Lonie_from_50

Veteran 10k Posts
Seagulls, Bushrangers
Well, first week of February, I think it's time for us to release our best 22 to take the track come round 1 as if it was tomorrow. Johnson#26 has entertained us with sensational pre-season reports, which, myself, has failed to actually read with detail the past couple days with my own worries on BigFooty. But with these reports, we have all the knowledge we can get.

Code:
[B]B:[/B]	J Clement	S Prestigiacomo	N Maxwell
[B]HB:[/B]	B Johnson	S Wakelin	T Lockyer
[B]C:[/B]	R Shaw		N Buckley	B Davies	
[B]HF:[/B]	A Didak		A Rocca		S Burns
[B]F:[/B]	B Caracella	C Tarrant	T Cloke
[B]Foll:[/B]	J Fraser	B Holland	P Licuria
[B]I/C:[/B]	S Rusling	D Thomas	S O'Bree
			J Cloke
[B]EM:[/B]	R Lonie		D Swan		C Egan

How about the NAB Round 1 line up?
It might look a little something like this:

B: Clement, Presti, Swan
HB: Maxwell, Anthony, Johnson

C: Lonie, Didak, Davies

HF: Thomas, T.Cloke, Tarrant
F: Caracella, Rusling, Davis

R: Fraser, Licuria, Holland

Int: Fanning, J.Cloke, C.Cloke, Egan, O'Bree, Lockyer

Rested: Buckley, Rocca, Wakelin, Burns
INJ/rested: R.Shaw, Rowe, Stanley, Pendlebury

We'd probably play Walker in there too.

jabso said:
HF: Thomas, T.Cloke, Tarrant
F: Caracella, Rusling, Davis

that would be awesome :thumbsu:

from what i gather JA is a strong chance to play given what wakes said about him in the media the other day.

Yeah, I would like to see Walker in there as you mentioned, not because he is a good player :rolleyes;, but because we need to be shown why he is still at the club. His asset is only strength that I know of to be honest.

NAB Cup Round 1:
B: Swan - Prestigiacomo - Maxwell
HB: O'Brien - J.Cloke - Johnson

C: Rowe - Didak - Davies

HF: Thomas - Rocca - Tarrant
F: Fraser - Walker - Rusling

R: Richards - Licuria - Holland

INT: Bucks - Egan - Lonie - T.Cloke
Premiership Season Round 1:
B: Clement - Prestigiacomo - Wakelin
HB: Shaw - J.Cloke - Johnson

C: Rowe - Buckley - Lonie

HF: Rusling - Rocca - Caracella
F: Fraser - Tarrant - Didak

R: Richards - Licuria - Holland

INT: T.Cloke - O'Bree - Maxwell - Burns

As far as the NAB cup is concerned i think we need to blood some new players, and get some confidence back into those who have lost their way.

Building confidence stems from doing things right and being in a comfort zone, thus i think that a 50/50 mix of old and new in each area of 6 (back, mid, forward) and 3 of each on the bench is a good start.

Also getting match fitness into those who havent played due to injury or poor form need to be given a run and see where they are at.

So my NAB cup team:

FB: Clement, JA, Heater
HB: BJ, Walker, Wakes
C: Lonie, Lica, Dutchy
HF: Taz, C3, Fraser
F: Thomas, Rusling, Carrots
Foll: Stretch, Dids, Yakka
Int: Davies, Obree, Davis, Iles, C2, Egan

Basically what im trying to do is have a master and an apprentice throughout each line and a pair on the bench.

So from back to front we have:

Clement and JA
BJ and Heater
Wakes and Walker
Lonie and Dutchy (Hopefully dutchy can teach lones some hardness at the ball, and lones can teach dutchy how to kick longer)
Lica and Yakka
Taz and Ruz
Fraser and C3
Carrots and Thomas (Dont think their would be a better mentor in the game)
Obree and Davies

The last 4 spots on the bench are players that need some game time. Including iles, who i think will surprise a few.(Just a feeling i have)

Collingwood 2006:

B: Clement, Prestigiacomo, Wakelin.
HB: Johnson, J.Cloke, Maxwell.
C: Lonie, Buckley(c), Didak.
HF: Caracella, Rocca, Holland.
F: Fraser, Tarrant, T.Cloke.
R: Richards, Licuria, Burns.
INTER: Rusling, Lockyer, O'Bree, R.Shaw.
EMERG: Rowe, Davies, H.Shaw.

