Sydney vs Essendon

• Thread starter Thread starter g'day mate

Re: Sydney vs Essenden

I think Heath Grundy was in excellent form and was sensational with his goals he bagged. He looks like the next big thing in swans camp. (looking like the swans equivalent of a Benji Marshall) but everyone was on the ball in the end and I'm glad O'loughlin finally bagged big 400:thumbsu:

Did I imagine it or did we kick 4.0, then 1.9, then 9.1 in that game?

If we'd kicked straight all night I have no doubt there was a 100pt battering there to be dished out last night.

Signs looking good. Crouch comes in for Schmiddy...Amon for phillips...and Davis close to selection...could be our strongest list of the year in short order. :thumbsu:

FixterFan said:
Crouch for Bevan...Buchanan for Phillips...Schmidt stays in - that's even better :)

Nick Davis will probably come back though.. i'm praying so anyway.

Buchanan for Auskick, Crouch for Schmidt and Davis for Grundy.

Bevo stays for the laugh factor.

I don't know how Davis went yesterday at the reserves. Can anyone help me and fill me in? If he played well at the reserves, Davis might have a chance to come back...i hope he does.

And talking about the match against the Demons next week. We have a chance. Carlton defeated Melbourne...and their key players (Pickett) is out injured. I'd say we have a chance to win and climb up to the 3rd spot. But it's too risky to say Swans will win...the Demons are unpredicable. I'd see next week match as an 8 point ball game. :D

is2SWaNz said:
I don't know how Davis went yesterday at the reserves. Can anyone help me and fill me in? If he played well at the reserves, Davis might have a chance to come back...i hope he does.

And talking about the match against the Demons next week. We have a chance. Carlton defeated Melbourne...and their key players (Pickett) is out injured. I'd say we have a chance to win and climb up to the 3rd spot. But it's too risky to say Swans will win...the Demons are unpredicable. I'd see next week match as an 8 point ball game. :D

He kicked 3 goals but apparently he was quite sluggish.. from what i read earlier. He was apparently cramping up a bit aswell.

natlovestheswans said:
He kicked 3 goals but apparently he was quite sluggish.. from what i read earlier. He was apparently cramping up a bit aswell.

Ohh dear...thats not a good sign. But he bagged 3..pretty okay. I don't think he'll come back next week if he is sluggish! oh deary me...

Tuco said:
Sounds good for Nick. But "getting there" suggests not quite there. So probably a return for either the Geelong or Bris game would be more likely?

Possibly.

Seeing there's a possible return of Buchanan and Crouch next week, oh and Doyle might come in for Teddy maybe Paul Roos doesn't want to bring them all in for the one game.

I still hope he's back for the Melb game though.

I think Roosy will choose Doyle, cos Teddy isn't just [yet], prepared to take on the role with Jolly. But, i think that Amon and Jared will come back into the team! Just reading the article, Davis is improving, but he's only 'getting there', so i doubt he'll be chosen for melbs game. I reckon he'll come back against Geelong...ahh, the memories! ^^

If he's back for the Geelong game at Skilled, the crowd will really give it to him. Everytime he touches they ball they'll make sure he gets an earful. Personally i think he'd love it.

natlovestheswans said:
Nick Davis will probably come back though.. i'm praying so anyway.

Buchanan for Auskick, Crouch for Schmidt and Davis for Grundy.

Bevo stays for the laugh factor.

Buchanan will come in for Phillips, but the rest of your changes are foolish and I'm starting to think your not interested in the Swans winning another Premiership, but just some "personal entertainment".

When Crouch and Davis do come back, it will be Crouch for Bevan and Davis for Schmidt. The only other changes I would think of would of would be Doyle for Richards or Vogels for Richards (depending how Roos wants to go in the ruck) and if he does decide for some unknown reason to bring back Mathews I see him dropping Dempster to make that change.

But they won't all be this week. Only Buchanan is certain to come in if fit, other than that Davis will be back either this week or against the Cats. Crouch might come back on one match in the two's, but its likely he'll be back against the Cats and the change for Richards for whoever would be either this week or against the Lions. Mathews return would only be against the Lions.

IMO Grundy is more important to our team at the moment than you would think!
I think most defences we will come up against in the coming weeks will find it hard to match up on two big bodied forwards in Hall and Grundy. Obviously the best defender will go to Hall, leaving Grundy, who was beyond impressive in the first quarter last night, to play on a weaker defender and hopefully do quite a bit of damage with the talent he obviously has.

