Steven Morris

• Thread starter Thread starter kozi

I'm very curious as to what the reasoning by the Adelaide coaching staff was in trading Morris. Was he not performing in his time there? Not fitting in? Or is it a case of late development? Surely there's more too it than the fact that he was born here. l cannot see a clear reason as to why, but there must be.. hence my post here.

Didn't GWS have 'his rights' and they traded him and Pick 15 for Pick 14?

I didn't think Adelaide had anything to do with him?

We never had him? He was prelisted by GWS

Then how was "keeping" him an option?
I'm really confused by this thread. We never traded him. He played SANFL for West Adelaide, and was then prelisted by GWS, who traded him to you.

My understanding was he was simply recruited in the draft from West Adelaide.....don't know anything about GWS pre-listing

He was never on our list. Pre-listed by GWS then traded to the Tigers. The trade had nothing to do with the AFC. We wouldn't need him anyway. We've got two young, small defenders in Laird/Brown with more scope for improvement.

My understanding was he was simply recruited in the draft from West Adelaide.....don't know anything about GWS pre-listing

Ok seems its all correct. I don't know then why i hear from crows supporters "oh look at Morris now should of kept him", or from tigers fans saying "Morris was a steal from Adelaide"

The biggest reason we didn't do more to keep him was that he had a sook every time Tex tackled him at training.

again lol.

Ok seems its all correct. I don't know then why i hear from crows supporters "oh look at Morris now should of kept him", or from tigers fans saying "Morris was a steal from Adelaide"

again lol.
I think maybe there were suggesting we should have taken him (I disagree on that point, we have better)

he was a steal from Adelaide, just happened to be West Adelaide.

I thought he was a father son selection for Richmond?

Either way he certainly was never on our list and we never drafted him or pre listed him.

Could make comments about Victorian football fans and lack of knowledge coming up again...........

Nah, there is definitely a lot of people who think Morris came from the Crows (myself included until now).

Sidenote: Bit of denial going on to think you guys have better... he'd easily be your best small defender. 19 times out of 19 this year he's toweled up his direct opponent (only 3 goals conceded for the entire year) and is a good chance for the AA team in his second year playing. You guys have some good young defenders but they haven't produced results anywhere near this bloke :)
Did you cup your own while you typed this? :)

Nah, there is definitely a lot of people who think Morris came from the Crows (myself included until now).

Sidenote: Bit of denial going on to think you guys have better... he'd easily be your best small defender. 19 times out of 19 this year he's toweled up his direct opponent (only 3 goals conceded for the entire year) and is a good chance for the AA team in his second year playing. You guys have some good young defenders but they haven't produced results anywhere near this bloke :)
Not sure we can take your word for that, seeing how little you seem to know about the bloke

Did you cup your own while you typed this? :)

lol.. cupped and turned sideways just in case.

Not sure we can take your word for that, seeing how little you seem to know about the bloke

Yep, correct. I don't know a lot about this bloke... pre-Richmond days.
So don't take my word for it ^^ take the word of champion data, football analysts and the AA selectors.

Did Morris get a rising star nomination?

Apologies for the intrusion, this post is intended for a legit discussion... not to stir anyone or create any bad blood. I come here humbly and after facts.

I'm very curious as to what the reasoning by the Adelaide coaching staff was in trading Morris. Was he not performing in his time there? Not fitting in? Or is it a case of late development? Surely there's more too it than the fact that he was born here. l cannot see a clear reason as to why, but there must be.. hence my post here.

Since coming to tigerland he has quickly become one of our favorite sons. This bloke is a warrior, no question about it. The way he hunts the ball, his tackling, disposal and all round defensive pressure is elite and has really set the tone for our entire def since his arrival. This year he has stepped it up again only conceding 2 or 3 goals to his direct opponent in 19 games which sees him inline for a spot in the AA team. I'm not sure how he was let go so lightly.. only costing us the switch of pick 14 for pick 15 in the 2011 draft. I'm not complaining, but at the same time it doesn't seem right.

I can see the reasons behind Ivan and C. Knights.... but i think down here at tigerland we're all missing something where Morris is concerned. Is it just a case of the one that got away?.. or was there something deeper here? Thanks, and again, i come here humbly to hear the reasoning from Crows fans.. not to stir anyone or create bad blood.
No problems for your "humble intrusion".

As confirmed by others, AFC never had Morris on their list... so we you didn't give up this "bargain" of yours (unlike Maric) ... & don't worry, we have plenty of other promising young defenders on our list who you wouldn't rate (I'll give you a clue - this weeks Rising Star nomination for one will play more AFL games).

Good luck in the finals - hope you enjoy the new experience ;)

Well that's just not true mate.... both our two youngest defenders have had better years than Morris statistically, despite being far younger.

Vs Laird:

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...1=3711&tid2=15&pid2=3624&type=A&fid1=S&fid2=S

Laird absolutely smashes Morris' output in almost every category, who hasn't even averaged 10 disposals a game. He's only really been beaten once this year (by Robbie Gray). The bloke is a gun and a brilliant and composed decision-maker. The difference between Laird and Morris is that at the very minimum we'd expect Laird to equal Morris in that role i.e. become a solid defender, except his potential ceiling is far higher i.e. b-grade midfielder or a gun backpocket player. Morris won't get much better than he is.

Even Brown, who has been quietly going about his business with little fanfare or recognition, has had a better year:

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...d1=3624&tid2=2&pid2=3628&type=A&fid1=S&fid2=S

In summary, we don't rue not getting him and nor do we need him. We have better:thumbsu:.

N
Well that's just not true mate.... both our two youngest defenders have had better years than Morris statistically, despite being far younger.

Vs Laird:

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...1=3711&tid2=15&pid2=3624&type=A&fid1=S&fid2=S

Laird absolutely smashes Morris' output in almost every category, who hasn't even averaged 10 disposals a game. He's only really been beaten once this year (by Robbie Gray). The bloke is a gun and a brilliant and composed decision-maker. The difference between Laird and Morris is that at the very minimum we'd expect Laird to equal Morris in that role i.e. become a solid defender, except his potential ceiling is far higher i.e. b-grade midfielder or a gun backpocket player. Morris won't get much better than he is.

Even Brown, who has been quietly going about his business with little fanfare or recognition, has had a better year:

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...d1=3624&tid2=2&pid2=3628&type=A&fid1=S&fid2=S

In summary, we don't rue not getting him and nor do we need him. We have better:thumbsu:.

Not to mention the fact that they are both 4-5 years younger than him and have a massive scope for improvement.

Vs Laird:

That's all well and good if you want to compare all the offensive stats on our most defensive player. Morris is right at the top of the league for the most important stat as a defender: how many goals your direct opponent kicks. If we didn't have the likes of Houli, Deledio and Newman running and rebounding out of defense then he would get a lot more "stats" :thumbsu: His ceiling is far from lower as he has the potential to be the most hard nose mid tagger in the league.