swannies

10k Posts Armchair Endzone Minor Comp Winner Armchair Endzone Participant
Swan Districts, Everton
We've got a potential blockbuster this Saturday with the youth and exuberance of Yarran, Naitanui, Notte, Garlett and the like against the bigger bodied, experienced (with some youth, before Subi fans start howling this thread down) Lions.

I am really looking forward to this one but of course my local footy club is talking of sending me to Lathlain to do a level 1 coaching course, I really don't want to do it, not this Saturday.:(

The desperate, true believers of the mighty black ducks will be hoping our recruiting and pre-season form can hold up against the might of the Lions to give us faith that we really can compete. Should be a beauty, can't wait:thumbsu::thumbsu:.

Pumped this one up only to have my wheels shot out from beneath me, didn't I? :o Sorry peoples, I won't get excited again.

Sorry chrsco, but this comes from purely a freo perspective... I heard Hinkley had a good game - can you enlighten me at all? Did Smith get a run, and if so, how did he go? cheers for the info. :)

I'll start with the positives. Hinkley started well in the first quarter, has genuine pace and used it well. Drifted out of the game, as did the rest of Swans team (except Naita) for the next 2 quarters and came home a bit better. Hinkley looks like a good draft choice and could develop well, has genuine pace, kicks the ball pretty well, needs to bulk up a fair bit.

Chris Smith, don't get me started, should be dropped to reserves after yesterday. It was one act that peed me off with him, had heaps of space in front of him and ran too far, couldn't make a decision in time, either way, got caught on the HFF, when he shouldn't have, turned over and goal. I was ropable so I apologise for being pissed at him.

Chrsco, Did you rate natanui's game on the weekend? I know he won every tap, and sure he can jump, but he offers very little around the ground.

Yarran - I am on your bandwagon there mate. He last quarter was all class. Took Dawson too long to put him in the middle (not that it would have changed the result though). But, geez, all class that lad. Would look good in Blue and Gold.

Rich - Has to be the number 1 selection. If not, I wouldn't mind seeing the bloke that is.

Hinkley - He looked alright aswel, quite quick as you say.

Garlett?? 13 for swans, speed to burn for sure, would also look good in the Blue and Gold!!

Can anyone tell me how Matt Spencer is going for the Swans? Haven't seen anything mentioned about him, hoping he's travelling alright.

Playing reserves at the minute, which has me a little confused because our defence leaks points like, well a lot. He's played 2 ressies games now, so hopefully back in the seniors soon, because pre-season he did OK in defence. I have a sneaking suspicion that he will come in this week, especially if Spaanders get's a little holiday for a supposed misdemeanour the Subi supporters are bleating about. I didn't see it happen, just the aftermath!

Chrsco, Did you rate natanui's game on the weekend? I know he won every tap, and sure he can jump, but he offers very little around the ground.

Yarran - I am on your bandwagon there mate. He last quarter was all class. Took Dawson too long to put him in the middle (not that it would have changed the result though). But, geez, all class that lad. Would look good in Blue and Gold.

Rich - Has to be the number 1 selection. If not, I wouldn't mind seeing the bloke that is.

Hinkley - He looked alright aswel, quite quick as you say.

Garlett?? 13 for swans, speed to burn for sure, would also look good in the Blue and Gold!!

Yeah, I rated Naitanui's game because he was up against 2 premiership ruckmen built a lot bigger than him. Once he gets more endurance in that body he'll be very good around the ground. Often saw him in defence helping out in the colts, so once he fully adjusts to league I have no doubt.

Yeah, keep that quiet about Yarran and Garlett though, I reckon that's what the 2 WA clubs would want.

Yarran, or Garlett in the middle may have changed the final margin, because Subi were sharking probably 2/3 of Naita's taps. Those boys can read the ball. The real issue I see for Swans that we have a heap of 17-20 yos (Yarran turned 17 in Dec) that are the key players to me. The older hands are letting us down, in much the same way as at the Eagles, I think.

Rich, what more can be said about this guy? Would compensate for Judd wouldn't he? He'd go seriously close from what I've seen.

I honestly believe it will be a toss up between him and Naita for No 1, although, as you say if there is someone out there better, WOW!

Well bencoon, Spencer had a pretty good game Friday night in the semi-frigid conditions experienced at Joondalup. Named in the best players for Swans, playing from defence. :thumbsu: