Team

Dropping Beamer for form reasons would be terrible but I'd rather that than another injury. Dropping Petterd isn't too bad. He isn't ready for AFL yet this year. Good to see Yze out but I hope he puts in some good Sandy performances and can fight his way back in.

Moloney is an interesting one. I don't really understand the accountability reason, because he topped the tackle count for the dees with 6 tackles.

Having said that, he also gave away the most frees, with 5 frees against. So perhaps it is a discipline reason. On top of that, he topped the dees in clangers, with 6 for the game.

Agree with the other 2 omissions. Good to see Bailey isn't holding back with the selections.

Can't wait to see Dunn in action this week. Tear em up Dunny! :thumbsu:

Good changes but I just can't seem to understand Moloney being omitted. Great In's, and easing Rivers into the season is alright, there's no point ruining another year for him, same goes for Whelan. I was 100% behind Petterd getting dropped (that said I had Weetra and Garland going as well) but I get the feeling he will bounce back pretty quickly.

look you guys may jump down my throat bit i reckon they might give bulldogs a little fright at some stage of the game on the weekend not saying you will win or lose just saying there may be a point in the game where you think we ar eplaying real well and we might go close

Rivers and Whelan pretty much didnt play a game last year so they are going to get a few games under the belt, even if we see them as "ready". Even Nathan buckley had to do a few reserves games on his comeback, and hes nathan buckley ffs.

Relax guys. They'll be back. :thumbsu:

How I'd line them up

B: Bartram, Carroll, Wheatley
F: Akermanis, Minson, Welsh

HB: Miller, Garland, Bell
HF: Murphy, Hahn, Johnson

C: Green, McLean, Buckley
C: Cross, West, Eagleton

HF: Bruce, Neitz, Dunn
HB: Griffen, Lake, Gilbee

F: Davey, Newton, Robertson
B: Morris, Wight, Hargrave

Foll: White, McDonald, Jones
Foll: Hudson, Cooney, Boyd

I/C: Weetra, Sylvia, Morton, Johnson
I/C: Hill, Higgins, Giansiracusa, Addison

I think we've gone into this game short a small defender and I would like to see Dunn or Bruce go down there if we're struggling. Buckley would be another option off a half back flank. On paper our backline does have some chance of restricting their forwards, the midfields are pretty even and our forward line could get it together, but their defence is pretty honest and reliable. If we can get first use of it and go up the corridor we stand a chance. As long as we compete hard and some more players take Buckley's idea and try to get the ball on quickly, and some of the forwards get out of first gear and lead hard for the footy I'll be happy.

Bruce on Johnson
Bell on Welsh

Bell's game on Welsh last year was just about the best game I've ever seen from a Melbourne defender.

Moloney was dropped due to not manning up. His accountability is rubbish. You could say the same about Green and many others, I know, but that would be the reason. Pettered needs more time to get back into the swing of things after his injury and, well, I don't need to talk about Yze.

The Bulldogs are small so that's why there is no Rivers. I'd say he, along with Whelan and possibly Frawley, will be looked at being brought back into the side for the Geelong game.

On a positive I think we have 3 very good inclusions who will bring plenty to the line-up!
Thank you CFH, I thought I was the only one on this board who didn't think Maloney was the antzpantz on the weekend. The point about accountability is a good one and that doesn't just mean tackling and manning up but also what you do with the ball when you get it. ok, the guy kicks 60 meters... but he tries to do it too often when there are better options. I applaud Bailey with this.

Also I will probably stick out like dogs balls with this one but I am glad Weetra is getting another game, he should go well against the dogs. Bailey is a smart man.

Personally I think Rivers would have been ok against the height of the dogs, at the end of the day he is a starting defender so the opposition shouldn't be too much of a factor. Also if the ball is not delivered very well, ala long bombs then a tall Rivers would be handy instead of one of the talls we already have listed.

In any case, IN: Bartram, Dunn, Sylvia is very pleasing.

Don't worry Dees fans, Bailey will do a lot of things that may not make sense early on but I reckon he knows what he is doing.;)

Yze out is to be expected and CFH is right about Petterd too.

I just can't wait to see Martin in the side at some stage this year.:thumbsu:

I think its bullshit.

So what if Moloney was unaccountable, so was Green, I don't see Greeny getting dropped. At least Moloney has a bit of passion for the club and the jumper. How does Weetra or Morton get a game ahead of him? bullshit.

Petterd out? hes obviously fit enough as hes been named an emergency. Ask me who of Garland, Petterd and Weetra I want to see running around off half-back, I'll have Ricky any bloody day of the week.

That team better win Bailey, otherwise I'm going to be pretty pissed.

James Frawley perhaps Dean?

He ring a bell, tall, quick? Nah, stick with Miller and Carroll, sure. Idiots.

Ideally you would like Moloney and Petterd still in for Weetra and Garland, and when rivers is fit and ready to go in for wheatly. Push Miller up forward.

it was moloneys first game back for ages, and he still found alot of the football. I understand that he was not very accountable but 18 of the 22 players did not man up all day.

Is this some kind of sick joke.

He drops a bloke (Moloney) that can kick 60 metres and has a hard edge about him, and keeps two blokes (Garland & Weetra) who haven't a clue.

And ofcourse he keeps Rivers at Sandringham again :rolleyes:

BAILEY IS NOT PLAYING TO WIN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

agree with garland, i was in the mcc members stand and i was wondering why the hell he was still on the ground. Weetra on the other hand looked as if he just needs more game practice

I think its bullshit.

So what if Moloney was unaccountable, so was Green, I don't see Greeny getting dropped. At least Moloney has a bit of passion for the club and the jumper. How does Weetra or Morton get a game ahead of him? bullshit.

Petterd out? hes obviously fit enough as hes been named an emergency. Ask me who of Garland, Petterd and Weetra I want to see running around off half-back, I'll have Ricky any bloody day of the week.

That team better win Bailey, otherwise I'm going to be pretty pissed.

James Frawley perhaps Dean?

He ring a bell, tall, quick? Nah, stick with Miller and Carroll, sure. Idiots.

I remember giving Moloney votes for his game on the weekend, but he needs to learn to man up, run hard and not try and turn out of 58305730274 tackles every game. He got plenty of the ball but turned it over regularly and he gave away a shitload of freekicks. He might have passion, but he needs to learn to harness it much, much better.

I'd take Petterd too, but the kids needs time, anyone can see that. After an injury like he had it would take time to get back to full confidence, especially in a contest.

And Frawley is waaaay out of form. Miller and Carroll aren't great, but they have experience, and I'll take that experience over an out of form kid any time.

Garland's named in the BP. Thats 3 games worth of experience.

You honestly telling me you'd rather see him back there than Chip?

Garland's named in the BP. Thats 3 games worth of experience.

You honestly telling me you'd rather see him back there than Chip?

Well you mentioned Carroll and Miller, not Garland. I didn't think he was that bad last week, deserves another crack.

on paper the team doesn't look bad at all, close to what would be the top 22 and melbourne match up well against the doggies, i would like to see rivers in the team though. nothing like a courageous mark to inspire a team.