Tasmania

• Thread starter Thread starter blaze036

Economic studies have shown it would work, I think my argument is valid, you are just mouthing the usual uninformed diatribe that comes out of Victoria time & time again, all with no research or proof of any kind, just uninformed biased clap trap. Why dont Victorians apply the same argument to North Melbourne, Footscray, Melbourne etc?? They dont cut it, but they still limp along selling games all over the place, holding ther hands out to the AFL whining about stadium deals, always excuses. I'm sorry but you are being ignorant & you are wrong.
Tasmania does have over 500k people, Ballarat has 100K Broome has 14k so yours is a silly analogy at best.
& 'if Tasmania could have their own team they would', WHAT? That comment says it all!!!
Why dont you just recognise & admit your own parochial bias. Victorians just want it their way, thats the problem. Its also the AFL's biggest weakness.

What magical economic studies are these u are referring too? obviouslly the AFL hasnt seen them or ur just making stuff up. I have no bias, as i said before i personally would prefer a tasmania team. The difference between north/melbourne/dogs and tassy is that these victoria teams have much bigger corporate support behind them, and also a bigger future chance for expansion and so are much more likely to become a sustainable club, if they arnt already. Aka melbourne just got a 6mill dollar sponsership so there pretty close to being self sustainable in the comming years. Oh and none of them whinge about stadium deals? thats adelaide/port.

You call me uninformed then give no proof what so ever u are any more informed than i. Victorians actually want a tasmanian team on the whole, why wouldnt they?

Come on... this has nothing at all with "how good you are" its all about Tasmania will never be a self sustainable club!!!!
Please provide proof for this statement.

What magical economic studies are these u are referring too? obviouslly the AFL hasnt seen them or ur just making stuff up. I have no bias, as i said before i personally would prefer a tasmania team. The difference between north/melbourne/dogs and tassy is that these victoria teams have much bigger corporate support behind them, and also a bigger future chance for expansion and so are much more likely to become a sustainable club, if they arnt already. Aka melbourne just got a 6mill dollar sponsership so there pretty close to being self sustainable in the comming years. Oh and none of them whinge about stadium deals? thats adelaide/port.

You call me uninformed then give no proof what so ever u are any more informed than i. Victorians actually want a tasmanian team on the whole, why wouldnt they?

I've had this argument B4. Try looking up the Gemba report commissioned by the state government (James Hird was involved), try looking up the 'AFL its time web site, try looking up Saul Eslake, a noted economist who says Tasmania can cut it financially.
All I can do is give you the experts views & the obvious bias from Victoria.
I havent made any thing up. its all their, if you really are interested.
Its ok if your a Victorian, fcuk everyone else, thats the obvious message.
Oh & the Tasmanian cricket team gets corporate support & you think a Tassie AFL team, given goverment support wouldnt be more appealing to a national & international market than some suburban Victorian teams, you are bloody joking.

Tasmania only has Tasmania to blame in the late 90's Tassie was all but gauranteed a licence and yet couldnt decide on a location , North or South .
Despite the idea of VF train link between the North and South, neither end of the state could agree on a location !

YA WHAT???

I have lived in Tassie most of my life (all of the 90's) and have never heard that either down here or on any of the forums discussing Tassie!!

Re: The North V South thing, I am a born and bred Northener so it is hard not to be biased about it but I do think York Park is the better football ground than Bellrieve in just about ever aspect, except one......and that is simply the population.

Put York Park somewhere near Hobart with heaps of parking and good drainage and the problem is solved!!!

I personally love Hawthorn playing down here and support them when they do - wouldn't support any other team or particularly care if it was another tbh.

Hawthorn would get 25k against a lowly Melbourne side if the stadium would fit more. Seating sells out weeks in advance for the past few years.

Just curious...to the Tasmanians here. If one of the struggling Vic teams fully relocated to Tassie (let's be honest, North or the Dogs), would that be good enough? Or does it have to be a genuinely Taswegian club that is formed there to gain full support?

I doubt it would feel as good tbh - wouldn't truly feel Tasmanian.

YA WHAT???

I have lived in Tassie most of my life (all of the 90's) and have never heard that either down here or on any of the forums discussing Tassie!!

