News Team for Rnd 6 - Blues v Hawks

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

How about how courageous our MC is, not just settling for easy selections but throwing up left field selections to get under the hawks plannning.

I don't think the inclusion of Bentley will rattle the Hawks' plan.

Hadley or Yarran, maybe.

Still, best of luck to Bentley. May he kick the winning goal.

ok Hadley played 2 bad games for Carlton and now I would imagine must display consistancy and play at least 2 very good games for the Ants.

Honestly Greg wouldn't have been my choice but in his defence I havent seen him play since pre season games so hopefully he has improved. Good luck to him and I hope he has a great game.

There'd be a specific reason why Bentley has been brought in. I'd love to know the reasoning behind his selection.

Either way, goodluck to him. Hopefully he and the rest of the boys can get us another 4 points on Saturday arvo

Considering how good Hadley's start to the year was, he must have said/done somethign to piss Ratten off. Because with a spot available, surely Hadley's start would make up for the 2 poor games he played

There'd be a specific reason why Bentley has been brought in. I'd love to know the reasoning behind his selection.

Either way, goodluck to him. Hopefully he and the rest of the boys can get us another 4 points on Saturday arvo
I actually like the bloke. Looks like a decent humble guy. Check out his guernsey presentation at bigpond video http://bigpondvideo.com/afl/125161 :thumbsu:

Good luck to Bentley, would have definitely preferred Browne in but thats how it goes.

am i the only one really dreading the threads on this forum if we lose. I can picture it now "Match Committee; what were you thinking!"

Well done Bentley. You worked hard and just shows that there is no priority listing. If you do well in the ants consistently the MC will award you for it.

Good work MC!

I think this is your answer:

"I hinted a little bit earlier on how at times we've played the Hawks and we haven't quite been hard enough in a few areas.

"That's probably the box that Greg Bentley ticks."

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/76039/default.aspx

(Keep in mind I haven't read throught the thread)

Quick question. Smart or Stupid. Gibbs to tag/play on Hodge.

We all know how dangerous Hodge can be in their defense, controlling the backline and rebounding out. We also know that Gibbs has had A LOT of success in a tagging role, shutting down an opponent and hurting the opposition the other way. SO how about playing Gibbs off Hodge, make him accountable, provide another forward option and kick a couple of goals.

I reckon you're getting a rough deal Harks, and while I dont' agree with everything you say, you are throwing up a philosophy that is a bit different to most, but essentially not flawed.....fact is there are players that will be in our best 22 down the track, that will in all likelihood pass others, and we won't know until we pump a few games into them.......like AJ, I'm sure he has surprised most......we have a vastly improved list and depth, to the point the MC seem to be playing blokes with specific roles in mind as well....interesting times and some selection headaches which are actualyl a pleasant change :thumbsu:

Had Jacobs not been injured, I would suggest that he would still be playing in the Carlton team, and IMO, is just as "surprising" that he is getting a game, given how far back he seemed to be 12 months ago. I appreciate Warnock being injured has given him his chance, however, it's what you do with that chance that counts. Really hope he can fight his way back when he is over his injury.

Having said that, lets not take anything away from AJ. He has been very good since the NAB Cup, and will no doubt get another big job tomorrow.

You're funny 30yearBLUE :D

My comments aren't really appreciated here for in respect to selections so I'll just back off for now.
I must throw one thing though: Let's not be too precious about things as we are essentially just throwing up our thoughts here.
Nothing you, I or anyone else will have the slightest influence on the MC and in the meantime we are just tossing coins: Sometimes it will be heads and sometime tails.

Harks, if people are just tossing coins to form their oppinions and then hoping the 50/50 thoughts they aired prove correct then they cop what they get.

How about posters thinking through the thought process before posting, now theres a novel idea.

