blaze036

Gumbies FC
If i were AD for a day I would transform tasmania into a western bulldogs and North Melbourne home away from home. Both these clubs could really use the extra support and finances it gaurentees, and tasmania really wants more football. Set up rivalries and stuff and it really helps out the two of the smallest clubs in the AFL. Sorry to Hawthorn, just think others need the money and support more. A few home games a year there each, upgrade the stadiums (if there not already planning on doing so, and the demand is there) including a north V south tasmania derby or something.

Just a thought, sadly i dont think it will even happen as Hawthorn is entrenched there and made many loyal supporters

If i were AD for a day I would transform tasmania into a western bulldogs and North Melbourne home away from home. Both these clubs could really use the extra support and finances it gaurentees, and tasmania really wants more football. Set up rivalries and stuff and it really helps out the two of the smallest clubs in the AFL. Sorry to Hawthorn, just think others need the money and support more. A few home games a year there each, upgrade the stadiums (if there not already planning on doing so, and the demand is there) including a north V south tasmania derby or something.

Just a thought, sadly i dont think it will even happen as Hawthorn is entrenched there and made many loyal supporters

Imagine that, Hawthorn do the heavy lifting down in tasmania, Where the AFL couldn't seem to care, untill they realised the fruit of hawthorns labour, and now are pushing to send pissant AFL teams down hoping to get the same type of returns instantly, Hawthorn hosted Richmond down in 09 and drawed about 20k fans, Lowest crowd for an AFL team down there is Freo V Saints, put two clubs instantly there with a "Rivalry" like the dogs/Kangaroos is crap, You cant simply push teams down, tell locals "Its a tassie rivalry!" and hope to gain 15k+ tasmanians to turn up, It's not an instant wind-fall situation

15 million dollars that the Tasmanian State Government put into hawthorn, (Including helping York Park gain a 4 million dollar upgrade from the Federal Government) we turned that into an economic profit of 58 Million. Other clubs are welcome to come in and try,

• Banned
nothing about it was designed to be an "quick fix" this is a long term solution, as over the next generations the difference in support numbers between the big teams and small teams will grow even bigger this is a way to counteract it, as these two teams are the smallest in victoria and are competing with 8 other teams in the state.

I know it sucks for hawthorn, never said it would be good for them and they would be pissed. Just a thing for the AFL as a whole which probably comes at the expense of hawthorn, maybe they could be compensated by the AFL but they've already got a few thousand members from it and the AFL cant take those away so you wouldnt of wasted your time if asked to leave.

Very unfair of you to say the AFL doesnt care about Tasmania. Your saying that because there still isnt a Tasmanian AFL team? there isnt a team due to its impossible for one economically to be there

I know it sucks for hawthorn, never said it would be good for them and they would be pissed. Just a thing for the AFL as a whole which probably comes at the expense of hawthorn, maybe they could be compensated by the AFL but they've already got a few thousand members from it and the AFL cant take those away so you wouldnt of wasted your time if asked to leave.

How do you get members to re-sign with no games to offer them?

• Banned
How do you get members to re-sign with no games to offer them?

Well in the long run this plan is designed to get this state to support the two clubs who will in a few decades will be the smallest in the afl by a margin i would imagine. In the short term maybe u give Hawthorn two away games in Tassy vs the two teams their, and give them that plus merchandise. However in the long term would hope they support dogs/north.

As i said this is not good for hawthorn and hawthorn supporters wont like this idea, just in the perfect world i would like to see this footy mad state get behind the two smallest clubs, as they dont have as much potential to expand as teams like brisbane / gc (who are currently smaller) in their native state.

also by "and cant take this away" i meant the past revenue its generated not ongoing. The solution to hawthorns anger (and warranted) would be a short term compensation $$ package to give the club back what it spent investing in the region ect ect. Ideally Hawthorn would never of been there in the first place but you have to acknowledge the work they have done.

This idea is purely based on the fact in future generations their (dogs/kangas) support base will decrease relative to the other clubs (bigger teams have more babies brainwashed into supporting the family team) and simpley dont have much room to expand, unlike the interstate teams.

Hawthorn did the hard work and were committed to begin with, so that would seem unfair. In saying that, I am not too unhappy about St.kilda moving away from Tasmania. More home matches in melbourne is a gtreat thing for supporters and for some reason the Saints used to play horribly down there.

Hawthorn can keep it. How about moving North Melbourne to Ballarat for a few home matches, they were thinking about that option. Even Bendigo.

Hawthorn did the hard work and were committed to begin with, so that would seem unfair. In saying that, I am not too unhappy about St.kilda moving away from Tasmania. More home matches in melbourne is a gtreat thing for supporters and for some reason the Saints used to play horribly down there.

