Roast The Cull needs to start

• Thread starter Thread starter Panthera

I find it hard to believe that a bloke who has played 70 odd games in the backline and was moved into a tagging role for maybe a couple - couldn't adapt to playing back again and therefore has ruined his season. Come on he is a professional footballer...somewhat at presnt anyway.

So you agree with Yippyio then, that Patfull should be given the chop?

I didn't say that he couldn't adapt once moved back into defense, merely that the moving of him into the midfield during the first half of the season saw him lose form because he was unsuited to the role and that this has negatively affected his progress throughout the rest of the season.

It might be arguable as to whether or not Patfull could have improved his form more than he has as the season has drawn on, but he is not alone in that boat and has not been the worst case on the team.

One bad season after a number of very good ones is hardly worthy of the calls for someone to be moved on elsewhere.

We only drafted him last year. Why would we delist him? :cool:

I can see him and Leui playing in the ruck and Clark at CHF.
A CHF who can't kick at goal is as useless as **** on a bull.

Clark would make T Cloke look like Lockett.

If we were thinking of playing Clark in a different position to the ruck, I'd rather we played him as a tall winger or developed him into a CHB.

We haven't pushed for a premiership for half a dozen years already.

Meanwhile....Collingwood, our foe from the glory days is on top of the table. Something sure went wrong with the last few years. Can we cull and trade out of it, or just play out of it with the squad we have now?
Let's not forget we lost Voss, Akermanis, Lappin, Lynch, Leppitsch, C. Scott, B. Scott, Ashcroft, McRae, Keating, McDonald, Pike, White, Michael, Johnson, Caracella, and Hart in the space of 3-4 years.

Yeah, unfortunately the limit is 2 uncontracted players.

I was going to point out that this is wrong and the limit is one per club, but then I read the rest of your posts in this thread and realised you didn't have a clue generally. :o

A CHF who can't kick at goal is as useless as **** on a bull.

Clark would make T Cloke look like Lockett.

If we were thinking of playing Clark in a different position to the ruck, I'd rather we played him as a tall winger or developed him into a CHB.

Now now Warwick – It might just be why we are heading to China to play a footy match – Me thinks bulls mammaries and traditional Chinese medicine/endangered animals are not that unaligned. ;)

I didn't say that he couldn't adapt once moved back into defense, merely that the moving of him into the midfield during the first half of the season saw him lose form because he was unsuited to the role and that this has negatively affected his progress throughout the rest of the season.

You need to have form to lose and sadly he has had none at all this year - fingers crossed it comes back next year.

It might be arguable as to whether or not Patfull could have improved his form more than he has as the season has drawn on, but he is not alone in that boat and has not been the worst case on the team.

No he hasn't but he but he has been a long long way off our best....

One bad season after a number of very good ones is hardly worthy the calls for someone to be moved on elsewhere.

I never said to move him on nor would I we need him that's for sure.

anyway just my opinions - just like everyone here doesn't make them right

We got a mature age tall forward, Fev............

Fev? Mature?

LionMen
BigFooty Apprentice

Brisbane
Re: The Cull needs to start
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axel.
lolwut.
24 year old rookie who i assume is bad

McCauly? WHo you assume is bad? Mate, if we could get you to replace Collins and Bowers, all of our problems would be solved.

I was going to point out that this is wrong and the limit is one per club, but then I read the rest of your posts in this thread and realised you didn't have a clue generally. :o
yeah i just made that up....it seemed right to me

Fev? Mature?

LionMen
BigFooty Apprentice

Brisbane
Re: The Cull needs to start
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axel.
lolwut.
24 year old rookie who i assume is bad

McCauly? WHo you assume is bad? Mate, if we could get you to replace Collins and Bowers, all of our problems would be solved.
Oh well alot of stuff in footy is made on assumptions, besides hasnt proven anything apart from that he can play pretty well in a local qld league, the competition isnt as good or in anyway close to the afl

We need to delist Johnson, Selwood, Stiller and Raines defintely IMO. Maybe Austin as well although I recall alot of people calling for Hanely's head a few weeks back, good performances over a few weeks can change things. Austin may simpley need an opprtunity like Hanely.

In Austin's case he is only young and showed promise last year, are we likely to pick up a better prospect late in the draft? Propably not so give him another year and then make a decission.

As much as it hurts trade Charmo if we can, Hawks are short on ruch depth and GC will need a big body ruck to compete for the first year or two. Although Carlton may trade one of their rucks which might decrease Charmos value.

Keeping Brennan is a must, so to is Riska but from what I read Riska staying seems a lost cause.

mitch clarke is a keeper
proud had a fair dinkum crack on the weekend
brennan will stay\
risca...i dont know...i hope so
raines...not good enough
buchanan - past it
stiller - no good
selwood - not up to it with the lions
fev - ive lost patience already with him...persist with acorn instead...

hawksley must be ditched...horrible

voss...cant seem to get it together...he probably has to go to

paddle pop lion jumper - karma appears to have sunk the lions after the hardheads took on the lions heritage...shame brisbane shame

what a horrible year its been

Yeah, have a feeling 2010 is going to be the year that every club goes looking for the next Barlow/Podsiadly with very little success.
Yeah me too. We went and filled our rookie list with 'em this year, and probably 2 of the 4 will have any sort of career. Now with another 20 or 30 players needing to be found it'll be twice as bad.
This, all told, would not be a good year to have to find 6 or 8 newbies.

Wow,there are some over reactions on this board, can anyone really see anymore than six delistments at the end of the year.

We traded for so many mature players last year because we have too many kids on the list. A number of players now have an extra year but still are too young to be relied on for a whole season:

Charman - Untradebale with his salary and injury history
Buchanaon - Will be here as a backup inside mid/small forward
Xavier - Gives us pace and good kicking skills
Fevola- Almost impossible to trade, maybe GC?
Raines - Will be given time

I think its fair to say we will be doing the hard yards for a while

Just makes the good times all the more sweeter

I reckon there'd be a fair question mark over Clarke's pace given all of his injuries and time out of the game.

Stokta its all comparative, at the moment his legs are steel springs!:cool:

Probably a fair call though, however I didnt think that he looked slow in the limited game time on Saturday night

I think its fair to say we will be doing the hard yards for a while
That's going to make Melbourne games an attractive option .. membership will disappear. I must say it's a relief to finally see the team play as badly at home as they have been doing away for some time. It now makes sense.

I hope that Voss doesn't take one look (except in very rare circumstances) at any other teams list and focuses on the draft in finding young players that can play the game.. The PSD is not just a place to get a hack from another team, we got Rocky which proved to be successful and look at someone like Freo who i think got De Boer very late in National or in the PSD...

TheBrownDog is useless. The Lions have gone backwards since he has started moderating. Must be cut.

agree...slow, unwilling to put his body on the line, a total hack lol

On another issue, I think we need to start drafting players who have proven to be relaible in getting out on the park.....the week in week out performers......we have had far too many injured players this year, time to also look an resilsance as a major factor

agree...slow, unwilling to put his body on the line, a total hack lol

Ah! But he reads the game in a way that mere mortals can only dream about. Rumour has it that Tommy Rockliffe cites him as a role model.