linchpin

Bullants
Reading a few other fan sites, opposition supporters are rueing the day 09.02.07!

http://www.saintsational.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=27089&sid=bc2f854b6dbf47968d5ccc736147fd29

http://www.magpies.net/nick/bb/viewtopic.php?t=34271

http://www.bomberblitz.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=30953&st=45

http://www.puntroadend.com/yabbse/index.php?topic=25361.0

The day that pride, belief, unity and future were defined. Our line in the sand.

We suddenly have, after five long years, our swagger back! You can smell the arrogance in the air!

The competition knows that this train is leaving now! We have many scores to settle.

Our list is strong and developing. Who knows what dreams may come?

The balance of power is being restored. Enjoy!

Reading a few other fan sites, opposition supporters are rueing the day 09.02.07!

http://www.saintsational.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=27089&sid=bc2f854b6dbf47968d5ccc736147fd29

The day that pride, belief, unity and future were defined. Our line in the sand.

We suddenly have, after five long years, our swagger back! You can smell the arrogance in the air!

The competition knows that this train is leaving now! We have many scores to settle.

so much jelousy

Seriously, go to the Saints link (first one) and read some of the bile those terrified morons are coming out with. Everything from racism (the Gutnik card) to what Pratt's wife looks like. It's truly offensive. They are so frightened their mini reign over us is fast coming to an end. They had their chance and blew it and will be very lucky if carlton supporters even wave a parting goodbye as we pass them in the elevator going up as they are plummeting into the cellar again. They are fast overhauling the Bummers as Carlton's number one hate team and it's all their own purile work.

Do you think, we will be a force as of 2007? We have so much antapped potential. If the backline gels, I honestly believe we may exceed expectation. The sky is the limit. SEN are now talking up our on field performance. Saying we could be the surprise packet of 2007. We know this is all opinion, but who knows?

No chance.
That collingwood scum will always be number 1.

As for STK don't even bother, i think they've only wone 1 cup.

I think now that Pratt is on board and we are financially stable (or will be) once his mates arrive - I can see us offering the big bucks to players out of contract. Some nice additions to our side. :)

As long as we're smart about it, still got a salary cap to think about

Interesting to see that the saints, pies, and dons supporters have NO IDEA HOW OUR LIST IS BUILDING................there may be more surprise in store this year than we thought.

It's such a good time to be Blue.

Opposition teams are starting to get nervous, because they now know that Carlton will soon be a powerhouse again.

Yes, i'm excited and with reason.

A good young list coming through. A very experienced, professional leader at the reigns.

Interesting that this has now had a snowball effect on everything - they're not bagging us out, but rather talking us up, as linchpin said with SEN.

It's good that when people talk about our club, they will now be talking good things, and more footy than politics.

So SEN reckon we could be the surprise packet hey??:cool: :thumbsu:

Top stuff Linchy!

I also can feel the arrogance coming back. But we definately need some wins. Especially against the Aints.

Seriously, go to the Saints link (first one) and read some of the bile those terrified morons are coming out with. Everything from racism (the Gutnik card) to what Pratt's wife looks like. It's truly offensive.
I just had a look, there is some sensible stuff over there as well. Typical though, the idiots posting the rubbish tar everyone with the same brush.

The fact that they have devoted a thread/discussion to the appointment in the first place says enough to me.

St. Kilda don't bother me, they're just another team. Nothing special about them.
Same here.

It is only a few of their obsessive and bitter supporters who post on BigFooty who probably have given me a bit more incentive to want a return to being able knock the Saints off.

Apart from that, I don't mind the club. In fact, when I grew up in Tassie, they were my second club due to the fact that so many Taswegians played for them (Stewart, Baldock, Lawrence, Bonney, Howell, etc).

Not in a couple of years we wont. They would want to be very, very smart with contracts during this period

We must be under the cap ATM, and take way Kouta and Lappin. Fev debuted in 99, so will be on the senior list in 2009 me thinks.

But yes, they need to be smart and sell the premiership idea.
Sadly, if players want money more than flags there is not much you can do........not looking at any current(ly injured) St Kilda forwards here..............whose nickname begins with S...........or star winger HBF for Bendigo bombers of former Woodwille west Torrens fame..........(*cough* Campo * Cough*)...............

Players have to realise that the quickest way to a flag is to take less money, allow the clubs to build and retain a good list around them.
If players are selfish and demand massive pays, then we have no choice (Fev, T-Bird....you listening) but to lose younger and very talented players as they come out of contract.

I'm a bit worried about the salary cap in the future too...

You'd be wanting to sign guys up like Murphy, Gibbs and Walker up pretty quickly...you'd want to be offering them 3-4 contracts at the end of their current contracts...what would they be worth???...400-500k ??? The guys like Simpson and Kennedy, Bower would have a lot of potential suitors. Then you've got to get the likes of Stevens and Thornton to come down in price next time they sign.
Anyway, I suppose that's a problem to look at once we've got some wins on the board.

Someone else wrote that C4. God forbid if we finish close to the bottom of the ladder this year, we might just be able to throw some serious $$$ at a player or 2 to get them to MC Labour Park.

I'm a bit worried about the salary cap in the future too...

You'd be wanting to sign guys up like Murphy, Gibbs and Walker up pretty quickly...you'd want to be offering them 3-4 contracts at the end of their current contracts...what would they be worth???...400-500k ??? The guys like Simpson and Kennedy, Bower would have a lot of potential suitors. Then you've got to get the likes of Stevens and Thornton to come down in price next time they sign.
Anyway, I suppose that's a problem to look at once we've got some wins on the board.

I've got a great idea, we offer Murph 200K in the first year of his next contract and backend it, fudge the numbers, pich a flag, and before anyone knows whats going on, we might pich two.........arghhh.........eeeeeek..........just.....wrestling........with...an........evil........spirit.
...........says.........something.........about pigs............

Ahh. Sorry guys, not sure what happened there. I'm sure the new president would never let anything like that happen..........again.....;)

Someone else wrote that C4. God forbid if we finish close to the bottom of the ladder this year, we might just be able to throw some serious $$$ at a player or 2 to get them to MC Labour Park.
I hear Pavlich is keen to move out of Perth:rolleyes:

ahhh .. dare to dream !

:cool: Nice thought, but we will be better off making sure we keep and develop our current list. So lets keep all our funds for our young guns and only go for other players who can definitely help us. We want people with with long term commitment for our beloved Club.

It is starting to happen. On AW the other night I heard that perrenial bagger of Carlton, Gerard Healy say he thought that Carlton could be like Brisbane (2002-2004) in a couple of years if we can keep our list together.

This must be our priority!!

Gee I love the Blues.:) :)

I've got a great idea, we offer Murph 200K in the first year of his next contract and backend it, fudge the numbers, pich a flag, and before anyone knows whats going on, we might pich two.........arghhh.........eeeeeek..........just.....wrestling........with...an........evil........spirit.
...........says.........something.........about pigs............

Ahh. Sorry guys, not sure what happened there. I'm sure the new president would never let anything like that happen..........again.....;)

Hope you're not on the current board :)

But seriously, they could front end some 3-5 years contracts for the stars if we are a long-way under the salary cap...if we only had the cash. Brisbane was willing to offer Murphy a 5 year contract weren't they?