Blacky31 said:
IMO Grundy is more important to our team at the moment than you would think!
I think most defences we will come up against in the coming weeks will find it hard to match up on two big bodied forwards in Hall and Grundy. Obviously the best defender will go to Hall, leaving Grundy, who was beyond impressive in the first quarter last night, to play on a weaker defender and hopefully do quite a bit of damage with the talent he obviously has.
This is the important thing. Grundy is young, and will be inconsistant. But the point is he is another big bodied smart tall forward. They have to give him some respect with a decent defender. Which allows players like Hall, O'Loughlin, O'Keefe etc more freedom.

Since he has come into the team we have certainly looked better. This is not just due to his output but the mismatch it has created against the opposition.

robbieando said:
Buchanan will come in for Phillips, but the rest of your changes are foolish and I'm starting to think your not interested in the Swans winning another Premiership, but just some "personal entertainment".

Er, yeah.. that's the only reason why i watch the Swans for some "personal entertainment". That's the only reason why i have a membership and why i waste my money on their merchandise and transport to get to and from the game and whatever else.

The way i see it is Mathews or Bevan. So i much rather have Bevo in so i can laugh at him, atleast he isn't boring like Ben Mathews and he's still young, so getting some game time into him can't hurt for our future.

Within the next few weeks before finals Phillips, Schmidt and Grundy will all be definately be gone, especially Phillips and Schmidt and seeing we still have Davis, Buchanan and Crouch to come back they are the ones who will replace them.

The other change ofcourse could be Richards out for Doyle, have a little trial run before the finals so Roos can decide who will take the job in the finals.

I don't see how that's foolish and me not wanting Sydney to go back to back?

Grundy could continue to be selected, i really don't know. But at the moment we have Buchanan, Crouch, Davis and Mathews all pushing for selection. I don't think Roos will cut Dempster, so if he doesn't then who else but Grundy, Schmidt and Phillips will he cut? Yes, maybe Bevo but that's only for Mathews to come in.

I'm rambling and probably not making much sense, but robbie i just want to know why you think i'm being foolish by saying what i have?

Would you rather have Bevo or Mathews?

natlovestheswans said:
Er, yeah.. that's the only reason why i watch the Swans for some "personal entertainment". That's the only reason why i have a membership and why i waste my money on their merchandise and transport to get to and from the game and whatever else.

The way i see it is Mathews or Bevan. So i much rather have Bevo in so i can laugh at him, atleast he isn't boring like Ben Mathews and he's still young, so getting some game time into him can't hurt for our future.

Within the next few weeks before finals Phillips, Schmidt and Grundy will all be definately be gone, especially Phillips and Schmidt and seeing we still have Davis, Buchanan and Crouch to come back they are the ones who will replace them.

The other change ofcourse could be Richards out for Doyle, have a little trial run before the finals so Roos can decide who will take the job in the finals.

Grundy could continue to be selected, i really don't know. But at the moment we have Buchanan, Crouch, Davis and Mathews all pushing for selection. I don't think Roos will cut Dempster, so if he doesn't then who else but Grundy, Schmidt and Phillips will he cut? Yes, maybe Bevo but that's only for Mathews to come in.

I'm rambling and probably not making much sense, but robbie i just want to know why you think i'm being foolish by saying what i have?

Mathews is better defensively but ordinary skills and decision making like Bevan. At least he could prove useless.
Bevan might be there in time, lets hope.

If Grundy keeps playing like he has, then he won't be dropped IMO. He is playing a very important role at the moment, and if continues to do so will NOT be dropped.

You cannot swap Grundy for Mathews .. different players.

TheMase said:
Mathews is better defensively but ordinary skills and decision making like Bevan. At least he could prove useless.
Bevan might be there in time, lets hope.

If Grundy keeps playing like he has, then he won't be dropped IMO. He is playing a very important role at the moment, and if continues to do so will NOT be dropped.

You cannot swap Grundy for Mathews .. different players.

But Grundy wouldn't be swapped for Mathews.

Buchanan - Phillips
Crouch - Schmidt
Davis - Grundy
Bevo - Mathews.

I saw that Schneider is starting in a defensive role, so you'd just need to swap around a little and it would work.

I'd just rather Bevo than Mathews.

natlovestheswans said:

The fact you think Grundy will be dropped to make way for Davis proves you know little about football. What more does he have to do to prove himself to you that a) he has played well and b) has become an important part of our forward set up within only three weeks of making his senior debut. Davis will come back don't you worry but he won't be used as a third tall in the forward line, but more as a midfielder, hence all the effort to get him to improve his fitness and the playing him in the midfield in the reserves. Roosy has a different role for Davis in mind to what you have. Grundy stays.