Hawthorn can keep it. How about moving North Melbourne to Ballarat for a few home matches, they were thinking about that option. Even Bendigo.

So Tasmania is just the piggy bank for old busted VFL teams to get a lift from. So what Tasmania wants doesnt count then? I think its bloody embarrassing to the AFL to now have two AFL teams sucking money out of this place. Our local footy is basically stuffed yet neither of those clubs nor the AFL help or give a rats arse. We want our own team in ita own right. Not Victorian leaches.

We'll just take collingwood's timeslots at the MCG and you can play more at etihad - thats just the same thing isnt it ?

have you ever thought tasmaniams prefer to have hawthorn as the team there ?

NO they dont, Tasmanians want ANY AFL football, Hawks in Launceston has been a winner, but wait when the kangaroos play, it will be packed at bellerive as well. But we want our own team, if its good enough for EVERY other state to have at least 2 AFL teams, then surely Tasmania SHOULD have 1

So Tasmania is just the piggy bank for old busted VFL teams to get a lift from. So what Tasmania wants doesnt count then? I think its bloody embarrassing to the AFL to now have two AFL teams sucking money out of this place. Our local footy is basically stuffed yet neither of those clubs nor the AFL help or give a rats arse. We want our own team in ita own right. Not Victorian leaches.

Tasmania wants AFL football. Tasmania cant have their own team at the moment its a fact, so this is the next best thing dunno how you can say they dont give a rats arse. Also pretty laughable when you say "afl teams sucking the money out of the place" when hawthorn announced they injected what 58mil? into the tasmania economy and actually did the EXACT OPPOSITE. I have no idea about your local footy being stuffed, are u sure its the afls fault.

We'll just take collingwood's timeslots at the MCG and you can play more at etihad - thats just the same thing isnt it ?

How mature of u to turn this into a bash on collingwood because their the team i support and u dont like my idea. This has absolutly nothing to do with timeslots or mcg/etihad i have no idea what ur talking about. This is about increasing the smallest teams supporter base so they dont let left behind.

Imagine that, Hawthorn do the heavy lifting down in tasmania, Where the AFL couldn't seem to care, untill they realised the fruit of hawthorns labour, and now are pushing to send pissant AFL teams down hoping to get the same type of returns instantly, Hawthorn hosted Richmond down in 09 and drawed about 20k fans, Lowest crowd for an AFL team down there is Freo V Saints, put two clubs instantly there with a "Rivalry" like the dogs/Kangaroos is crap, You cant simply push teams down, tell locals "Its a tassie rivalry!" and hope to gain 15k+ tasmanians to turn up, It's not an instant wind-fall situation

15 million dollars that the Tasmanian State Government put into hawthorn, (Including helping York Park gain a 4 million dollar upgrade from the Federal Government) we turned that into an economic profit of 58 Million. Other clubs are welcome to come in and try,

Fair comment, and I agree. Hawthorn should be given first option to fully relocate there before any other club gets the opportunity.

Well said.

A Tasmanian team is the only way to go for the state (and that is a team from the ground up, not a relocated AFL side).

Compared to that, Tasmanians are currently being served up the slops.

As a Tasmanian, I'm insulted by the idea here that Vic sides who "deserve it more" should be given a free ride into the state, like we're the frigging natives who deserve to be visited by missionaries...if the Bulldogs won't do the hard work themselves, then they can f-off...Tasmania is a football state, unlike the new cashcows - earn and deserve our respect before assuming you'll get it...

Like Madmug, if you're going to call it "Tasmania's team", I won't accept anything less than a dark green, two-headed, home-grown monster...if that means no AFL games in the state, then fine...something I would say if I was still residing there...I would ditch my Hawks if it came to pass, something I'm sure Eagles and Crows fans have experienced before, but I wouldn't ditch them for a relocation...

If, however, a team like Hawthorn came in, committed to the state and the locals, and worked with them to "bring AFL football to a passionate audience", never calling themselves anything more than invited guests, and going into bat for us (at least when it's presidential speech time - however genuine or not, it sounded good!), then great...and this is exactly what has happened, unlike North's efforts in calling themselves Sydney's alternative to the Swans...unlike Madmug, I disagree about the money-sucking statement...Hawthorn and AFL Tas have nothing to do each each other...

And North v South - the single most destructive force in the state, something I don't miss...should not be encouraged at any cost...

