Manchester City, Claremont FC
B: Walker, Parker, Johnson
HB: Carr, Gilmore, Mundy
C: Black, Hasleby, McManus
HF: Headland, Pavlich, Bell
F: Longmuir, McPharlin, Farmer
R: Sandilands, Carr, Schammer
I: Cook, Crowley, Dodd, Drum, Medhurst, Murphy, Peake

Bit of a surprise (to say the least!) to see mcManus in starting 18, although i can't see it happening...al,so can't see Gilmore lining up at CHB, nor Schammer on ball....from the bench, I'd like to see Medhurst, Peake, Murphy, Crowley.

SURELY...Crowley must start...SURELY...Medhurst must start...SURELY..Peake must play

SURELY

Plugga said:
Bit of a surprise (to say the least!) to see mcManus in starting 18, although i can't see it happening...al,so can't see Gilmore lining up at CHB, nor Schammer on ball....from the bench, I'd like to see Medhurst, Peake, Murphy, Crowley.

SURELY...Crowley must start...SURELY...Medhurst must start...SURELY..Peake must play SURELY
I can talk myself up be saying I predicted Walker would get Williams -- which means Schammer going midfield.

I'm quite happy to see MacManus over Peake. MacManus plays well away --when he's playing in front of a friendlier crowd. Macca has a hardness Peake doesn't have. And my last 2c worth is that Macca is a wingman. He's not a HFF where Connolly tried to play him last season. He could go fine on a wing.

Doesn't Gilmore play CHB in the WAFL? He's got the size for it and he's probably in front of Murphy at this point.

Back half doesn't look quite so inexperienced now does it.

Hard to see who would drop out but reckon it will be Murphy, Drum and Peake. I don't think they will drop Macca when he's named in the starting 18.

Looking at this team you really get its not a team of kids anymore. Even without Schofield :D

It's good to keep em guessing I guess. I'm a big Cook fan but the Hawks are a young side with a lot of run, so guys like Crowley, Peake etc are a must I would have thought. From memory I think the tassie ground is as wide as Subiaco so you would expect a strong running side, which would be why we might see Gilmore down back. I'd pick Drum in the side for this reason also, he could be handy down back or forward. Murphy, Cook and Dodd to be omitted would be my guess for this week.

Does anyone else think its a bad idea to take McManus back to the ground where he was very heavily involved in our 1 point loss to Saints last year (and probably feels very responsible)? I know its not really fair to blame the guy involved in the dying seconds, but he really did balls it up with that left foot kick in the last few minutes. Personally I'd prefer he stayed in Perth.

As much as I think he's been a great servant of the club, I think we're moving into a new phase, and sadly for Macca he's not going to be a part of it.

I seem to recall it was Matty Carr who took the ball over the boundary line and it was deemed intentional, the Saints got a kick at goal through Hamill because of it and that cost us the game. I can't remember what Macca did there? Have I forgotten something?

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
I'm quite happy to see MacManus over Peake. MacManus plays well away --when he's playing in front of a friendlier crowd. Macca has a hardness Peake doesn't have. And my last 2c worth is that Macca is a wingman. He's not a HFF where Connolly tried to play him last season. He could go fine on a wing.

:D

How anyone can say that Macca should be ahead of Peake is beyond me..surely we should be moving forward in our club. not backwards...I'm not saying Macca shouldn't be there Round 1, just saying that IMO Peake should be playing every game.

fat wombat said:
I seem to recall it was Matty Carr who took the ball over the boundary line and it was deemed intentional, the Saints got a kick at goal through Hamill because of it and that cost us the game. I can't remember what Macca did there? Have I forgotten something?

No you are correct. Now people are going to want to drop Matty Carr. Or we could just pretend it was MacManus.

I support the club choosing the players who are performing best, and for which they see the best matchups, conditions and opportunities. In our team there are a few walk up starts, but the opportunity with depth is that you can demand that players earn selection.

eg Great to see Gilmore in instead of Polak. MacManus had a better pre-season than Peake, although would love to see Peake in the team.

McManus go alright on the wing? are you joking? His opponent (one of Bateman, Hodge, Crawford, Vandenburg) would run him around and have an absolute field day. McManus is one of our most unaccountable players.

We don't need 'hard nosed' players against an inexperienced Hawks side.... we need pace on a big York Park. If McManus plays over Peake, I won't be happy.

theGav56 said:
I support the club choosing the players who are performing best, and for which they see the best matchups, conditions and opportunities. In our team there are a few walk up starts, but the opportunity with depth is that you can demand that players earn selection.

eg Great to see Gilmore in instead of Polak. MacManus had a better pre-season than Peake, although would love to see Peake in the team.

I'll go along with this thinking, you perform in the pre season, you will be rewarded.

Remember the 22 is rotated every minute, so naming a player on the bench or field makes little difference. Peake and McManus will be in the 22, where they line up is of little significance, as long as they play well.

I thought we had used up all our knives on the Schofield doll, ummm it appears we still have some knives left.

a young running side id say drop macmanus keep drum also good for long kicks ie gilmore its a wide ground but short in length so 2 Gilmore kicks and youre in the forward line. i would play pavlichy near to goal and elvis at half forward with medhurst

Vintage said:
Does anyone else think its a bad idea to take McManus back to the ground where he was very heavily involved in our 1 point loss to Saints last year (and probably feels very responsible)? I know its not really fair to blame the guy involved in the dying seconds, but he really did balls it up with that left foot kick in the last few minutes. Personally I'd prefer he stayed in Perth.
Vintage highlights to a tee what I keep saying about certain players get hammered by supporters, and others get a free ride. Both Hasleby and Bell made crucial skill errors in the final ten minutes of that Saints game. Carr got caught holding the ball, and was it Medhurst who delivered to Pavlich when Dessie was 30m out, dead in front on his own?

