The Dinner Party

• Thread starter Thread starter Sttew

You are asked to organise a dinner party for 11, i.e., 10 guests + yourself. And the theme is Geelong Football Club. As this is a hypothetical scenario your guests can be dead or alive, and must include at least two women. Who would you invite and why?

My invitation list would be:

Bomber Thompson - he could supply the wine and other stuff and tell us stories about his rise and fall as a dual premiership coach.
Sam Newman - I don't like him on TFS but he covers such a long period of the club and must have some good stories to tell.
Catriona Rowntree - a more recent Geelong convert who can talk the legs off a table
Paddy Dangerfield - representing the current team
Steve Bracks - ex Premier. Maybe not an inspiring dinner party guest but must be able to tells some stories
Bob Davis - no explanation needed for an invitation
Ruby Rose - Geelong girl who will hold her own amongst 8 men.
Reg Hickey - I'd sit Reg opposite Bomber and they could compare notes on their dual premierships as coach.
Guy Pearce - another Geelong boy made good in Hollywood
Cameron Ling - representing our recent golden era

Love it as an idea :thumbsu:

John Newman - He can leave the Sam persona at the door, would love to speak to the actual person behind the character
Gary Ablett Jnr - Have always felt he is genuine and humble when talking, in an intimate environment would love to pick his brain
Stephen Wells - Would be great to hear his thought process and how he structures his recruiting
Malcolm Blight - He would be entertaining, he would be fascinating, and I reckon the room would hang off his every word
Jimmy Bartel - Golden era, by all accounts is an absolutely fantastic bloke
Bomber Thompson - for similar reasons to Sttew actually
Samantha Riches - She does the voice over stuff at the KP games, if you see the pants she often wears you will understand
Frank Costa - Probably don't need an explanation, would just be good to sit down with one of the men that saved the club
Sally Fitzgibbons - Pro-Surfer, big Cats fan... not shabby on the eye and just seems a ripping human
Shane Heal - Cats fan, ex pro Basketballer who went toe to toe with Charles Barkely from memory in a handbags at 10 paces type push and shove... still as if he wouldn't have some good stories

Frank Costa - Probably don't need an explanation, would just be good to sit down with one of the men that saved the club
And Frank could supply the fruit & vegetables. Good thinking!!

Catriona Rowntree - a more recent Geelong convert who can talk the legs off a table.

I’d prefer it if all my guests could spell their own bloody name properly.

Blighty.He marches to he beat of a different drum
Rebecca Maddern.Out and out spunk
Polly.A one off
Davis.True legend
Bomber.Love him or hate him he's given us rare success
SNR.The most dominant player in my time
Billy.Is Geelong
Sam.I owe him
Mum.I'd be out of the will if she wasn't invited
SJ.Every party needs a SJ.

Love it as an idea :thumbsu:

John Newman - He can leave the Sam persona at the door, would love to speak to the actual person behind the character
I have and he's the total opposite to his character on TFS. Considerate, polite and smart.

Which is why he is on my list :)

Sally Fitz... - Teach me to surf and would be the best looking person at the table - and the only World Champ also :thumbsu:
GAS - I just want to sit at the right hand of GOD - and hear about how he did it
GAJ - To hear the stories the 2 talk about - not the personal stuff - but the banter and footy stories and tales of who was better than who.
Boris - I just luv that bloke -
Max Rooke - He and Boris are mates and I reckon the 2 of them would open up more -
Scarlo - To tell stories and bounce.
Cookie- To hear how he helped navigate the last 20 years.
Wellsy - Been it the game and seen it all - his list of best 10 recruits he's seen would make a Top 10 sellers list.
Bobby Davis - the history and heart of the club.
Polly Farmer - to educate me on what life was like for him from youth thru to footy and how its changed
If I need another female - Mrs Enright.... cause shes stunning or Mardi Dangerfield. Never hurts to be on a table with a Dangerfield.
Probably fill another table too.

GO Catters

Paul Couch- Lovable guy, great stories, left us too soon.
Sam Newman- The ideal MC. What we see on TFS is not the real Sam Newman.
Felicity Kennett- A few drinks and who knows what we'd discover, and how much would it piss off Jeff!
GAS-Just to have had a meal with the GOAT..
GAJ-And the GOAT in waiting...and the truth about Bomber.
Gerard Whateley-Respect the way he goes about it, no need for Google with Gerard there
Bobby Davis-A true legend and entertainer.
Frank Costa- Always reminds me of the Godfather of the GFC. He can say the grace.
Bec Maddern- Smart, entertaining and easy on the eye
Billy Brownless- He would be devastated to miss out on this one, but I can't go past Blighty for his eccentricities and pearlers.

Sally Fitz... - Teach me to surf and would be the best looking person at the table - and the only World Champ also :thumbsu:
Not quite mate.. she was in the box seat I believe last year but just fell short

I agree, but as a former #1 ticket holder...I think she'd be good value
Was it true she actually wasn't even a Cats fan?

Was Paul Keating really a Pies fan? Probably not but it was good for publicity

GAS - My favourite Geelong player + still have a huge crush on him
Plus he can say Grace }
.............................................................................................. } Would love to see father + son interact
GAJ - I've had the pleasure of meeting him + adore him }

Bobby Davis - A wonderful Geelong 'gentleman', who is very amusing

Billy Brownless - Great Geelong character

Sam Newman - because of him I chose to follow Geelong

Peter Riccardi - Another favourite + he's such a terrific guy

Joel Selwood - Love the way he plays

Patrick Dangerfield - I think he'd be fun

Corey Enright - Another great guy + fantastic player

Max Rooke - My second all time favourite player

Tom Wills - To discuss the differences in his original game + the current game

My guest list is based on the players I think would be the most interesting + amusing guests

I also like the way he is so involved in the Club, has fantastic knowledge + he's an extremely generous person

Plus he can say Grace }
.............................................................................................. } Would love to see father + son interact

My guest list is based on the players I think would be the most interesting + amusing guests
Where are your 2 women?
OP said 8 + 2.

Oh Vdubs, I'm more than enough woman to meet the two women quota :kiss::kiss::kiss:
I'll take your word for that.
Never did get to meet you at LOTI, but we do believe you exist.

Plus he can say Grace }

Where are the 2 token women guests?