Mega Thread The Bucks Megathread.

Some good signs last night.

Best forward pressure we've exhibited in a while.

Reid and Cox were used really well. Cox was good I thought.

I also think the coaches have realised we don't kick really well. We're running the ball more and linking up with handball, until it's in the hands of better kickers. The result was cleaner, less pressured entries which naturally led to more accurate goal kicking. It's a shame it's taken this long for them to implement this, but it's good tactics for our list nonetheless. Wells will add further to this with good run and carry and excellent kicking skills. It's good to see the ball moving quickly for a change.

Yes, pies played well toward the end of 1st and in the second. I didn’t think there were any passengers last night. Most played ok, a few like Sidebottom finally gave the output they should be providing week in week out.

Pies are able to clog teams up for chunks of time, and then we get opened up for large chunks of the game too. Last 4 years on repeat.

My main concern is that yes, i know Pies kicked 10 in a row, but we turn up vs Port or other top 8 sides and that don’t happen. That first 20 minutes was woeful, and a good side goes 6 or more goals up at 1/4 time.

It reminded me of round 3 last year vs swans. Played one great qtr to get the lead, and then played average football instead of putting the peddle to the metal and belting a swans side made up of NEAFL players. In that game swans won the remaining 3/4s of the game something like 78 to 52 (from memory).

The dreaded red time goals (and scoring shots) are also still a problem. With 5 on the clock in the 3rd they chipped it around to waste the clock. Smart move.

But with under 2 on the clock they go all out to score? Sidebottom turns it over in the pocket and Carlton go coast to coast and Levi marks and kicks after the siren.
Had Levi kicked it, our win becomes a 19 point win. Again even more Lacklustre.

If you’re chipping around with 5 left, then be consistent and chip it around with 2 left on the clock. This has been an issue for over 4 years, and Bucks has not demonstrated any influence to get them to consistently adhere to that aspect of his gameplan.

Pies look great when teams don’t bring any heat. 2nd qtr is perfect example. But when you have a top 6 caliber midfield and a top 3 ruck man in the comp, I don’t think 24 point win vs Carlton is strong enough evidence to suggest Buckley is the next Malthouse/Matthews/Kyne/McHale/Rush/Angus. It suggests where flat track bullies. We got smashed 17-6 at the centre clearance by a bottom 6 midfield. Lost clearnances 37 to 32. Now you can’t make excuses for this, Injuries to Moore, faz, Elliot, DeGoey and who ever else is missing from our fwd line has no bearing on our ability to win clearances.

The other thing I seen recently that I think reflects on Bucks influence, is sticking it to opposition players after a goal is scored. I’d rather our players celebrate our goals with each other instead of going after opposition players like Pendlebury and Crocker have done in consecutive weeks. I think it’s something the coaching and leadership group have discussed and decided “yep let’s be make believe tough guys, let’s have a crack at defenders after we kick goals”.

I would rather see our players worry about putting their head of the ball when it matters and win the next centre clearance than carrying on like faux tough guys. I’d rather see WHE out muscle Dureaya in round 1 instead of being pushed around like a child on centre wing than our players carrying on like complete ball bags after a goal is scored. Players like millane and banks were tough all the time, not just taking cheap shots after goals. Reeks of poor leadership in my view, and poor leadership is Buckley’s bread and butter as a coach
I wish you were our coach.

Yes, pies played well toward the end of 1st and in the second. I didn’t think there were any passengers last night. Most played ok, a few like Sidebottom finally gave the output they should be providing week in week out.

Pies are able to clog teams up for chunks of time, and then we get opened up for large chunks of the game too. Last 4 years on repeat.

My main concern is that yes, i know Pies kicked 10 in a row, but we turn up vs Port or other top 8 sides and that don’t happen. That first 20 minutes was woeful, and a good side goes 6 or more goals up at 1/4 time.

It reminded me of round 3 last year vs swans. Played one great qtr to get the lead, and then played average football instead of putting the peddle to the metal and belting a swans side made up of NEAFL players. In that game swans won the remaining 3/4s of the game something like 78 to 52 (from memory).

