Darkhour

Aussies in the NBA!
Just thought I'd generate some thoughts on what our general lineup will be in 2007..

Forward
I would like to see personally Kosi and GTrain play up forward with Milney crumbing front a centre.. leaving alot of room for play.. Adding Harvey to play more forward of the ball and Hamill back in gear..

Midfield
Love to see a whole preseason (and season) of Riewoldt playing on the wing and pretty much roaming wherever he wants to.. I'm sure that Lenny will be back and chomping at the bit. Hopefully Xman can slot in and be injury free and have a good preseason. Ball and Dal Santo are obvious. I'm sure everyone would love to see Gardiner recapture some of his form and turn around his life.

Well with Maxie, The Fishermen, 21 Grams and Goddard (although I'd like to see Goddard play further up the field, I don't know if he can), it all looks pretty good apart from Goose who I would rather leave out from the 1st half of the year.

You would have to include Baker tagging somewhere, I would like P0rnstar to get some games, Voss and Ackland, Monty would surely be included and Thommo and Birss would have to be close to having a crack too..

Vaul Darkhour said:
Birss would have to be close to having a crack too..

Birss is a midfielder and has pushed forward to kick goals previously. Not sure how much of a defender he is.

Anthony_ said:
Birss is a midfielder and has pushed forward to kick goals previously. Not sure how much of a defender he is.

Sorry the gap in my above post was meant to define a separate section for unplaced individuals as opposed to an extension of the backs.. thanks for the comment anyway.

Vaul Darkhour said:
Sorry the gap in my above post was meant to define a separate section for unplaced individuals as opposed to an extension of the backs.. thanks for the comment anyway.

No worries always liked Birss, a hard nut and always gives 100% hope he does well for you guys!

B: L.Fisher, Hudgton, S.Fisher

HB: Goddard, McGuire, Gram

C: Baker, Ball, X.Clarke

HF: Harvey, Riewoldt, Hamill

F: Kosi, Gehrig, Montagna

Foll: (One of Gardener, Brooks, whoever stands up to swap with Kosi), Hayes, DalSanto

I/C from: Milne, Voss, R.Clarke, Watts, McQualter, Voss, Birss, Fiora

other: Ferguson, Blake, Schwarz, Raymond, Gwilt, Ackland,

Wild Cards, Sweeney, Draft Pick 9

May think of having Kosi as a big bodied backman to get him back into swing of things, especially while McGuire is recovering and getting fit, otherwise we will be a bit light on down there. Could be the go, especially if Watts is going well and hold down a forward berth.

Don't want to see Ackland or Blake in ruck all year due to their lack of physical size.

falkstar said:
B: L.Fisher, Hudgton, S.Fisher

HB: Goddard, McGuire, Gram

C: Baker, Ball, X.Clarke

F: Kosi, Gehrig, Montagna

Foll: (One of Gardener, Brooks, whoever stands up to swap with Kosi), Hayes, DalSanto

I/C from: Milne, Voss, R.Clarke, Watts, McQualter, Voss, Birss, Fiora

other: Ferguson, Blake, Schwarz, Raymond, Gwilt, Ackland,

Wild Cards, Sweeney, Draft Pick 9

May think of having Kosi as a big bodied backman to get him back into swing of things, especially while McGuire is recovering and getting fit, otherwise we will be a bit light on down there. Could be the go, especially if Watts is going well and hold down a forward berth.

Don't want to see Ackland or Blake in ruck all year due to their lack of physical size.

...Good post.

I have some doubts that Maguire will be ready Round 1. Kossie at half back is a great idea. Definately see that working.

Agreed with Ackland and Blake. Ackland hasnt the mindset for AFL and Blake just lacks pure footballing ability.

SpInNeR said:
...Good post.

I have some doubts that Maguire will be ready Round 1. Kossie at half back is a great idea. Definately see that working.

Agreed with Ackland and Blake. Ackland hasnt the mindset for AFL and Blake just lacks pure footballing ability.

I don't see the problem with Ackland.. I really see him playing well given the proper chance and strength and fitness conditioning.. He's a 200+ hitout ruckman 204(19) in 2006 / 289(22) in 2005. If anything he's the perfect backup to Gardiner as long he's firing aswell..

Personally I'd like to see Kosi in the forward line out of harms way rather than blindsided in the ruck... :rolleyes: Though if worse comes to worse...

Vaul Darkhour said:
I don't see the problem with Ackland.. I really see him playing well given the proper chance and strength and fitness conditioning.. He's a 200+ hitout ruckman 204(19) in 2006 / 289(22) in 2005. If anything he's the perfect backup to Gardiner as long he's firing aswell..

Personally I'd like to see Kosi in the forward line out of harms way rather than blindsided in the ruck... :rolleyes: Though if worse comes to worse...

How hard is it to time ones jump in the ruck....it makes you ask what he does during the week to prepare....And what the past coaching staff were telling him.

