- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Hawthorn
- Other Teams
- Sluggers
Well, that was my most pleasurable Saturday arvo viewing experience for a long time. The jury was still out (well this jury of 1) as to whether we were really back, let's face it Richmond are as soft as my nan's buttercake; we needed to play well against a 'hard' team like the roos to show we were back in town.
Great team performance, some player reviews;
Lekkas: BOG for me. Very underrated this guy; always been a good possession accumulator, this year he is using the pill better than he ever has.
Rawlings: 2nd BOG. Far too good for Diggers. His marking is returning to it's very best - a sure sign of improving form and confidence.
Picioane: This is a big call but, IMHO this guy is now in our top 5 players. So smart, creative, tough and skillful. I loved his quick flick pass to Chicky which resulted in a Chick goal. Chick laughed and pointed to his head afterwards as if to say "smart work mate". I am a huge fan of Lance.
S Cox: Very impressive; our designated kicker, not the most physical or accountable but improving all the time.
Crawford: Our heart and soul. Brilliant when we needed him to be. I think his corky caught up with him late in the game.
Thommo: I love this bloke, another big call but IMHO our 2nd most important player after Crawf. A 6 foot 5 ruck rover basicly, on his way to becoming a superstar.
Barker: Excellent, the confidence is returning every game.
Holland: Even tussle with Colbert. Says volumes when we can flog a team when Dutchy has a quiet one.
Ries: Excellent skills and hardness to boot. Big future.
Bateman: Good effort, excellent skills and pace. I would like to see him get more time on field though.
Campbell. Big wrap for this boy. Young and has made a few clangers on the way (hmmm...do I handball it or kick it) but has the mobility, skills and desire to make it. Will have to step up during Thommos absence.
Chick: Good presence in the forward line; solid game.
Barlow: Solid game, tough player to match up on.
Graham: Excellent game, his switching of play from the last line of defence was a highlight (if at times nerve wracking).
All in all, very pleasing; we seem to have gone to a more direct, long kicking game plan in the last couple of weeks. As we should, with our spine it is the only game plan we should use.
Fingers crossed for Thommo, hope it's not serious.
Great team performance, some player reviews;
Lekkas: BOG for me. Very underrated this guy; always been a good possession accumulator, this year he is using the pill better than he ever has.
Rawlings: 2nd BOG. Far too good for Diggers. His marking is returning to it's very best - a sure sign of improving form and confidence.
Picioane: This is a big call but, IMHO this guy is now in our top 5 players. So smart, creative, tough and skillful. I loved his quick flick pass to Chicky which resulted in a Chick goal. Chick laughed and pointed to his head afterwards as if to say "smart work mate". I am a huge fan of Lance.
S Cox: Very impressive; our designated kicker, not the most physical or accountable but improving all the time.
Crawford: Our heart and soul. Brilliant when we needed him to be. I think his corky caught up with him late in the game.
Thommo: I love this bloke, another big call but IMHO our 2nd most important player after Crawf. A 6 foot 5 ruck rover basicly, on his way to becoming a superstar.
Barker: Excellent, the confidence is returning every game.
Holland: Even tussle with Colbert. Says volumes when we can flog a team when Dutchy has a quiet one.
Ries: Excellent skills and hardness to boot. Big future.
Bateman: Good effort, excellent skills and pace. I would like to see him get more time on field though.
Campbell. Big wrap for this boy. Young and has made a few clangers on the way (hmmm...do I handball it or kick it) but has the mobility, skills and desire to make it. Will have to step up during Thommos absence.
Chick: Good presence in the forward line; solid game.
Barlow: Solid game, tough player to match up on.
Graham: Excellent game, his switching of play from the last line of defence was a highlight (if at times nerve wracking).
All in all, very pleasing; we seem to have gone to a more direct, long kicking game plan in the last couple of weeks. As we should, with our spine it is the only game plan we should use.
Fingers crossed for Thommo, hope it's not serious.