Autopsy Sydney vs Dogs Rd 4 2018

He was playing as a defensive forward. He was picked to draw away the third defender who would come over the top against Buddy. Easton Wood was always going to play on Buddy with the assistance of the their third defender. Aliir did his job
I also think they’ll probably switch him into defense this week and drop Newman, to deal with the Crows tall forward line. I think they wanted Aliir to get some game time and be ready for Adelaide. He will probably end up on Jenkins this week.

I’m surprised at how many people are saying we are “leaking in defense” etc. Our mids are the ones who are leaking. Aside from Heeney, and bursts from Parker, our mids are a bit off their game. I’m not too bothered, as it’s better for them to start slow and build, than shoot their load early.

Dogs had a massive amount of ball in their forward 50, and I thought our backline was great, given the circumstances.

Really not happy with hanners or grundy this year. I get that reg had to slow down at some stage....he has but he is clever enough to still impact contests...ots just the dumb decisions he has been making...needs to be better from a veteran.

Where to begin with hanners..his skills have been atrocious and he is providing us with no run or link play. If hes injured thats fair enough but he shouldnt be playing. If you cross that white line,you are saying you are fit and your performance should be judged accordingly.. been amongst our worse and is not what you expect from a senior multiple all australian in his prime

Really not happy with hanners or grundy this year. I get that reg had to slow down at some stage....he has but he is clever enough to still impact contests...ots just the dumb decisions he has been making...needs to be better from a veteran.

Where to begin with hanners..his skills have been atrocious and he is providing us with no run or link play. If hes injured thats fair enough but he shouldnt be playing. If you cross that white line,you are saying you are fit and your performance should be judged accordingly.. been amongst our worse and is not what you expect from a senior multiple all australian in his prime

Absolutely agree about Hanners. I cringe when he kicks the ball - No penetration and regularly turns the ball over. Not sure what to do with him as has been a war horse but if he is turning the ball over constantly something has to give.

The rumour has it he’s struggling with osteitis pubis.

I'm doing the trial with Foxtel now currently, how long does it normally take to get on demand replays? Re the afl app, until late last season I could mirror all games via Apple TV, had been doing for 3 years. There was a specific sequence which got around the block, which unfortunately they've now found out.
Normally the foxtel now replays are up within a few hours. The Swans match was much later than its ever been, it was put up around 6pm tonight I estimate. I like it, been getting into the NBA coverage too a bit. Weve got sport movies on it and I dropped netflix.

I’m surprised at how many people are saying we are “leaking in defense” etc. Our mids are the ones who are leaking. Aside from Heeney, and bursts from Parker, our mids are a bit off their game. I’m not too bothered, as it’s better for them to start slow and build, than shoot their load early.

Dogs had a massive amount of ball in their forward 50, and I thought our backline was great, given the circumstances.

Yeah I agree, we might get a huge score kicked on us at some stage, but as you say, its probably the midfield that will be the main reason.

Sinclair has been sensational this season.

Funnily enough, he's an ideal modern day ruckman - agile, gets to a lot of contests, good disposal and can go forward to kick goals. He's also a damn hard worker and getting better in ruck contests by the week. Good on him.
Sincalir has had a reasonable run of no mature or part time ruckmen to face this year so far. Sam Jacobs is a serious step up in class over English. He did face a returning Nic Nat. Sinclair has rucked against what is in front of him though and done reasonably well I reckon. Im not really sold on him, happy if he just neutralises the opposing ruck to some extent. Perhaps the best compliment I can say is I thought it would be noticable us getting killed in the ruck contests, and it isnt happening, probably aside from Dixon.

Inexperienced defence vs ability on day? Hmmm, let me think about that...who ******* cares if you’re inexperienced as that doesn’t determine how well you play! Dogs played well, they could’ve beaten us but they didn’t. Aliir played forward, hardly sighted but got AFL match practice and is according to the match committee, a far ******* better option than McCartin...deal with it!
Lol match practice. It’s round 4 deal with it.

Giving that right wing nut job Rupert (Mr Burns) Murdoch any money at all goes against our club's ethos IMHO. Got to be another way.
(For example Optus shows all their games if you live in NSW and just record them). Maybe the AFL app doesn't pay him...
Kodi box mate :) google it. You just need a telstra subscription somewhere along the line to access the AFL live stream app. Then KODI allows you to play it through your TV through an AFL addon.