As I keep saying Bevan will be dropped for Crouch because Bevan has been playing the role in the side that Crouch was playing before he got injured. Mathews if he is to come back (and to be honest we all hope to God that isn't the case) will force Dempster out of the side because Dempster like Bevan is playing the same role Mathews was playing early in the year and if you remember rightly both of these players were swaping their spot in the seniors week to week when Mathews first got injured. So therefore in the cases of Crouch and Mathews to find out who'll they would replace its called USING LOGIC, something you clearly stuggle with because all you base your selections on is "wanting a player in the team to laugh at". What rot.

That might happen. All comes down to the fact of whether Roosy wants to go into the finals with two full time ruckman or one. Another replacement wildcard for Richards could be Vogels.

Wanting a player in the team "to laugh at", I'd call that foolish. Me I pick the Best 22 players on Form, Fitness and Talent, not on the basis of being able to making me laugh - that's foolish.

Grundy could continue to be selected, i really don't know. But at the moment we have Buchanan, Crouch, Davis and Mathews all pushing for selection.

Yes we have those players all pushing to make selection, but we can still select them and still select Grundy. Having Grundy allows O'Loughlin, O'Keefe and when he gets back Davis to push up the ground and cause havoc by offering leads and delivering passes to both Hall and Grundy who will be Twin Towers of Hell come finals time because they both can mark the ball well and kick to though the middle of the two big sticks. Take Grundy away and it adds pressure to a forward line that has been stuggling this year.

I don't think Roos will cut Dempster

Has done so many times year, so wouldn't surprise me if he did it again. His form isn't as Red Hot as last year and to be honest if it was either him or Mathews we wouldn't gain much either way (other than Dempster is a better kick, but we all know the senior player gets the nod).

so if he doesn't then who else but Grundy, Schmidt and Phillips will he cut? Yes, maybe Bevo but that's only for Mathews to come in.

As I said, Bevan gets the chop when Crouch is ready to return. This side doesn't need two small defenders and Crouch is the best there is, so goodbye Bevan you had your chance to prove yourself and didn't prove a thing.

Anytime you say "I want someone in the team to laugh at" I'm going to think your foolish and nothing you say from here on in will make me think otherwise.

Considering Bevan is holding down a spot in the team until Crouch returns that really is a moot point and to be honest, I rather go with Mathews at this stage anyway. They both bring the same crap to the table and I rather go with the devil I know.

Anyway for the record here are my possible changes for the rest of the season (not all will happen, but if a current senior player doesn't get dropped here is his likely replacement):

Ted Richards - Stephen Doyle/Luke Vogel (Depends if we go with Two full time ruckman or not)
Tim Schmidt - Nick Davis
Simon Phillips - Amon Buchanan
Paul Bevan - Jared Crouch
Sean Dempster - Ben Mathews

Best 22

F: Nick Davis Heath Grundy Adam Schneider
HF: Ryan O'Keefe Barry Hall Michael O'Loughlin
C: Nick Malceski Jude Bolton Adam Goodes
HB: Luke Ablett Lewis Roberts-Thomson Tadhg Kennelly
B: Craig Bolton Leo Barry Jared Crouch
R: Darren Jolly Brett Kirk Amon Buchanan
Int: Jared McVeigh Nic Fosdike Ted Richards Sean Dempster
Emg: Ben Mathews Stephen Doyle Tim Schmidt

robbieando said:
Anyway for the record here are my possible changes for the rest of the season (not all will happen, but if a current senior player doesn't get dropped here is his likely replacement):

Ted Richards - Stephen Doyle/Luke Vogel (Depends if we go with Two full time ruckman or not)
Tim Schmidt - Nick Davis

Best 22

I think I completely agree with this top 22. Unfortuntely I'm worried Sean might end up on the outer rather than Mathews in the real world.

On a side note: that's a damn fine looking list we have at the moment - especially considering how young we are as a team! :thumbsu:

robbieando said:
The fact you think Grundy will be dropped to make way for Davis proves you know little about football. What more does he have to do to prove himself to you that a) he has played well and b) has become an important part of our forward set up within only three weeks of making his senior debut. Davis will come back don't you worry but he won't be used as a third tall in the forward line, but more as a midfielder, hence all the effort to get him to improve his fitness and the playing him in the midfield in the reserves. Roosy has a different role for Davis in mind to what you have. Grundy stays.

I know Grundy doesn't play the same role as Nick Davis..

Forwards - Hall, O'Loughlin, Davis, O'Keefe, Buchanan, Schneider. Before Grundy came into the team 3 weeks ago that's how it was. It's coming into finals time do we want to have an inexperienced player like Grundy there, who will be inconsistent at times? Okay and i'm not trying to say that Grundy doesn't deserve a spot in the team or even that he won't, i'm just not sure that he will continue to be selected. If he continues to kick goals and whatever else then yeah, he probably will be selected but that's not my point. I know Davis won't be doing the role that Grundy does, i mean obviously.