The dreaded red time goals (and scoring shots) are also still a problem. With 5 on the clock in the 3rd they chipped it around to waste the clock. Smart move.

But with under 2 on the clock they go all out to score? Sidebottom turns it over in the pocket and Carlton go coast to coast and Levi marks and kicks after the siren.
Had Levi kicked it, our win becomes a 19 point win. Again even more Lacklustre.

If you’re chipping around with 5 left, then be consistent and chip it around with 2 left on the clock. This has been an issue for over 4 years, and Bucks has not demonstrated any influence to get them to consistently adhere to that aspect of his gameplan.

Pies look great when teams don’t bring any heat. 2nd qtr is perfect example. But when you have a top 6 caliber midfield and a top 3 ruck man in the comp, I don’t think 24 point win vs Carlton is strong enough evidence to suggest Buckley is the next Malthouse/Matthews/Kyne/McHale/Rush/Angus. It suggests where flat track bullies. We got smashed 17-6 at the centre clearance by a bottom 6 midfield. Lost clearnances 37 to 32. Now you can’t make excuses for this, Injuries to Moore, faz, Elliot, DeGoey and who ever else is missing from our fwd line has no bearing on our ability to win clearances.

The other thing I seen recently that I think reflects on Bucks influence, is sticking it to opposition players after a goal is scored. I’d rather our players celebrate our goals with each other instead of going after opposition players like Pendlebury and Crocker have done in consecutive weeks. I think it’s something the coaching and leadership group have discussed and decided “yep let’s be make believe tough guys, let’s have a crack at defenders after we kick goals”.

I would rather see our players worry about putting their head of the ball when it matters and win the next centre clearance than carrying on like faux tough guys. I’d rather see WHE out muscle Dureaya in round 1 instead of being pushed around like a child on centre wing than our players carrying on like complete ball bags after a goal is scored. Players like millane and banks were tough all the time, not just taking cheap shots after goals. Reeks of poor leadership in my view, and poor leadership is Buckley’s bread and butter as a coach

Mate - you’re the sort of bloke that looks at a glass filled to the brim and says - what’s that in the empty glass.

And as for your creative recasting of reality above, you should consider a career as fiction a writer.

This message has been noted for my list, my precious list...

Good to read you have a list and honoured to have finally joined it

Before 911 practical jokes could be more creative

We had a colleague who was a little annoying and was soon departing the office with his luggage for a Sydney - NY flight

So we cut out the shape of a pistol from an aluminium sheet. We then inserted this in the lining of his suitcase

Good to read you have a list and honoured to have finally joined it

Before 911 practical jokes could be more creative

We had a colleague who was a little annoying and was soon departing the office with his luggage for a Sydney - NY flight

So we cut out the shape of a pistol from an aluminium sheet. We then inserted this in the lining of his suitcase
Lol what was the end result.

Here's some perspective - given you lack it.
- we kicked 10 unanswered goals, with some coaching led positional tweeks
- we were down 2 player after half time v GWS not one, so no, Carlton with one down where not impacted as we were last week
- no skill? - kicked 10-1 from set shots, only 2 players had DE less than 70%,
- Buckley gave Bolton a coaching lesson, with the unpredictability of a small fwd line
- this VFL side that we played, were 3 months younger and had 2 games less experienced than us

All the above and we still have a heap of improvement with some stars to return in the coming weeks.

Sorry our win has spoilt your week end.

PS; you got one thing right - we took the foot off the throat, but still Carlton were flattered by the score - and that's according to the Carlton board

I’m the one that lacks perspective am I. Haha. I beg to differ.

- we kicked 10 straight goals cause Carlton are a young side. Not really because of genius coaching moves. Wow he rotated sidebottom and treloar into FF line. What took him 3 games to do that?

- we were down 2 players vs gws at half time. GWS also lost their best two way runner (Scully) in the 1st qtr. Broomhead and Moore really don’t have the impact Scully has on a game. So it was 20 vs 21. Hence my “1 player down” comment.

