Team V Collingwood

The gloating from fools like The Panther is ridiculous, but some Crows fans on here are sounding just as bad. Gloat when you win. Not before you win.

Assume you are referring to me...It's called being confident in our teams ability based on our form and a prediction of how much I think we will win by...how is this gloating?

Nah your right...How many premierships has this great club of yours won...lets say.... in the last 50 years.....lets see.....1

I'm' envious of this outstanding achievement.

great post

The Collingwood FC are the self proclaimed most successful club in Australia however this is not supported by the leading indicator that counts - Premierships

I get more and more fired up every time i read a Crows V Pies thread.

Why don't all the Collingwood knobs stop coming onto our board and force feed your opinions down our throat? We know what you think of us, and i hope your coaching panel thinks the same

Same goes for Crows fans, don't go sprouting crap on their board, let them discuss their team.

Save it for the Bay, where we can drink in joyous victory (hopefully) as every other club joins us taunting the CFC until our throats can taunt no more!

Lets hope this man plays better than last time:

[URL=http://img14.imageshack.us/i/eevvvaarnn.jpg/][/URL]

And towels wood up. Give our midfielders 1st use and we win.

And also for those bagging Shirley....this is what Ablett thinks

The Crows haven't beaten a side in the Top 4 for the entire year & of the remaining 6 sides left in the finals, the last time the Crows defeated one of those sides was in RD 1. Not a lot has changed, not enough to suggest an easy 6 goal win. If Collingwood was in the same situation of the Crows, I wouldn't be using victories over mediocre sides to justify a 6 goal win over a Top 4 side.

Again, overrate yourself at peril. It can only end in tears.

and Collingwood have only beaten the bulldogs by 1 point earlier in the season and then lost to the Bullies in the return game 2 weeks ago by 25 points and lost every other game against the top four.

So I dont really think your theory holds much weight nor proves that Collingwood are a far better team.

I personally think that Collingwood are slight favourites, but it should be close.

Great to see Shirls back in. I see Gary Ablett Jnr named Rob as his toughest opponent on the footy show last night.... Judd paid him the same dues earlier in the year in an interview with Mike Sheehan.

So two of the greatest players in the modern era rate Shirls as their toughest opponent --- I'll take their opinions over some of the nuffies that want Rob out of the Adelaide side permanently!

:):thumbsu:

Don't mind Shirley coming in, gives us another option if/when of their midfielders gets on top.

And a thought on Bock, some saying that because he isn't playing SANFL that he won't play again this year - I disagree.

The club could be taking the view that if we win and play Geelong next Saturday afternoon it would mean a 6 day break for any players who play in the SANFL finals.

So yeah, Bock plays on Sunday (SANFL) gets through the game but he only has 6 days to get up for Geelong.

I feel for Douglas as he did have a good game lastweek.

HOWEVER, he had a good game against POOR opposition.

It's not realistic to expect him to back up with a similar performance against the much harder and better quality opposition that Collingwood will present this week.

I'm not saying it is impossible but given his tendency to go to ground or turn the ball over under pressure, I definitely prefer to have a harder bodied and more experienced player on the ground, even if Shirley is a run with player.

I don't expect a high scoring outcome for either team, completely different game to our last two weeks I reckon.

Lookin forward to the game, hope everyone enjoys it....... Don't think I will be able to sleep tonight......

We'll basically use 3 taggers for the day as you've suggested above - Shirley, Doughty and Symes as a relief.

The 4 Pies players that can cut a side to pieces are Didak, Swann, Davis and O'Bree, with the 2 most hurtful being Didak and Davis.

I think our 3 boys will concentrate on cutting out these 2, and if successful, will set us up to win the game.

Very bad luck for Douglas who's been in good form, but it's horses for courses, and this week Shirley is the man who can do what's wanted not Dougie.

