Stuart Maxfield

IIRC, the league got sick of the Swans being crap so introduced some bullshit concession for them so that they could sign out of contract players. So they got in Maxfield's ear and convinced him to leave. One of the parts about the concession was that teams that lost players to Sydney got an extra pick in the PSD or something like that. As it turned out, Darren Gaspar was available.

I have a feeling that Melbourne must have also lost a player to Sydney and had a pick before us for some reason (maybe they finished lower than us). We convinced Gaspar to put a price on his head, thus scaring Melbourne off. I think they picked up some plodder instead. Maybe it was Ingerson?

Pretty sure this all happened at the end of 94, though it could have been 95.

The money Sydney offered him would have made him one of our highest paid players.... we basically had to let him go or risk a walk out by few other players.

Job opportunities also was part of the explanation although Im not sure how valid that is.

Sounds alot better to say you moved to earn money outside of football for the long term rather than just jumping at a bigger contract.

He played in 1995 finals and I remember him ripping Oleranshaw apart in that final in Sydney (major Sheedy tantrum) which Locket kicked the winning point. So ended up playing a Grand Final the next year.

So close to 300 games and a premiership but 2005 was cruel.

Thanks guys. I do remember him playing well for us although in 95 I was only 8 years old. I recently watched some games from 95 and remembered how good he was.

Job opportunities also was part of the explanation although Im not sure how valid that is.
Sounds alot better to say you moved to earn money outside of football for the long term rather than just jumping at a bigger contract.

He played in 1995 finals and I remember him ripping Oleranshaw apart in that final in Sydney (major Sheedy tantrum) which Locket kicked the winning point. So ended up playing a Grand Final the next year.

So close to 300 games and a premiership but 2005 was cruel.

that's a standard sidetrack that gets trotted out ea year, No-one generally wants to brand themselves as a mercenary...that's ok, we've lured our share on fat contracts

I recall reading some years after that when he was offered the big $$$ from Sydney, he gathered his Richmond teammates and he put forward his dilemma to the group. They apparently suggested he take it as he would never be rewarded like that at Punt Road, so I guess he left with the blessing of his teammates. It still hurt though. He was an integral part of our side back then.

Boof was almost cut at the end of 1991 as many at the club figured him to be a "one way" player. When Yabbie Jeans was hired as coach he made him a project player, and many other players at the club dubbed him Yabbie's pet!

Jeans gave him the confidence to be an AFL player... told him to take the game on.

Under Northey he relished the attacking game plan and was a gun rebounding player out of defence with his long runs down the wings and was a dead eye dick on the run from 50 out.

Yes money played a big part in the club releasing him and allowing him to go to Sydney, but also the fact that he was firstly dismayed at what happened when Northey walked, but secondly at the feedback offered to him by Robert Walls who asked him to change his style of play...

In my eyes, was the beginning of our "dark years" losing players of his ilk and watching Walls/Geischen ruin the club.

Even though $ was part of the equation, i also thought it was job opportunities and also the fact that he wasn't going to get as much game time in the middle as he wanted (we had our plans to convert Daffy into a midfielder with Bond, Knights and Campbell). Could be way off though, only what i heard.

Boof was almost cut at the end of 1991 as many at the club figured him to be a "one way" player. When Yabbie Jeans was hired as coach he made him a project player, and many other players at the club dubbed him Yabbie's pet!

Jeans gave him the confidence to be an AFL player... told him to take the game on.

Under Northey he relished the attacking game plan and was a gun rebounding player out of defence with his long runs down the wings and was a dead eye dick on the run from 50 out.

Yes money played a big part in the club releasing him and allowing him to go to Sydney, but also the fact that he was firstly dismayed at what happened when Northey walked, but secondly at the feedback offered to him by Robert Walls who asked him to change his style of play...

In my eyes, was the beginning of our "dark years" losing players of his ilk and watching Walls/Geischen ruin the club.

Good Post. Never knew of any of that.

Bloody Walls. Too much ego to try and build on what the club had achieved.

Had to come in and put his own imprint on the club.

ok...the story that was suggested to me was that for whatever reason Stewie needed some $$$ and fast. Dont know the reason, something to do with a business venture or quite simply the kid wanted to put down a deposit on a property and needed a whack of cash. Went to the brains trust and asked for it with the proviso that he would sign a long term contract as a thank you. The brainless trust, at the time were bean counting big time, i.e. daphne and co said no and the swans swept in with an offer he couldnt refuse...thats the way i have it..and with pretty good authority too..;)

As a young builder, there was a heap of opportunity with the pending Olympic games he chose to make a mark in Sydney with these opportunities.