- yeah no skill. We fumbled our way threw the whole friggin game. Good to kick straight for once. Carlton did get more scoring shots though didn’t they?

- Bolton out coached? Really? Whatever Carlton are coached to do at stoppages, works a lot better than our gun midfields out put. We got smashed in the middle by a dud midfield group. As I’ve always said, we have a top 6 list and always have since 2012. Carlton’s list is young and going to be building for another 2-3 years. Let’s see where the blues are in 2 years before hanging their coach out to dry. Our coach has had 7 years to build a top 6 side and failed.

- 3 months younger? Is that on average?Our backline has much more experience in it than Carlton I would have thought. Like I said, our mids are top 6 quality. Carlton’s is a bottom 4 midfield. Regardless of overall age, our list should have been top 8 in the last 4 years. I don’t think anyone would say that of Carlton. Without Gibbs their mids field has no class runners or disposers of the ball.

And we’d want to have a heap of improvement. Cause from what I saw last night, you’re looking at another under achieving year of between 9 to 11 wins

Mate - you’re the sort of bloke that looks at a glass filled to the brim and says - what’s that in the empty glass.

And as for your creative recasting of reality above, you should consider a career as fiction a writer.

Actually, I’m quite an optimistic person. Regardless of the result I call it objectively. I look the process more than results. And the process been poor the entirety of bucks’ coaching career. Sorry, I don’t drink the cool aid when the pies get a W vs a bottom 4 side.

I don’t just don’t see anything really impressive or different to previous years under Bucks. And most importantly, I still don’t see flag(s) under Bucks.

just finally feels good to have a win. well coached last night, actually looked like we had a plan and we kept to it

Some observations from last night:

- Agree, I think I saw a semblance of a game plan but it's hard to get a handle on it as the opposition was poor after the opening 20 odd minutes.
- Buckley and his men had a good night in the coaches box and arguably in their pre-planning.
- Over the 1st 3 matches, the players have demonstrated commitment and exerted pressure on the opposition (particularly GWS) - kudos to the players and the coaches.
- I think an important point - we had 20 shots at goal and kicked 16:4. A rarity and this won't happen again. It was our night. Normally we would kick say 8:12/9:11/10:10 which is about our standard return. So possibly the unbelievable accuracy made the result look better, not to mention the opposition. Possibly the lack of pressure from Carlton helped towards our amazing accuracy. When an average footballer (not a criticism) like Thomas kicks 5 goals and some nice goals at that, you gotta think the pressure from the opposition was poor/non-existent.

This result will provide some short term relief but that should be about it. It won't/shouldn't change the bigger picture. I suspect this side will still finish with around 9-10 wins and effectively just standstill. Is that an acceptable outcome?

Agree, we did not make any great statements, but we played a team that was not that much different to last year when we lost, and this year won it. With a lot of improvement left in how we play and personal to come back in. It not total doom and gloom. Yet. The next three games will tell a lot about this team.

And that's the frustrating thing, there is so much potential in this side and has been for some time. It is dismissed by both oppo supporters and commentators alike because that potential never comes to fruition. I'll reserve my pessimism until such time as we consistently win and play well, if we win 7 by the bye then you could say it is finally turning around - right now I don't see it.

- we kicked 10 straight goals cause Carlton are a young side. Not really because of genius coaching moves. Wow he rotated sidebottom and treloar into FF line. What took him 3 games to do that?

- we were down 2 players vs gws at half time. GWS also lost their best two way runner (Scully) in the 1st qtr. Broomhead and Moore really don’t have the impact Scully has on a game. So it was 20 vs 21. Hence my “1 player down” comment.

- yeah no skill. We fumbled our way threw the whole friggin game. Good to kick straight for once. Carlton did get more scoring shots though didn’t they?

- Bolton out coached? Really? Whatever Carlton are coached to do at stoppages, works a lot better than our gun midfields out put. We got smashed in the middle by a dud midfield group. As I’ve always said, we have a top 6 list and always have since 2012. Carlton’s list is young and going to be building for another 2-3 years. Let’s see where the blues are in 2 years before hanging their coach out to dry. Our coach has had 7 years to build a top 6 side and failed.

