Essendon, it wasn't like he had much to do to beat Monfries.

If he plays on a smaller opponent when the team up the field is doing their job, then he can look OK, like many defenders. But a couple of decent games (Betts, Monfries) should not disguise the amount of goals he consistently costs us through poor skills/decision making.

Maybe keep him on the list for depth, but as long as he is making our side then it means we are still ordinary.

Everyone looked ok on the weekend, absolutely owned the midfield, his job was made very easy.

Dodd is a terrible footballer, incapable of holding his feet in a contest, poor by hand or foot and at best, a depth, depth player.

lol.... you have GOT to be kidding..... if the dockers had a worst and unfairest award it would be called the steven dodd medal.....

Sandilands
Pavlich
Haselby
Duffield
Mundy
Broughton
Tarrant
Byron Schammer
Hill
Suban

No Ibbo? Interesting.

Hadn't actually considered Hill and Suban to be honest but you're right, they'll probably give the top 10 a shake. Last year Ibbo got in with 11 votes. They'd only need to get a 'good' vote from the coaches in half their games (Hill is a better chance than Suban in that regard) to get that many votes. That's the same reason I think Dodd will be a chance to be honest.

Overall Broughton will be the most interesting to watch as he has 6-7 games to make up on guys like Duffield and Tarrant.

No Ibbo? Interesting.

Hadn't actually considered Hill and Suban to be honest but you're right, they'll probably give the top 10 a shake. Last year Ibbo got in with 11 votes. They'd only need to get a 'good' vote from the coaches in half their games (Hill is a better chance than Suban in that regard) to get that many votes. That's the same reason I think Dodd will be a chance to be honest.

Overall Broughton will be the most interesting to watch as he has 6-7 games to make up on guys like Duffield and Tarrant.

You know whats scary, I really had to strain those last couple out. :o

That's why I set the challenge.

I could only come up with 9 guys ahead of Dodd, including Ibbo who has been pretty up and down this year. He hasn't had many stand-out games to make up for his down weeks either.

Byron would also be a no so Dodd's in for mine. Unfairly maligned when we are looking for scapegoats.
Competes well against both Monfries and Minson (or other resting ruckman). If you say he's crap at his role then you have to replace him with a name. He is very versatile therefore very valuable.

So take Schammer out and put DeBoer in. Dodd won't go top 10.

I'd give de Boer a vote in maybe 6 games, he will not make the top ten. Dodd will probably get votes in 9 or 10 games - with two of those games getting him at least a 'very good' rating - totalling about 13 or 14 votes.

Were those two games the ones where Dodd managed to stay on his feet in a contest?