Dont get me wrong, id love for there to be a tasmanian team. However at present its undoubtable not viable and the futures looking bleak due to more and more tasmanians leaving for the mainland (from what ive read, dont know the official statistics). This being the case my idea is mainly focused around trying to even out the supporting bases, some tasmanians could be insulted by this but unfortunatly due to the situation the state is in thats how the cookie crumbles.

Why do u think a north v south rivalry would be a destructive force in the state?

Tasmania wants AFL football. Tasmania cant have their own team at the moment its a fact, so this is the next best thing dunno how you can say they dont give a rats arse. Also pretty laughable when you say "afl teams sucking the money out of the place" when hawthorn announced they injected what 58mil? into the tasmania economy and actually did the EXACT OPPOSITE. I have no idea about your local footy being stuffed, are u sure its the afls fault.

How mature of u to turn this into a bash on collingwood because their the team i support and u dont like my idea. This has absolutly nothing to do with timeslots or mcg/etihad i have no idea what ur talking about. This is about increasing the smallest teams supporter base so they dont let left behind.

My point was a bit subbtle obviously. Hawks are successful in tassie but you say the doggies and north need it more.

Well collingwood is the most successful at the MCG especially friday night games. but if Hawthorn is moved out of tassie, for the 'good of the game' then collingwood can be moved out of friday night and MCG gams to make way for hawthorn "for the good of the game" It will increase our MCG attendances 'so we dont get left behind'

Clearer now ?

My point was a bit subbtle obviously. Hawks are successful in tassie but you say the doggies and north need it more.

Well collingwood is the most successful at the MCG especially friday night games. but if Hawthorn is moved out of tassie, for the 'good of the game' then collingwood can be moved out of friday night and MCG gams to make way for hawthorn "for the good of the game" It will increase our MCG attendances 'so we dont get left behind'

Clearer now ?

No its not clear, apart from the blatant irony when you say hawthorn playing at the mcg instead of collingwood will be good for the game, how is increasing ur mcg attendences good for the game whilst decreasing collingwoods? stupid point. Hawthorn are one of the biggest teams and are obviously not going to be left behind, stop being so bloody childish and turning this into hawthorn v collinwood because ur having a sook about me suggesting to take hawthorn out of tasmania.

Tasmania are way overdue for a stand alone team. F*ck the Suns & Giants.

The only true Tasmanian team will happen when State of Origin is re-introduced...matter of fact the only true Victorian team will happen when State of Origin is re-intoduced.

Tasmania are way overdue for a stand alone team. F*ck the Suns & Giants.

If you want a Tasmania team start opening tasmanians immigration doors big time, they need the bigger population and way more business down there.

No its not clear, apart from the blatant irony when you say hawthorn playing at the mcg instead of collingwood will be good for the game, how is increasing ur mcg attendences good for the game whilst decreasing collingwoods? stupid point. Hawthorn are one of the biggest teams and are obviously not going to be left behind, stop being so bloody childish and turning this into hawthorn v collinwood because ur having a sook about me suggesting to take hawthorn out of tasmania.

So its OK to have a Hawthorn v doggies/north in tassie but not hawthorn v collingwood at the MCG.

I might have known you would think collingwood was exempt form your "playing with tin soldiers' efforts

They injected WHAT? into the Tasmanian economy. Ha ha ha. You want to be careful of what you quote, especially if it comes from boof Kennett or his associates. ANY football played here has an economic effect. Especially on the teams who take a large chunk of money out of this state to shore up their existance back in Victoria. The disgrace is the AFL bankroll all manner of clubs in Victoria, SA,Qld, NSW, but when it comes to Tasmania its purely a rip off.

They injected WHAT? into the Tasmanian economy. Ha ha ha. You want to be careful of what you quote, especially if it comes from boof Kennett or his associates.

The report was by Tassie govt or some independant consultancy (not sure which).

Hawks & Kennett had nothing to do with it.

The report was by Tassie govt or some independant consultancy (not sure which).

Hawks & Kennett had nothing to do with it.

Yes well, the claim was that Hawthorn inject $58 million into the economy. They dont. Its the claimed economic activity attributed to AFL games played in Launceston. The only thing Hawthorn inject (apart from the obvious:D) is the biggest sponsorship in the AFL into their pockets & take it out of this state back to Victoria. Given our own team, the associated economic activity would benefit this state & our local football, rather than Victoria.

One guy quaesioned the montary figures quoted. he reckoned there simply werent enough seats on flights or the ferry to match the 'influx' of money

$58M over 5 games is $16m per game. Thats $1000 per head at the game The guy reckoned the transport cant bring more than 2-3,000 per game

But kennet did bring us the Grand prix and authorised a $500m etihad stadium.

metricon stadium cost $160m to build 10 years later !