- 3 months younger? Is that on average?Our backline has much more experience in it than Carlton I would have thought. Like I said, our mids are top 6 quality. Carlton’s is a bottom 4 midfield. Regardless of overall age, our list should have been top 8 in the last 4 years. I don’t think anyone would say that of Carlton. Without Gibbs their mids field has no class runners or disposers of the ball.

And we’d want to have a heap of improvement. Cause from what I saw last night, you’re looking at another under achieving year of between 9 to 11 wins

So when the case is made here, so often that we won the stats but lost as has happened so many times in recent years - we get no credit from the critics.

But when Carlton win stats in a few key areas you bag us, despite winning.

There is no perspective - you are clearly biased.

You counter re age is absurd, and I also remind you we had 2 games more experience - so again detracting from our win based on both these factors is incorrect.

And yes - on any measure Buckley outcoached Bolton - Fact.
Pendlebury tagging Cripps at the stoppages, Sidey and AT fwd, etc etc.

I will not go any further - you’ve had a setback in your agenda this week, so go and get a drink.

And yes - on any measure Buckley outcoached Bolton - Fact.
Pendlebury tagging Cripps at the stoppages, Sidey and AT fwd, etc etc.

I will not go any further - you’ve had a setback in your agenda this week, so go and get a drink.

He definitely outcoached Bolton on the night, this I agree with.

However, lets keep it in perspective- this is no great feat.
He should be outcoaching a guy who he has had double the senior coaching experience in.

I'm more concerned about what he does against the likes of Clarkson, Longmire, Pyke, C.Scott etc. the teams at the pointy end that will be tough to beat.
This will prove his measure and credibility that Nathan can hang against the big boys.
He's running out of time to do it but it is now or never for him.

I've been critical of Bucks as a coach since the early stages of 2012, but have been pleasantly surprised by the last two weeks. I was dismayed after a shocker against the Hawks. Defensively, Bucks took way too long to adjust to Hawthorn's stacking of their forward line with pace and skill and their desire to create a forward line paddock for these guys to wreak havoc in and offensively we once again seemed to have no system or plan. But the last two weeks, we've been extremely solid defensively and have generated a great deal of overlapping run to break down the opposition's defence- against GWS crucial fumbles and poor disposal nullified too many of our chances, but that's hardly the coaches fault. I'm actually a little bit bullish about the pies, which for me has tended to just be a preseason feeling for the past 6 years. At $5, get on us to topple the Crows. I reckon our style will match up really well on them.

This result will provide some short term relief but that should be about it. It won't/shouldn't change the bigger picture. I suspect this side will still finish with around 9-10 wins and effectively just standstill. Is that an acceptable outcome?

Hasn’t happened yet.

I’ve been critical of Bucks. But one thing might help him, and that is the apparent coming of age of Aish and Schaz, recruitment of Murray, and maybe also the improvement in our kids. They had a day out in the VFL this afternoon. If our player development is improving, then Bucks will look a better coach; maybe even be a better coach, with players able to execute his vision.

I dunno, but willing to give him the benefit of the doubt here.

He definitely outcoached Bolton on the night, this I agree with.

However, lets keep it in perspective- this is no great feat.
He should be outcoaching a guy who he has had double the senior coaching experience in.

I'm more concerned about what he does against the likes of Clarkson, Longmire, Pyke, C.Scott etc. the teams at the pointy end that will be tough to beat.
This will prove his measure and credibility that Nathan can hang against the big boys.
He's running out of time to do it but it is now or never for him.

I actually respect an acknowledgment such as yours giving credit where credits due, despite your reservations about Bucks.
It’s shows that you actually have at least watched the game objectively which is a major failure in many others.

I too wanted Bucks gone, but take some positivity from our last 2 performances.

Unlike others here, I’m happy for Bucks to prove me wrong,

Amazing what a win does for the opinions and confidence for us diehards.
After our loss to the Hawks, a lot of us felt our list maybe heading into no-mans land and I was genuinely thinking we're in for a long long season.
Now after the last 2 weeks, our narrow loss to GWS and the win last night, their is hope, as long as we can finally get our **** together and we get most of our talented guys on the park along with some of our younger talent stepping up from our list.
Notably from last nights game -
Murray, Rowdy Jnr, Shaz, Aish, Stephenson, Maynard, Grundy (Awesome) WHE,
Add JDG, Elliot, Sire, Wills, Daicos, McLarty, and of course Moore, that could all come into the side over the next few weeks, then the future suddenly looks more promising.
Admittedly we have a tough 3 weeks coming up, but as long as we can be as competitive as we were against the Giants and play a settled 22 then it's good times ahead...we may just knock off any of the following Crows, Tigers and Bombers? Imagine we were to win all three...:rolleyes:
I loved our unpredictable forward set up last night...and that's what Bucks needs to keep putting out their, rotate WHE, Treloar, JT and even Pendles out of the goal square, play Sidey 50% game time roaming forward, along with stay at home forwards in Elliot, Fasolo, Reid/Cox.
Our back half is starting to look settled and if we can keep Murray,Dunn,Shaz,Moore,Howe, and Crisp/Langdon settled then we have plenty of defensive run, intercept marking power and guys that can execute out of our back defensive half.

Realistically should be beating Carlton as we did. Although it was a poor start, the side did well to settle and set up a lead in the 2nd. Just did what they had to do to hold on to the game in the last 2 quarters. Personally thought the GWS game was a much better performance overall and don't agree that Broomhead and Moore had less impact than Scully. The extra interchange down hurts, but losing Cox, Reid and Moore as forward targets was crucial to the result in the second half with GWS' aerial dominance. If Moore hadn't done his hammy we go on and win that game imo.

The inclusions of Elliot, Fas, JDG and Wells over the next few rounds should improve our class and will leave judgment on the side's capabilities until then.

Some observations from last night:

- Agree, I think I saw a semblance of a game plan but it's hard to get a handle on it as the opposition was poor after the opening 20 odd minutes.
- Buckley and his men had a good night in the coaches box and arguably in their pre-planning.
- Over the 1st 3 matches, the players have demonstrated commitment and exerted pressure on the opposition (particularly GWS) - kudos to the players and the coaches.
- I think an important point - we had 20 shots at goal and kicked 16:4. A rarity and this won't happen again. It was our night. Normally we would kick say 8:12/9:11/10:10 which is about our standard return. So possibly the unbelievable accuracy made the result look better, not to mention the opposition. Possibly the lack of pressure from Carlton helped towards our amazing accuracy. When an average footballer (not a criticism) like Thomas kicks 5 goals and some nice goals at that, you gotta think the pressure from the opposition was poor/non-existent.

To answer your question, 9-10 wins is not an acceptable outcome.
12-15 wins is though, and it is achievable.

And that's the frustrating thing, there is so much potential in this side and has been for some time. It is dismissed by both oppo supporters and commentators alike because that potential never comes to fruition. I'll reserve my pessimism until such time as we consistently win and play well, if we win 7 by the bye then you could say it is finally turning around - right now I don't see it.
I’m sensing a small glimmer of hope...

We beat a side that will struggle to win 5 games for the yr.. some promising signs by Bucks.. not really convincing though.

Let's not overlook how Buckley reverts back to a game plan that's a complete mess.. he's been doing it for yrs.. with and without injuries.

If we win 12 games for the yr.. thats the equivalent of Clarko taking us to 14-15 wins for the yr.

Let's face it.. Buckley has yet to coach a really decent game of footy in all 3 games.

Easy to coach agst a side with a defence like Carlton's.. they are seriously woeful with Jones and Weiterslug back there. Marchbank injured. No Docherty either.

To answer your question, 9-10 wins is not an acceptable outcome.
12-15 wins is though, and it is achievable.

Fingers and toes crossed.

15 wins, wow. That would mean winning 14/19 - 74%. I guess, never say never. Love your positivity.