As I keep saying Bevan will be dropped for Crouch because Bevan has been playing the role in the side that Crouch was playing before he got injured. Mathews if he is to come back (and to be honest we all hope to God that isn't the case) will force Dempster out of the side because Dempster like Bevan is playing the same role Mathews was playing early in the year and if you remember rightly both of these players were swaping their spot in the seniors week to week when Mathews first got injured. So therefore in the cases of Crouch and Mathews to find out who'll they would replace its called USING LOGIC, something you clearly stuggle with because all you base your selections on is "wanting a player in the team to laugh at". What rot.

That might happen. All comes down to the fact of whether Roosy wants to go into the finals with two full time ruckman or one. Another replacement wildcard for Richards could be Vogels.

There's no way he'll go into the finals with only Jolly as a ruckman. Teddy can do defensive and go up forward if he has to, that's why i think Teddy will be selected once it comes to finals time, ahead of Doyle.

Wanting a player in the team "to laugh at", I'd call that foolish. Me I pick the Best 22 players on Form, Fitness and Talent, not on the basis of being able to making me laugh - that's foolish.

I'm saying i rather have Paul Bevan in the side then Ben Mathews so atleast i can laugh at it. In the end there's only 22 spots and the way i see it, one of those 2 will be in the side. It won't be both and it won't be neither.. hence why i'm saying i rather Bevo so atleast i can laugh at him.

Yes we have those players all pushing to make selection, but we can still select them and still select Grundy. Having Grundy allows O'Loughlin, O'Keefe and when he gets back Davis to push up the ground and cause havoc by offering leads and delivering passes to both Hall and Grundy who will be Twin Towers of Hell come finals time because they both can mark the ball well and kick to though the middle of the two big sticks. Take Grundy away and it adds pressure to a forward line that has been stuggling this year.

Yes, we can still select Grundy and yes it will take pressure off the others guys but in the end it's only 22 players being selected. I don't know what Paul Roos is thinking but i don't think he will drop Dempster.

Has done so many times year, so wouldn't surprise me if he did it again. His form isn't as Red Hot as last year and to be honest if it was either him or Mathews we wouldn't gain much either way (other than Dempster is a better kick, but we all know the senior player gets the nod).

He's done it before but i don't think he'll do it again. That's why i'm unsure if Grundy will continue to get selected.

As I said, Bevan gets the chop when Crouch is ready to return. This side doesn't need two small defenders and Crouch is the best there is, so goodbye Bevan you had your chance to prove yourself and didn't prove a thing.

What about Ben Mathews though? He is a small defender and like i said earlier, i think either one of Mathews and Bevo will be in the team.

Anytime you say "I want someone in the team to laugh at" I'm going to think your foolish and nothing you say from here on in will make me think otherwise.

Like i've said, one of Bevo and Mathews will be in the team, i'd rather be able to laugh at Bevo then cringe everytime Mathews gets the ball.

Considering Bevan is holding down a spot in the team until Crouch returns that really is a moot point and to be honest, I rather go with Mathews at this stage anyway. They both bring the same crap to the table and I rather go with the devil I know.

Okay so you rather Mathews, i wouldn't. I'd rather Bevo.

Tim Schmidt - Nick Davis

See i don't think Paul Roos will drop Dempster again and i think it's either Mathews or Bevo in the team and there's no one else he would drop so that's the only reason why i don't know if Grundy will stay.

Best 22

See i completely agree with this.. but you have Ben Mathews on the emg and i can't see Paul Roos not putting him back in the team unless he gets some 'injury'. I have no problem with that list though, i would LOVE for Grundy to stay in the team but if Mathews has to come back in the team, out of all those 22 who would Paul Roos get rid of? Grundy.. Because in the end they won a premiership with that forward line minus Grundy.. i can't see anyone else in that team that he would cut..

Maybe Bevo will be cut and Mathews will have an "injury" that will keep him out for the year and then yeah, it will all work out perfectly, but can you really see that happening? I don't know yet.

TheMase said:
This is the important thing. Grundy is young, and will be inconsistant. But the point is he is another big bodied smart tall forward. They have to give him some respect with a decent defender. Which allows players like Hall, O'Loughlin, O'Keefe etc more freedom.

Since he has come into the team we have certainly looked better. This is not just due to his output but the mismatch it has created against the opposition.

Ah sort of what I was trying to say, this has also freed up O'Keefe to move up the ground and become both damaging in the midfield and float into the forward line to score goals.