Ill give the line up a go:

FB: S.Fisher Hudghton Voss

HB: Gram Maguire X.Clarke

C: Harvey Hayes Dal Santo

HF: Hamill Reiwoldt Goodard

FF: Montagna Gehrig Koschitzke

R: Gardnier Ball Baker

INT: McQualter Fiora L.Fisher R.Clarke

....Hopefully pump a few games into Brooks, Ferguson, Watts and see how Briss goes.

Gee it looks good placing Gardnier in ruck....his social life is noted....but it still feels good.

Notable omissions: Milne...

Team looks alot freasher with the likes of Powell and Peckett gones from the bench.

With Maguire out possibly for the first 8 or so weeks, the obvious candidate for the CHB role are Kosi, Blake, Rix, but I wouldn't surprised if Riewoldt slots in there out of left field.

Would rather see kosi go injury free and string a few games together from the forward pocket than be amongst the big collisions at CHB, plus reiwoldt has done it before or at least drop back a lot more from the wing.

SpInNeR said:
How hard is it to time ones jump in the ruck....it makes you ask what he does during the week to prepare....And what the past coaching staff were telling him.

Very difficult. Timing a jump in the ruck is a very technical skill. Look at how Jeff White does it. He gets in early and gets his legs up to get a boost. Obviously once he does that the opposition ruckman try to come in from the side, or jump early themselves or even late. And that is not even considering at what point you intercept the ball on its flight...

It is not a defined science and the variables are many and subtle.

I would love to see Kosi put in cotton wool initially, like many others, but I doubt the bloke would have it and it can not be of great value to the team either. But please do not underestimate the skill involved in continually winning the ruck, it is not just crashing bodies.

B: S.Fisher, Hudghton, L.Fisher
HB: Voss, Maguire/Koschitzke, Gram
C: X.Clarke, Baker, Hayes
F: Milne, Gehrig, Watts
Foll: Gardiner, Ball, Dal Santo
I/C: Rix, Montagna, Goddard, Birss
Em: Ackland, Gwilt, Thompson

Defense
With Maguire likely to be out for the 1st half of the year, I would have Koschitzke back at CHB with him, Gardiner and Rix sharing the ruck duties. I am expecting Sam Fisher to continue with his fine form, Leigh Fisher to continue to develop, Voss to do his usual job at HB and maybe at times can push forward, while Gram to continue his run and rebound from the back half.

Midfield
A fit and firing Xavier Clarke will help them enormously, Baker to continue his fine tagging roles, Hayes to bounce back from his knee reco, Ball to continue his fine courage and guts and play with desperation again and Dal Santo to have another stellar year - hopefully back to his AA year. Also to see Montagna use his speed and poise to advantage in the midfield, Goddard to back up his very good 2006 season and newcomer Birss to add much needed depth into the midfield group.

Forwardline
I think it's time to finish Harvey's career up forward on a flank which will and should stop him from his hamstring injuries he has suffered so much of. His ball-use, goalsense and footy smarts will benefit the Saints, especially the other 5 forwards. Also to see Riewoldt continue and better his 2006 year, also to see alot more of former skipper Hamill (fingers-crossed he will play every game, that will make a huge difference to their finals chances), also to have Milne have a mire consistent and better year than in 06, Gehrig to fire up again and also Watts to have an injury-free year and see what he's got. Hopefully they give him a real crack.

Rucks
Former Eagle Gardiner is looking to turn his career around and hopefully 07 is his year. He will be a huge asset if he succeeds. Koschitzke and Rix as backup will also help him with young Rix still learning the ruck trade at AFL level.

we wont be seeing matt ferguson in the lineup

For round 1

HB: Gram, Koschitzke, X.Clarke
C: Baker, Goddard, Montagna
HF: Harvey, Riewoldt, Hayes
F: Milne, Gehrig, Hamill

Int: Birss, Brooks, R.Clarke, McQualter

Emg: Ackland, Thompson, Voss

Defence
Max to take the quickest TF and Kosi to take the strongest/tallest. Sammy Fisher providing drive out of defence against the next tallest forward while still being accountable. One of Gram or X to take the quickest small forward and the other to concerntrate purely on rebounding out of defence. L.Fisher to take whoever is left over.

Midfield
Throw Goddard into the middle to see what he can do and tell him to play a Kouta-like role. Ball, Dal Santo and Goddard the inside midfielders handing it off the Montagna, Gram or X. Get Lenny and Harvs around for stoppages around the ground. Bakes to tag the opposition's best and McQualter/Birss on the bench for support.

Ruck
Gardiner to start each quarter in the ruck, then coming off at the 15-20 minutes mark of each quarter handing it over to Brooksy. Kos to take alot of the ruckwork in defence and should also be thrown into the ruck if we're struggling.

Forward
Play Gehrig about 30-40m from goal leaving Hamill in the goal-square with Milney next to him. Roo to lead up to the wings/HB. So ideally, you'd want Gram to kick it to Rooey on the wing, Fraser to lead up to 50-60m out to get the pass, and then kick it to Hamill in a one-on-one with Milney ready to pounce if the ball hits the ground. Harvs and Hayes to run up the ground to help the midfield, but also to create another forward option if the opposition are flooding.

