The 2008 Draw

I'm still looking for the new season fixture somewhere. Does anybody know where it can be found? I can only seem to find snippets of it.

BTW, realfooty tells us today that, much to the Tigers' chagrin, one of their home games is going to be against US at TELSTRA DOME in 2008 (Sorry Tiges fans, that sucks for you... mind you, we'll take it...)!

It hasn't been released yet.

I read somewhere that it should be released in the next couple of days.
I'm actually looking for some info on a Saints player - McQualter - anyone know?
The draw has been released in draft form only - to allow clubs to object - the AFL has refused Geelong's request for the 9 matches we asked for at KP - and have given us 5 interstate ones. We've also lost the blockbuster v Pies at the MCG (85,000) - what's the bet Collingwood get it as their home match. Don't expect too many favourable considerations for the Saints from Vlad and the mob!

BTW, realfooty tells us today that, much to the Tigers' chagrin, one of their home games is going to be against US at TELSTRA DOME in 2008 (Sorry Tiges fans, that sucks for you... mind you, we'll take it...)!

Yeah count your lucky stars. :mad:

You also play the Swans at home in round 1.

Sweet -Swans Rd 1.

If ever they can be called a likely win, its at the beginning of the season!

I'm actually looking for some info on a Saints player - McQualter - anyone know?

You understand he is under contract until end 2008, don't you?

What do you need to know?

Sweet -Swans Rd 1.

You understand he is under contract until end 2008, don't you?

What do you need to know?
I follow the Saints as a second team since most of my mates are St K nutters - if you Google his name you'll see refs to his delisting. Under contract in 2008 as far as I knew.
From Saintsational: "Brooks, Watts and McQualter are all rumoured to have been delisted along with Sweeney and Raymond."

Sweet -Swans Rd 1.

I say that tentitively by the way. That's how the draft draw was. I assume they wont be changing it.

Btw hopefully we'll get only one game against you this year for a change. We've played you twice a year since 2004. 8-0. :( :o

I say that tentitively by the way. That's how the draft draw was. I assume they wont be changing it.

Btw hopefully we'll get only one game against you this year for a change. We've played you twice a year since 2004. 8-0. :( :o

Wish list:

2 games against the Tiges
2 games against Carlton
0 games against Port
0 games against Essendon
1 game against Freo in Melbourne
0 games in Tassie

I just want a fair draw.

I am glad that the supersoftware program that they imported from US is being used, but I dispair at the parameters the AFL honchos have put in - is it really fair? or have they set it up to maximise profits by capitalising on the popular clubs at the biggest grounds?

Every club should have their fair crack at a blockbuster.

The Vic clubs should all get a similar number of interstate trips (outside of pre-arranged sale of home ground rights and special interstate arrangements).

http://www.afl.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=208&newsId=52789
The Saints will start the season with five matches at Telstra Dome. Just one of those five matches is an away clash, the round three clash against the Western Bulldogs. In fact, 10 of St Kilda's opening 13 rounds will be played at Telstra Dome.

To counter that, only four of the Saints' final nine matches will be played at the Docklands venue. The Saints will have just two home-and-away trips to the MCG – its fewest since 2004.

Night matches will be a feature for St Kilda in 2008. The club will play 13 matches at night – eight on Saturday and five on Friday.

The Saints will venture outside of Victoria on six occasions – twice to Subiaco Oval, once to AAMI Stadium, once to the Gabba, once to Gold Coast Stadium and once to the SCG. re outside of Victoria on six occasions – twice to Subiaco Oval, once to AAMI Stadium, once to the Gabba, once to Gold Coast Stadium and once to the SCG.

Full Fixture: http://www.afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=52786

Saints Fixture: (page 25)
http://afl.com.au/Portals/0/afl_docs/2008_Schedule_By_Team_Report_FINAL.pdf

It looks like we're the only victorian team to play 6 games interstate.

Not surprised to see C*wood, Ess & Carl with only 4 interstaters.

oooo I can take my surfboard to the Roos game! :):thumbsu: might make it an extended stay.

everyone get onto those cheap flights!

In fact it's just one match at the MCG, against Collingwood in Heritage Round, Round 19. Think they may actually celebrate their heritage this year, rather than wear the jumper they have only been wearing for eight years? They had no problem wearing their heritage jumper in two finals this year.

Fifteen Telstra Dome games I am happy about, and only one Saturday afternoon game in Melbourne is good as I play footy on Saturdays. We play Carlton, Essendon & the Western Bulldogs twice, with all those six matches at the Telstra Dome. And we play Port Adelaide at the Telstra Dome they hate so much for the first time since 2002.

But we have 6 interstate trips, including a trip to the Gold Coast I could see coming a mile away. And we go to Subiaco to play Fremantle AGAIN. Thirteen consecutive years and counting. The only interstate trip we miss is Adelaide, and we have beaten them at AAMI Stadium the last two times we have played them there.

And yet again we seem to play most of our home matches before the half way mark of the season. When was the last time we have four of our last seven games at home?