Totally correct decision re Bock.
Pretty much totally agree with this assesment but I still worry about Scott Stevens on Cloke. Just don't think he has core strength to go with a severely underated player and pretty sure Truck couldn't run with him. Just hope we don't look back saying that this was the match up that cost us a huge game. Having said that I think we are a great chance and regardless I can't wait to see us play, we have such a fantastically balanced and well coached team now that every game is one for the the highlight reel.

If Swan goes to the HBT and Shirls is tagging him, he must NOT go with him.

Shirley to tag whichever midfielder is the most dangerous.

Dogga to tag a dangerous forward or back.

I agree with you there. Surely the club with an over inflated opinion of itself contiunally fails against the Crows in the games that matter the most, Finals..

Mate I hope you have got yourself a new identity organised for Sunday morning. If, shock, horror, the impossible happens and Adelaide win you are going to look like the biggest Pill in town. There will be no coming back from here given some of the utter crap you have been going on with for the last week. Please make sure you spend as much time on our board next week, win lose or draw.

Great to see Shirls back in. I see Gary Ablett Jnr named Rob as his toughest opponent on the footy show last night.... Judd paid him the same dues earlier in the year in an interview with Mike Sheehan.

So two of the greatest players in the modern era rate Shirls as their toughest opponent --- I'll take their opinions over some of the nuffies that want Rob out of the Adelaide side permanently!
Nuffies like Neil Craig and the match committee you mean, who had Shirls wallowing in the SANFL for much of the year? :p

Well done to Shirley though. Won his spot back, played well enough to keep it and will be a key to the game this week.

The Crows haven't beaten a side in the Top 4 for the entire year & of the remaining 6 sides left in the finals, the last time the Crows defeated one of those sides was in RD 1. Not a lot has changed, not enough to suggest an easy 6 goal win. If Collingwood was in the same situation of the Crows, I wouldn't be using victories over mediocre sides to justify a 6 goal win over a Top 4 side.

Again, overrate yourself at peril. It can only end in tears.

Its funny how this keeps getting mentioned...

Yes, adelaide lost to the top 4 this year. They only beat collingwood in round 1...

Adelaides losses:
Stkilda 69 - 101
Geelong 86 - 134
Port 79 - 105
WB 86 - 118
Brisbane 83 - 119
StKilda 45 - 105
Geelong 91 - 93
Collingwood 68 - 89

Since round 8, Adelaide have only lost to Stkilda, Geelong, and Collingwood. Only in the Stkilda game can we say we were convinsingly beaten.

Had more scoring shots vs Geelong and despite a 15 - 25 free kick count, still only lkost by 2 points. Should have won. A missed shot at goal away from all this talk of not beating a top side since round 1 stuff being non-existant...

Also had more scoring shots vs Collingwood (including OOF). Adelaide played poorly in this game too, just didnt look right. Interestingly Adelaide won the hitouts, but Wood smashed Maric / Seller around the ground.

Collingwoods Losses:
Adelaide 86 - 90
Geelong 95 - 122
Essendon 88 - 93
StKilda 40 - 123
Carlton 53 - 104
Hawthorn 76 - 121
WB 76 - 100
StKilda 52 - 80

Collingwood have, like adelaide, lost to Stkilda, WB, and Geelong.

The Pies limped over the line vs WB in round 15 despite losing possession counts. Accurate kicking won that game. WB also lost despite a 62 - 47 inside 50 count in WB favour.

So verses the top 5 teams this year Adelaide beat collingwood by 4 points, Collingwood beat adelaide by 21 points, and WB by 1 point...

So in terms of games won, collingwood has won 1 more game than Adelaide vs top teams this year, and that being my a measly 1 point in a game collingwood lost on everything but the scoreboard. That drum is getting old mate....

Do you guys think Douglas was unlucky?

I rate the guy, surprised he couldn't make the team :confused:

He's a decent player but i'm not convinced he is in our best 22. Given where he was taken in the draft he probably hasn't met expectations but he is only 22 y.o and still has time to work on the areas of his game that are lacking. In the mean time i'll happily have him running around in the Bays for any weeks he doesn't play with the Crows.

