Tasmanian Football Thread

Benny_ said:
Any Glenorchy supporters hear the rumour that star Dodges Ferry Ruckmen Jamie Curran has been offered huge money to sign with Glenorchy to fix there obvious ruck problems. As his brother is their captain i would not be surprised if he signs.
Yeah I have heard the rumour, it's the same one that's been going around for at least 4 years. Dodgers won't let him go, and from what I gather Junior want leave Dodgers. As much as I would love to see both Curran boys play for Glenorchy I would say there was a better chance of both playing for Dodgers.

And while we are at bringing up the same old Glenorchy rumours let me be the first to say, Matty Mansfeild is coming back to coach us:D Benny your mate who told you about Jamie Curran might tell you that one as well. That ones been going around for even longer!!!!

Jasar said:
Yeah I have heard the rumour, it's the same one that's been going around for at least 4 years. Dodgers won't let him go, and from what I gather Junior want leave Dodgers. As much as I would love to see both Curran boys play for Glenorchy I would say there was a better chance of both playing for Dodgers.

And while we are at bringing up the same old Glenorchy rumours let me be the first to say, Matty Mansfeild is coming back to coach us:D Benny your mate who told you about Jamie Curran might tell you that one as well. That ones been going around for even longer!!!!

Just on the Jamie Curran rumour was talking to his best mate and he seriously thinks he will play with Glenorchy next year. Wants to further his career which might involve devils and to do this needs to get to the premier league.

wishiwas said:
kp, that is definately bs. planning has begun for next year down at lauderdale in a big way..
Lauderdale just need to keep developing their youngsters and the rest will look after itself.

Channel Coaching Job

judburyjets said:
A coach has not yet been appointed. It will be decided in the coming weeks.

Coming Days maybe tonight if can get the word from a fella that will know as he will have a lot to do with him if he is going to have the same role at channel than this year

Yappa said:
Anyone heard the rumour Jamie Di enno is leaving Hobart?? Not sure where he is headed? anyone know any info

Apparently some of the issues involve $$ with the Lions
Find this hard to believe as he was very happy at hobart, if he does leave he may play up north as he goes to uni in launceston.

OLD LION said:
Find this hard to believe as he was very happy at hobart, if he does leave he may play up north as he goes to uni in launceston.

He does uni down at Sandy Bay as far as my sources tell me actually. Its a fair way from launnie. Is planning to be with the devils again next season which means he will more then likely stay down here again for uni. The rumours seem to be only that. Laurdedale have spoken to him cause Woodduck used to be an assistant up at Hobart in Di-enno's first year up there. Im told he laughed and all the money in the world couldnt get him down there. Same as last season apparently they threw thousands (literally) at him and that Bec fella.

Benny_ said:
Any Glenorchy supporters hear the rumour that star Dodges Ferry Ruckmen Jamie Curran has been offered huge money to sign with Glenorchy to fix there obvious ruck problems. As his brother is their captain i would not be surprised if he signs.
He is avery good player in the Regional League,but the Premier league has some very good ruckmen . Lets just wait and see.

Yappa said:
]SORELL B&F WAS HELD ON SUNDAY

SENIORS: Trent Standen R/U: AJ Close 3rd: Glendon Bentley

RESERVES: tie Michael Evans & Heath Simms

COLTS: Tristan Pace

Speedy a suprising but very deserving winner

Good to see bloke posting B&F results... See if we can get more of it.. Some clubs may of already had there.. some will be in the next few weeks
Standen and Bentley could still play at any Prem. League team.

Benny_ said:
Just on the Jamie Curran rumour was talking to his best mate and he seriously thinks he will play with Glenorchy next year. Wants to further his career which might involve devils and to do this needs to get to the premier league.
I've heard the rumour to many times, I'm not going to build my hopes up this year. I would love to have him there cause he would solve heaps of problems we have (CHF/RUCK). But like I said I wouldn't believe it, it comes up every year. Glenorchy will more likley get Salter back from New Norfolk this year, rumours going around he's out of contract and looking to come back.

Question for ColDawg, when the Draft Camp and which Tassie boys got invited?