This was where the money was coming from to set himself up as a big time contractor in the long run.... don't know how it ended for him but was always sorry to see him go.

lol, how much building did you reckon he did up there partner, pull the other one:p

was a different era, eh
but I also cant imagine a whole lotta building going on

didnt take as much interest back then but was bloody SPEWING we let Stuart go, was one of my faves, always gave something to justify belief. Captained the Swans too iirc?

The AFL did save us , what the AFL had offered was two uncontracted players. At the time the Swans were after both Naisch and Stewie. The AFL stepped in and said they could only take one from a club, they chose Stewie.

Always wished it was Naich.

I still think if we were able to keep Maxfield, Lambert and with fit Richo we would have gone very very close to a flag in 96 if Northey had of stayed. We were still a few players short and those 2 would have been a good mix... inside.. and the outside player.

So important now to be strict on our list management. Brendon Gale would know full well why we weren't able to improve our list during the late nineties and early naughts. Over paying players after 1 or 2 good seasons, paying 100% of the salary cap, not having a full list.... and unable to participate in the PSD in most years.

I still think if we were able to keep Maxfield, Lambert and with fit Richo we would have gone very very close to a flag in 96 if Northey had of stayed. We were still a few players short and those 2 would have been a good mix... inside.. and the outside player.

So important now to be strict on our list management. Brendon Gale would know full well why we weren't able to improve our list during the late nineties and early naughts. Over paying players after 1 or 2 good seasons, paying 100% of the salary cap, not having a full list.... and unable to participate in the PSD in most years.
I still we were a key defender short to have a tilt in 96. Wigney had a great 1995 before breaking his ankle, but there was always that doubt that he could back it up.
(by the way, heading up to Darwin next week. What's the best place to have a cold one in the city centre?)

Last time I was in Darwin there seemed to be two pubs, Rorke's Drift and Shenannigans. Pretty lively. I forget the name of the street, but right in town.

Yeah I've been to Shenanigans. Didn't like it. I try to steer clear of Aussie Irish pubs, having been to Ireland 7 times. Ours are lame. Nothing like the real thing over in Ireland.
But I will check out Rorke's Drift. Thanks.
(should I give myself a yellow card for derailing this thread?)

Yeah I've been to Shenanigans. Didn't like it. I try to steer clear of Aussie Irish pubs, having been to Ireland 7 times. Ours are lame. Nothing like the real thing over in Ireland.

get up the Trailer boat club or the Ski club for a sunset beergarden brew, and mourn them in every other beer garden you ever visit. Just the time to get drenched and watch an arvo boom crash opera over the Arafura

Happyyess Thu Fri Sat eve for some local culcha, tunes and to get out away from the hoards of fluoro bedecked zinc painted English who no doubt overrun Mitchell St, tho Ive never actually been there during te wet..

another vote for yellow card

PS get yourself to Crocodillus Park its flipping ace!

PPS Stewie Maxfield!

haha .... well you cant go past the sailing club or the trailer boat club... reasonable meals and just a magic spot. Mitchell street in the city has changed a fair bit since I left... Rorkes I dont think is still where it used to be... Monsoons is there now. Dux Nuts was also a good spot.

The Cavanagh Hotel is also pretty good not sure if still has the pool surrounded by backpackers :) and behind the bottle shop is a place called 10 Litchfield which a awesome place for a meal. Awesome staff and great meals and good value.... Tim from Tims surf and Turf owns it... If you know who that is. He normally works there and does magic tricks...lol... watch for the fake thumb.

ok if you are there for the Saturday....

1.. set alarm for 10am..( what I used to do)
2. Buy the paper study the formguide whilst catching a cab
3. Find your way to the Parap Markets ... about 5 minutes.
4. Here you will find what ever Hang Over food or drink you like. Good for something different and some local art and stuff.
4. 12:20 .... cross the street ... Head line straight to the Parap hotel... try to aviod the local Humbug.... Place your bets in the TAB then move across the the front bar and watch the Ballet at 12.30pm....
5.Once the Ballet is over it's a short stroll (all down hill) to the Sailing Club and Trailor Boat club.

ohhh... shit I forgot TOT.... if you are there on a Tuesday.... if you dont know what TOT is then just head to Discovery night club and thank me later... Not sure if they still have $2 dollar Tequila shots...lol...

I couldnt agree more!

Giving Northey the flick put the Richmond Football Club back 20 years. Mal Brown should never be allowed to set foot in Punt Road again. And I hate Robert Walls more than anyone else involved in football lol.

One of my mates (also a Tiger) is amendment that Walls was somehow placed at Richmond to keep us down the bottom.

Stuart Maxfield