Thanks for the Ammo Ty

Jun 24, 2004
Guantanomo Bay
Article in the "HUN" 1712/04 about the "Velvet Butthammer " Matthew Lloyd being made a life member at the Bummers and there was a little quote in his acceptence speech that i thought all tiger fans should have a look at .

" I just feel lucky and blessed to have been able to play for this football club " ............. he waxes lyrical , and then

" You speak to people like Ty Zantuck who have come from Richmond and it just makes you appreciate playing for such a proud club " Quote , unquote

I don`t know about you lot but if i was TW , that quote will be dragged out every time we play the bummers for next 20 years

Is Lloyd inferring that we at punt rd. have no pride ? I find it even more interesting that Lloyd would listen to and quote the likes Ty Zantuck , a man bristling with integrity ! :p

Thanks a bunch "Lloydy" .I reckon "Before the Game" would give you the " Tool of the Week" for that one , hands down .

That is one bullet i , personally , will be hanging onto for a loooooong time .

IDGAF said:
" You speak to people like Ty Zantuck who have come from Richmond and it just makes you appreciate playing for such a proud club " Quote , unquote

Benefit of the doubt. He may simply be referring to the fact that he has played finals in 9 of his 10 years and has a premiership. Zantuck has only 1 in 5 years.

Don't think Lloyd is clever enough to be so subtle. More likely that he couldn't explain himself properly.

Weaver said:
Benefit of the doubt. He may simply be referring to the fact that he has played finals in 9 of his 10 years and has a premiership. Zantuck has only 1 in 5 years.

Don't think Lloyd is clever enough to be so subtle. More likely that he couldn't explain himself properly.

yer true.
its the way he said it. if it was about finals apperances etc he should have said " You speak to people like Ty Zantuck who have come from Richmond who havent played much finals, it just makes you appreciate playing for such a proud club " or something along those lines.....
but i agree with you weaver. he probably meant no harsh but when your with the media you must be very careful of what you say and how you say it.

Weaver said:

not sure LLyody should be let of fthat lightly...by all reports young ty didnt mince words when discussing his experiences at Punt Rd with likely suitors during trade week...to a point where he was left like a shag on a rock...im guessing this spilled over once more when lacing his boots at windy hill.....he'll get his just deserts....someone tell Rayzor to dish one out just like the one that collected the punce from Carlton in 2001 semi...that'd do just fine..

Bojangles17 said:
not sure LLyody should be let of fthat lightly...by all reports young ty didnt mince words when discussing his experiences at Punt Rd with likely suitors during trade week...to a point where he was left like a shag on a rock...im guessing this spilled over once more when lacing his boots at windy hill.....he'll get his just deserts....someone tell Rayzor to dish one out just like the one that collected the punce from Carlton in 2001 semi...that'd do just fine..
i think thats the best thing ive seen rayzor do i love that i was watchin it on fox sum time last week and it brought back memories of us hiting players on the chest

beaver's army said:
lloyd better hope he isnt playin when he plays us bcoz staff and and any1 else who is proud 2 play for richmond will go straight through him
I doubt Staff could go through the banner some days,hardly the most intimidating bloke to play the game. Knees into the back ala Jason Blake hardly make you tough. That said,not a smart comment by Lloyd but what do you expect from Essendon and their arrogance and Ty Zantuck,although IMO a very good midsized defender cum forward who'll be a very good pick up for them,is an idiot who's not going to have too much good to say about Richmond anyway due to the circumstances. BUT.. I think it's a Sheedy v Miller thing i really do. This goes way back but remember trade week? Miller takes a wrong turn going to a fax to process Zantucks forms and misses by a minute..yeah right! He'd probably used the same fax 100 times that week! Sheedy would have been infuriated by that and for him to get the player later on anyway..he wouldn't be able to resist having a go at a] Miller and b] Richmond and Lloyds speech would have been a nice vehicle for that to get it out in the press. Essendon have a real us against the rest mentality that Sheeds has instilled in them with great success and he along with the players love this sort of stuff. They're getting exactly the reaction they wanted too. I find justifying anything that comes from Essendon a bit of a yawn as while they are a strong club,they feel that no other club has a history such as theirs which as we all know,is crap. Every club has their up and down eras and when their turn comes and sides like Hawthorn,Kangaroos and Richmond have developed a rivalry at the top of the heap,we'll see what they have to say then..? Until that time comes,and it will,patience Monty!