Backup
TB: Rix, Schwarze, Gilbert
SB: Voss, R.Clarke, Fiora, Gwilt
OB: Thompson, Hayes, Harvey, Birss, McQualter, Schwarze
R: Ackland, Rix, Koschitzke...Blake
SF: Sweeney, Gwilt, X.Clarke, R.Clarke, Raymond
TF: Watts, Schwarze, Brooks, Ackland

Team round 12+
HB: Gram, Maguire, X.Clarke
C: Baker, Hayes, Montagna
HF: Harvey, Riewoldt, Goddard
F: Gehrig, Koschitzke, Milne

Int: Birss, Brooks, R.Clarke, McQualter

Emg: Ackland, Thompson, Voss/Schwarze
(Hamill injured)

B S Fisher Hudghton L Fisher
HB Gram Maguire Goddard
C Hayes Harvey X Clarke
HF Hamill Riewoldt Montagna
F Koschitzke Gehrig Milne
Foll Gardiner Ball Dal Santo
Int Voss Brooks Baker Schwarze
Em R Clarke Thompson Birss

If Maguire is not playing, stick Kosi at CHB and play either Watts or Brooks as the other tall forward.

EDIT - Brooks in for the next Carlton Ruckman, Cain Ackland

Okay.. well now with the revelation that Cain and Abel has left the building, I'll stop sticking up for him..

Throw Rix in the team instead and let him backup or possibly play down back as well.. Kosi a backup if needed ruck or back..

B: Baker Hudghton S. Fisher

HB: L. Fisher Maguire Gram

C: Goddard Ball Montagna

HF: Hamill Riewoldt Harvey

F: Watts Gehrig Koschitzke

R: Gardiner Hayes Dal Santo

IC: X Clarke Voss Brooks Milne

the G train #9 said:

HB: L. Fisher Maguire Gram

C: Goddard Ball Montagna

HF: Hamill Riewoldt Harvey

F: Watts Gehrig Koschitzke

IC: X Clarke Voss Brooks Milne

I like that: Maybe swap a small for a big in the forward line. (X for Watts) - seems a bit top heavy to start off with.

2007 team in "Attack" Form.

HB: Gram Maguire Fiora

C: Goddard Ball Riewoldt

HF: Hamill Koschitzke Harvey

F: Milne Gehrig X Clarke

IC: L Fisher Montagna Brooks Birss

2007 team in "Defense/Resting" mode. Obviously not the same 22.

B: L Fisher Hudghton R. Clarke

HB: Gram Maguire S. Fisher

C: Goddard Birss Montagna

HF: Hamill Koschitzke Harvey

F: Milne Riewoldt X Clarke

R: Brooks Baker Goddard

IC: Fiora Gehrig Gardiner Voss

No Maguire for the first 8 or so weeks, so I'd like to see Kosi at CHB.

B Baker Hudghton S Fisher

HB Goddard Kosi Gram

C Hayes Dal Santo X. Clarke

HF Watts Riewoldt Montagna

F Milne Gehrig Hamill

R Gardiner Harvey Ball

INT Brooks Voss L Fisher Birss

I would like to know why people have excluded Rix from the lineups and included Brooks.. Off of 1 game?

Rix started the season in fine form in Hitout stats.. dropped off in the latter half but played defensively.. potential to serve 2 purposes perhaps with goose out early season..

Vaul Darkhour said:
I would like to know why people have excluded Rix from the lineups and included Brooks.. Off of 1 game?

Rix started the season in fine form in Hitout stats.. dropped off in the latter half but played defensively.. potential to serve 2 purposes perhaps with goose out early season..

Because on the one occasion we got to see Brooks play he was actually good. He had an impact and made the opposition worry, rather than just doing a serviceable job. The ruck has always been a position we've just tried to break even in, so if someone isn't flogged they're labelled a hero, but if we want to win flags we'll need players with actual talent like Brooks and Gardiner.

mad-saint-guy said:
Because on the one occasion we got to see Brooks play he was actually good. He had an impact and made the opposition worry, rather than just doing a serviceable job. The ruck has always been a position we've just tried to break even in, so if someone isn't flogged they're labelled a hero, but if we want to win flags we'll need players with actual talent like Brooks and Gardiner.

How can you say Rix doesn't have actual talent but Brooks does? :confused:

Brooks has proven that he can take a mark and kick a goal in the VFL and against very poor AFL opposition in his one senior game last season but whether he has the talent and ability to play as a ruckman at senior level is very much debatable.

Rix on the other hand has dominated at VFL level as a ruckman and I thought he acquitted himself quite well in the few opportunities that he was given in the ruck last season.

I'm with Vaul on this one.

By the way keep posting the teams everyone. It's a good thread.

mad-saint-guy said:

As Sainter said. Brooks.. Port Adelaide game.. need I say more? I would love and hope that Brooks steps up this year and dominates but after his knee(?) injury in tassie(?) in the VFL, he went downhill. Can play forward in the VFL but needs something extra.. confidence, aggression and 110% work ethic. The match against the Lions was the first step... Rix seems to need another preseason and fitness under his belt and we'll see..

Fingers crossed that we'll have an All Star Ruck lineup next year...