- Tarrant cant kick
- Hayden brilliant again, run and evasion is terrific
- Peake and Thornton are great to add to the side, injection of speed
- Collard ok, not great but showed a little. Nice defensive skills
- Belly is a terrific leader, excellent in every aspect tonight
- Johnson and Solomon reported, Solly will go but i think Johnno will be ok
- Sandi is damn near unstoppable when he gets going
- Last of all, Paul Hasleby is a champion

If Johnson goes I will be pissed to the max. If you can't attempt to spoil the ball then the game should just cease to exist.

Freo will make the Eight, and i'm thinking will finish 4th. My thoughts. :eek:

I'm really looking forward to next Friday actually.

One more thing, Dessie was great for three quarter until he got injured. Overpossesed the ball a little but he looked switched on tonight.

Pav looked good for once.
Hasleby was sublime, its what we have missed last year.
Bell looks better as the games are going on
Tarrant was ok, but needs to work the kicking
Collard was ok, didn't get enough action but thats how you bleed kids.
Great to see Peake back.

I was going deadset mental in block 303 in the 2nd and 3rd quarters. We've got 2 of the best key forwards in the league, with Campbell being a half decent foil in one on one contests yet we persist with this bullsh!t handball game through the middle when we have the option of going long to Pav and Taz in 1 on 1's.

Can someone explain why?

Do the coaching staff believe it's a coincidence that when we kick long and direct to the hotspot we kick goals, and when we fart around with the ball in the middle we can't score?

We played about 1 and a half decent quarters of footy tonight.

I was going deadset mental in block 303 in the 2nd and 3rd quarters. We've got 2 of the best key forwards in the league, with Campbell being a half decent foil in one on one contests yet we persist with this bullsh!t handball game through the middle when we have the option of going long to Pav and Taz in 1 on 1's.

Can someone explain why?

Do the coaching staff believe it's a coincidence that when we kick long and direct to the hotspot we kick goals, and when we fart around with the ball in the middle we can't score?

IF you think Tarrant is one of the best key forwards in the AFL you really need to watch more Football mate

I was looking forward to watching Warnock play. I reckon CC went out on a limb by including Hotty, Peake and Collard all in the same game.
Still it turned out OK. With the Saints injury list we should have won no matter who was included.
Though when they got to within 16 points in the 3rd I started having flash backs to round 1.

Peake and Scotty will be better for the run and Collard will probably make way for Carr,

I was looking forward to watching Warnock play. I reckon CC went out on a limb by including Hotty, Peake and Collard all in the same game.
Still it turned out OK. With the Saints injury list we should have won no matter who was included.
Though when they got to within 16 points in the 3rd I started having flash backs to round 1.

Peake and Scotty will be better for the run and Collard will probably make way for Carr,

Really had to play them tonight to get a game into them before the pies clash.

Peaker especially , We would be dead meat against the Pies without someone with some pace.

Courageous decision though.

IF you think Tarrant is one of the best key forwards in the AFL you really need to watch more Football mate

No you need to watch more football mate. Tarrant is one of the best forwards in the competition. Watch a game and you may find out...

Is it just me or did we almost go down to Saint Kilda tonight in the 2nd and 3rd quarters? If we pull the same stuff on a quality team which isn't ravaged by injuries we will get put away (ala Port). Anyone like to comment on what went wrong during the 2nd and 3rd quarters? To me it looked like a lack of discipline.

The contest did tighten up in those periods. There was some bad decision making as usual, and I didn't see the point in protecting the 40 point lead with 5 minutes to go, but on the whole, we're slowly getting back to our best football.

Can someone explain why?

Kick Long and you lose. That is an outdated style of play and does not work except for a couple of times in a match, usually on the quick rebound.

I agree on the 1.5 quarters of decent play. Winning was good, but nothing to get excited about.

Is it just me or did we almost go down to Saint Kilda tonight in the 2nd and 3rd quarters? If we pull the same stuff on a quality team which isn't ravaged by injuries we will get put away (ala Port). Anyone like to comment on what went wrong during the 2nd and 3rd quarters? To me it looked like a lack of discipline.

Passengers and mental discipline. Could of won that game by 80+ if they all would follow the 'leader' (Bell).

A win that we should have gotten. Nothing that tells me we are ready to start playing good footy.

Kick Long and you lose. That is an outdated style of play and does not work except for a couple of times in a match, usually on the quick rebound.

I agree on the 1.5 quarters of decent play. Winning was good, but nothing to get excited about.

