The Enemy...Remember....

Anton Grbac

Jan 21, 2001
The enemy this week, the BlueBaggers. They've given me some of my favorite footy memories:

1981: Round 20, Princes Park: 20+ plus points down approaching time on in the last. the brilliant Neale Daniher almost singlehandedly gets us up for an amazing 1 point win. When he did the 'big knee' a week later, it almost certainly cost us the double chance and a fair dinkum crack at the flag. Said it before and i'll say it again: Neale Daniher was a football tragedy.

1983: Elimination Final, VFL Park: Our first finals win for 15 years. An amusing incident when Budgie threw Bruce 'The Flying Doormat' Doull's headband over the fence. Laughed my ar$e off :p

1993: Grand Final: Mark Athorn lining up on Longy was one of the funniest (mis)matchups in Grand Final history. Laughed my ar$e off:p

1997: Round 1,MCG: Keepings off in the dying minutes to the outrage of infuriated Blues supporters. Seany Denham telling Diesel to "have a look at the scoreboard ya fat c#nt" at the end of the game resulting in "poor old Diesel" pushing an umpire and copping a 9 weeker, courtesy of the tribunal. Laughed my ar$e off:p

The Baggers have also given me the worst:
1999: Preliminary Final: THE worst footy day i've ever experienced (yes, worse than the Grand Final losses) since i started attending way back in 1978. Threw it away with poor attitude and even poorer kicking for goal. After copping it left, right and centre on leaving the ground, Wally and associates get into an almighty stink with a bunch of feral Baggers who see fit to abuse our female companions for the heinous crime of wearing the red 'n' black. Victoria's finest give Wally and associates a bed for the night. "Bloody Carlton!!" :mad: "We owe you!!"

Carlton and Collingwood supporters will swear 'til their blue in the face that their rivalry is the biggest in footy. Maybe it is, but for me, the emotion at an Essendon/Carlton clash cannot be beaten. I love playing The Baggers...Bring it on Baggers...Bring it on!!! Carn the Dons!!!

where's wally?

Great post Wally. Bring on the scum!

My favourite match was the 1998 round 18 clash where Silvagni kicked it straight to Lucas, Bang. Goal. We win!!!

The Bluebaggers were also responsible for the highest standard finals match I have seen : the 1993 Qualifying final, which they won by 2 points.

And who could forget 1994 round 7 at Waverley? They were after revenge after our thrashing of them in the GF, and we beat them by a point 9.9.63 to 7.20.62. They had 9 more scoring shots and lost by a point (history was to reverse that scoring shot scenario 5 years later:( )

Yep, they are the enemy. They have won 16 premeirships (i.e they currently preventing us from holding the record outright) and they are the team I most like to beat. Collingwood are nothing more than a toekn side who we meet twice a year these days. Largely irrelevant. Carlton are the "ememy"

And I concur Wally. The 1999 PF was (and will always be, as I can't imagine it coud possibly get any worse) my worst memory in football. If 1996 was bad, 1999 was a million times worse. Bring 'em on!!!

originally posted by Dan25
And I concur Wally. The 1999 PF was (and will always be, as I can't imagine it coud possibly get any worse) my worst memory in football.

Hehe. It would probably be mine too if i was there. I was actually listening to it while i was driving.

Nearly broke my steering wheel when the siren went. lol. And i nearly crashed....

F#cking Eddie McGuire with 10 secs to go: "Carlton are gonna win! Carlton are gonna win! Carlton are gonna win! Carlton are gonna win! Carlton are gonna win! Carlton are gonna win! Carlton are gonna win! (siren sounds) Carlton have won! (gPhonque hits steering wheel) Thump! (gPhonque starts to run straight into a railway crossing) .....eer....holy shiiiiit...... oops......(after nearly killing the people in the car in front, gPhonque realises there's no next week) - f#ck.......damn...... FUUUCK!!!!!........ bloody hell.......**** .......Carlton!?!?!?.......F#CKING HELL!.....c#nts ....arseholes......****......"

Luckily i got home at that point. Could have been some serious road rage if i hadn't! :D

And actually, come to think of it, it probably is my worst footy memory, though at least it was kinda funny at the same time. :)

Oh, and a question for Dan:

Would that game have had the same emotion surrounding it if the Premiership was already decided? (as you would like to happen?) I doubt it very much. We probably wouldn't be talking about it now. :)

What made me angry was the not the fact that we'd lost the Preliminary Final; it was the fact that we'd gone through the entire year and then lost the Preliminary Final.

But of course, you would like to get rid of that wouldn't you Dan? ;)

Originally posted by gPhonque

Hehe. It would probably be mine too if i was there. I was actually listening to it while i was driving.

Nearly broke my steering wheel when the siren went. lol. And i nearly crashed....

F#cking Eddie McGuire with 10 secs to go: "Carlton are gonna win! Carlton are gonna win! Carlton are gonna win! Carlton are gonna win! Carlton are gonna win! Carlton are gonna win! Carlton are gonna win! (siren sounds) Carlton have won! (gPhonque hits steering wheel) Thump! (gPhonque starts to run straight into a railway crossing) .....eer....holy shiiiiit...... oops......(after nearly killing the people in the car in front, gPhonque realises there's no next week) - f#ck.......damn...... FUUUCK!!!!!........ bloody hell.......**** .......Carlton!?!?!?.......F#CKING HELL!.....c#nts ....arseholes......****......"

Luckily i got home at that point. Could have been some serious road rage if i hadn't! :D

And actually, come to think of it, it probably is my worst footy memory, though at least it was kinda funny at the same time. :)

Would that game have had the same emotion surrounding it if the Premiership was already decided? (as you would like to happen?) I doubt it very much. We probably wouldn't be talking about it now. :)

What made me angry was the not the fact that we'd lost the Preliminary Final; it was the fact that we'd gone through the entire year and then lost the Preliminary Final.