Re: The North V South thing, I am a born and bred Northener so it is hard not to be biased about it but I do think York Park is the better football ground than Bellrieve in just about ever aspect, except one......and that is simply the population.

Put York Park somewhere near Hobart with heaps of parking and good drainage and the problem is solved!!!

The grounds will be fine, York park is the best ground at the moment, Bellerive does need an up grade. By having both, access to games would be easy. But thats not the big issue. They can be both improved at not a great cost. Really if both were rated at nearer 25K capacity a Tassie team would do very well with two cleanskin stadiums, Just like Geelong do out of theirs. With 5-6 games in each they would both be full, even when playing some lesser teams. I see us getting the 30k+ membership easily.
The big issue is Victorian bias, thats the problem.

We will not get our own team for a number of reasons:

1. North-South Rivalry: Launcestonians refuse to accept that Hobart is the capital of the state and get there knickers in a knot everytime Hobart gets anything. For those from the mainland some Launceston elected politicians actually threatened to kill the North Melbourne/Bellerieve deal as it was not happening in Hobart. It is pathetic but unfortunately will never change. The costs of maintaining and running two AFL standard stadiums is to much for the Government which is practically bankrupt and Bellerieve is a horrible spot for parking and the locals there carry on like pork chops over every event at the oval. Put the team at York Park and Hobartians will boycott it and vice versa.

2. Most Tasmanians will not stop supporting their current team. I know I woulden't and everyone I speak to says they would watch a team but still support their original team. Now the argument to that is but these people s children will. Not a chance in Tassie where most people seem to support who the family always has done.

If they get their ownteam. York park can be as is for lower drawing fixtures, and a larger Hobart ground for games against the bigger victorian teams

Tasmania should have had all the cash that was directed towards the GC & WS to form.
AD & co have prevented a Tasmanian team from starting up, which is their biggest and brightest failure regarding a true and fair National Competition.

If they get their ownteam. York park can be as is for lower drawing fixtures, and a larger Hobart ground for games against the bigger victorian teams

No. Playing them year about would encourage interstate supporters to travel here. Those here who can travel interstate easily would go to watch games in both venues, those older people, those with young kids & just kids who would travel locally on by bus or dropped off at the ground by mum, would get a look at all clubs every two years.
The north south thing shouldnt affect this if the grounds & roster are done properly. The less chance for politicians or the LCC to bitch, the better. Most sensible fair people would see that this would work for all people in the state & be supported as such.

We will not get our own team for a number of reasons:

1. North-South Rivalry: Launcestonians refuse to accept that Hobart is the capital of the state and get there knickers in a knot everytime Hobart gets anything. For those from the mainland some Launceston elected politicians actually threatened to kill the North Melbourne/Bellerieve deal as it was not happening in Hobart. It is pathetic but unfortunately will never change. The costs of maintaining and running two AFL standard stadiums is to much for the Government which is practically bankrupt and Bellerieve is a horrible spot for parking and the locals there carry on like pork chops over every event at the oval. Put the team at York Park and Hobartians will boycott it and vice versa.

2. Most Tasmanians will not stop supporting their current team. I know I woulden't and everyone I speak to says they would watch a team but still support their original team. Now the argument to that is but these people s children will. Not a chance in Tassie where most people seem to support who the family always has done.

We already have two stadiums. That was caused by Robin Gray & John Howard. You cant wish one of them away, they exist, thats that. So we might as well get use to it & use them to best effect.
If we set it up properly then you take the politicians & Launy council out of the equasion. The positive people who read the facts & look for the best options would make this work. Stuff the rest:eek:

I know people in Qld & in WA. When they got AFL teams they changed from old VFL clubs & now support the Lions & Freo. The same would happen here. People dont just drop their old clubs, they still have a special place but the local team would take over sooner or later. Thats what happened with them & it WOULD happen here.
People keep popping up reasons why it wont/cant happen. Most of their reasons are easily refuted by the facts. The real reason we dont get a look in is still Victorian bias. To them its still the VFL.

"While at 0.99 per cent Tasmania was the slowest growing state in Australia" from ABS

^^^ is the reason why Tasmania isn't close to its own team, as i've said before open up the flood gates to immigrates then the AFL is far more likely to put a team there. This will increase business there and their size, which allows more investment into the new team and of course more support. Tasmania's growth is in a downward trend relatively, and already its not very big.

