The Aaron Keating Medal

Well yes Robert but now you've ruined it and will probably be in the divvy before too long :drunk:
Don't you dare put this one on me Russell you scumbag! It's a well known fact that your posting has a tendency to get entire threads divvied. All that hard work by the OP, just to get divvied because of you, well done mate, what a champ... :thumbsdown::$

"awarded each year to the premiership player that has the least notable career outside of that one day in September"

Did **** all for the Roos but had a pretty decent career after that.

After the raging success of this thread I'll do the Leon Davis Medal next, Mooney will be a lay down misere for 1999 :p
Nah, I disagree. Leon Davis medal is not like the Norm, It can only go to someone on the losing side otherwise it means shit. Sort of like the Norm should be.

OP the medal is actually called the Mario Bortolotto medal.Mario is a f.....g legend, 40 odd games of footy,from recollection 6 finals and 2 premierships for Carlton the equal number of premerships for the expansion sides, the dogs, the saints and Fremantle.
All hail the Italian stallion Mario.

2002 - Aaron Shattock (Brisbane)

One of the few Brisbane premiership players not to be a household name, Shattock played 57 games for Brisbane in six seasons, including the 2002 grand final in which he failed to get a single possession.

In 2004 he was traded to Port for a swap of draft picks, and played 11 games in two seasons for the Power before being delisted.

24639.jpg
Premierships are funny things. Great players can go their entire careers without getting their hands on one, particularly if they play for St Kilda or Footscray. On the other hand, some players will be in the right place at the right time, jag a medal and then fade away into obscurity, destined to become the answer to a pub trivia question.

Aaron Keating is the poster child for such players. The Crows ruckman played in the 1997 grand final, just his third game at AFL level and just two weeks after playing for Norwood's ressies. He failed to gather a possession but still received a premiership medal as Adelaide won their first flag. Keating played three games the following season for a grand total of six before being delisted. His career stats read: 6 games, 26 possessions, 1 goal, 1 premiership.

A little-known fact is that the AFL commissioned a special medal in his honour, awarded each year to the premiership player that has the least notable career outside of that one day in September. On the eve of the 2014 grand final, this thread celebrates those players.

(To the inevitable responses of "You flog, they've achieved much more than you, what have you ever won you flog?" - congratulations, you've completely missed the point. Of course they've achieved more than me. They've also achieved more than Rob Harvey, Nathan Buckley, Scott West, Matthew Pavlich and Robbie Flower - the ultimate team success that every footy player aspires to. That's the point)

He won another flag with Norwood seniors the very next week!

FiveStrings Mario Bortolotto. Look him up and GApE with awe

Just did, he had quite the career!

Though his record of a premiership every 22 games is smashed by Keating's premiership every 6 games ;)

Just did, he had quite the career!

Though his record of a premiership every 22 games is smashed by Keating's premiership every 6 games ;)
Mario some would unkindly say downhill skied for 2 cups. From recollection he got sfa possessions in one of his gfs. The patron saint of premiership trolling.

Aaron Keating would've got smashed by our two best ruckmen Spida Everitt and Lazar Vidovic but they were both out injured/suspended.

So we had our third string ruckman Brett Cook up against him, who's main claim to fame was wrecking Corey McKernan's shoulder in a tackle in the prelim.

Only St Kilda could manufacture such failure.

Aaron Keating would've got smashed by our two best ruckmen Spida Everitt and Lazar Vidovic but they were both out injured/suspended.

So we had our third string ruckman Brett Cook up against him, who's main claim to fame was wrecking Corey McKernan's shoulder in a tackle in the prelim.

Handing you a moral victory

Mario some would unkindly say downhill skied for 2 cups. From recollection he got sfa possessions in one of his gfs. The patron saint of premiership trolling.

2001 winner can almost rival that, though to be fair he had a shocking injury run and as a Swan Districts boy I'm obligated to have a soft spot for him.

2001 - Beau McDonald (Brisbane)

Very difficult selection as the entire premiership 22 went on to play in the 2002 and/or 2003 flags.

Ruckman Beau McDonald gets the nod for being the only player to fail to reach 100 games, and for recording just a solitary handball in the 2001 granny. That was one possession more than he managed in 2002 after he suffered a shoulder injury in the opening quarter.

McDonald played 91 games for the Lions before eventually retiring in 2008.

2001 winner can almost rival that, though to be fair he had a shocking injury run and as a Swan Districts boy I'm obligated to have a soft spot for him.

2001 - Beau McDonald (Brisbane)

Very difficult selection as the entire premiership 22 went on to play in the 2002 and/or 2003 flags.

Ruckman Beau McDonald gets the nod for being the only player to fail to reach 100 games, and for recording just a solitary handball in the 2001 granny. That was one possession more than he managed in 2002 after he suffered a shoulder injury in the opening quarter.

McDonald played 91 games for the Lions before eventually retiring in 2008.
Brad Johnson is weeping at this tbread

Not to mention Winmar and Loewe during grand final week.

Literally everything went right for the crows in september 1997

24639.jpg
Premierships are funny things. Great players can go their entire careers without getting their hands on one, particularly if they play for St Kilda or Footscray. On the other hand, some players will be in the right place at the right time, jag a medal and then fade away into obscurity, destined to become the answer to a pub trivia question.

Aaron Keating is the poster child for such players. The Crows ruckman played in the 1997 grand final, just his third game at AFL level and just two weeks after playing for Norwood's ressies. He failed to gather a possession but still received a premiership medal as Adelaide won their first flag. Keating played three games the following season for a grand total of six before being delisted. His career stats read: 6 games, 26 possessions, 1 goal, 1 premiership.

A little-known fact is that the AFL commissioned a special medal in his honour, awarded each year to the premiership player that has the least notable career outside of that one day in September. On the eve of the 2014 grand final, this thread celebrates those players.

(To the inevitable responses of "You flog, they've achieved much more than you, what have you ever won you flog?" - congratulations, you've completely missed the point. Of course they've achieved more than me. They've also achieved more than Rob Harvey, Nathan Buckley, Scott West, Matthew Pavlich and Robbie Flower - the ultimate team success that every footy player aspires to. That's the point)
You flog, they've achieved much more than you, what have you ever won you flog?