Suicide

• Thread starter Thread starter Gabriel

I often get in the mood where I want to do it, but I'm too gutless. Besides, if I did that, there is no second chance. I'd never see anyone or anything I love ever again. It's a permanent solution to a temporary problem. There are far better ways to deal with things.

About the middle of last year my best friend became suicidal. It was majorly not good. After awhile, I got really scared and saw a teacher at school. This teacher rang the principal of her school. It was supposed to remain confidential, but the principal told her parents who confronted her. She of course figured out that I had to have said something. She was so mad at the time, she ended our friendship, but we still kept talking on MSN. I eventually convinced her to get help...and now she is heaps better! I don't know what I would have done if she'd killed herself...:S :(

IMO there are only a few situations where sucide is warranted.

All your relatives are dead so you have no reason to live.

You have a terminal illness, you'll be dead soon anyway might as well get it over and done with.

You have no money. Money = happiness.

Any reason other than those mentioned, and suicide is a major copout.

Originally posted by Squeak
IMO there are only a few situations where sucide is warranted.

All your relatives are dead so you have no reason to live.

You have a terminal illness, you'll be dead soon anyway might as well get it over and done with.

You have no money. Money = happiness.

Any reason other than those mentioned, and suicide is a major copout.
I don't think we should be justifying suicide by providing a list like this. It just makes me feel "icky".

Originally posted by FreoDocker
I've never really thought about suicide, it's just not an option.
Supporting Freo is enough pain for one person. You hang in there mate, it'll get better, football isn't everything :D

Originally posted by BomberGal
I often get in the mood where I want to do it, but I'm too gutless. Besides, if I did that, there is no second chance. I'd never see anyone or anything I love ever again. It's a permanent solution to a temporary problem. There are far better ways to deal with things.

About the middle of last year my best friend became suicidal. It was majorly not good. After awhile, I got really scared and saw a teacher at school. This teacher rang the principal of her school. It was supposed to remain confidential, but the principal told her parents who confronted her. She of course figured out that I had to have said something. She was so mad at the time, she ended our friendship, but we still kept talking on MSN. I eventually convinced her to get help...and now she is heaps better! I don't know what I would have done if she'd killed herself...:S :(

You did the right thing Chrissy. It'd be great if everyone who was so upset that ending it was an option had a friend like you. The way it was handled though...maybe with the principal being a little more cautious, but then, who knows. It's a tough situation to deal with, but tragically it seems to be on the rise here. Apparently it's more prevalent in the country? Maybe isolation contributes to it in the way that not communicating your feelings to anyone does.

I think a lot more people than we imagine contimplate the idea once in their lives. As long as you keep your existance in perspective, you can get through.

I speak from experience, but it's a little too personal to share with everyone. :( :)

people that are suicidal dont know it, well from my experience working a bit at Here For Life, you learn the ones that are suffering the most wont mention they are.
i havn't ever thought of it myself i mean i've thought about it but knew i'd never ever do it, i spose theres too much to live for, so much i havn't experienced yet.

You guys are all ****ed in the head. this is not a topic where you just hang **** on people for it saying that it is selfish. I am willing to bet that nearly all of you ahve not had serious thoughts of suicide ever in your life. The passing thought when things aren't going alll that well doesn't count.

As a person who has sat down in a room with a loaded shotie pointing at my head I can tell you all to ****en well take a different view on all of this. You don't realise exactly how ****ed up some things in life can actually get.

Everyone who has posted on this thread seems to be on their high horse about it all (sorry Bombergirl), sympathy and patrionisation is not something that is appreciated by people in this situation. It is in fact eh last bloody thing to say, it is looking down your nose at them and not really taking the time to have a look and work out what forced them to this point.

Suicide is not a spur of the moment decision made by most people who commit it. It is actually something that a lot of planning may actually go into. How to do it? Can I guarantee that it will work? Will it hurt?

I know I thought seriously about how to do it when I nearly did it the 2nd time after failing once with pills. How do you slit your wrists properly? i can tell you that you cut up the arm with the vein rather than across it as it releases more blood and is virtually impossible to stop if done properly.

Suicide is brought on by cronic depression. this is brought about one of many different factors that can range from loss of a loved one to bullying to failing grades to medical problems.

Don't anyone on this thread ever ****ing criticise what you don't properly understand or know about, or have experienced as either someone who has seriously thought about it or had someone close do it. And if anyone gives me any patronisation or smart arse comments about this I'll ****ing well reach down this line and rip off your head and **** down your throat, it is not a joking matter or some to say what you get told at school or yu think people want to hear.

Say what you think as long as it is logical and not just another American type oh yeah great call. So think ****whits before you type.

I've put my view forward in previous threads on the same topic, so you probably already know my situation, and in any case I don't feel like going over it again.