Weaver said:

Why would you give him the benefit of the doubt ?

You say he "may" be referring to finals etc. but really, look at the facts . Ty Zantuck has just had a very acrimonious split with the RFC and has walked out bagging all and sundry , which in itself shows the lack of professionalism and integrity the bloke has in itself .What do you think Zantuck is saying to the essendon boys , that he was just dissappointed that he didn`t play more finals footy at punt rd. ?....... Your kidding yourself Weaver . No wonder they were willing to pay out a large sum of his contract just to get rid of the tool .

I mean seriously ....... who would want that idiot around the crop of a dozen or so young guns we have at the minute , spreading his bad mojo around ? No one else wanted him except the bombers and i have a growing suspicion that as Sheedy slowly drifts into senility , he has become completely pre-occupied with trying to stick it up Richmond , taking any opportunity he can to have public swipes at punt . rd . What is his motivation for making the " done very well out of richmond over the years " comment ? He may think that Essendon have done very well out of Richmond over the years but i will tell you who has done the best out of Richmond and that is one Sheedy himself . That bloke has used us as leveridge in contract negotiations for years and now he has the temerity to take up sledging us at every opportunity . No RFC and you can wipe a couple of zero`s off those very lucrative contracts

One of not only Sheedy`s , but a good chunk of all the successful coaches ever the years, tools is developing a real "us against them" mentality . Remember rnd 1 of 96 when Sheedy plastered pictures of "the spirit of Stopper Turner" freight train slamming through G O`Donnel ?

The point is Weaver ......... you don`t go ,aw well .... he`s a nice bloke , i`ll give him the benefit of the doubt . You go .............

That is a slur against the mighty and " PROUD " RFC and you will keep .

IDGAF said:
The point is Weaver ......... you don`t go ,aw well .... he`s a nice bloke , i`ll give him the benefit of the doubt . You go .............

I don't think he is a nice bloke, I think we are paranoid. As he stood up at the Essendon AGM, in front of Essendon supporters, receiving his life membership ... I doubt think he was thinking about the RFC at all. He would have been gushing like an idiot about how lucjy and grateful he was, not bothering with us.

IDGAF said:
That is a slur against the mighty and " PROUD " RFC and you will keep .

I have a different view. I am so proud of my club that I don't give a toss what someone from another club says. So someone says something unflatering about us .... yawn.

Getting worked up over this sort of thing is basically admitting that you care what Sheahan, Lloyd, Patty Smith etc think. That they somehow matter to the RFC. Couldn't care less myself. I wouldn't give 'em the time of day let alone get hot under the collar.

Weaver said:
I don't think he is a nice bloke, I think we are paranoid. As he stood up at the Essendon AGM, in front of Essendon supporters, receiving his life membership ... I doubt think he was thinking about the RFC at all. He would have been gushing like an idiot about how lucjy and grateful he was, not bothering with us.

I have a different view. I am so proud of my club that I don't give a toss what someone from another club says. So someone says something unflatering about us .... yawn.

Getting worked up over this sort of thing is basically admitting that you care what Sheahan, Lloyd, Patty Smith etc think. That they somehow matter to the RFC. Couldn't care less myself. I wouldn't give 'em the time of day let alone get hot under the collar.
So we will rip the " Libel " and "slander" bits out of the the justice system because we no longer care what people say and think anymore and anything goes ?

I think that you are missing the whole essence of what the term "Pride" means .

When i was i kid and i first started playing footy the very first thing i learnt was PRIDE , pride in yourself and pride in the jumper . You let no -one walk over you , you didn`t take c..p from anyone you didn`t accept defeat . You don`t accept anyone telling you that you are no good .

I really think it is a worrying attitude you display . We are at our lowest ebb ,period, on-field and the fact is if you care you get angry , i wish i could pull a jumper on myself and get out there and stitch a few people up ( if i was capable ) Lloyd and the bombers at the top of the list .

