Ted Richards

• Thread starter Thread starter stander

IDGAF said:
... but if a tree falls in the forest and no-one hears it ... does it make any sound at all ?

I left a tape recorder, but the batteries ran out before the tree fell.

Or maybe it just didn't make a sound. I don't know anymore.

Nuts4Bolts said:
Ted Richards would off made no difference to our season this year. I've seen Dempsey for 2mins and already know who I want to play for us.

Would have made a difference on Sunday in the backline

Longy413 said:
He wouldn't have had the pace to go with Fevola when he was getting delivery like he was. Fev still would have kicked a bag. At least Reynolds provided a contest nearly every time, Ted wouldn't have been able to do that.
I think Ted showed late last year he could have done alright. Sometimes it is the quality of the opponent that can make a simpleton like Fevola walk taller.

Longy413 said:
We didn't get rid of Ted, we didn't trade him against our will. He played the last 10 games of the year down back and left because he wanted to play as a forward. He wanted out, because he didn't see himself as a backman. He said himself, he was leaving because he wanted to play forward and Roos was going to give him that opportunity. What else are we do in that situation?
He walked. Yes he did. But lets be honest. If he was getting a regular gig in our team week in, week out instead of guys who didn't earn their spot, perhpas he would have had more allegiance to our club. Stop blinding following the club Longy. Its alright to admit Sheedy fire trucked up.

Longy413 said:
There aren't that many around. Even playing now.
Michael, Harris, thats about it.
Perhaps I wasn't specific enough, but I was talking KP backmen in general. Guys like Egan, Harris, Roberts-Thompson, Bock, Rutten, Glass, Brown (Nth), we never ever recruit them. They are the ones that can play on the big guys. Until we get someone like that, we are giong to have manufacture CHBs like Wallis and Harvey, and heaven forbid when Fletch retires. I just pray Lucy or Lee come on.
Longy413 said:
Lee is already only a few kg's off the likes of Glass and Scarlett who are probably the next biggest. You can only draft what is available, and the fact of the matter is the TAC Cup and the like aren't full of monster full backs. Toovey (now at Collingwood) was one of the better full backs in last years draft, he is only 187cm's.

We've drafted two of the better key backs available in the last two drafts in Lucy and Lee. We just have to wait. Lee won't be too far away.

Lee was drafted as a CHF/FF. I remember reading this. Lucy was our last pick in the draft. I hope he is a gem like Harris was for the dogs, but chances are he won't make it. As for Lee, wasn't Sheedy talkign of playing him up forward. What is he, a FB or a forward. Better decide soon as playing him at both ends consistently will do nothing for his confidence, if we want him to have an impact this year.

Pevers-Legend said:
Perhaps I wasn't specific enough, but I was talking KP backmen in general. Guys like Egan, Harris, Roberts-Thompson, Bock, Rutten, Glass, Brown (Nth), we never ever recruit them. They are the ones that can play on the big guys. Until we get someone like that, we are giong to have manufacture CHBs like Wallis and Harvey, and heaven forbid when Fletch retires. I just pray Lucy or Lee come on.

Bradley, Lee and Lucy are being developed and I dare say Henneman was drafted with the intent of him being a key position backman.

It takes a long time for these types of players to come good.

Glass, Brown, Rutten and Harris had been in the system a long time before they finally made it.

Supporters have to be patient with these guys.
Pevers-Legend said:
Lee was drafted as a CHF/FF. I remember reading this. Lucy was our last pick in the draft. I hope he is a gem like Harris was for the dogs, but chances are he won't make it. As for Lee, wasn't Sheedy talkign of playing him up forward. What is he, a FB or a forward. Better decide soon as playing him at both ends consistently will do nothing for his confidence, if we want him to have an impact this year.

Most (nearly all) AFL defenders spend their junior career as forwards. A lot of them have to start from scratch playing as a defender.

Daytripper said:
Bradley, Lee and Lucy are being developed and I dare say Henneman was drafted with the intent of him being a key position backman.

It takes a long time for these types of players to come good.

Glass, Brown, Rutten and Harris had been in the system a long time before they finally made it.

Supporters have to be patient with these guys.

Most (nearly all) AFL defenders spend their junior career as forwards. A lot of them have to start from scratch playing as a defender.
problem is, what happens when you draft Bolton, Henno, Richards and Hunt? You are in our predicament of when Fletch goes down we are :D:D:D:Ded.

Pevers-Legend said:
He walked. Yes he did. But lets be honest. If he was getting a regular gig in our team week in, week out instead of guys who didn't earn their spot, perhpas he would have had more allegiance to our club. Stop blinding following the club Longy. Its alright to admit Sheedy fire trucked up.