So you're dead right. It's really unfair to blame the guy.

I hear what you're all saying about Peake but to this point he's been a bit player whose had some flashy moments in a team that's been travelling well. He's not shown he's any more accountable than MacManus, and he's certainly can't tackle like MacManus. Peake hasn't been on the stage for 150+ plus games in teams that were carp to have his performance shredded by all of us.

If you want Connolly to play in-form players you have to be willing to accept that you might not get who you think should be in the team.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
If you want Connolly to play in-form players you have to be willing to accept that you might not get who you think should be in the team.
Could not agree more with Doc, it is a very clear message to all the players that if you do not perform there is someone ready to take your place. MacManus was BOG against Port and should get a run, Polly has not had a good preseason and will need to earn his spot. We will just have to live with the fact that some of OUR favourite players may not get a run every week. ;)

im just hopping he has improved his disposals, were they cleaner in these games i didnt see either

Lach72 said:
I thought Macca was good against Collingwood

I saw a few posters on here state they thought he played well. I was in the cheap seats up the other end of the ground and from where I was sitting, he played an absolute shocker. Kicking into the forward 50 his kicks were so random, it was hard for players and fans alike to tell where he intended on kicking too. On 2 occasions his kicks were a good 10-20 metres off the player on the lead. He kicked a goal or 2 straight, I'll give him credit for that but that's all I'll grant the guy.

PS. I'm still annoyed at him over a road rage incident a few years back coming through Subiaco! The guy plays footy like he drives. :D

I've heard that Cook and Peake were left behind.

Would have liked to see Peake play but his impact hasn't been great in the preseason. Without a doubt he'll play more games for us this year. But we are kidding ourselves if we think he's not on the fringe.

I like the look of the team. A good hard running team. Wonder who'll be the third to be dropped.

I'm flabergasted that Peake has been left behind - terrible decision...his pre season has been very solid & his pace will be sorely missed on the large oval ground.

I'd it will come down to either Dodd or Drum in the side....my preference is for Drummy to be given a go...but either ither will do a good job.

Hopefully Crowley starts the game...he could be a very very good midfielder if he got more game time

rgauci said:
I've heard that Cook and Peake were left behind.

Would have liked to see Peake play but his impact hasn't been great in the preseason. Without a doubt he'll play more games for us this year. But we are kidding ourselves if we think he's not on the fringe.

I like the look of the team. A good hard running team. Wonder who'll be the third to be dropped.
Bugger...Peake's in my Dreamteam :(

On the AFL site its got Drum as the emergency.

So out of the squad named is Peake, Drum and Cook.

No biggie losing Peake. He hasn't been superinfluential in the games over the preseason. Its a 50/50 coin toss with some of the others selected, he's probably been omitted because of matchups.

He'll be back in the team when we play here at Subi. Everyone in the team is super fit and cover alot of ground. Hopefully we can run the hawks into the ground.

McManus gets the nod after a close to BOG performance against Port. If he faulters in round 1 there are heaps snapping at his heels.

We'll need a big rotation through the midfield. Apart from the usual Bell, Hasleby, J.Carr expect to see Dodd, Crowley, M.Carr, Schammer and even McManus have runs in the centre square. Even Medhurst had a crack during the preseason.

But when the game comes to crunch time i hope to see our quality on-ballers running through the middle. CC did allude to this in the preseason. 'When the game is up for grabs we need our best players with their hands on the ball'. (or something to that effect)

All in all I'm not too fussed about the lineup. We've always wanted the team selected on form and not name. So lets stick to our guns. We can't be too upset over Peake just because he's younger. Its not like he won't get a shot.

If some non-performers are retained for round 2. THen let the cries begin.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
I hear what you're all saying about Peake but to this point he's been a bit player whose had some flashy moments in a team that's been travelling well. He's not shown he's any more accountable than MacManus, and he's certainly can't tackle like MacManus.

I seem to recall a pretty good tackle SOB laid in round 1 of the NAB cup on the seemingly uncatchable Chris Judd.

Disappointed about Peake because I think we needed some pace through the middle.

I saw both the Collingwood and Port games and I thought it was same old same old from the player I like to call "The Mole". But I'm not the sort of person who criticises the match committee. After all, they're getting paid to do what they do and I clearly have no idea.

pants said:
I seem to recall a pretty good tackle SOB laid in round 1 of the NAB cup on the seemingly uncatchable Chris Judd.

Disappointed about Peake because I think we needed some pace through the middle.

I saw both the Collingwood and Port games and I thought it was same old same old from the player I like to call "The Mole". But I'm not the sort of person who criticises the match committee. After all, they're getting paid to do what they do and I clearly have no idea.

Dead set Pants. I am a big supporter of the coaching staff but this one blows. The hawks carved us up with pace and hard running last year at Subi. Peakey is the bloke who has both in spades. Meanwhile Macca is Macca. Practically guarantees a turnover with each possession.

pants said:
He caught him but really only held him up rather than tackled him. It was a pretty soft free kick to Peake compared to what Judd and Kerr were getting away with last night.

But that Peake caught him is a phenomenal effort.

Yeah, Peake and Cook playing WAFL, and Drum as an emergency according to Freo web site. I bet you Simon Eastaugh is licking his lips in anticipation of having Cookie in the side.

Why isn't Peake in the time when we're playing a particularly fast team? I'm glad I won't be able to watch this match as I'll be at a Cricket Presentation.

What's the weather prediction? If it's raining I'd be glad he isn't playing but on a dry track against a fast team I'd feel a lot better if Walker wasn't playing in defence, Peake in the side and Schammer playing off Half Back or in the midfield for the extra pace.