We are a bloody laughing stock at the minute , more for our off-field endeavours than on which is even more galling . It is the whole school yard bully syndrome , you don`t lie down and get used as a punching bag you fight back . I`m not saying lets all get on the Essendon board and give them frightful bagging . I`m not saying the Richmond admin should get involved in a public slanging match ....... what i am saying is we quietly slip this one into our back pocket , let them know it has been noted , teach the next crop of young blokes a culture that anyone who pulls on a Tiger jumper does not take shyte like that , and pull it out for reference at a later date .A La sheeds and all the good coaches

( No personal offence intended at all at this point Weaver , just good healthy airing of opinions )

The Image of the Tigers needs to be rectified quickly. You can factor into Zantuks comments a personal beef but im sick of sticking up for the dud mentality that has run through the club for the last twenty years. There is obviously something there that is a concern for any Richmond supporter

Im sick of Greenburgh on Club corner trying to salvage our performances like a shonky car salesman.

Im sick of dud coaches like Frawley trying to give his tough talk (but we cant back it up) media conferences.

Im sick of being a StKilda of the eighties where we extend the careers of blokes who are past it.

Im sick of reading an article where Daffy says that Cambpell runs the place and thinking what the hell is going on.

Until we get our act together we just have to wear the fact that a bloke from Essendon is going to be astounded at the difference in culture between our clubs.

I just want to barrack for a real club again not the crap that has been running around for the last twenty years.!!!!!!!!!

1980GFVideo said:
The Image of the Tigers needs to be rectified quickly. You can factor into Zantuks comments a personal beef but im sick of sticking up for the dud mentality that has run through the club for the last twenty years. There is obviously something there that is a concern for any Richmond supporter

Im sick of Greenburgh on Club corner trying to salvage our performances like a shonky car salesman.

Im sick of dud coaches like Frawley trying to give his tough talk (but we cant back it up) media conferences.

Im sick of being a StKilda of the eighties where we extend the careers of blokes who are past it.

Im sick of reading an article where Daffy says that Cambpell runs the place and thinking what the hell is going on.

Until we get our act together we just have to wear the fact that a bloke from Essendon is going to be astounded at the difference in culture between our clubs.

I just want to barrack for a real club again not the crap that has been running around for the last twenty years.!!!!!!!!!
all good points 1980

Frawley may have walked out of punt rd. with just a modicum of respect if he had of just once ............. just once , got "angry" in press conference .
The only quote that remember that was even remotely hacked off was when he said after a game once that , " that performance was Un- Richmond like "

When the bombers got pumped by port in the first round last year Sheeds cut lose , players careers were on the line , the EFC just did not accept performances like that , from memory 5 blokes got dropped . That is the sort of reaction i wanted to see but we just stuck fat .

As for the culture differences between the two clubs . what really gets my goat is that such a renowned idiot like Zantuck paints such a picture and Lloyd obviously takes it as gospel .

Weaver says he loves the RFC and he could not care less what other people say about us , fair enough , he is entitled to his view but....... to me , that was a real slur and everyone wants to respected , everyone , and what is plain and simple is that we are just not respected at the moment . I want to make Lloyd and the bombers pay for that barb . I want to earn the respect back for Richmond , on field it is going to take a few years but in the meantime , you do not sit back and accept things like that .

As for Daffy , i would like to know who rung him up and asked him to stick his 2 cents worth in ? And he has so much credibility amongst the rank and file , grassroots tiger supporter . LMAO .

Weaver said:

Doesn't matter! I remember Mark Harvey once twisting something Spud had said into an advantage for the Bombre's. Spud mentioned to the media that Richmond had done a heap of work in the gym and that players were on average x kilo's heavier.

Harvey somehow twisted this into being a 'threat' to them (and as expected, they came out and absolutely smashed us!)

I think we take whatever meaning we want from it!

The Fanatic said:
I doubt Staff could go through the banner some days,hardly the most intimidating bloke to play the game. Knees into the back ala Jason Blake hardly make you tough. That said,not a smart comment by Lloyd but what do you expect from Essendon and their arrogance and Ty Zantuck,although IMO a very good midsized defender cum forward who'll be a very good pick up for them,is an idiot who's not going to have too much good to say about Richmond anyway due to the circumstances. BUT.. I think it's a Sheedy v Miller thing i really do. This goes way back but remember trade week? Miller takes a wrong turn going to a fax to process Zantucks forms and misses by a minute..yeah right! He'd probably used the same fax 100 times that week! Sheedy would have been infuriated by that and for him to get the player later on anyway..he wouldn't be able to resist having a go at a] Miller and b] Richmond and Lloyds speech would have been a nice vehicle for that to get it out in the press. Essendon have a real us against the rest mentality that Sheeds has instilled in them with great success and he along with the players love this sort of stuff. They're getting exactly the reaction they wanted too. I find justifying anything that comes from Essendon a bit of a yawn as while they are a strong club,they feel that no other club has a history such as theirs which as we all know,is crap. Every club has their up and down eras and when their turn comes and sides like Hawthorn,Kangaroos and Richmond have developed a rivalry at the top of the heap,we'll see what they have to say then..? Until that time comes,and it will,patience Monty!