I just want to say, that it's very hard to judge people who are suicidal by putting them all in the "selfish" basket. It's very difficult to blanket people suffering a mental illness such as chronic depression, manic depression, or other personality disorders, especially if you've never been there, but even if you have... sometimes it's easy to look back at things retrospecitvely and say "Oooh I was selfish wanting to do that" because you can forget the way things felt then, to the full extent. And then, if it was that way for you, who's to say it was that way for other people? I just think it's silly to blanket people like that, when you just don't know the situation. Yes, I agree that most problems are temporary no matter how big they seem, but at the time, everything is different. There's no way out, you're stuck in a rut, sometimes people even think they're doing a favour to their families and friends, if they feel like a burden.

i think i thought about it a while ago.. it was never a serious thought... just couldn't be bothered anymore..
but i could never do it... even when it seems like there is nothing to live for.. there is always something, someone...
i often just have urges to do something i know would be stupid! like jsut having the urge to jump... but like i said, i could never do it...
i do beleive it's selfish, but it's also a mental illness and peiple in that kind of state don't think about who they are gonna hurt by doing it...
it IS a permanent solution to a temporary problem and tehre is ALWAYS a better one...almost always...

Originally posted by Slax

Suicide is brought on by cronic depression. this is brought about one of many different factors that can range from loss of a loved one to bullying to failing grades to medical problems.

Slax I am not being a smartarse but the only one of the reasons listed that is an excuse to take your own life is a medical problem and then only if the pain has become to much.IMO the rest can all be dealt with in many better ways than suicide.

Unfortunately, those of us who have never been there can't help seeing it as "selfish" or a cop out until we are actually exposed to it.

Mental Illness is just that - an illness. People with clinical depression, or schizophrenia, or bipolar disorder, or many other such illnesses, literally can see no alternative.

Some of the closest people to me in the world have suffered from serious depression, and all have, at some stage, made a decision NOT to end their lives. All have sought treatment, and are now functioning well.

But please don't judge people who appear to have made a rational decision to selfishly inflict their own death on others. They probably haven't.

Originally posted by roobear
Unfortunately, those of us who have never been there can't help seeing it as "selfish" or a cop out until we are actually exposed to it.

Mental Illness is just that - an illness. People with clinical depression, or schizophrenia, or bipolar disorder, or many other such illnesses, literally can see no alternative.

Some of the closest people to me in the world have suffered from serious depression, and all have, at some stage, made a decision NOT to end their lives. All have sought treatment, and are now functioning well.

But please don't judge people who appear to have made a rational decision to selfishly inflict their own death on others. They probably haven't.

Everyone seems to be seeking reasons why people commit suicide, it's selfishness, depression etc. A question which interests me, is not why people commit suicide, but why we don't kill ourselves. This option is open to all of us, to cease to be. It seems to me that people who suicide have realised that life is essentially meaningless, because, as we all know, we are eventually going to die. What's the point of sticking around, especially if we're in pain?

A very wise man once wrote on this issue and he reckoned that the reason we don't top ourselves is because we realise life is meaningless and decide to carry on anyway. His reason for us doing this, is that we come to the conclusion that we might as well, seeing we are here already.

One of my good friends and the son of my mums best mate committed suicide in Year 12. The pressure of the VCE and the demand to get a good score was too great for him.

At the time I thought it was very selfish. Did he think about his friends? Did he think about his family? But as I have got older I'm sure all these thoughts went through his head and he must have been at a very low point to go through with it.

I would hate to think that by committing this act, people thought him as selfish. He was totally the opposite and was always looking out for other people; maybe he didn’t pay enough attention to his problems.

The hardest thing in my life was telling my mum that he committed suicide. I will never forget her reaction to the day I die.

Originally posted by Rohan_
One of my good friends and the son of my mums best mate committed suicide in Year 12. The pressure of the VCE and the demand to get a good score was too great for him.

At the time I thought it was very selfish. Did he think about his friends? Did he think about his family? But as I have got older I'm sure all these thoughts went through his head and he must have been at a very low point to go through with it.

I would hate to think that by committing this act, people thought him as selfish. He was totally the opposite and was always looking out for other people; maybe he didn’t pay enough attention to his problems.

The hardest thing in my life was telling my mum that he committed suicide. I will never forget her reaction to the day I die.
I know everyone has different values but in the long run is school really that important?Theres a long way to go in life once schools over.Not bagging him here just asking a serious question whether anyone on this site cares that much about there VCE?

Originally posted by dogboy23
I know everyone has different values but in the long run is school really that important?Theres a long way to go in life once schools over.Not bagging him here just asking a serious question whether anyone on this site cares that much about there VCE?

When you were 18 and pompous teachers and peers made you're prospective VCE score the topic of conversation 24/7 it was not hard to get caught up in it all.

