HF: Pickett, McCartney, Clayton
F: Morrell, Rocca, Harvey
Foll: Burton, Simpson, Robbins
Inter: Harding, Watt, Porter, D.Motlop
Emerg: Sinclair, Teague, Petrie
In: Harding
Out: Blakey

Glass ommitted???

Why drop Glass? Sure he's struggled in the last couple of weeks, but with Milli back he'd have a bit more support this week.
Plus Carroll has done absolutely stuff all for Claremont.

Good to see Fido, Fletch & Wirra back.
And Tuckey deserved a chance.

The more I think about, the more it annoys me.

He did a good job on Bradshaw against Brisbane, and then against Port he was left to play a lone hand against Tredrea (an All-Australian) after Jako went off injured.

And Carroll is replacing him.
That's what pisses me off the most.

Green would have to consider himself extremely unlucky and as he's in the emergencies he may yet play.

If one or two of Milli, Jako or Gaspar go down early through injury, we are stuffed in the tall person department, so the Fitness experts better be right this time.

Well i guess Woosha has method in my madness, he would have studied everything closely, and wouldn't make a change if it wasn't for some reason. I heard it is supposed to rain sat arvo, maybe woosha thought carroll would be better than glass in wet conditions?
i dunno, we'll just have to wait, hope and see.

Hmmmm? Interesting team selection. The omission of Glass seems odd, and from everyones posts on the Port game, Green had done enough to keep his place. Why is Embley still there??
My feeling is there must still be doubt over the fitness of both Jako and Gaspar...hence the hedging with talls, but why no Siera? Unless the aim is to try and keep the opposition guessing until match time?
Will not be surprised to see both Green and Siera in the side on Saturday when the ball is bounced.
North look a bit short down the defensive end to me, although if its wet it might not matter quite so much ,except if it does rain then Siera would be more than a handful for Archer. If it is wet, then watch out for both Pickett and Harvey.

The Roos arent short down back, they have Baird and Colbert down there, Archer seems to prefer playing on taller opponent, and we have McCartney up forward (He should be at CHB..)

Go Roos

Somebody had a few drinks before they sent out the West Coast weekly email...

Backs: A. McIntosh T. Carroll, D. Wirrpunda
Half Backs: G. Jakovich M. Collica, R. Jones
Centre: M. Braun B. Cousins J. Wooden
Half Forwards: T. Gaspar C. Judd, D. Haynes
Forwards: P. Matera T. Wilson A. Embley
Followers: D. Cox, D. Kerr, P. Matera
Interchange: B. Tuckey, C. Chambers, C. Fletcher, A. Williams
Emergency: K. Green, K. Munro, D. Sierakowski

Carroll and Collica as key defenders, with Judd at CHF! I like it! ;)

Good decisions IMO. Milli is an automatic selection, and with the Tigers coming up next week Carroll is being warmed up to play on Richo. Green is nothing special, he can hold his own but is no better than Carroll. At least Carroll is proven to be good against Richo.

Good on the selection committee for going with who they believe will be the best players on the day, not picking name players.

I didn't see Glass a training so I suspect there is an injury, although Woosha has said that Carroll has been doing well and deserves a chance. It's also true to say that Carroll will use his body/weight better than glass although IMO Glass has a better skills level.

I would be surprised to see Gaspar play. More likeley Sierra, and there is a good chance Green will play too.

Late changes are becoming regular ways of trying to spring surprises on oppopsition coaches.

One other thing. Fletcher is a good wet ball player.

Very suprised to hear Carroll come into the side to take Glass' spot. Carroll hasn't done much to impress this year at Claremont, so hopefully it's a ploy by Woosha or Trentski's trained the house down this week.

How about time to unleash the Sierakowski machine?

Originally posted by Mr Eagle
Judd at CHF!

i know it was just a mistake on the e-mail, but how tall is Judd????

It doesn't say on the AFL web-site, but he is in the high 180's isn't he????

If he was say 187 or 188 cm's then i dont think it would be all that bad of an idea to throw him at CHF for parts of the game just to mix up things for the opposition. Hes quick and agile and would be very hard to mark up on at CHF. But if he isn't as tall as what i think he is then forget i just said that :D

Was very surprised to see Glass omitted...surely it is an injury of some sort? I thought he had been playing very well. Green also was very unlucky not to keep his spot. Thought he was amongst our better players last weekend.

Still i dont mind Carroll, i lot of you guys here seem to dislike him but i think he's alright. Good to see Wirrpunda, Milli and Fido back in the side.

I dont understand why Glass has been dropped. I think he had been playing quite well and if he is dropped due to last weeks loss, I would be a little disappointed.

I would choose Glass over Carroll for the position and thats no disrepect to Carroll, but I think Glass would have been better off playing this weekend.

Still, Woosha knows what he is doing......

I reckon Jak will play..dont know why but have every faith that he will run out. Dont think his shoulder was as serious as first expected..just twinged it a bit. Thankgod!

Originally posted by TheRealBuzz
Since when?

He played on him in Round.5 last year and Richo slaughtered him, kicking 6 goals and taking a pile of marks.

From what I remember, Carroll did a decent job on Richo in that game. He didn't stop Richo, but was there with him all day long constantly harrassing him. The poor performance of his teammates didn't give Carroll much of a chance, but he still stuck to his job and I believe under the circumstances he did a respectable job.

Stats aren't everything, just read Dans posts to see what I mean (especially the ones on soccer, haha, he has no clue ;))

I used to hate Carroll with a passion, he has a unique ability to be 15m in the clear, running out of defense with eagles streaming free in every direction, and he'll still manage to comprehensively and totally f#ck things up.
In the past two seasons, though, i do think he has improved. Better at following his man, good punch from behind player, and (heaven forbid), his disposal and decision making has actually improved of late. I think he deserves a chance, but I'm frankly mystified at Glass's exclusion. Maybe he is carrying an injury... Also, I'd be very surprised indeed if Siera doesn't run out onto the ground in Gaspar's place.

Trent Carroll

If anyone can reacll Round 5 last year, Richardson THRASHED Carroll. He was unstoppable.

If anyone can recall Round 2 of this years Wizard Cup, Jacko was holding Richardson for the first half of footy until going off and being relieved by Carroll. Isn't this when Richardson kicked 3 in a quarter and blew the game out of our reach?

Statistics don't hide dreadful performances. Why Carroll is in the side is either for 2 reasons 1) a bluff or 2) there are more injuries than at first imagined. Could both Milli and Jacko be on the sidelines tomorrow?

Originally posted by jod23
I remember last seasons round 5 game and i thought Carroll did alright on Richo?? Weird how people see things completely different.

Me too. It was a big ask and I thought he did much better than I expected.

It will be interesting to see how he goes.

9.00 am and very wet and cold with very strong gusting wind. It will be a different ball game than we've been used to playing this season.