Toast Thanks Daisy

Cheers Daisy. Once we got the Collingwood stench off you I grew to enjoy watching you play! You won my respect when you changed your contract terms and you won my affection when you played for the jumper and flew the flag on field. Go well mate!

On a side note, I’m hoping that he has some good people around him to support him through the transition to a different life now.

Thanks for everything, dale. You brought passion to the team each week, something that was lacking after big setanta left us. You took time out of your day to say g’day when I bumped into you, all too willing to have a chat and I can’t thank you enough.

All the best for your retirement.

No doubt more background information will come to light in the hours and days ahead, but as it stands I personally have a bad feeling over 1) the decision to let Daisy go in the first place (for similar reasons to those already posted by others in this thread, so I won’t back over them), and especially 2) the ridiculous way that the club has communicated the news. Regarding the latter, both the title and opening sentence of the article on the club website seem bizarre to me, in suggesting that Daisy is the one who has “called time” on his playing career in navy blue, when it is clear from what is then revealed that he’s only reluctantly hanging up the boots because the club hasn’t offered him a new contract for 2020. In other words, the club has given him no choice whatsoever about playing in navy blue (not even by offering him a so-so contract on much reduced terms, for example), and therefore Daisy’s had no meaningful decision to make on the timing of his exit from Ikon Park.

It all seems a bit odd to me, and atm I think it’s a premature and thus far a clumsily handled end to Daisy’s time at the club, where imo he’s proved himself to be an excellent (although imperfect) contributor in what’s been for the most part a very difficult period to play through. I’m really disappointed and sad that Daisy won’t see as a Blues player what I expect will be much brighter times in 2020 (and maybe even beyond, given his form over the past two years) - I think that his service deserved that reward, and that he still has much to offer, including important things that are in short supply from others on our list.

I have really grown to love Daisy as a player and the passion he has developed for the club and the players.
I understand the decision. I think he could still have played as a backup and as a mentor in the VFL for players coming through. Rapt that you get to play your 100th game at home on the MCG. Tear it up mate.
Sad to see you go Daisy. I hope life continues to brings you wonderful things for you and your family. :'( :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

I don't see the point in cutting him. It is not like we have an abundance of ready made AFL footballers rolling around. At the very least he provides solid depth. Sad to see him go

Sad to see Daisy go had really become one of my favourite players always gives 100% and more.Have selfie with him in the Captains club room after a game which is a great photo of a great character.
I suppose it was either him or Simmo and you can’t shoot Bambi again bye Daisy and all the best 😥😥

I agree, thought he had another year in him. List management obviously has another plan.

Everyone needs to relax.

He's been one of the senior players that has really stood up this year and I'm surprised/shocked that he's not playing on. Having said that we don't know what SOS has lined up in terms of trades and then there's Doc to come back and Stocker to play.

If Daisy has something lined up after footy it's not hard to see why he wouldn't be interested in possibly running around in the NBs.

Thanks for the service Daisy. Best of luck in the future.

EDIT: Maybe a gig with the Suns isn't out of the question.

Amazing how much he will be missed considering everyone hated him the first couple of years (and rightly so - looked a disaster in that time period). The turning point was finding him a position and surprisingly that was down back, really suited our needs and his game. Loved his attitude and always gave 100%. I always loved his celebration when we kicked goals, not when he kicked them, but when a teammate kicked goals. So many times see him to the Toyota jump and fist pump and just showed how much it meant to him. How he turned us all around is a great credit to him I reckon.

Not sure about this bad trainer etc, I always thought he was one the younger guys looked up to ad learnt a lot from when hearing them speak about him.

I wasn't a fan when he first joined (could the sour taste due to Betts leaving)...BUT, love the past 2-3 seasons of absolute competitiveness that he presented. He is now a Blue in my eyes..

Enjoy your golf down at 13th Beach...more so enjoy the tinnies!

Thank you so much Daisy.

Toast Thanks Daisy