Also Burgo won the Uni B&F

apparenltey on the under 19's front Boom lindisfarne player Jarrod Kleeman is planning a comeback to the black and white of glenorchy next year. With pre-season in his sights it is rumoured that kleeman is keen to have another good year back at his old stomping ground KGV

Have also heard that rumour abou jamie curran joing brad at glenorchy would be fantastic if he did.

also what is the go with New Norfolk under 19's is it true that nearly 70% of there side are to old to play 19's again next year?

Jasar said:
I've heard the rumour to many times, I'm not going to build my hopes up this year. I would love to have him there cause he would solve heaps of problems we have (CHF/RUCK). But like I said I wouldn't believe it, it comes up every year. Glenorchy will more likley get Salter back from New Norfolk this year, rumours going around he's out of contract and looking to come back.

Question for ColDawg, when the Draft Camp and which Tassie boys got invited?

Also Burgo won the Uni B&F

Yeh heard the rumour about salter but believe he is almost certain to be the Brighton coach next year or at least be out at pontville in some capacity. The Draft camp is next week or the following week i believe. Its very soon anyway and players from tassie invited were Col Garland, Hislop, Reiwoldt, Thorp and i think Collier but not 100% sure on him. Injuries to Fielding and Charlesworth could cost them this year.....

mightymagpie1999 said:
also what is the go with New Norfolk under 19's is it true that nearly 70% of there side are to old to play 19's again next year?

Yeah that would be about right, they will struggle because most of their key players are in that group.

Kingpin said:
Good footballer Dale Chugg. Been around a LONG time.
Was in the 1990 Grand Final side for North Launceston that were beaten by Hobart, playing alongside Dunkley, Todman, Jamie Dennis, Groenewegan etc.
Played in their '95 and '98 premierships, I remember he played well in his last game on North Hobart in the 2000 Prelim Final against North Hobart.
I remember standing near the race and the Demons supporters gave him the absolute rounds of the kitchen when he came off :D

Chugg has applied to coach North Launceston next year with Rod Keogh stepping down, he would be a good coach in the NTFL, dunno if he is gonna keep playing though. I think he's 38, still played well in the grand final though.

My sources tell me that Chuggy is the favourite for the North job but is not a shoo in. Ant Taylor from Launceston may well be coaching Scottsdale next year and Winnaleah have offered Miles Baker (the G'Town seconds coach) 12 grand to coach if he brings the Tuthills and a few other senior players with him.

Barge said:
On the topic of the Old Scholars, my sources from out DOSA way report that the Senior Coach is not the most popular person going round.

Former Mariner and Glenorchy utility and now star DOSA forward Brendan Rogers, who has an outstanding record when playing against University, had to overcome a fitness test, which he passed with flying colours from all reports, before he could play against Uni in last week's Prelim.

Senior Coach Darren McConnon had other ideas however, and decided it would be best to rest "Mantis" for the Grand Final. With DOSA going in with form of approx 5 goal loss to Hutchins, 6 goal loss to 2nd last place St Virgils and then a mammoth 131 point loss to Hutchins in the 2nd Semi, this was awfully arrogant and over confident of McConnon and it ultimately proved to be a poor decision with the "Rainbows" getting up in a 6 point thriller.

Rogers was furious with McConnon apparently and so too were many Senior players. The Senior Coach was also unpopular with many Reserves players at DOSA for his apparent "I don't care about the Reserves, I only care about `MY' side" attitude during the latter part of the year!

Given DOSA have lost the last two very winnable Senior Grand Finals, perhaps it is best for them not to have won through, as they'd almost certainly have been slaughtered by a red-hot Hutchins side.

The off-season should be an interesting one for the now Cadburys-based club.

Wilbur35, as resident Old Scholars expert, what are your thoughts on this?

Also interested in Blue Budgie's opinion, given he lists DOSA as one of his clubs.

Anyone else with an opinion on the "Roosters", please feel free to post it on here ...........

MUHAHAHAHAH...MUHAHAHAHA!!!:D

Barge, I think it is hilarious. If true, it is typical of DOSA but I am not sure it would have mattered who played Hutchins, but after the way the Uni blokes carried on after winning the first semi, I'm glad they got pumped too. I am certain Rogers would have played if he passed the fitness test with flying colours.

I don't know how Rocket could be unpopular with anyone, he is a top bloke and at the end of the day, footy is about winning senior premierships is it not?.....reserves is just that - reserves.