It's a bit confusing to set up, but once u have it's free afl footy for life (if you're a telstra customer) hahah

Get what your saying but don't really agree connolly. If Reid was fit would you still want to go with that plan or is this a no Reid or Reid replacement option?
Reid is a genuine forward and with respect Cameron, Pink or McCartin are not in his category just yet. They are very inexperienced key position forwards. We just don't have anyone to fill a big mobile key position forward role with Franklin. Better to have a big defensive forward to shield, decoy and draw defenders away from Buddy. Horse came up with a Plan B at last. IMHO prefer to see that plan than pushing Buddy up the field to pass to Toby Pink. Horse played with the best centre half forward of his generation as a big key position forward. He once joked that Pagan told him his main job was to get out Carey's way. That's true of Buddy. He needs space and quick ball movement to score heavily. The Bulldogs slowed down our ball movement in the first half. Buddy had more space when they tired. Aliir moved around in the forward line but I wish he had kicked the sitter he missed. He's learning on the job in a role needed by the game plan. Of course he would be a much better player as a centre half back. The options are whether we can get a Reid like game out of the young big blokes or play a big defensive forward to clear space for Buddy.

Sinclair played that role pretty well last year and he is looking even better this year. Why not Cameron into the ruck?

That is an option. But Cameron rucking against Jacobs in his first game is a bigger risk than playing Aliir on the forward line. Why possibly weaken the ruck division that's going ok to cover a second big forward role? Adelaide play a zone defence with a floating free defender who is a smallish type. Maybe we don't need the same structure as against the Bulldogs that used a small defender against Buddy with a floating third up big defender. Horses for courses. If Aliir is dropped it wont be because of poor form but just different structure. Kieran Jack may take their floater as a defensive forward whose name escapes me at the moment. I think people have missed that the Bulldogs played an unusual defensive structure against Buddy with a small defender playing on him and a third up tall defender to smother him. Despite Beveridge's usual bull that they won the Buddy contest, they didn't. In the end Buddy prevailed against their scragging tactics with Easton Wood. On Friday night it will be different with a tall defender on Buddy.

surprised by the tone of a lot of these posts. I thought the dogs played the best quarter of football I've seen any side play all year. There disposal was pin point no matter how much pressure they were under - but we somehow wrestled the game back on to our terms and took control early in the 3rd and 4th quarters. Had to fight hard to hold on. The umps tried hard to get the dogs up after spoiling us early. And yes, the dogs beat themselves with poor finishing but I thought it was a great game and a great win. Very happy to see Ollie kick the sealer in style.

Aliir right back to the neafl

Why? He has had 60 minutes in the NEAFL. That is not much match conditioning and you expect him to be ready to play? Of course he wasn't. Add to that he is playing forward, a position that is not his normal one. He is used to guarding the space and guarding a man not hitting the ball as forwards do. He will play back next week against the Crows. He has a full game of conditioning now. I don't really think Horse expected big things. He did a job. Biggs got 14, he averages 20. Naughton was allowed to roam around at will and Aliir stopped his intercept marking by standing in front of him.

So I think he did what he was told to do by horse.

Aliir right back to the neafl

Why? He has had 60 minutes in the NEAFL. That is not much match conditioning and you expect him to be ready to play? Of course he wasn't. Add to that he is playing forward, a position that is not his normal one. He is used to guarding the space and guarding a man not hitting the ball as forwards do. He will play back next week against the Crows. He has a full game of conditioning now. I don't really think Horse expected big things. He did a job. Biggs got 14, he averages 20. Naughton was allowed to roam around at will and Aliir stopped his intercept marking by standing in front of him.

So I think he did what he was told to do by horse.

surprised by the tone of a lot of these posts. I thought the dogs played the best quarter of football I've seen any side play all year. There disposal was pin point no matter how much pressure they were under - but we somehow wrestled the game back on to our terms and took control early in the 3rd and 4th quarters. Had to fight hard to hold on. The umps tried hard to get the dogs up after spoiling us early. And yes, the dogs beat themselves with poor finishing but I thought it was a great game and a great win. Very happy to see Ollie kick the sealer in style.
Seconded.