In hindsight it is easy to say it didn't matter but at that time it was very important. The community we were brought up further compounded it in that it was very pretentious and status was very important.

One of the reasons he didn't cope well is he honored that time old tradition handed by masculine males too not really open up to his mates. I guess all the bottled up feelings inside played too much on his mind and he couldn't cope with it

If only one of us knew how much he was going through I bet he would be still living today.

Originally posted by Rohan_

I would hate to think that by committing this act, people thought him as selfish ... maybe he didn’t pay enough attention to his problems.

I'm sorry to hear of that, Rohan, but I disagree on the remark above.

His VCE marks were no-one elses problem but his own ... deciding to end it all solved no-one elses problems but his own.

How was he looking out for others by taking his own life? I don't know what might have been going through his head at the time, and maybe his motves were essentially unselfish, but in the end, the only thing he achieved was to put his family through years of feeling nothing but guilt, pain and misery. He doesn't have to live with that, but they do.

Originally posted by Westy_Boy

His VCE marks were no-one elses problem but his own ... deciding to end it all solved no-one elses problems but his own.

How was he looking out for others by taking his own life? I don't know what might have been going through his head at the time, and maybe his motves were essentially unselfish, but in the end, the only thing he achieved was to put his family through years of feeling nothing but guilt, pain and misery. He doesn't have to live with that, but they do.

I tend to agree with some of those statements and feel he put his family through hell. However the person I knew him as, he wasn't a selfish person.

I truly believe it was very out of character for him. Never did you see him complaining or even hinting there was any trouble.

You are right that the score was his problem but it is hard to downplay it when everybody talks about it and there is so much pressure.

His family changed noticeably after it but I feel they never went through the pain that he did. Yes it is selfish and you could say he was only looking after himself. But the person I knew him as, he wasn't selfish. Maybe this loyalty to my friend is clouding my judgement but I truly believe he had thought about the outcome in great depth.

Youth suicide IMO is the biggest issue facing our society.

Rohan
It isn't just youth suicide, a lot of people in their early & late 20's commit suicide as well, I know I have said they are selfish for doing that, but all I ask, is that anyone who wants to kill themselves, talk to someone first, there might be a better alternative & people who want to help you.

How do you help someone who doesn't want to be helped? I currently have the situation of watching someone I love self destruct. He is seriously depressed, but rather than talk to anyone, he only gets angry and either violent or extremely bitter and hurtful. He doesn't work anymore, sees noone, and sleeps all day... plays video games, watches infomercials and smokes pot all night.... It's gotten to the stage where if he rings to abuse you at 3am that's a good thing because at least you know he's still alive. And there is nothing we can do about it because he wants to be left alone. :( His folks have even looked into getting him comitted but they cant....

Anyway, I've known a couple in the last few years who have killed themselves.... One left a note that basically said things were going so well for him at that time, they could only go bad if he stayed alive. He was 'high' when he did it. Go figure huh? One a few months ago killed herself possibly because she was stood up for her high school ball.... or at least that's where the problems started. It was completely unexpected.... Also appears she didn't mean to go through with it :(

I don't think anyone other than the person involved can ever truly understand why they are thinking what they are.... they can only be supportive. It's a huge problem facing society, and in my opinion the accepability of drug use only contributes to it.

K :(

Suicide is the end to a long awaited relief - the only problem is you never know what was around the corner.

I use to think it was the easy way out, until I had friends at high school do it. i then realised it took alot of guts, the only problem was if they had that little bit more they would still be here.

My way of thinking has changed considerably as when life is **** I swear a lamp post has looked pretty good. I always worried to much about the after - what would I miss out on, what if I didn't do it right - I would then realised I was kidding myself. This means I have had a **** day and am sick and tired of it all. I am not sucidal or have a illness I have just had enough. But I worked it out.

For others who are not as lucky as me and suffer a illness where they fight themselves each day and ending there life always seems the best option (or that is how it seems)

I have found myself in a simuliar position as eagle fan and had a close friend in the same postion a few years ago - and the one thing that sticks in my mind from that is that no matter when you got the call and no matter what they said, it didn't matter because you knew they where alive.

For many people you may know some-one now who is suffereing depression and you will never know, because they don't want you to know.

People suffering an illness don't want anyone to know their secrets, their feelings, they already feel unworthy, they don't won't to be rejected as well.

I am no expert and never will be on this subject but I do know I will never judge anyone who finds themselves in this postion.

What I do know is no matter what they person says or does to me they are thinking the same things about themselves ten times bad. And for that I will take the **** they deal to me, I will be there a 3am and I will try my damndest to help that person. But I can't cure them, my words don't usually help. But I tried, just like they do.

You can't make judgement on some-one even if you have been in that postion because when it comes to your own illness it is always different.