Standen and Bentley could still play at any Prem. League team

Trent played 50/50 1's & 2's last year at Clarence. 2's Winning the flag.

He'd walk into the weaker teams who didnt play finals this year in the prem league.

Glendon based on ability could play for the Devils, but his attitude, committment.ect will see him play Regional league.

Devonport coach Ned Perry must be about due to jump off the Devonport bridge with a bag of cement tied to his feet. Really feel for that bloke he is as paationate about his club and his players as anyone i have seen and backs them to the hilt.
He even defended them after they got smashed in a Grand Final again this year.
Maybe they need to get a sports phycologist in there to try and help them with there Grand Final jitters if they make it again

Two Blue, are there any rumours/confirmation of who Burnie are going to appoint as their Coach/general manager. is Plappy still the front runner?

Also has Cam Blight committed to Smithton or is he going South?

Was really suprised that Devonport were so uncompetitive in the final. Thought that this would be their year. Hope they do win one soon, but also have a soft spot for Launnie as Adam Sanders is such a good bloke and professional coach.

The Big H said:
Two Blue, are there any rumours/confirmation of who Burnie are going to appoint as their Coach/general manager. is Plappy still the front runner?

Also has Cam Blight committed to Smithton or is he going South?

Was really suprised that Devonport were so uncompetitive in the final. Thought that this would be their year. Hope they do win one soon, but also have a soft spot for Launnie as Adam Sanders is such a good bloke and professional coach.

The rumour i heard was that the Devils were going to have three different training squads. One on the North-West one in Launy and one in Hobart. and that Plappy with his role with footy Tas would do the coaching side of things with the Devils to for-fill his contract. Bit how right this is i am not sure.

I think he still has one or two years on his contract with the Devils. Penguin are pretty keen to get him back at some stage as well.

I saw Adrian Hickmont with the Burnie President at Devonport watching the Burnie unders in the finals a couple of weeks ago. I have heard they they do have a couch but everyone is tight lipped.

Sando is a good bloke and it was well deserved.

And not sure on Blighty yet. They love him at Smithton and i reckon every Farmer down there will pitch in and throw a small fortune at him.

Interesting to note that Plappy put an application in for the Brighton coaching position nominating a figure higher than the salary cap. Surely it was a bit of piss taking, otherwise what hope is there when AFL Tas employees try to rort the cap.

Glenorchy Football Club

Being an observer over the years of the Glenorchy District FC, watching the club come aheads in leaps and bounds is exciting.

Lets just sit back and look at the depth at the club at the moment.

We will start with Jesse Crouch, been at Glenorchy for a number of years now, progressed from huonville to be a run of the mill senior player, to a now William leitch Medallist. A great acheivement from a good clubmen.

Glenorchy also has some new blood with instant results, Clinton French ( George Watt medal ) ( reserves ) in his first year at the club from up North. At 17 years of age I challenge someone to find a younger winner of the award.

These mix of new, experienced, young and older players have given the club an exciting mix of determination and spark.

The alcohol ban that many would be unaware of or seem to think a load of rubbish would have to show they are a professional club.

Muggsy

Re: Glenorchy Football Club

footy_guru said:
Being an observer over the years of the Glenorchy District FC, watching the club come aheads in leaps and bounds is exciting.

We will start with Jesse Crouch, been at Glenorchy for a number of years now, progressed from huonville to be a run of the mill senior player, to a now William leitch Medallist. A great acheivement from a good clubmen.

Glenorchy also has some new blood with instant results, Clinton French ( George Watt medal ) ( reserves ) in his first year at the club from up North. At 17 years of age I challenge someone to find a younger winner of the award.

These mix of new, experienced, young and older players have given the club an exciting mix of determination and spark.

The alcohol ban that many would be unaware of or seem to think a load of rubbish would have to show they are a professional club.

Muggsy
I just hope they do not loose many of their SENIOR players to the elusive dollar{other clubs throwing buckets of money at the players}

OLD LION said:
Lauderdale just need to keep developing their youngsters and the rest will look after itself.

Could not have said it better myself.. Does anyone know how many players in their senior side this season were actually over 21?

Re: Glenorchy Football Club

footy_guru said:

Muggsy

What about Brodie Moles always there go to man if the take a mark just out side of 50 can kick the ball the young kid. Some one the devils need to look at