Roast Supporter Pack

I'm annoyed by the short quality.

They market the supporter pack at $100+ value for $40, but the shirt is a crapper that would cost about $8 per unit or thereabouts.

Membership shirts used to be Adidas, so really we're getting $40 of value for $40.

It was not a focus group. It was a Member survey, which I participated in.
There was a bit of discontent over the quality of the hats last season (search this board) and, though I opted to pay more and get a free, better quality hat, the majority did not. They wanted cheaper membership.
The club took notice of the feelings of the majority, something many have whined they have not done for many years.
One of the suggestion I made, which was encouraged on the survey, was that some more up-market attire be available, such as a club business shirt, Tie and cuff-links package be made available. They did this.
Really I can't see how members can have it both ways.
One thing to consider, specifically on the Supporter Pack issue is that after a flag the market for Collingwood gear changes remarkably.
I have many (and I mean many) direct relatives who are Collingwood supporters, few though are members.
As a consequence I ordered 8 supporter packs in total and 10 (5 orders) of the Tee-shirt. I'm sure I'm not Pat Malone here.
The other thing to consider is that at $45 a hat, scarf and polo are pretty good value.

All these things add up to a very large demand for something the club could not always be sure they would need to have too many of. (if we lost for instance).

Rather than blame the club maybe a little patience while waiting for something which obliviously means a lot as otherwise no-one would be complaining.

I have not received diddly, but I know I will.:):thumbsu:

Nice speech Eddie:thumbsu:

I'm annoyed by the short quality.

They market the supporter pack at $100+ value for $40, but the shirt is a crapper that would cost about $8 per unit or thereabouts.

Membership shirts used to be Adidas, so really we're getting $40 of value for $40.

Just be glad you've received it mate... :(

Surprised you're complaining! I haven't received mine either, if I used the membership to attend matches (I buy it as a donation as I'm a MCC Member), I'd be spewing how sloppy their delivery methods are.

I literally live 5 minutes away from Lexus/Westpac Centre yet it takes over 3 months to deliver. Much prefer the MCC Method where you merely pay your fees by the last round of the previous year & you use the same membership card, season after season.

Nice speech Eddie:thumbsu:

Just pointing out the facts.
I'd like my supporter pack too but I'm not going to ignore the real world logistics just so I can have a tanty on a footy forum.

I had a pretty good go at the club, on these forums as well, when I did not get my membership card or seating allocation until Rnd3 in 2008.
This year delays are understandable...even expected.

Last year they gave me something I've been after for a long time. iT was excellent quality, inexpensive and will last forever.

A priceless win.

(To be honest anyone having a whine on here is simply wasting their breath...email the club...ring them..if you are really pissed off. Go to the source.)

Just pointing out the facts.
I'd like my supporter pack too but I'm not going to ignore the real world logistics just so I can have a tanty on a footy forum.

I had a pretty good go at the club, on these forums as well, when I did not get my membership card or seating allocation until Rnd3 in 2008.
This year delays are understandable...even expected.

Last year they gave me something I've been after for a long time. iT was excellent quality, inexpensive and will last forever.

A priceless win.

(To be honest anyone having a whine on here is simply wasting their breath...email the club...ring them..if you are really pissed off. Go to the source.)

Mate - I emailed the club but they don't give a shit. I dont expect to hear back from them. They have our cash ,we get into the home and away and we can basically get stuffed if we want finals tickets.

Mate, I emailed the club and got a response within the 5 days they tell you it can take. I'm not happy about waiting until mid march for my supporter pack but I can live with it. What would seriously annoy me is if I don't get my membership before round 1.

The supporter pack is a good idea. $40 is cheap for those 3 items.

However, the hat has always been a basic privilege of been a member. It gives you a warm fuzzy feeling to go collect it outside the gate at Round 1. Makes you feel part of the team and a bit special. We look good in our hats as well.

The quality may not be flash...but last years ones looked good and were waterproof as well. I've always been happy with the quality of the caps. They don't need a long life-span either...they just have to get us through 7 months.

We need something for free. I like the idea of a supporter pack...but this is a low effort frm the club. Memberships have spiked in price as well. They are a complete rip off.

Apart from supporting your club...buying a membership presents no value other than pre-purchasing your entry ticket. There is no incentive and it is upsetting because i would've thought Collingwood would be at the forefront in this area considering the huge supporter base it has to work with.

The supporter back seemed like a good idea, but then they reduced the quality of the shirt 10 fold - so they whole "$100+ value for $40" is false.

The other issue for me was that I would never have biuoght anything this year, as I am wearing my premiership merchandise proudly! I only got the pack because I couldn't bare to have a gap in my membership hat collection.

just emailed the club with my disapproval.

Also dissapointing to hear that the t-shirt is of poor quality.

The free membership hat has been a basic privilege for a long time. I said that the supporter pack is a good idea and shoudl remain, but that doesn't mean that supporters should lose the benefit of getting the cap.

Must say I agree with Pie Eyed on this one.
The first thing to remember is that all the money the club makes goes into the footy department facilities etc, which help the club win premierships.
If I had a choice between another premiership and a high quality polo and free hat I know which one I would choose.

On the cap issue, the reality is that they are not free, there cost is factored into the membership cost.