Couldn't agree more.

IDGAF said:
Article in the "HUN" 1712/04 about the "Velvet Butthammer " Matthew Lloyd being made a life member at the Bummers and there was a little quote in his acceptence speech that i thought all tiger fans should have a look at .

" I just feel lucky and blessed to have been able to play for this football club " ............. he waxes lyrical , and then

I don`t know about you lot but if i was TW , that quote will be dragged out every time we play the bummers for next 20 years

Is Lloyd inferring that we at punt rd. have no pride ? I find it even more interesting that Lloyd would listen to and quote the likes Ty Zantuck , a man bristling with integrity ! :p

Thanks a bunch "Lloydy" .I reckon "Before the Game" would give you the " Tool of the Week" for that one , hands down .

That is one bullet i , personally , will be hanging onto for a loooooong time .

With all due respects to you guys, how can this upset you? Judging by the performances of Richmond of late I wouldn't have thought there was pride there. I would have thought you would slightly agree. If you need ammo to play a game of footy then that shows exactly what is wrong at Tigerland. BTW, not stirring s*** because I don't have anything against Richmond, in fact I hope you flog Collingwood first up.

eastaugh36 said:
If you need ammo to play a game of footy then that shows exactly what is wrong at Tigerland.
Like it hasn't been done to death countless times by other teams over the decades.

Every side looks for an advantage no matter how small, and although i doubt this method would be used very often, i would hope & expect the coaching staff to use it as means to lift the side when we face the bombers.

eastaugh36 said:
With all due respects to you guys, how can this upset you? Judging by the performances of Richmond of late I wouldn't have thought there was pride there. I would have thought you would slightly agree. If you need ammo to play a game of footy then that shows exactly what is wrong at Tigerland. BTW, not stirring s*** because I don't have anything against Richmond, in fact I hope you flog Collingwood first up.
Sorry eastaugh but you guys are the past masters at it .Remember the marshmallows ? What about Sheeds putting up pictures of Scotty Turner sending Gary O`Donnel into another time zone in the 95 prelim before rnd one in 96 ?

I do agree that there has been a lack pride in the jumper and we are percieved as a basket case but that is what is getting us so hot under the collar , especially when people from other clubs go having pot shots at us on the basis of Ty Zantuck`s ramblings .

Thanks for the regards though East , but it will be the cats we will be flogging , not the scum , in round one

smasha said:
I want Ty Zantucks noggin on every Tiger locker and some serious heavy metal played in the warm up rooms when we play those ********ing bastids next year.

Why not just put a picture of a Premiership Cup on every locker!!!

You see, that's the problem with the Tiges, spend too much time worrying about all the things that dont matter.

Who in their right mind would get upset about anything Lloydy says. Sheesh!! He'can play footy but Lloydy aint no rocket scientist. As for Zantuck, why would you use him as a motivational tool. Why use anything artificial as a motivational tool. I am sure all Tigers fans would acknowlrdge that you have a promising young list. Just get excited about that!

Richo's whingeing is obvoiusly infectious!!! :D

Weaver said:

cmon weaver, wake up ol son...we're all fundamental, right wing, fanatical punt rd extremists......these comments hurt like a sword through the heart....in particular from a lightweight that neither had the guts nor gumption to rise to the challenges of league football...deflecting his own incompetence by dispariging the mighty RFC......I wouldn't worry to much about young Ty , I expect his league career to last about as long as an Australian Idol hit single.....the clock has started

smasha said:
I want Ty Zantucks noggin on every Tiger locker and some serious heavy metal played in the warm up rooms when we play those ********ing bastids next year.

thats the spirit!

at this moment in time this club needs every bit of motivation it can garner, time for this club to get mad and to fe(kin get even!

Thanks for the Ammo Ty