cong8

carlton
Hey guys
Just wanted to know the details of the contract that was offered to simmonds to move to the tigers last year (length, renumeration, whether it is performance based etc) and whether you thought what your club offered was reasonable - more interested so I can get an idea of what other clubs might be offering Fev at the end of this year to try to lure him away from the blues (I've no doubt he will be offered more/better terms than what carlton can offer)

No doubt you'lll need to at least DOUBLE fevolas contract if he's gonna stay. The crows and possibly the lions will throw a truckload at him. I honestly dont know how you're gonna keep him with the money campo, kouta, stevens, whitnall, lappin, are on.

Simmonds is on a 5 year deal of about $250 to $350 a year I reckon. But he's worth it IMO. Stafford has only a year left possibly two so simmonds will take over most ruck duties with knobel.

thanks - for some reason I had 4-500k/yr for 5 yrs in my head for simmonds - do u know if his contract is performance based? - 250-350 is ok I guess, though I'd be concerned with the contract length (obviously the blues have been burnt with long term contracts before)

I've got no doubt Fev will be paid more than he is now - I'd be happy with offering Fev something like 350k+150k performance bonuses/season for 3yrs - the concern would be if another club came in offering 500k flat/year or a much longer term (5yr contract) because they are desperate for a key forward - and there are plenty of teams in that situation (well enough to make someone offer something stupid contract wise)

In terms of our contracts we should be ok I think - whitnall/campo will be on reduced deals (contracts up this year), we finish paying for mott (delisted player on base salary), beaumont (contract up), mckernan (contract up) so there is some space that will be freed up.

Tigers defend Simmonds deal
10 October 2004 Sunday Herald Sun

RICHMOND director of football Greg Miller has defended the decision to award Troy Simmonds a five-year deal. Long-term contracts have been considered taboo after several clubs found these deals hamstrung their leverage to move under the salary cap. But the Tigers, desperate to cover the loss of Brad Ottens, were able to nab Simmonds from Fremantle with the lure of security.

"The deal we put to him wasn't a great deal of money. But he was looking for that security," Miller said.

Miller said Carlton, St Kilda and the Kangaroos had chased Simmonds, who is expected to earn about $200,000 a year with the Tigers.

By travelling west to meet him, Miller said the Tigers showed how important he was to their rebuilding program under new coach Terry Wallace.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,11030690%5E19742,00.html

Fremantle reportedly offered the same money as Richmond but would not go beyond a 4 year contract. The 5 years offered is the major reason why he is playing for Richmond.
Ottens would have cost more for a 3 year deal.

Fishfinger said:
Tigers defend Simmonds deal
10 October 2004 Sunday Herald Sun

RICHMOND director of football Greg Miller has defended the decision to award Troy Simmonds a five-year deal. Long-term contracts have been considered taboo after several clubs found these deals hamstrung their leverage to move under the salary cap. But the Tigers, desperate to cover the loss of Brad Ottens, were able to nab Simmonds from Fremantle with the lure of security.

"The deal we put to him wasn't a great deal of money. But he was looking for that security," Miller said.

Miller said Carlton, St Kilda and the Kangaroos had chased Simmonds, who is expected to earn about $200,000 a year with the Tigers.

By travelling west to meet him, Miller said the Tigers showed how important he was to their rebuilding program under new coach Terry Wallace.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,11030690%5E19742,00.html

Fremantle reportedly offered the same money as Richmond but would not go beyond a 4 year contract. The 5 years offered is the major reason why he is playing for Richmond.
Ottens would have cost more for a 3 year deal.

thanks for that mate. im happy with the deal, i have no probs with it.

thanks for the article - 200k/yr is more than reasonable :)