Code:
FB:	Swan		Prestigiacomo	Maxwell

HB:	Johnson		Wakelin		Clement

C: 	Shaw		Licuria		Didak	

HF:	Tarrant		T. Cloke	Buckley

FF: 	Caracella	Rocca 		Egan

Foll:	Fraser		Holland		O'Bree

Bench:	Davies    	Burns
 	C. Cloke	Lockyer

That is what I'd like to see, anyway.

I put in Cam Cloke as an alternative ruckman as well as pinch hitter KPP.

I've left out Rusling because I believe with a full forward line we don't need him as of yet.

I'd much prefer to not have Shane O'Bree in the side at all, but I realise that as one of our better ball-winners, he'll probably play. Same goes for Tarkyn, although I'm somewhat more dubious on just why he deserves to play...

I've pushed Tarrant up the field to a HFF, because I think he'll be a marking monster with the new kick-in rules. With Trav Cloke manning the more tradition CHF role, Buckley will take the other side of field as a roaming HF, pushing up the field often but also concentrating on delivery into the forward line.

Rocca and Cloke will switch between CHF and FF, with Carrots and Egan both basically staying around the forward area.

I concentrated on drive through the HBF, Wing and HFF positions, with a Ben Johnson to Rhyce Shaw to Chris Tarrant combination that is likely to run opponents off their feet, while Clement, Didak and Buckley on the other side will kill opponents with their footskills.

J. Clo Presti Burns
Maxwell Wakes Clement
Didak Licuria Johnson
Fraser T.Cloke Tarrant
Buckley Rocca Thomas
C Clo Holland Lockyer

Egan, R.Shaw,Rusling, Richards

I can see buckley playing alot in the middle this year, he just wont be happy in a forward pocket

p.s i can also see swan getting a go ahead of one of the youngster's but given that there will be injured players i should have chosen emergencies as well. maybe later

Johnson#26 said:
Collingwood 2006:

B: Clement, Prestigiacomo, Wakelin.
HB: Johnson, J.Cloke, Maxwell.
C: Lonie, Buckley(c), Didak.
HF: Caracella, Rocca, Holland.
F: Fraser, Tarrant, T.Cloke.
R: Richards, Licuria, Burns.
INTER: Rusling, Lockyer, O'Bree, R.Shaw.
EMERG: Rowe, Davies, H.Shaw.
:confused:

Clement Prestigiacomo Wakelin
Maxwell Cloke Johnson
Lonie Buckley R Shaw
Didak Rocca T Cloke
Rusling Tarrant Fraser
Richards Licuria Holland

Burns Lockyer Obree Caracella

Johnson#26 said:
What is it, bib?
You twice went with a line of 3 KPP's , fine if the game was volleyball but far too big, immobile and not enough area for AFL.
Jason Cloke at CHB is quite frightening aswell , I'm still recovering from him being Pav-b*tched then getting absolutely McPharlaned.

bucksisbest said:
You twice went with a line of 3 KPP's , fine if the game was volleyball but far too big, immobile and not enough area for AFL.
Jason Cloke at CHB is quite frightening aswell , I'm still recovering from him being Pav-b*tched then getting absolutely McPharlaned.

That is just how the side would line up. I'd prefer for Presti to take the FF (Lloyd/Richardson), Wakelin the 2nd tall, Clement the 3rd and Jason Cloke....its hard one one. I know that there is a place for Clokey in the side - he was excellent as a loose man in 2002 and parts of 2003 - he has to be used in that capacity once again.

I dont think we will do so well this year, our list isn't good enough. Maybe if our lists could match a st kilda or west coast but until then we have to make do with young players trying to make it and aging players battling injuries.

MOTELSPECIAL said:
I dont think we will do so well this year, our list isn't good enough. Maybe if our lists could match a st kilda or west coast but until then we have to make do with young players trying to make it and aging players battling injuries.

Pretty sure last time I checked we beat west coast in 2004 and 2005, but more significant is the 2005 game as we were on the bottom and they were on the top, with key players out too, so dont tell me we cant match it with the best.