While that may be true generally last night when we brought the ball in directly and long we almost always scored as we had some good match ups going on. Tarrant in particular was marking everything. For much of the second and 3rd Q we inexplicably reverted to going carrying the ball through the middle with a chain of handball and going sideways rather than kicking to the player on the lead. Pav paticularly was ignored on the lead in favour of a bounce and wait or another handball. Just unfathomable to me our tactics sometimes.

I thought the opposite. You won't score off every thrust forward given an excellent return is 1 goal for every three inside 50's. I thought the Campbell-Pavlich-Tarrant mix is now strong enough to trouble every defence. Give them quick ball they'll rack up enough of a score to trouble everyone. Tarrant did have an off night with the boot. The really good teams can afford to keep it simple. We're still ginning around. Farmer coming back could make it dynamite.

Other thoughts:

Campbell's added some grunt to the mix. That pack he hit for the crumb to fall for Tarrant's third shows he has an important role. He's creating goals every week either marking it or attempting to. And kicking the odd one himself.

Cook vs Duffield is a no contest. Just leave Cook in the side. He set up the first goal with sheer grunt. When Carr comes back drop ... anyone but Cookie.

I thought McManus is in career best form. He's really stringing good games together. He's very hard to beat at a contest, not fumbling and is backing himself.

7 goals to the midfield/backs is a good sign. It's not leaving the forwards to carry the load. It shows our midfield is up and running. Belly's performance is outstanding given he was scrapping with Baker for most of the night. In fact, you can see its our best players playing well that will win us games. Not trying to bring in kids who won't have much influence. Compare Bell and Hase's influence last night to the Brisbane game.

We had our 50+ tackles. Tick.

The footspeed of Thornton, Peake and Collard made a big difference ... but St Kilda is pretty slow. But to have players who can actually run away from other players. Loved Blacky outrunning Kosi. Local knowledge there. Never though I'd see Hase outpace another player. Shane Birss must be bloodly slow.

Anyone else think they saw a look of sheer terror cross Collard's face when he had to come on quickly, and (I think) Matty Carr pointed for him to go into the backline?

I thought the opposite. You won't score off every thrust forward given an excellent return is 1 goal for every three inside 50's. I thought the Campbell-Pavlich-Tarrant mix is now strong enough to trouble every defence. Give them quick ball they'll rack up enough of a score to trouble everyone. Tarrant did have an off night with the boot. The really good teams can afford to keep it simple. We're still ginning around. Farmer coming back could make it dynamite.

Other thoughts:

Campbell's added some grunt to the mix. That pack he hit for the crumb to fall for Tarrant's third shows he has an important role. He's creating goals every week either marking it or attempting to. And kicking the odd one himself.

Cook vs Duffield is a no contest. Just leave Cook in the side. He set up the first goal with sheer grunt. When Carr comes back drop ... anyone but Cookie.

I thought McManus is in career best form. He's really stringing good games together. He's very hard to beat at a contest, not fumbling and is backing himself.

7 goals to the midfield/backs is a good sign. It's not leaving the forwards to carry the load. It shows our midfield is up and running. Belly's performance is outstanding given he was scrapping with Baker for most of the night. In fact, you can see its our best players playing well that will win us games. Not trying to bring in kids who won't have much influence. Compare Bell and Hase's influence last night to the Brisbane game.

We had our 50+ tackles. Tick.

The footspeed of Thornton, Peake and Collard made a big difference ... but St Kilda is pretty slow. But to have players who can actually run away from other players. Loved Blacky outrunning Kosi. Local knowledge there. Never though I'd see Hase outpace another player. Shane Birss must be bloodly slow.

Anyone else think they saw a look of sheer terror cross Collard's face when he had to come on quickly, and (I think) Matty Carr pointed for him to go into the backline?

Good points Dr.

I guess my excitement was tempered by us repeatedly letting the Saints back into the game.

As you said, we looked fast because the Saints are slow.

Cookie just should not come out of the side. Period. He just shows up week in and week out with the hard stuff AND does not get reported.

Love to see the selection committee make no changes for a couple of rounds.

I think Cook will play every second or so game at Subi and be an impact player. A reason he played last night is because the Saints are slow, and that it was indigenous round.

Cookie didn't have much of an influence last night but was one of the reasons we started well... converted when he needed to and kept the ball inside the F50 a couple of times with some good pressure skills.

However, whenever he has played back to back games this season, he has really struggled on the road. So yeah, I think he will be a Subi specialist when the matchups are right.

On a side note, Webster was a bit stiff wasn't he?