He was a developing tall that wasn't that good. He didn't demand a position week in, week out. He wasn't good enough. Too slow, can't kick and wasn't a great mark of the footy. His most admirable charteristic was that he had a crack. But he isn't a good footballer, I honestly believe that.

We got a great deal for Ted and I still believe Fevola would have done the same damage playing on Richards. I'm more than happy to admit mistakes, our only mistake with Ted Richards was drafting him ahead of Guy Richards.

Pevers-Legend said:
Lee was drafted as a CHF/FF. I remember reading this. Lucy was our last pick in the draft.

We played a fair bit of footy down back for Tassie. CHF/CHB.
Lucy was our last pick in the draft, he was also just about the best FB in the draft. AA Full-Back last year. There aren't that many around mate.

The blokes you mentioned earlier, Rutten, Brown etc. They were all drafted as forwards. From memory Rutten kicked three goals with his first three kicks in AFL footy. Even Richards was drafted as a forward. Rutten and Bock were both rookie list picks.

You can't draft big backmen if there aren't any. We drafted Hunt, Henneman, Lucy and Lee. Not to mention Zantuck (ok, lets not mention Zantuck)

Your point would have merit if we were consistently over-looking quality key defenders. We aren't, they aren't there and the ones that are, are a gamble.

Pevers-Legend said:
As for Lee, wasn't Sheedy talkign of playing him up forward.

Only threw his name up when Lloyd went down. He's been playing back for Bendigo.

Longy413 said:
He was a developing tall that wasn't that good. He didn't demand a position week in, week out. He wasn't good enough. Too slow, can't kick and wasn't a great mark of the footy. His most admirable charteristic was that he had a crack. But he isn't a good footballer, I honestly believe that.

We got a great deal for Ted and I still believe Fevola would have done the same damage playing on Richards.
I agree Richards isn't a great footballer, but he had a crack (more than some are dong this season) and he provided run out of the backline (would help out NLM for sure).

Longy413 said:
We played a fair bit of footy down back for Tassie. CHF/CHB.
Lucy was our last pick in the draft, he was also just about the best FB in the draft. AA Full-Back last year. There aren't that many around mate.

The blokes you mentioned earlier, Rutten, Brown etc. They were all drafted as forwards. From memory Rutten kicked three goals with his first three kicks in AFL footy. Even Richards was drafted as a forward. Rutten and Bock were both rookie list picks.

You can't draft big backmen if there aren't any. We drafted Hunt, Henneman, Lucy and Lee. Not to mention Zantuck (ok, lets not mention Zantuck)

Your point would have merit if we were consistently over-looking quality key defenders. We aren't, they aren't there and the ones that are, are a gamble.
How are we not consistenly over looking good key-posi players? Rutten, Egan, Harris, we could have drafted all of them but didn't. Sheedy instead goes for Laycock, Ryder and Bradley. None of which are naturally huge, all flakey more skilled players (I know Keps can't kick). I know players take time to develop, but we have a hole because we picked these types of players and don't have what we need.

Longy413 said:
Only threw his name up when Lloyd went down. He's been playing back for Bendigo.
Glad to hear it as I had heard he was playing forward. How has his form been?

Pevers-Legend said:
How are we not consistenly over looking good key-posi players? Rutten, Egan, Harris, we could have drafted all of them but didn't.

But we didn't over look good KPP's. We overlooked (like 16 other clubs) average KPP's that developed into good ones. They were guess work.

Pevers-Legend said:
Sheedy instead goes for Laycock, Ryder and Bradley. None of which are naturally huge, all flakey more skilled players

We drafted those blokes because they were the best available. It would be a waste to do otherwise. There were no tall backs in those drafts that were worthy of going inside the top 10. Ryder was the best player available in the draft when we had our pick, Lucy was the AA Full-Back. 193cm, 91 kg, big and strong. But not worth of a 1st Round pick. Mind you, Laycock is big and strong, he's huge, but he has skills as well.

I understand your point mate, it has merit and I agree we have a weakness in that area that needs to be fixed. The thing is with those type of players is it's all guess work, there is a severe lack of depth in tall strong players in the TAC Cup. Harris was as much of a guess as Sam Hunt, Aaron Henneman was. Ben Cosgriff was of a similar type.

Some work, some don't. There aren't that many out there, Rutten, Harris, those types are rare. It would be great to find one, but my point is, they are rare.

Pevers-Legend said:
Glad to hear it as I had heard he was playing forward. How has his form been?