For example, lets look at G Bentleys selection. Comments like, our MC have lost the plot (paraphrasing so dont go looking for the exact quote then bagging me because it isnt there, I am paraphrasing so as not to single out any particular idiot) suggests to me that the poster thinks more of their own opinion or likes seeing his own opininon published more than they like being sensible. If we win and Bentley plays his role as instructed (or even if we lose but Bentley plays his role to instruction, as JR has been doing for over a season now) then the negative posters will look pretty dumb. In my opinion they already look pretty dumb for daring to suggest they can watch a game or 2 and think they with their limited inside knowledge could possibly know more than Ratts, Braddles, Skinny, Diesel, Sticks, Monty, Harvey and the rest of the coaches. There is a combined total of about 2000 plus AFL games there, and the posters have played how many? Its a no brainer.

You make your own reputation on here, so if you want to throw yourself out there as being smarter then the MC, go ahead. But expect the bricks you are going to get when the MC and the team eventually prove you or any other poster that thinks they know better than the MC, wrong.

So by all means have your opinions, post them all you like, but if they are negative, and dont concur with the club, guess who is wrong. Toss a coin if you like.

Its not personal mate, and I dont think you are posting negative things, I understand some of the points you are making but with all due respect mate, the blokes I mentioned earlier are pretty footy smart, I am sure they consider all the options each and every week. (This next sentence isnt aimed particularly at you but at posters in general) If you dont understand their thought process fine, I admit I dont sometimes, but at least have the faith in them that they are on the right track and know a little bit about what they are doing now. Or at the very least more than any poster on here.

Had Jacobs not been injured, I would suggest that he would still be playing in the Carlton team, and IMO, is just as "surprising" that he is getting a game, given how far back he seemed to be 12 months ago. I appreciate Warnock being injured has given him his chance, however, it's what you do with that chance that counts. Really hope he can fight his way back when he is over his injury.

Having said that, lets not take anything away from AJ. He has been very good since the NAB Cup, and will no doubt get another big job tomorrow.

This is one of the reasons we have to have faith and support with anyone on the list. There is no telling who might pop up and cement themselves. The reason players are on the list is someone has seen within them a possibility. Thats all it takes to stay on a list. The possibility that what skills they have might one day propell them onto a stellar career. Kouta played 51 games in the reserves before his debut. I remember the first time I saw Mil Hanna in a preseason night game out at Waverley and I thought someone felt sorry for him and it wasnt because of his alopecia. He looked totally lost as an AFL player. Before long I realised what a knob I had been even thinking it.

And being rejected by a club is still not a guarantee that a player does not have what it takes. I remember a rather tubby looking teen trying out 3 times and being told each time he wasnt fast enough to make it at the highest level. He went on to become a double (some say tripple seeing how he was ripped off in 93) brownlow medalist and premiership player.

Who knows what might happen.

And being rejected by a club is still not a guarantee that a player does not have what it takes. I remember a rather tubby looking teen trying out 3 times and being told each time he wasnt fast enough to make it at the highest level. He went on to become a double (some say tripple seeing how he was ripped off in 93) brownlow medalist and premiership player.

Dead right.

A very recent player had one game at Port and ended up a premiership captain.

Oh there is so much I could do with this.....

I hope he plays a great down role or its back to the magoos.....
I hope he washes his hands after he does that......

I agree with your post and am just trying to add some levity before this next sentence.

Some of the posters here are lucky I dont make the rules or they would be dropped for at least 2 weeks. Of all weeks to be criticising Ratts, Sticks and the MC. As if given the gravity of the week, they would not have given this the utmost consideration. Shame on some of you.

Good Luck Greg Bentley, welcome to the Mightly Blues.

I seem to recall you having quite a dig at bentleys skills and ability 30 year...

you are a 180 king!

I seem to recall you having quite a dig at bentleys skills and ability 30 year...

you are a 180 king!

Well I have a little challenge for you there mate. You find my post where I have a dig at Bentleys skills, ability or anything else, in fact other than a dig at Fev attitude and off field antics you find me any post where I have been in any way critical of any Blues player and I will back you in any argument you are in for a month. But if you dont find one, just one, then you cant post a negative comment about any aspect of the Blues for a week.

Go get it big fella. I dont expect I will see you round these parts for a while. Seems you have posted without thinking again.

Oh and once you are finished looking I would like an apology. If you're man enough to admit your wrong.

Brett Kirk board