didaka

Veteran RIP Collingwood Magpies - Alan Didak 2010 Player Sponsor
London Silly Nannies
I was just reading the Herald Sun and what they believe the first week of the finals will look like.

If we remain in 3rd position we will face the cats on Friday night after a Sunday twilight.:confused:

Surely that won't happen.

Saw that, how dumb are the Herald Sun, we play on the Sunday twilight in the last round, and Geelong play on Saturday.

If we play Geelong, at worst it will be the Saturday day game, but almost certainly will be the Saturday night timeslot.

Channel 7 can piss off, we arent playing on a friday night off a 5 day break.

Give CH "we can't show games live" 7 the Adelaide vs Hawthorn game, haha.

Friday Night: Elimination Final (Most likely 5th vs 8th)
Saturday Day: Elimination Final/Qualifying Final (Most Likely 6th vs 7th or 2nd vs 3rd)
Saturday Night: Elimination Final/Qualifying Final (Most Likely 6th vs 7th or 2nd vs 3rd)
Sunday Day: Qualifying Final (Most Likely 1st vs 4th)

Saturday Day: Elimination Final/Qualifying Final (Most Likely 6th vs 7th or 2nd vs 3rd)
Saturday Night: Elimination Final/Qualifying Final (Most Likely 6th vs 7th or 2nd vs 3rd)

Channel 7 will want a big final on friday night our only chance of missing is if the Filth v the Bummers.

Channel 10 will want a big game Saturday night

Cannot see Channel 7 or 10 wanting an interstate game Brisbane v Port
Polica Academy 7 would win the ratings

I would prefer to to take on the saints on the saturday night if I had a wish.

They can play the ****ing saints and dogs on Friday then as they both play on Sunday in round 22.

Ok so 7 can have their blockbuster Sunday. 10 can have theirs Saturday night.

And the elimination finals can be Friday night and Saturday arvo.

Seems fair.

I think it may actually turn out to be a perfect fit, maybe not for TV, but for pure "footy" fans.

On Friday night and on Saturday, you will have the 2 knockout games, with the winners then sitting back and being able to watch the "real" guns go at it on Saturday night and Sunday.

Channel 7 will not get their way here, it will be, Elim final, Elim final, Qual Final then Qual Final in that order.

The way CH 7 has presented its football this year it should be given no favours, it's coverage has been nothing short of a ****ing disgrace.

Originally Posted by DeZi

Yeah that looks about right.

Bold is what I think will happen.

Usually they want to play one of teh qualifying finals on friday night and the other on saturday night (big game on prime time)

Im pretty sure it will be saturday night, sunday mid arvo this year though

Sunday will be St Kilda, Saturday night will be Geelong.

So, let's assume we stay 3rd:

Saturday 7:30pm
Geelong v Collingwood

Sunday 2:10pm
St Kilda v Bulldogs

That's basically locked in.

Sunday will be St Kilda, Saturday night will be Geelong.

So, let's assume we stay 3rd:

Saturday 7:30pm
Geelong v Collingwood

Sunday 2:10pm
St Kilda v Bulldogs

That's basically locked in.

If that is the case then very happy but I am big on conspiracy theory.

When did 1v 4 and 2 v 3 play last year?

St Kilda will play Sunday, first place gets the Sunday game.

Geelong-Collingwood will get played in the evening because of TV, as opposed to the afternoon, and we can't play Friday because that's a five day break.

Carlton-Essendon on the Friday night would be a massive way to start the finals, I reckon Seven would be super chuffed to get that fixture.

Seriously, finals are finals, they're all big games, i don't think 7 and 10 will be too concerned who they get...

Saints will definately play on the Sunday, and if we are playing Geelong we WILL play on the Saturday night, therefore 10 and 7 both get a qualifying final...

**** the TV stations! They shouldn't get to decide when we play, wake up AFL you should be calling the shots here!

But I would prefer to play on a Saturday. At first I wanted a day game, but now I've changed my mind and want the night game.

If I'm not mistaken every finals team must have at least 6 days break...

They can't break the rules for Channel 7 or 10

You're right about that.

If Brisbane win this week then they get to host a final and I am pretty sure the afl will play this on the Saturday night, as the do not very often play saturday day games up there so we could play on the saturday afternoon which would be great

This would seem to be the case and we will play Saturday day should we face the Cats. This was from today's Age..

"Should the ladder remain as it stands today, Carlton would kick off the 2009 finals series with a Friday night blockbuster at the MCG against Essendon, with two more Melbourne finals to be contested on Saturday and Sunday, respectively, between Geelong and Collingwood and St Kilda and the Western Bulldogs. Adelaide would take on Brisbane at AAMI Stadium on Saturday night."

http://www.theage.com.au/news/rfnews/late-call-for-final-round/2009/08/24/1251001856713.html

Surely we couldnt play on the friday night considering we are playing this sunday twilight.

This would be my ideal week 1 of the finals (assuming we keep 3rd):

Friday Night - Elimination Final - 5th vs. 8th
Carlton vs. Essendon - MCG

Saturday - Elimination Final - 6th vs. 7th
Adelaide vs. Brisbane - AAMI

Saturday Night - Qualifying Final - 2nd vs. 3rd
Geelong vs. Collingwood - MCG

Sunday - Qualifying Final - 1st vs. 4th
St Kilda vs. Western Bulldogs - MCG/ Etihad

This would be a very good week 1 of the finals - I will definitaly be at the Collingwood game and probably attend all the Melbourne games.
Really looking forward to this Finals Series.

Just a question does Etihad have to host a final?