tiger coll

g'day guys
missin the footy season a lot and over the last couple of days been thinkin of the good times at richmond games, and in particular the big crowd lifting goals which make you jump out of your seat and go ballistic with 30,000 other tiger supporters.

so was just wondering if there are any goals that stick in your memory where the roar in the crowd was deafening?

couple come to mind......95 semi final v essendon when chrissy naish goaled on the run from 50 in the third quarter to get us within 1-2 goals after bein 5 goals down at half time. it was kicked to the punt rd end which was chock full of crazy tiger supporters. the roar was unbeliavable and i reckon the southern stand almost collapsed.

another one....may be hard to remember. it was in the 2005 game against collingwood when browny kicked 5 in the last quarter. however, it was a goal by mark coughlan early in the last that i will never forget. from memory it had been a really tight game all day, and coughlan received the crumbs from a collingwood kick out. he turned and goaled from 50 on the run to put us bout 3 goals clear and a likely win. it was kicked to the ponsford stand end where i was sittin.......one of the biggest roars ever. i had goosebumps for bout 2 minutes after it, the tiger fans went nuts. i remember goin home to watch the replay on channel 9 after and the roar on the tv was so loud. i remember jb saying at the time of the goal "the tiger fans go nuts"!!!

i reckon we have the best supporters by far. nothin better than bein surrounded by heaps of tigers supporters and riding home a big big goal.

love to hear some more memorable goals....cheers

The one that always stands out in my mind is Ray Hall kicking a long bomb from about 55 in the semi final against Carlton in 2001

At that time i was in love with the man! How things have changed since....:(

haha yeah true.
makes me remember the sealer kicked by rory hilton in that game. richo was runnin into goal and handpassed it over a carlton guy to hilton. punt rd end went psycho.....another great memory - probably the best thing hilton ever did at our club.

Chris Newman in 2007 against Freo at Subi. Kicked the ball from well inside the centre square for the goal.

Joel Bowden gets a couple of nods too:
- His goal from 55m a few years ago was receieved by one of the biggest raws I have ever heard.
- His goal against StKilda? in maybe 04 or 05 when he dumbied three Saints players and sloted it from 30m, with the big fist pump at the end
- His goal against Brisbane this year. Massive goal that gave us the match in the end

Wayne Campbell's? goal against Hawthorn? or the Western Bulldogs in maybe 2000/01/02? to put us in front for the first time was massive. We were about 50 points down at one stage I think

The goal i remember in my head was when Richo went nuts vs the Dogs and kicked his 10 goals. The one where Richo handed it over the top to a Tigers player in the goalsquare...a player i have forgotten

the crowd went as so....

"WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWAHATTTHE**** ARE YOU DOING ?!!?!?!"

Cogs goal against the hawks in 2003. we were down by 50 odd points early in the game. he took the ball out of the center ran inside 50 and slotted it. Don't remember if it cut the lead or extentend ours but i remember all the tigers supporters going crazy!!!

"Bond comes in...gives it to Naish (?), off to Maxfield. Go and kick the goal Stuey...and he does!"
Thanks to Bruce for that one!!!
I think that was the drawn game vs Essendon, 95'.

Also when Petiffer kicked the goal in 2005 (?) from the goalsquare to put us a point or two up!!!
**** yeah.

I think that might have been the same game that Ritchie Vandenberg missed from 40 out with Hall marking on the line!

And of course Bowdens vs Brisbane this year
and vs St Kilda with the dummies.
Brilliance!

"Bond comes in...gives it to Naish (?), off to Maxfield. Go and kick the goal Stuey...straightens it up, bangs it home, its a beauty, their in front the tiges!"

Also when Petiffer kicked the goal in 2005 (?) from the goalsquare to put us a point or two up!!!
**** yeah.

I think that might have been the same game that Ritchie Vandenberg missed from 40 out with Hall marking on the line!

And of course Bowdens vs Brisbane this year
and vs St Kilda with the dummies.
Brilliance!

Thats how it goes!

Check out port v richmond highlights on youtube from this year. there is a goal which involves Polo gathering an impossible ball on the boundary, breaking a couple of tackles, and somehow getting it jr who squeezes it in. i think. anyway good goal.

The one that always stands out in my mind is Ray Hall kicking a long bomb from about 55 in the semi final against Carlton in 2001

At that time i was in love with the man! How things have changed since....:(

Yes top, that was even bigger than taking Camporeale out of the game with a hip and shoulder that was still ringing in his ears a week later.

Sad that Hall only made it back to the forward line for another five quarters (at best) of football in the rest of his career, for the absolutely shameful return of seven goals, one behind, and four Brownlow votes.

Fortunately, we can all wipe that utterly untapped potential from our minds, safe in the knowledge that champions like Shane Morrison, Paul Hudson, Adam Houlihan, Troy Simmonds, and Kayne Pettifer have all played massive roles across half-forward for us in the intervening years, while knee reco's for Holland and Gaspar plus a shameful lack of depth forced us to try and turn a 2nd ruck/forward with a freaky knack of drilling big goals from outside 50 (even as a raw junior) into a key defender.

Scotty Turner had more goals kicked on him than he's had hot dinners, but he'll always be remembered as a gutsy footballer who stood up and nailed Bomber Thompson and kicked a couple of magnificent goals when it counted.

The only thing crueler than football itself, is flawed perception. ;)

- His goal against StKilda? in maybe 04 or 05 when he dumbied three Saints players and sloted it from 30m, with the big fist pump at the end
-

That was 2003

Goals that stick out in my memory...

Scotty Turner in the 95 semi final against Essendon in the 3rd quarter from the throw in.

Nick Daffy's goal in the 3rd against Essendon in the 95 semi..

I remember bruce's commentary

"They're infront Robbo"

Nathan Foleys running goal against Collingwood in 2007
Richos left foot snap to get his 10th against the dogs in 2004
Matty White and Joel Bowdens goals against Brissy this year
Dean Polos goal in the Dreamtime match to tie up the scores...that was hectic
Any right foot snap that Nick Daffy goaled

Never ever forget 95 semi.

Scored a seat which I got from some Greek friends who I met that year from going to games on my own.

Just ditched my GF and was down in the tooth but Richmond got me back up again.

Anyways we had seats against the fence inbetween the right goal and behind post looking out in front of the cheer squad.

I brought the Richmond flag which were all handed out during the North final which we lost.

I don't think I saw Turners goal go through that game cause there were hands going up everywhere in celebration.

Richos tenth wasalso a memorable one.

...and Richos a few years ago when we hit the front against West Coast,he did the big fist pump and the crowd went bananas -I lost it lol -in the grog squad throwing my scarf all over the place accidently hitting people.

"Bond comes in...gives it to Naish (?), off to Maxfield. Go and kick the goal Stuey...and he does!"
Thats the standout for me ... even though we did not win that game ... f..k we showed heart , none more exemplified than Boofers goal :thumbsu:

Yeah that was a ripper in the rain that night.

LOL-remember all the Essendon fans thinking"this will be easy"when they started that Essendon chant around the ground ten minutes before the game.

I bloody had to piss off to a cover band gig that night and had my bandmates with me ready to rub it in and to haul me out the bastrds.

Owell I missed the last goal which was the won that drew it.

Thank christ I didn't see that!

Was like a funeral when Northey then Maxfield left the club.