The real reason we dont get a look in is still Victorian bias. To them its still the VFL.

This makes no sense to me when their are two new interstate teams as we speak. Ive never met a victorian who doesnt want a tasmanian team, or who isnt happy about GC/GWS (apart from the player poaching). What do you mean when all these people keep saying victorian bias. Yes Victorians like victoria, how does that have anything to do with tasmania though? And why didnt victorian bias stop GC/GWS

"While at 0.99 per cent Tasmania was the slowest growing state in Australia" from ABS

^^^ is the reason why Tasmania isn't close to its own team, as i've said before open up the flood gates to immigrates then the AFL is far more likely to put a team there. This will increase business there and their size, which allows more investment into the new team and of course more support. Tasmania's growth is in a downward trend relatively, and already its not very big.

Yes, the above is correct. But it doesnt follow that a Tasmanian team wont attract national/international sponsorship. I say it will & the experts agree. However I also might say that even with a bigger overall growth rate in Melbourne, that Membership & financial position of some clubs is very poor & not improving. Thats the reason some should go back to the VFL & allow the competition to become more national.

This makes no sense to me when their are two new interstate teams as we speak. Ive never met a victorian who doesnt want a tasmanian team, or who isnt happy about GC/GWS (apart from the player poaching). What do you mean when all these people keep saying victorian bias. Yes Victorians like victoria, how does that have anything to do with tasmania though? And why didnt victorian bias stop GC/GWS

When I say 'Victorians' I mean the clubs & the AFL itself who have simply shown that they want to keep the old VFL teams no matter how poorly they have performed off field.
I reckon the silliest thing the AFL did was to bring in WCE & Adelaide then try & let Freo & Port survive coming in later. The AFL should have brought in two from WA & SA together. They have created their own mess trying to look after VFL clubs instead of starting of the AFL properly.
It should have started with something like 6-7 Vics, 2 WA, 2 SA, 1 Tas,1 NSW , 1-2 Qld.1 ACT. ie 14-16 teams then expande wit GWC & WA3rd team later.
I agree with the GC & GWS expansion to grow the game.
But using that as an excuse to limit Tasmania's opportunity is just crap.

It should have started with something like 6-7 Vics, 2 WA, 2 SA, 1 Tas,1 NSW , 1-2 Qld.1 ACT.
But who would you cut from Victoria though. You can't just abolish 5 clubs with 100 year history's in their league.

Never said you should & I wouldnt. I respect footy club history. Plenty of leagues across the country bring in teams from time to time.
Going back to the start of the AFL the clubs not brought into the AFL at the time should have stayed in the VFL. Then some other strong VFA or metropolitan clubs could be added.
That way they would not have destroyed Fitzroy or tried to amalgamate Melbourne & Hawthorn etc.
Anyway thats History. But even now they can still put teams back to the VFL. But they dont, do they. I wonder why not? Woulnt be some kind of bias?:eek:

Do the bigger teams ever play in Tas? The current scenario is the games v non Vic clubs that dont draw a big enough crowd in Melbourne as the Hawks seem to lack the support of their members in such games ?!!?

Their reserved seat members don't turn up in Launceston either and you can never get a seat even a few days after tickets are released. :mad:

A stand-alone team would have to play bigger teams at home sooner or later.

The league shouldn't have being an expanded VFL.

5-6 Victorian teams should have being promoted plus the West Coast, Fremantle, Adelaide, Port Adelaide- a team in Brisbane, Sydney.

Clubs like East Fremantle and Norwood are far greater football clubs than Footscray, North Melbourne, St Kilda etc.

For mine the next team (in 2030) is down to WA, Sth sydney (depending on GWS success) and Tas.

When you look at where the population is going (wa and nsw) hope that doesnt mean Tassy misses out when we expand to 20 teams (if we do).

The AFL is gonna go where the money is, and that means wheres the best place to expand the game, best corporate and sponsers ect. Which doesn't look good for Tassy

Hopefully maybe the AFL takes a new direction with a new CEO in a few years, would feel good to say its our truly national game, and put a solid (albeit small) team in tasmania that get reliable crowds and isnt only focused on expansion and $$