He went forward for a bit against North Ballarat a few weeks ago when we couldn't kick a goal, but he'd been very impressive down back in that game before moving forward. Played on Josh Kennedy a couple of weeks ago, Kennedy kicked 3 but a couple of those from memory weren't Lee's fault. One from a free that wasn't against Lee. Lee was named in the best. He's going well, if I was on the selection committee I'd be insisting he replaces Kep this week.

i think there are limits to drafting best available - i undertand the philosophy behind it but not necessarily agree with it.

We cant keep drafting ruckmen with our top picks when we could likely pick up gun midfielders. With the midfield you need 7-8 quality players rotating. Plus if you have more then (say 10-12) they can play on the flanks or in the pockets. But you only need two ruckman on the park at most. As long as we dont continue to build our midfield there is no hope. I know you may be able to get a decent mid further down (2nd,3rd round) in the draft. But in the 1st round your chances of getting a future champion midfielder are much higher.

We have used top picks on Laycock, Bradley, Ryder. But how are these 3 and Hille going to fit in the one team, i think it is going to be way too top heavy. If we decide to offload any of these (apart from Hille) in the future we probably won't get what we paid out for them (ie first rounders) because they probably havent made it with us so we have lost and opposition teams are then ahead.

Personally I hope this year we get good mids and guys who are just genuine kpp's not trying to turn big athletic guys ( who are most suited for the ruck) into kpps.

Ted Richards is starting to find his feet at the Swans. Roos started off with him in defense but as the season has gone on, its become obvious that the guy is more valuable as a tall marking option up foward. At least for spurts during a game and he's been used that way. Ted is really a good mark. He's a dangerous (and valuable) weapon to have and has replaced Dempster in the side (4th tall defender) probably because of these offensive abilities. He's also a very fit man, can run off half-back and never stops running and trying.

I think there is no doubt with Hird and Lloyd out with injuries, that he would have been a good marking option up forward with you guys. While I'm not convinced that he can hold down a KP role, I think the Richards trade was very good for us and he is definately a nice luxury to have atm.

Longy413 said:
I'm pretty sure Ben Doolan wasn't traded for, but happy to be corrected.

Just because Sheeds isn't the only option, doesn't mean he isn't the right one. And if you have to go back to 1983 (Wallis ahead of Kickett worked) to add support to your arguement, you are battling. At the end of the day the deal to get Lloyd and Lucas to the club outweighs anything else he has done negative during trade week.

We did the right thing trading Richards. He isn't a very good footballer, averaging less than 10 disposals a game. I'm very, very happy with Dempsey thanks.
Ben Doolan was drafted with the 20th pick in the 1993 PreSeason Draft.
They left Austinn McCrabb on the board by taking Doolan.
Shame on Sheedy.

Courtnay Dempsey will be of better value to Essendon by next season.
Ted Richards is just ordinary. And he's at his best right now.
Dempsey might actually be a player.

All this crap about Richards not getting a go :rolleyes: Geez. To put it simply until last season he wasnt ready football wise or body wise to get a regular gig in the seniors. He can blame himself for not getting enough games last season. He was dropped for a number of weeks after the Lions game for his very poor effort in side stepping Brown rather than trying to tackle him. If he was more comitted that night he would have played 15 or so games rather than the 10 or so he played.
People keep having a go at Sheeds for not giving blokes a go but you have to look at players like Merret , GOD and JJ to name a few who where not hurt by playing a fair bit of seconds footy until they where ready for a regular gig.

Schopp said:
i think there are limits to drafting best available - i undertand the philosophy behind it but not necessarily agree with it.

We cant keep drafting ruckmen with our top picks when we could likely pick up gun midfielders. With the midfield you need 7-8 quality players rotating. Plus if you have more then (say 10-12) they can play on the flanks or in the pockets. But you only need two ruckman on the park at most. As long as we dont continue to build our midfield there is no hope. I know you may be able to get a decent mid further down (2nd,3rd round) in the draft. But in the 1st round your chances of getting a future champion midfielder are much higher.

We have used top picks on Laycock, Bradley, Ryder. But how are these 3 and Hille going to fit in the one team, i think it is going to be way too top heavy. If we decide to offload any of these (apart from Hille) in the future we probably won't get what we paid out for them (ie first rounders) because they probably havent made it with us so we have lost and opposition teams are then ahead.

Personally I hope this year we get good mids and guys who are just genuine kpp's not trying to turn big athletic guys ( who are most suited for the ruck) into kpps.

We wont draft another ruckman this year anyway.They have got the ruck division set for a number of years now. Just on drafting mid fielders yes i do think we needs to draft another quality young mid this year but we do have a number of young blokes to try this year in Lonergan , Hocking and Firman. Lonergan and Hocking have had injury set backs but both have shown some promise.