Don't go there gPhonque!,

Forgot to mention, one of Wally's associates actually didn't join us in the clink that night, The Rave was taken to hospital after breaking a hand on a feral Baggers head in the aftermath of the big stink. Aaaahhh memories, '99 Preliminary Final day was quite a day!

where's wally?

Hey you blokes, don't forget that game back in '93 which we drew with Carlton when Steve Kernahan had a kick after the siren to break the deadlock, only to kick out on the full!

Was driving between Geelong and Ballarat at the time and listening to Rex Hunt's broadcast. He was calling Dustin Fletcher Dustin Hoffman and going totally off his nut.

Great game, and the miskick couldn't have happened to a better Carlton player than Sticks. Laughed my ar$e off.

Stork

Another memerable game was in '94, final round. Carlton was second on the ladder and one of the favourites for the flag while Essendon wasn't having a good year and susbsequently out of the finals race. It was a good game with the Bombers winning by around 18 points (I think). It was great to beat that scum that day.

After that game Carlton lost their first final then their second final to go out in straight sets for the premiership. I wonder if we had something to do with that slide?:D

Would that game have had the same emotion surrounding it if the Premiership was already decided? (as you would like to happen?) I doubt it very much.

Of course it would. A Grand Final berth would still be on the line. It's a bit like asking whether an FA Cup semi-final is a big match, because it is separate to the "top spot" premiership? Of course it's a big match!

Whilst supporters want to be called "premiers", what they really want is the "glory" of winning the Grand Final. The GF will always be big, and it doesn't need to do decide the whole season for it to be big. It will be bg anyway (just like the FA Cup is big, even though it it is separate to the premiership)

Back to the Blue-boys though. What about Easter Monday in 1997 and 1998? In 97 we held on by 7 points and chipped it around at the end (Greg Williams got nine weeks for pushing an umpire), while in 1998 we had a 30 point lead, which Carlton whittled down to 1 point, but we hung on to win anyway!

'87 late in the season, trailed most of the day, got up in the last quarter.

Early eighties, giving Mark Mclure heaps as they came off after we'd beaten them. McSh1thead slags at me, i duck & it hits the bagger fan standing behind me.

'93 GF. Sitting next to some dill who'd given us heaps the week before during the prelim (though funnily enough he was pretty quiet after half time), gave it all back with interest. Seeing his wife tell him to piss off when he wanted to leave before the medal presentations. Laughed my arse off.

'98. What more can I say but , "thanks SOS"!

'99. Nuff said by everyone else here already. Still rates as the equal worst day I've had at the footy.

2000 Prelim. Sweet Revenge. Seeing the Carlton fans pissing off early was particularly sweet after all the crap we'd copped the year before. Up yours Robert Walls.

And Dan, stop trying to compare a three week eight team knockout comp to the FA cup for christ sake, it just doesn't wash.

Originally posted by Dave
'87 late in the season, trailed most of the day, got up in the last quarter.

We lost to them twice in '87 Dave. The second match we played against them we lsot by a point, one week after losing to Sydney by 163. Perhaps you're thinking of 1991?

Originally posted by Dave
And Dan, stop trying to compare a three week eight team knockout comp to the FA cup for christ sake, it just doesn't wash.

I didn't bring it up. Gphoneque did. As far as I'm concerned, if a Grand Final berth is on the line, it can be "compared." It doesn't have to be identical, for it be to be comparable.

Originally posted by Dan25
We lost to them twice in '87 Dave. The second match we played against them we lsot by a point, one week after losing to Sydney by 163. Perhaps you're thinking of 1991?

Nah, just realised, it was '86. We flogged Hawthorn the next week at WH. Was a good couple of weeks!

I didn't bring it up. Gphoneque did.

I know ;)

As far as I'm concerned, if a Grand Final berth is on the line, it can be "compared." It doesn't have to be identical, for it be to be comparable.

Why can it be compared? The Grand Final now is important because it decides the premiership, the best side of the year. If all it determined was the winner of an eight team knockout series how can it be compared to the FA Cup?

Originally posted by BigStork
Hey you blokes, don't forget that game back in '93 which we drew with Carlton when Steve Kernahan had a kick after the siren to break the deadlock, only to kick out on the full!

Was driving between Geelong and Ballarat at the time and listening to Rex Hunt's broadcast. He was calling Dustin Fletcher Dustin Hoffman and going totally off his nut.

Great game, and the miskick couldn't have happened to a better Carlton player than Sticks. Laughed my ar$e off.

Stork

Your right Stork,

Another classic. Who can forget the great Mark Harvey's last quarter in this game. Harv's was suffering a leg injury...hammy...i think...Carlton skipped out to a 2/3 goal lead late when Harv's put the word to Sheeds he was moving up forward to 'try and create something' . A few minutes later, he'd set up two goals, kicked one of his own from outside 50 and laid an inspirational tackle on Andrew McKay. Tough b*stard , Mark Harvey, one of our greatest.

Still laugh when i think of "Sticks" lining up the last kick and the former Mrs. Wally sayin' "I'd laugh if he kicks on the full".

Whaddaya reckon?......We Laughed Our Ar$es Off!! :p :p

where's wally?

I was sitting in the MCC on the wing that day. Remember walking out of the isle and seeing Eddie looking down at us with his usual smug look on his face. From memory I think I told him to "Get fu¢ked" and gave him a Liam Gallagher patented V sign.

The Enemy...Remember....