arrowman

OK, this is a lightweight thread - OK, I'm bored. Please don't flame me :cool:

Supporter gear is pretty much the same across all AFL clubs, except for the clothing sponsor. So what gear should the AFC come up with that's unique and different and appealing and all that stuff?

(Humorous answers expected and welcomed).

My (serious) idea: Sew on patches commemorating key achievements - 97 & 98 of course, Roo's Brownlow, Modra's Coleman. Buy 'em, sew 'em on your jacket. Like military "fruit salad".

Advantages:

1. It would be unique to AFC (until the other clubs pick up on the idea)

2. It has grass roots appeal; it's a link back to the duffle coated cheer squad days.

3. It would make Crows supporter gear look a lot more impressive than Power gear :cool:

Hmm...I'm actually a big fan of the memorabilia.
I've got both wideshot photos of the MCG in 97 and 98 up on the wall in my bar. Also a few pictures...(they aren't special) but they've been personally signed.
I like the gadgety stuff - I must own up to having a crows doorbell at home - so anything with novelty value would appeal to me. I think the good quality clothing has been great....especially the jackets and driza-bones etc.
It's difficult to think of anything new but maybe nostalgic value things like sew on bages as you suggested would be the way to go. Let's face it - from jumpers to bottletop openers - they've pretty much got everything covered.
Maybe dunny paper with Choco's face on it !!!!! :D :D

I remember the Freo / Essendon game in Freo's first finals appearance and there was a huge amount of purple anchors in the crowd.

I think we should adopt something similar and have some sort of paraphenalia (sp?) that we can all wave in the crowd. A sea of red gold and blue at every home game 'may' also make the home ground advantage a bit more intimidating for some rival clubs. As to what we can have to wave around I'm not sure, but I reckon it would be a good idea.

Thoughts ?

Mad Dog said:
I've got both wideshot photos of the MCG in 97 and 98 up on the wall in my bar.

nice arent they, but i cant find the the 98 one anywhere

dont spose anyone knows where i could get one???

prolly all sold out im guessing :(

arrowman said:
OK, this is a lightweight thread - OK, I'm bored. Please don't flame me :cool:

Supporter gear is pretty much the same across all AFL clubs, except for the clothing sponsor. So what gear should the AFC come up with that's unique and different and appealing and all that stuff?

(Humorous answers expected and welcomed).

My (serious) idea: Sew on patches commemorating key achievements - 97 & 98 of course, Roo's Brownlow, Modra's Coleman. Buy 'em, sew 'em on your jacket. Like military "fruit salad".

Advantages:

1. It would be unique to AFC (until the other clubs pick up on the idea)

2. It has grass roots appeal; it's a link back to the duffle coated cheer squad days.

3. It would make Crows supporter gear look a lot more impressive than Power gear :cool:

What's wrong with the duffle coat making a come back.

Everything that's old is new again.
:D

I was having a chat to the bloke who runs Crowmania when I was in Adelaide in September and he seems to think that all club's will soon drop clothing sponser's as clubs will make more profit if they have there own brand, basically the club will get 100% profit, I know the Bulldogs and now Fremantle have done away with clothing sponser's. This in way allows the supporters to put idea's to the club about clothing design's which is good I think. I havent got any idea's at the minute about what i would like to see though :p

maccas_no1 said:
I was having a chat to the bloke who runs Crowmania when I was in Adelaide in September and he seems to think that all club's will soon drop clothing sponser's as clubs will make more profit if they have there own brand, basically the club will get 100% profit, I know the Bulldogs and now Fremantle have done away with clothing sponser's. This in way allows the supporters to put idea's to the club about clothing design's which is good I think. I havent got any idea's at the minute about what i would like to see though :p

A wet t-shirt does it for me.

Oh sorry I thought you said see through :o