My last effort:
FIGJAM said:
FB: Clement Prestigiacomo Davies
HB: Lonie Wakelin Maxwell
C: Johnson Didak Rowe
HF: Caracella Fraser
HFF: Tarrant
FF: Buckley Rocca Burns

FOL: Richards Licuria Holland

INT: R. Shaw T. Cloke Lockyer Rusling

EMG: Iacobucci C. Cloke Swan
Now:

FB: Clement Prestigiacomo Swan
HB: Lonie Wakelin Maxwell
C: Johnson Buckley Caracella
HF: Didak Davis
HFF: Tarrant
FF: Fraser Rocca Burns

FOL: Richards Licuria Holland

INT: C. Egan Davies T. Cloke O'Bree

EMG: T. Lockyer R. Shaw C. Cloke S. Rusling

Inj: Iacobucci Rowe

Kids to have a run sooner rather than later: Thomas Anthony

-----------------------

Changes are based on pre-season reports only. Will have a better idea once we see them have a dip under propperish match conditions.

Hard to pick. Not that that necessarily transfers to quality, but there is good natural competition now that most are fit.

Bucks is mega-fit. Might as well let him do what he wants (for the most part), which is to control the game from the centre.

A Buckley, Lica, Holland combo is pretty good. Richards is a wish I spose, but even if his output around the ground is rusty, he will easily get more hitouts than Josh. If at worst this is a neutral result, then we're better off than last year!

The HB to HF lines have some good runners with goodish footskills, and they're on their preferred side (with natural hook towards boundary line).

I'd like to see O'Bree used as a bread and butter rotation in the guts, with Davies used as a bit of a junk yard dog stoppage specialist when a bit of sting has gone out of the game. T-Clo is a versatile tall who I think can play both ends and having Egan in provides the pacey freak which is a good gamble from time to time.

Taz can play a Riewold-ish role. At least then he'll end up with less set shots! Rocca can be the Rock. Sir can retire with some goals and Frase can present in a pocket until Stretch is knackered.

I like the idea of having hungry pricks like Daks and Leon floating in and around the forward 50, linking and sharking.

Back 6 are OK. Swan mightn't be acceptable for some small forwards, but take that on a game by game basis.

Rhyce will have to show he's 100% fit. Lockyer isn't in my team, but we all know he'll be starting 18 despite our opinions.

MOTELSPECIAL said:

sydney's was so good last year, definetly teh best list in the competition :thumbsd:

similar to figgy's but just some minor adjustments

FB: Clement, Presti, Swan(Lockyer)
HB: B.Johnson, Wakes, Maxwell

prefer Swan over H.Shaw at de minute, most likely that T.Lockyer will get this position anyway!!

Think B.Johnson is better used coming off the HBF than Lonie

C: Lonie, Buckley, Didak
HF: Burns, Fraser, Tarrant, Davis
FF: Caracella, Rocca

Reckon it is much more important to get Didak into the middle, Fraser & Tarrant as double pronged CHF targets

R: Richards, Licka, Holland

Int: Rowe, C.Cloke, O'Bree, C.Egan

Think that Rowe is ahead of B.Davies at this stage
C.Cloke to be the enforcer type player

T.Cloke to play CHF at willi
T.Walker to play CHB at willi
D.Fanning to play ruck at willi

Davies, R.Shaw, H.Shaw, Swan most unlucky to miss out on the 22

sydney had a decent squad of players.. a good midfield and agruably the best forward in the league in barry hall.. A rocca as good as was in 2002 i dont think could do the job hall did in 2005. Our midfield is almost the worst in the AFL.. LICCA then where do we go.. davies hasnt shown enough obree is on his last legs as is lockyer... we are lacking in all areas. Tarrant is a champ and i look at our forward line.. didak fantastic carracella mr experience trav cloke could be anything and bucks extremely handy but i believe you need the classy midfield of a westcoast to make the granny. Kerr, judd, embly,flecther, cox, cousins all potential all australians and its the bloody midfield.... we will struggle.

MOTELSPECIAL said:
sydney had a decent squad of players.. a good midfield and agruably the best forward in the league in barry hall.. A rocca as good as was in 2002 i dont think could do the job hall did in 2005. Our midfield is almost the worst in the AFL.. LICCA then where do we go.. davies hasnt shown enough obree is on his last legs as is lockyer... we are lacking in all areas. Tarrant is a champ and i look at our forward line.. didak fantastic carracella mr experience trav cloke could be anything and bucks extremely handy but i believe you need the classy midfield of a westcoast to make the granny. Kerr, judd, embly,flecther, cox, cousins all potential all australians and its the bloody midfield.... we will struggle.