I have heard both Eddie and Pert say the number one barrier to people becoming members is financial, hence the three game membership.
I am only guessing but I would say the clubs line of thinking is.
If we include the cap then we are going to have to put memberships up X dollars to keep our profit levels the same, however only Y% see the cap as good value. However by increasing the cost we could lose 1000 plus members who now deem membership too expensive and cannot afford it. As an alternative why don't we remove the free cap and keep the price the same to encourage more members to join. We can then offer a supporters pack at great value so those who really want the cap can purchase it, with a shirt and scarf. Those three products for $40 is good value in my opinion.

Haven't got mine yet but disappointing to hear about the quality although as someone who has dealt with chinese manufactures there is a very strong possibility that what was ordered and what was delivered are completely different thing, hence the delay until March of more polos.

From what I know about Eddie and the club there is no way they would be wanting to upset members however the reality is the club is still a business and needs to be as profitable as possible to continue our on field success. It's always a tight balancing act.

just emailed the club with my disapproval.

Also dissapointing to hear that the t-shirt is of poor quality.

The free membership hat has been a basic privilege for a long time. I said that the supporter pack is a good idea and shoudl remain, but that doesn't mean that supporters should lose the benefit of getting the cap.

Both your posts are spot on Dave. Even if it was crap I still like the fact I got my hat in Round 1 or 2 at the G. All you get for your membership now is the prepurchase of entry and or reserved seat for home and away games.

Peter de Rauch was saying on the radio that he thinks the problem at North Melbourne is that the members don't feel 'let in' to the club. This sort of thing at Collingwood would never send us broke, but if he's correct it certainly isn't going to increase memberships, when in years to come our premiership window has closed.

On another sour note, I'm not impressed with my 10 years of consecutive membership keyring, yet on my membership card I'm a bronze 2-4 year member, and I must provide "proof" of my memberships over the years (that I don't have) to have that changed.

Seems like a load of bull (giving out the 10 consecutive years key rings to everyone) just to give a 30% off coupon for Collingwood merchandise to flog some more Collingwood gear.

Very glad we won the premiership, but strongly believe the marketing and membership people need a good foot up the arse.

I just received my Social Club membership with Scotty Pendlebury on it today, some 3 months after I paid for. I don't use the membership, but to pay $10 for the hat is petty & tacky on the club's behalf.

I am only guessing but I would say the clubs line of thinking is.
If we include the cap then we are going to have to put memberships up X dollars to keep our profit levels the same, however only Y% see the cap as good value. However by increasing the cost we could lose 1000 plus members who now deem membership too expensive and cannot afford it. As an alternative why don't we remove the free cap and keep the price the same to encourage more members to join.
Well that would make sense, except for the fact that membership prices went up...so they removed the free cap and still put the prices up, making it even less affordable.

I can live without the cap but I thought removing it was pretty crap from them. I have to think that their thinking was more along these lines:

"we just won the premiership, no one is going to abandon their membership now, this is our chance to save a few bucks are get rid of the free caps. better yet, lets offer them a bundle so they spend even more!"

and while that may be good business, its pretty piss poor customer support.

We can then offer a supporters pack at great value so those who really want the cap can purchase it, with a shirt and scarf. Those three products for $40 is good value in my opinion.

They would have been good value, had they not drasticly reduced the quality of the shirt. Just sticking with the standard issue Adidad Members polo of the past would have been fine

On another sour note, I'm not impressed with my 10 years of consecutive membership keyring, yet on my membership card I'm a bronze 2-4 year member, and I must provide "proof" of my memberships over the years (that I don't have) to have that changed.

this annoys me too, I've been a member consecutively since 1999 and got a 6-9 year membership certificate and keyring. I rang up and they said I needed to provide evidence. I aint sending them my cap!

Take a photo of you wearing the cap and send it to them.

The supporter back seemed like a good idea, but then they reduced the quality of the shirt 10 fold - so they whole "$100+ value for $40" is false.

The other issue for me was that I would never have biuoght anything this year, as I am wearing my premiership merchandise proudly! I only got the pack because I couldn't bare to have a gap in my membership hat collection.

You could simply have bought the hat for $10.00.

http://membership.collingwoodfc.com...onal-packages/the-2011-official-supporter-kit

2011 Members Cap - Member Price $10.00

As a Collingwood member I've had no problems getting finals tickets over the last 4-5 years, purchased them on the first day of release with the member's access. GF tickets are a different matter, but that is an AFL & MCC issue with how many are reserved for AFL & MCC members, how many the AFL issues to non-competing clubs & how many the AFL sell to corporates. There's not a lot the club can do about it really.

Well I haven't bought the supporter pack and I will not be buying the cap - got plenty anyway....the part that I think the club have perhaps not fully considered is go back to GF1 & 2 and look at the crowd the Army in full voice all wearing the SAME cap....great for membership drive stuff - won't happen this year - some will have the new cap and for those of us who stretched finances to afford our memberships will have whichever year we wish - not quite the same visual!

Is anyone still waiting for their supporter packs? Paid for mine in January and still waiting. Last time I purchase anything through the club.

How do we pick up these stuff, I paid for mine in Jan. Do they send it to us or do we need to pick em up?

Don't quote me on this because I've never gotten a supporter pack, but maybe try at the membership tent today at the game... They may have some sort of database with the info of people who have paid and you can pick up all the gear there.

*As I said, it's just a guess.

Otherwise, head down to the Lexus centre

How do we pick up these stuff, I paid for mine in Jan. Do they send it to us or do we need to pick em up?
Mine was meant to be mailed to me. As I live in the bush I unfortunatly can't get to many games. I was told in Feb when buying a membership for my son that they would arrive in mid-March......not good enough.