Sylvia

MustonMagic17

What do dees supporters think of this guy??
Never seems to give 100% and is often just worried about himself out there!! Maric will be 5 times the player of Sylvia cos he wants it!!!
They are essentially the same player but i think the club should persist with Addam ahead of Sylvia. Thoughts?????

Same player?
Not really.
Sylvia has the ability to go into the midfield, maric is more of a forward pocket specialist.
Sylvia is also more of a tough in and under player.

If Sylvia could give 100% and develop more of a defensive game he'd be a star.

I definitely want melbourne to persist with him.

All that said though, maric will be a very good player, some of the stuff he did today was extremely composed.

Bloody frustrating - that's what i think of Sylvia.

I reckon Bails should drop him ala Dal Santo at St Kilda - obvoiusly a first 22 player, but dropping him showed that to play at AFL level, you need desperation ALL the time - not just when you might be a chance to kick a goal - team work, defensive pressure and so forth.

It seems to have done the trick for Dal, and the Saints (bar yesterday) and it might just put a rocket up him.

Sylvia was decent today. He was all around the ground. Just because he doesn't look exhausted all the time, doesn't mean he isn't trying.

Maric was decent too. His kick to Bruce and strong overhead mark were both great.

Played with and against Addam as a junior and i can promise yo he will play his footy as an on baller, his always played a year above and started in the forward pocket!! his an onballer and if u watch carefully today he got his touches up the ground!! Sylvia isnt interested in anything but himself

Is this common?
Every second person in the Maric to debut thread, and plenty at the start of the year either played for or against him.

Back on Sylvia, whilst watching the game I knew this thread would come up, people seem to enjoy doing it. For mine he wont ever live up to the hype, but will be a talented player with flaws in his game, that doesn't mean you flog him off for an untalented hack. I'd still be willing to keep him unless we got a first round pick for him or maybe a very good second rounder.

could be a good-ordinary player in a better side. Not a match winner. Give him till the end of the year to prove his spot, tradebait.

You're absolutely right. We should've gone for Bradley, or maybe Tenace in that draft. Hold on, why not Raph Clarke or Ryley Dunn?
yeah 2003 draft wasn't e strongest but hindsight's a wonderful thing, but probably i'd go for stanton

we got brock at pick 5 in 03' so i would say we have already won.

Ive been a long defender of sylvia but his skills and lack of pace just arent up to afl standard let alone a number 3 pick in a draft. Maybe time to entertain offers at what we can get for him i would say.
AT least carltons pick 2 has been shit to, walker is just as bad as col

we got brock at pick 5 in 03' so i would say we have already won.

Ive been a long defender of sylvia but his skills and lack of pace just arent up to afl standard let alone a number 3 pick in a draft. Maybe time to entertain offers at what we can get for him i would say.
AT least carltons pick 2 has been shit to, walker is just as bad as col
:thumbsu:agree chief, he's just not delivering

Ladies, quit your bitching (this is directed at 2 dogs and malodeez). I figure I should remind you that abuse is something we hand out infractions for. Don't start shit, and I won't have to use the POWAR

Hey guys, I think this is Sylvia going up for a big speccy today. Correct me if i'm wrong. Thought you may like to see it.

NorthVsMelbourne08064.jpg

^^ Yeah, that's it, right before Juice snapped a total fluke of a goal. I'm not sure Sylvia laid a fingure on it but, its a cool picture, thanks for posting it ;)

I've had it with Sylvia. 3rd pick???? Got to be f###in kidding me. I know it was a weak draft but Colin could be something special.........to bad he's a selfish SOB.

Just on a tangent here, where does everyone think Sylvia should be played? Forward? Back? Midfield if he gets a bit fitter?

I really like the look of him playing on a back flank. Makes him accountable, he can run and create and use it pretty well and may benefit from not having expectations of kicking 4 goals a game.

I would trade him for a suitable deal that will benefit the MFC (second rounder) but if he stays, that's where I want to see him playing.

Just on a tangent here, where does everyone think Sylvia should be played? Forward? Back? Midfield if he gets a bit fitter?

I really like the look of him playing on a back flank. Makes him accountable, he can run and create and use it pretty well and may benefit from not having expectations of kicking 4 goals a game.

I would trade him for a suitable deal that will benefit the MFC (second rounder) but if he stays, that's where I want to see him playing.
Back flank is where I'd play him, swap him with Garland for the rest of the year.

Sylvia should be played forward.

Guys, he is not a defender. His kicking is good without being great and I don't think he's fit right now (He is normally quick off the mark but has no pace ATM).