I still thought be beat them last year... As it was said in the commentary during that game, you dont need to have the silky speedy midfield that everyone is craving, if your beating your direct opponant to the ball, you are making them look slow. The way to be west coast is to play corridor football, keep it in tight where the pressure is hot and they will make mistakes.

As for the names you produced.

Judd- Gets owned every time by racer, he doesnt like the tight tag that can stay with him.

Embly- Soft outsider IMO, needs the ball shovelled to him by judd kerr and cousins.

Kerr- A terrier much like our very own holland. Kerr has the legspeed, holland has better footy smarts.

Cousins - Isnt better than bucks, so lets leave it at that.

The problem isnt that we have a bad midfield. We have an aging midfield that is slow, but if the game is played on our terms then the midfield battle isnt as important as the front and back halfs.

B: Swan Presti Wakes
HB: Clement T.Cloke Buckley
C: Lonie Holland J.Cloke
HF: Tarrant Fraser Burns
F: Lockyer Rocca Caracella
R: Richards Didak Licuria

I: C.Cloke Johnson R.Shaw Rusling

I reckon Trav and Bucks should play down back, Tarks is a good back pocket, but I was quite impressed with his work in the forward pocket last year and believe he should be left there for a while. I'd like to see this side take on St Kilda in the real season, match em for height and put a bit of grunt in the middle to beat up their gutless midfield especially without the dog this year

Lockyer Presti Maxwell
Lonie Wakelin Clement
Didak Holland Johnson
T Cloke Caracella Tarrant
Davis Rocca Burns

Rucks. Fraser Buckley Licuria

inter. Davies Richards R Shaw OBree

---------------------------------------

I think this is our best side despite quite a few of the same old (underperoming) suspects. Lockyer, OBree, Davis, Lonie, Richards etc. If they dont deliver they must move along and give a chance to some others like Egan, Swan, Thomas, JCloke, Heath, Flaps, CC etc and see what they can do for us.

Id rotate Rusling and TC at HF - about 11 games each for the season to keep them fresh. Both I think have talent but are too young to be playing full seasons at 100%. Could perhaps do a similar thing with CC/FLaps/Richards as the back up ruckman.

Not a great squad but injury free its propably fairly competetive if Didak and Johnson can have breakthrough seasons in midfield.

PS. So happy I dont have to find a place to hide Cole anymore.

To put holland in the same boat as kerr is a joke. Kerr is an A grade player holland is barely a C grade player. Holland as alot to prove this year even though he showed a bit in our dissapointing team last year. Ide swap holland for kerr anyday.
Judd say no more we havent got a player like him in our team currently... maybe bucks 3 years ago... we havent got any current stars... dont say didnt either because they had Hall and co. Rocca is the key to the pies he needs to kick at least 70 goals and i just cant see it happening.Tarrant must take 10 marks and game and deliver.
I believe the pies are carrying alot of C grade players..
DAVIS
LONIE
MORRISON
H SHAW
HALL
SWAN
J CLOKE
LOCKYER
WALKER
OBREE
All of these players will be gone in 2 years

PLAYERS I HAVENT SEEN ENOUGH OFF
DAVIES
FANNING
RICHARDS
MAXWELL
RUSLING
YAKKA
ROWE

AGING PLAYERS THAT MUST BE MANAGED

WAKES
BUCKS
BURNS
CARRACELLA

A GRADE

CLEMENT
LICCA
DIDAK

B GRADE

R SHAW
B JOHNSON
PRESTI

LACKING MORE OF THESE SORT

PLAYERS PLAGED BY INJURY
A ROCCA
J FRASER

YOUNG PLAYERS POTENTIAL 10 YEAR PLAYERS
T CLOKE

THEN OF COURSE THERES THE PLAYERS WE RECRUITED
but i wont add them because i havent seen them play a game of afl yet!:p

Overall i see another high turnover of players at the end of 2006.

WHAT IS WRONG WITH O'BREE???

In 2005, he was one of our best players. 80 tackles, Impact of more than 100%, got clearances, pretty consistent!!!

:confused: