When the green flag drops.
(old speedway saying)

17 sleeps to go before the Wizard Cup where we will get a good idea how we are going to go.

The only negatives are the loss of Koopsie & Croadie who were battling to get in the first 22.

We should finish this year with a lot of 50 game + players (The pope should be able to say exactly).

2003 was the only time we have had a positive percentage. I think if we could improve that again by 10-15% we will have had a good year regardless of what happens.

That enough verbosity from me. Thoughts.

Originally posted by RIPPER_46

The only negatives are the loss of Koopsie & Croadie who were battling to get in the first 22.

They aint negatives , In my eyes they are huge plusses. Clive will get a go & his heart is in Freo , Koopsie in my eyes only ever played good games when his spot in the squad was being reviewed.

Right now I am gonna name my A Team for the year

B - Hayden.....................Haddrill.......................Walker
HB- Woods...................McPharlin.....................Grover
C- Headland...................Pavlich.........................Carr
HF- McManus ..................Polak........................Schammer
F- Farmer........................Medhurst....................J Longmuir
Ruck- Sandilands , Bell , Hasleby

Interchange - Simmonds , Cook, R Dunn , M Johnson

Emergencies - Browne , T Longmuir , Parker , Clive

Re: Re: The bull**** stops..

Originally posted by Freo Hitman

Add Cunningham , Thornton , Webster to those emergencies and that's where the strength is.

Depth = strength IMO. If the worst comes to the worst we can nearly cover at least 7 injuries.

So what are your guys expectations ????
This year I expect finals with us to make it to the 2nd week atleast !!!

I am a bit perplexed .... am I the only one that thinks TLo is in our best 22.

Yes he is a mongrel dog who runs around, but hey the boy fights for everything and we simply look better with wags in the forward line.

May be a bit much to start Dunn and a fit Thornton will give it a crack.

Moo

CLIVE WILL TAKE US TO THE HOLY GRAIL!!!

CLIVE!!!! YEAH CLIVE!!! CLIVES COOL!!!!

CLIVES BACK WITH AVENGEANCE!!!!! NUTHING CAN STOP HIM.

GO CLIVE!!!!

Originally posted by Moo
I am a bit perplexed .... am I the only one that thinks TLo is in our best 22.

He probably is moo. I just looked at Freo H's lineup which looks pretty good and didn't want to get bogged down in an aurumeny over the exact best 22. As some of his starting 22 will probably be missing at some point I was more than happy with his emergencies.

[B

Emergencies - Browne , T Longmuir , Parker , Clive [/B]

Medhurst at FF, I know they all move around and I never seem to know which position they are really playing, but JLo would probably be FF with Medhurst in a "roaming" forward position.

Dunn and Johnson have not played a senior game, are they that good or is the rest of our squad that bad. These two players could be very good players for the club, but they've got to prove it yet. Let's not jump the gun.

Parker as an emergency ............................ Mr Integrity is still in pretty good form and I would have thought he'd be in the first 10 selected. Oh well now that the masses have stopped bagging Macca, hey why not try and get rid of Parker senior.

For me...

B: Hayden Haddrill Parker
HB: Woods McPharlin Grover
C: Headland Hasleby Bell
HF: McManus Polak Carr
F: Farmer J. Longmuir Medhurst

R: Sandilands Pavlich Schammer

I: Simmonds Walker Cook T Longmuir

E: Thornton, Browne, Dunn

I would love to see Thornton and Browne in our starting 22 but they may have to wait a few weeks or for a couple of injuries. I think our best 22 is pretty settled. I threw in Dunn in there as an emergency, I think he will sort of play a role like Schammer did last season, just to get a feel for AFL footy.

You we're doing great until you got to the emergencies Hitman. I aint no expert but Parker would be a walk up start in any team I choose. He adds stability and experence to what is still a pretty young back line.

Now for a question. What is so unbelievably good about Dunn? Everybody here and on DL seems to be raving about him but I missed why.

Re: Re: Re: The bull**** stops..

Originally posted by masai
Parker as an emergency ............................ Mr Integrity is still in pretty good form and I would have thought he'd be in the first 10 selected. Oh well now that the masses have stopped bagging Macca, hey why not try and get rid of Parker senior.

No-one is bagging anyone mate, just because FH thinks Parker isn't in our best 22 doesn't mean he's having a go at him, it's just his opinion. And I can see where he is coming from. Parker is still in my starting 18 but he is now a year older and there were a few signs there last season that he may be on the decline. Not to mention that he might be riddled with little nagging injuries again.

Originally posted by Kenny_01
For me...

B: Hayden Haddrill Parker
HB: Woods McPharlin Grover
C: Headland Hasleby Bell
HF: McManus Polak Carr
F: Farmer J. Longmuir Medhurst

R: Sandilands Pavlich Schammer

I: Simmonds Walker Cook T Longmuir

E: Thornton, Browne, Dunn

That would be my prefered lineup too.

Masai I don't think anyone has it in for the one and only Action Man.

When you think back to the GF, who would have given Brisbane much hope with both Scott's & Macdonald injured?

That is the position we neen to be in.

Masai I don't think anyone has it in for the one and only Action Man.

Ok I may have been bit strong with my wording, but I just felt that at the moment Parker is an automatic selection in the 18.

If his form goes off, start looking at it then, but I think his injury problems from last year have been sorted out and he is still the "general" of the backline.

I'll just have my caffeine fix and get on with life.

We should finish this year with a lot of 50 game + players (The pope should be able to say exactly).
We start the year with
3 over 150
2 100 - 149 (5 in total over 100)
10 50 - 99 (15 in total over 50)
4 30 - 49
8 10 - 29
3 1 - 10
14 0
At the end of the year, assuming no major injuries, etc we could end up with:
1 over 200
4 150 - 199
6 100 - 149 (11 in total over 100)
8 50 - 99 (19 in total over 50)
6 30 - 49
3 10 - 29
7 1 - 10
8 0

A few stats on games played. At the moment, our full 44 man squad has 1931 games between them. Brisbane's 43 man squad has 3671. Brisbane's most inexperienced 22 man lineup last year (happened to be against us) had 2703 games of experience. Our most experienced 22 at the moment has 1829. Brisbane's grand final team has 3454. That's over 3 seasons per player more experienced that our most experienced line up.
Of course Collingwood almost got there with a fairly inexperience side, 1993 games in the grand final and an average for the year of 2002.
But it all shows that if we can keep this side together... the next 5-8-10 years will be SuperExciting!

1776 at the beginning of 2003 from our 43 man squad (including rookies, not that they add much, 17 games from Mott and 11 from Smith)
I think this might be the key difference between us and Brissy circa 2000. They had the experence then, just needed to put it all together. BTW, the Lions had 3428 games of experience at the beginning of 2003... don't have previous years at hand. Will try to look at their "experience growth" over the weekend.

I can't wait!!!

I think Dunn will get a start in some of the Wiz Bang games (provided we don't get knocked out first rnd), but will only come of the bench in the regular season, barring injuries to key players or a Judd like burst onto the seen.

Having said that, CC is a rational man, if it was me I'd throw Dunn into HF!!! (must take my medication ;) )

They aint negatives , In my eyes they are huge plusses. Clive will get a go & his heart is in Freo , Koopsie in my eyes only ever played good games when his spot in the squad was being reviewed.

Right now I am gonna name my A Team for the year

B - Hayden.....................Haddrill.......................Walker
HB- Woods...................McPharlin.....................Grover
C- Headland...................Pavlich.........................Carr
HF- McManus ..................Polak........................Schammer
Ruck- Sandilands , Bell , Hasleby

Clive,T Longmuir and Parker all deserve to be in there. the only problem is I cant see who to remove.
M Johnsons for one
R Dunn as its probally a little early.
And I hate to say it but I think McManus's time is up.

Originally posted by sabre_ac

And I hate to say it but I think McManus's time is up.

We all agree that macca's disposal is a little suss, but he has improved enormously since CC arrived and last year was his best year of his career. Easily in the best 18. There is no way I would be giving up on Macca just yet. Or Cookie for that matter. Tough as old boots the both of them and who would replace that hardness.

Have to disagree on that one Sabre.

Originally posted by sabre_ac
Clive,T Longmuir and Parker all deserve to be in there. the only problem is I cant see who to remove.

Exactly , to get better we need 26+ players who deserve to be there.

We have an embarrasment of riches. :D

And it is going to get more embarrassing. :D