Stats

11 home games at Telstra Dome
3 away games at Telstra Dome
------------------------------------------
14 games at Telstra Dome (9 in the first 11 rounds)
------------------------------------------

We play the following sides twice: (2007 ladder position in brackets)
- Carlton (15th)
- Collingwood (4th)
- Essendon (12th)
- Fremantle (11th)
- Port Adelaide (2nd)
- Sydney (8th)
- Western Bulldogs (13th)

We have five six-day breaks, a decrease of one on last year

We have six interstate trips, an increase of one on last year

Friday night games = 5
Saturday afternoon games = 2
Saturday night games = 8
Sunday (early) games = 1
Sunday afternoon games = 4
Sunday twilight games = 2 (one in WA)

We play Port Adelaide at Telstra Dome for the first time in seven years
We play Melbourne at Telstra Dome for the first time since 2005

We play at Subiaco twice, as we have in 1996, 1997, 2001, 2003, 2005, 2006 and 2007; we have had the most WA trips of any Victorian club since Fremantle entered the competition in 1996 (we also have the highest number of WA supporters of any club)

We only play at the MCG twice - bad news for all those MCC members wanting value for their membership!

Analysis

As others have said, it is imperative that we get off to a good start. Streak-like, in fact. Our run home is far more difficult than it was in 2007.

Rounds 1-11

In this first half of the draw, we have a very favourable run, with 9 of the first 11 at Telstra Dome. This means we must be well ahead of the ledger at the halfway mark.

Our only two interstate trips are AAMI and the Gabba, neither of which are beyond us winning - they are against Port and Brisbane respectively.

Looking at the first 11 rounds, we play 8 matches against teams who finished 9th-16th in 2007.

That's eight matches against the worst teams from '07, which provides another terrific opportunity for us to start the year well.

The only concern with so many matches at the Dome is the level of injuries/fatigue that may result. Players claim that the surface is hard, and with five matches in a row there to start the year, we will certainly see whether or not we can back up our performances.

We only have 2 of our 5 six-day breaks in the first half of the year, which is again a big positive for the club.

Verdict: All indicators point to a dream run in the first half of the year, and to play finals, the Saints must be at least 7-4 after eleven rounds. To lose any more games than this and waste what is a terrific opportunity would be tragic, and would see us struggle to make the final eight.

Rounds 12-22

In the second half of the draw, we only have five matches at Telstra Dome, and seven in Melbourne.

Our interstate trips are to the SCG, Gold Coast and Subiaco (twice). Apart from the WA trips (unless we have a milestone game!), the other two interstate games are very winnable ones.

Looking at the last 11 rounds, we play 4 matches against teams who finished 9th-16th in 2007.

That's only four games against the bottom teams from this year, which highlights the more difficult task we have in the second half of the year.

We have 3 of our 5 six-day breaks in the second half of the year, including a crazy patch of three matches in twelve days from Rounds 11-13, with a trip to the SCG included. On the flipside, 4 of our last 5 matches are in Melbourne.

Verdict: We have a much tougher run in the second half of the year, and if we can win 6 games out of the last 11, we would be winning the expected matches. To win any more than this would be a huge bonus, and would propel us in to the top four.

I agree Oh When the...Did my prediction on where we'll finish before I opened this thread and I had us 12-10, with us 7-4 after 11, just like you mentioned.

Only one game at the MCG and only two Saturday arvo games is disappointing from a viewing perspective, but Saturday night is the next best slot so it's OK.

surprised our sydney game is @ SCG considering there were about 60K at the game this year...

I was about to post the very same thing. I'm a little confused why Essendon has recieved the 4th Telstra staduim match. If Essendon were in the top eight, for sure, they will have a much bigger drawing power than the Saints. However, as Ross Lyon found, changing coaches can sometimes provide a difficult year (does not help with Hird retiring)

Well i bet you St.kilda themselves would rather play on the SCG. We play that ground a lot better, we struggled on TS.

Yea but the SCG is so small and it really favours the Swans tactically. When we won there a couple of years ago it was raining and we only did them by a couple of points. Good for me though as its usually much closer to the action.

surprised our sydney game is @ SCG considering there were about 60K at the game this year...

I think it was because of the Breast Cancer pink lady function.

We attracted 13000+ ladies and men to participate. If that wasn't the case, there would be only 40,000 attending. Thats probably why we moved the game to the SCG. However, I don't know why we are playing Essendon at TS.

And yet again we seem to play most of our home matches before the half way mark of the season. When was the last time we have four of our last seven games at home?

We finished this year with a lot of home games didn't we?

We are going to have to shake our traditional slow start to the season next year, or we will end up in Nexus_Helen territory.

We finished this year with a lot of home games didn't we?

We are going to have to shake our traditional slow start to the season next year, or we will end up in Nexus_Helen territory.

2006 - Home 6 of first 11, 8 of first 15
2005 - Home 8 of first 14, with one of the remaining home games in Tasmania

All I am saying is it would be nice if we, for once, played four of our final seven games as home games at Telstra Dome. Because I cannot remember when it happened last.