dimmy

Rookie
heya, wasnt sure if this was the right board to put this on,but
just wondering if any sydneysiders can give me (a guy who hasnt lived outside of WA) info on decent suburbs in sydney. got $ 600PW rent to play with. i just need to be close(ish) to the CBD, pubs and clubs/ nice location are a bonus. any help would be greatly appreciated:thumbsu:

will do. are they good areas?, not much crime etc......any help would be appreciated, cheers

depends what you're after mate.
newtown and surrey hills are kinda alternative and have good bars.
coogee, bronte and clovelly are right on the beach and are less "touristy" than bondi.
north sydney/lower north shore is pretty snobby but clean and classy and more leafy.
the northern beaches are nicer the further you get away from manly, but there are no trains and getting to the cbd would be a hassle.

depends what you're after mate.
newtown and surrey hills are kinda alternative and have good bars.
coogee, bronte and clovelly are right on the beach and are less "touristy" than bondi.
north sydney/lower north shore is pretty snobby but clean and classy and more leafy.
the northern beaches are nicer the further you get away from manly, but there are no trains and getting to the cbd would be a hassle.

thanks mate.......just chasing something equivalent to say, cottesloe in perth......close to pubs, bars, footy etc..........................and no smug clouds would be good lol :D:D:D

lol Blacktown is 45 mins on the train from the City.

Na if you want somewhere close to the pubs and the city then these are the suburbs I would suggest: Newtown, Marrickville, Surry Hills, Ultimo, suburbs east of Kings Cross, All the little 'points' on the harbour on the north side. Plus there are always suburbs north, south, west on the train line within 20 mins train ride.

Mate, for $600pw, you're looking alright. If you're prepared to have a flatmate, I reckon you could score a nice joint pretty much anywhere. If you want to live by yourself, I still reckon you've got pretty good options.

Sounds like you're after somewhere in the east, to be honest. Nice area, full of ****ers, but what are you going to do?

Inner-west would also be worth a look - Glebe, Annandale, Newtown, etc, are all about a 10 minute cab into the city (without traffic), and well within your price range.

I'd go North Shore. That's where I live currently after living on the Northern Beaches for the first 19 years of my life.

I was never the beach type so that aspect didn't appeal to me. Public transport there sucks and trying to drive to the city is a nightmare. It'd be alright if you were to go to Seaforth or even Balgowlah, though. They are closer to the city and are really nice.

But as I said, North Shore. I'm around Roseville at the moment, but you'd probably want to go further south, St Leonards, Wollstonecraft. Far enough away from the city to be really nice, but still only a 10-15 train trip at most. And if you want to drive, it's pretty damn quick. Like, 10 minutes from St Leonards to the Bridge.

I wouldn't recommend the innercity, though I am biased against that, since I don't really go for that lifestyle. I just don't think it's a nice area, though.

The only time I ever go into the Eastern Suburbs is to go to the SCG, and I don't go very further. I think I've been to Bondi once in my life. Seems too yuppie for me, though.

heya, wasnt sure if this was the right board to put this on,but
just wondering if any sydneysiders can give me (a guy who hasnt lived outside of WA) info on decent suburbs in sydney. got $ 600PW rent to play with. i just need to be close(ish) to the CBD, pubs and clubs/ nice location are a bonus. any help would be greatly appreciated:thumbsu:
Ask the Sydney Gay Madri Gra they probably find you a cheap place to stay as long you be a float.

For $600PW you could get yourself a nice one bedroom place in the east or lower north shore or inner west - those places are all close to the CBD and have plenty of pubs around. The SCG is in the eastern suburbs. The lower north shore is nice but it can be a real bitch getting into the city in peak hour on buses. The inner west is pretty cool but it is a bit scungy in places.

I'm from the east so I am pretty biased ;) but I'd say to go east if you want to be near good beaches and have plenty of entertainment and other resources (shopping centres, gyms, pubs/clubs/bars, SCG, parks etc) around. Some of my favourite areas are Coogee, Bronte, Bondi, Rose Bay, Vaucluse (a bit further away from the city), Double Bay and Paddington. Contrary to popular opinion, I think the public transport is pretty good around here, you can get a bus straight to the city from pretty much anywhere. From Bondi Junction it's 4 or 5 stops on the train to the city. Be careful if you have a car and need on-street parking, in certain places it can be a pain!

PM me if you'd like more info! I'm pretty passionate about living around here, I love it :D

Public transport isn't really such a hassle... whilst there's no trains, buses go up and down Pittwater Road every 5 or 10 minutes and with their own transit lane it can be quicker to get a bus than drive.

My recommendation on the criteria listed.... Collaroy.

For $600PW you could get yourself a nice one bedroom place in the east or lower north shore or inner west - those places are all close to the CBD and have plenty of pubs around. The SCG is in the eastern suburbs. The lower north shore is nice but it can be a real bitch getting into the city in peak hour on buses. The inner west is pretty cool but it is a bit scungy in places.

i'm living in lower north shore, on the train line - don't pay close to that much per week for a 1 bedder. The average price for 1 bed apartment is $420 p/week. It takes me about 20 minutes on the train to the city (I've never taken a bus).
I'm from the east so I am pretty biased ;) but I'd say to go east if you want to be near good beaches and have plenty of entertainment and other resources (shopping centres, gyms, pubs/clubs/bars, SCG, parks etc) around. Some of my favourite areas are Coogee, Bronte, Bondi, Rose Bay, Vaucluse (a bit further away from the city), Double Bay and Paddington. Contrary to popular opinion, I think the public transport is pretty good around here, you can get a bus straight to the city from pretty much anywhere. From Bondi Junction it's 4 or 5 stops on the train to the city. Be careful if you have a car and need on-street parking, in certain places it can be a pain!

PM me if you'd like more info! I'm pretty passionate about living around here, I love it :D

But am planning to move inner west/ eastern suburbs early next year. I don't really recommend living lower north shore / north of the bridge.

Not too much happening around there. If you're into bars/cafes/beaches stay east or inner west.