As for this week, with Van Berlo out we needed another defensive player to help shut down the likes of Swan/Didak/Davis etc. Douglas doesn't offer that, Shirley does.

Douglas unlucky? yes, i do rate douglas and beleive we have yet to see him at his best, not even close, i think he needs do to alot of work and then we will see what the coaches can see in him, can be an awesome player imho, can be elite easily, he has all the attributes for it, but just hasnt done it.

Am I the only one around here that think that Shirley is the right move? douglas and shirley are 2 different players, you cannot compare them, they play different roles and neither can replace the other. This is a move to promote the game plan that Craig wants to play on the weekend, its not about the best current player(even though that would be hard to pick).

You're not the only one who thinks it was the right move.

Last week we got by with only one tagger, because the bombers have only one player worth tagging - Jobe Watson. Shut him down and they lose all ability to win the ball in the clearances.

Collingwood have multiple players who are deserving of a tag - primarily Didak, Swan & Pendles. Fortunately for us, Pendles will be MIA with a broken leg. That leaves two players whose influence we need to eliminate or severely curtail.

We have 3 "run with" players to choose from - VB, Shirley & Doughty. Symes is a good defender, but not a shutdown style tagger. Neither is VB when it really boils down to it. Given that VB was unavailable, Shirley had to come in. It's not like his selection couldn't have been justified anyway - noting that he's played 9 of the last 12 games, missing 3 as a result of injury.

Douglas is unlucky to be omitted, but it was the obvious and entirely predictable choice for the selectors to make.

Mate I hope you have got yourself a new identity organised for Sunday morning.

Show me where I said Collingwood had an easy victory coming up. All I did is respond to someone's claim that it was an easy 6 goal victory to Adelaide.

Obviously given the lack of comprehension here, I'm not debating with anyone that went to Rostervor College or PAC.

Fortunately, i dont know what a "nuffy" is and i dont look into any mirrors :D

.... but you should not believe everything you hear :D - people speak with forked tongues

anyway, what's wrong with having a highly subjective opinion based on my own likes and prejudices..... High Court judges do that all the time when handing out decisions on constitutional and other matters :D

Obviously given the lack of comprehension here, I'm not debating with anyone that went to Rostervor College or PAC.

Hahahahah. You have no idea how funny that is. You are quite right, I dont have a Rostrevor College or PAC education. Trust me you dont want to get into a debate with me about our relative levels of education. :rolleyes:

That was such a dumb thing to say when you have no idea who you are talking to. I seriously cant stop laughing.

Want to qualify this with the rest of what Gary Ablett Jn said?

Like how he also added Aaron Joseph to that list and considering this is his first year in the AFL and played against Gary Ablett Jn a maximum of twice – maybe he just doesn’t rate tagger that highly.

Also considering Gary Ablett Jn got 42 touches on Shirley in round 4 gives more credence to the fact he just doesn’t rate taggers.

Didn’t he also say that Shirley and Joseph were good stoppers but someone like Kane Cornes was a better player as he also had the ability to go and win his own ball?

Want to qualify this with the rest of what Gary Ablett Jn said?

Like how he also added Aaron Joseph to that list and considering this is his first year in the AFL and played against Gary Ablett Jn a maximum of twice – maybe he just doesn’t rate tagger that highly.

Also considering Gary Ablett Jn got 42 touches on Shirley in round 4 gives more credence to the fact he just doesn’t rate taggers.

Didn’t he also say that Shirley and Joseph were good stoppers but someone like Kane Cornes was a better player as he also had the ability to go and win his own ball?

Did he mention that they let Kornes get his own ball, as he turns it over half the time anyway :rolleyes:

Shirls did quite well in our return match at Skilled later in the year too. Ablett was barely sighted

Of course Ablett doesn't rate taggers, he's far too good, but he can be beaten on occassion. Maybe Joseph and Shirls did the best 2 jobs on him this year?

Judd also made mention that Shirls is tough to beat. The 2 bestr midfielders opinions>>>>> everyone elses

Team V Collingwood